Rangers/Shooting/NFA conspiracy against Bendel Insurance?

Megapro, the Bini boys were just local champions. Good in the Nigerian league and Cup matches but out of their depth in international matches. Football is replete with players like that i.e. Sule Kekere (mighty jets), Stanley Okoronkwo, Ogidi Ibeabuchi, Nwankwo Nwabueze(Enugu Rangers), Moses Otolorin, Nath Adewole, Idowu Otubusin(IICC), Steve Bruce (Man Utd), Ray Parlour and Steve Bould(Arsenal) etc.
omo-eko
ge

Post by omo-eko »

There is no room for sentiments in soccer, we have better players then in lagos, ibadan, kano,enugu, etc that were left out of the green eagles because we have coach that knew what he was doing, then things were done on merit, not man no man, and further MORE bendel insurance is not the best team, BUT ONE OF THE BEST we have RACCA ROVER, STATIONERY STORES, CALABAR ROVERS, ETC
Sanga Balende
Excellent couterpoints

Post by Sanga Balende »

I love the juxtapositions presented and the healthy debates. My only questions would be:

Surely after we failed to qualify for the '82 WC, a Bendel Insurance, pre NNB inclusion would have been a lot better than the young Eagles taking to Libya. pre Onigbinde.

If Gloria (RIP) wanted to develop Ekpeyong as a young keeper, why on earth did he re-invite Fregene out of retirement to embarass himself against Algeria and Zambia (Five goals conceded) while leaving Rufai on the bench. Where was Tunde Adedara (Naija Standard)?

The Insurance boys were like Enyinmba today. The whole tewam could have represented us while we rebuilt and discovered the Ehilegbu's, Okoku's, Olukanmis, Keshi's, Yekini's and Okorowanta's.

Megapro, how did David Adiele get into the Green Eagles ahead of Patrick Ekeji and Sanni Mohammed? Adiele was one of the most clumsy RBs ever to don the GWG of Nigeria. It is no suprise that after ACN 1980, a midfielder, Sylvanus Okpalla was converted to RB and Adiele became history. The Bendel Insurance player with the best chance of playing for the GE was Francis Monidafe, but he ran away from the training camp in Brazil to go to America for further studies. Besides 9 Insurance players were invited to the GE pre ACN 1980, Adiele, Ikahana, Monidafe, Ogboe, Egharevba, Agbonifo, Omokaro, Ogu and Nnaji, only 2, Ikhana ( who was known as Audu Khadiri then) and Adiele made the final cut. That was more invites than Shooting Stars or Rangers players got.

Dammy wrote:Megapro, how did David Adiele get into the Green Eagles ahead of Patrick Ekeji and Sanni Mohammed? Adiele was one of the most clumsy RBs ever to don the GWG of Nigeria. It is no suprise that after ACN 1980, a midfielder, Sylvanus Okpalla was converted to RB and Adiele became history.
Adiele got into the ANC 1980 squad ahead of Ekeji, primarily because Coach Gloria fell out with Ekeji when Ekeji left camp to take his university exams.
The Bendel Insurance player with the best chance of playing for the GE was Francis Monidafe, but he ran away from the training camp in Brazil to go to America for further studies.
Monidafe was certainly a class defender. Whether he would have gotten into the team ahead of Orlando is however uncertain.
<
megapro
Re: ge

Post by megapro »

omo-eko wrote:There is no room for sentiments in soccer, we have better players then in lagos, ibadan, kano,enugu, etc that were left out of the green eagles because we have coach that knew what he was doing, then things were done on merit, not man no man, and further MORE bendel insurance is not the best team, BUT ONE OF THE BEST we have RACCA ROVER, STATIONERY STORES, CALABAR ROVERS, ETC
Your definition of BEST is at most utopian.
just by the ACN,
Raccah Robers were relegated
Calabar Rovers were in division 2
Stationery stores were neither in division 1 or 2.
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
megapro

Post by megapro »

Dammy wrote:Megapro, how did David Adiele get into the Green Eagles ahead of Patrick Ekeji and Sanni Mohammed? Adiele was one of the most clumsy RBs ever to don the GWG of Nigeria. It is no suprise that after ACN 1980, a midfielder, Sylvanus Okpalla was converted to RB and Adiele became history. The Bendel Insurance player with the best chance of playing for the GE was Francis Monidafe, but he ran away from the training camp in Brazil to go to America for further studies. Besides 9 Insurance players were invited to the GE pre ACN 1980, Adiele, Ikahana, Monidafe, Ogboe, Egharevba, Agbonifo, Omokaro, Ogu and Nnaji, only 2, Ikhana ( who was known as Audu Khadiri then) and Adiele made the final cut. That was more invites than Shooting Stars or Rangers players got.
You actually prefered Moses Effiong and Ekpenyong over Agwo.
Bamibele over Boateng.
Anyone over Ogu.
Charles bassey over any of them?
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
Sanga Balende
No mind am Megapro

Post by Sanga Balende »

Nine Bendel boys invited to camp, 1.5 retained. Monidafe, Agbonifo and Agwo not capable of displacing Bassey, Orlando and Ekpeyong. Which eye dis bobo dey fit rate dem. Abi u wan make I send you tape?

Shooting: Owolabi, Odegbami, Lawal, Bamidele, Ogedegbe, Orlando (Eventually)

Rangers: Okala, Onyedika, Chukwu, Atuegbu, Amiesimaka, Isima (Standard and Rangers)

Odiye flown in from US. Monidafe and Usiyan could not be flown in?
back then ticket na only $600.00. Appalachian State had spring break too you know.

Sanga, Sylvanus Okpalla was a Rangers player as well.
Re: Excellent couterpoints

Sanga Balende wrote:I love the juxtapositions presented and the healthy debates. My only questions would be:

Surely after we failed to qualify for the '82 WC, a Bendel Insurance, pre NNB inclusion would have been a lot better than the young Eagles taking to Libya. pre Onigbinde.

If Gloria (RIP) wanted to develop Ekpeyong as a young keeper, why on earth did he re-invite Fregene out of retirement to embarass himself against Algeria and Zambia (Five goals conceded) while leaving Rufai on the bench. Where was Tunde Adedara (Naija Standard)?
The Insurance boys were like Enyinmba today. The whole tewam could have represented us while we rebuilt and discovered the Ehilegbu's, Okoku's, Olukanmis, Keshi's, Yekini's and Okorowanta's.
Please stop talking about what you do not know. Otto Gloria did not take us to Libya, Otto left after we lost the first leg to Algeria in Lagos, pre-1982 WC, infact it was the German coach (Gottlieb)coaching Julius Berger who took us for the return leg in Algiers and all this was in 1981. By the time we went to ANC hosted in Libya, Otto Gloria was far from Nigeria.

Sanga
Still talking about the Zambian humiliation, it was Pat Ekeji who took us to the Zambian match. It is amazing you are in a debate with wrong facts, i find this very very strange you know.

Dammy wrote:The player from Portugal was Christain Nwokocha playing for Sporting Lisbon. Also invited for that match against Algeria were Andrew Atuegbu and Thompson Usiyen both from the United States.
As per conspiracy against Bendel Insurance at national team level, Peter Egharevba started the WC qualifier against Tanzania in Lagos, he was so poor that he was subbed at half-time.
Players like Shefiu Mohammed and Martins Eyo were seasoned internationals who played in both Ghana'78 and Algiers'78, so that may have counted for their inclusion in the 1980 Nations cup squad. The only suprises were Moses Effiong, Charles Bassey and John Orlando.
was orlando John the dude with a big Afro?

Youre right...I remember Usiyen, Nwokocha, Andy Atuegbu, Banjo and Chidozie being our "professionals" in those days :)

Re: Excellent couterpoints

Sanga Balende wrote:I love the juxtapositions presented and the healthy debates. My only questions would be:

Please stop talking about what you do not know. Otto Gloria did not take us to Libya, Otto left after we lost the first leg to Algeria in Lagos, pre-1982 WC, infact it was the German coach (Gottlieb)coaching Julius Berger who took us for the return leg in Algiers and all this was in 1981. By the time we went to ANC hosted in Libya, Otto Gloria was far from Nigeria.
Thank you.Somebody was arguing with me that Otto Gloria led us to the disgraceful outing in Libya...

Dammy wrote:The player from Portugal was Christain Nwokocha playing for Sporting Lisbon. Also invited for that match against Algeria were Andrew Atuegbu and Thompson Usiyen both from the United States.
As per conspiracy against Bendel Insurance at national team level, Peter Egharevba started the WC qualifier against Tanzania in Lagos, he was so poor that he was subbed at half-time.
Players like Shefiu Mohammed and Martins Eyo were seasoned internationals who played in both Ghana'78 and Algiers'78, so that may have counted for their inclusion in the 1980 Nations cup squad. The only suprises were Moses Effiong, Charles Bassey and John Orlando.

Youre right...I remember Usiyen, Nwokocha, Andy Atuegbu, Banjo and Chidozie being our "professionals" in those days :)
Yes oh chief , he was fair almost looking like a halfcaste if not one. He was playing for Kwara Water Corporation FC, he later moved to IICC after the nations cup. He claimed to come from Kwara state, but then in those days, we had a law limiting foreigners in a team to just 2. To beat this law it was common for a lot of Ghanaians back then to claim being Nigerians. Most will claim to be from Ogbomosho , Oshogbo or Offa. Or some will simply claim to come from Kano.
omo-eko
we

Post by omo-eko »

Megapro wrote

just by the ACN,

Megapro your memory failed you on this, the year in question, Raccah rovers, calabar rovers and stationery stores they were all in div 1, and if you want us to debate this bring it on from 1977-1980, as a referee i officiate most of this teams and have some of the match report with me,BENDEL INSURANCE IS NOT THE BEST, BUT ONE OF THE BEST PERIOD
megapro
Re: we

Post by megapro »

omo-eko wrote:Megapro wrote

just by the ACN,

Megapro your memory failed you on this, the year in question, Raccah rovers, calabar rovers and stationery stores they were all in div 1, and if you want us to debate this bring it on from 1977-1980, as a referee i officiate most of this teams and have some of the match report with me,BENDEL INSURANCE IS NOT THE BEST, BUT ONE OF THE BEST PERIOD
Nigeria division 1.
12 teams

A national second division was introduced.

Division One
Bendel Insurance (Benin)
Enugu Rangers
Housing Corporation (Akure)
Mighty Jets (Jos)
Racca Rovers (Kano)
P and T Vasco da Gama (Enugu)
Nigerian Standard (Jos)
Port Harcourt Sharks
Water Corporation (Ibadan)
IICC (Ibadan)
African Continental Bank (Lagos)
Spartans (Owerri)

Champions: Bendel Insurance

Division Two

Calabar Rovers
Works Golden Star (Kano)
Ewekoro Works (Abeokuta)
Tornadoes (Minna)
Defence Industries Corporation Bees (Kaduna)
P and T Satellite (Ilorin)
Textiles (Asaba)
Club 50 (Sokoto)
Customs (Calabar)

Everyone know say stores no even dey league.
1977 they were top with rangers, won the toss of coin but then disappeared from the radar entirely for 4 years.
Raccah were champions in 78 and relegated in 80.
Asabatex beat them 6-0 dont forget.
megapro 2012:
megapro

Post by megapro »

Yes oh chief , he was fair almost looking like a halfcaste if not one. He was playing for Kwara Water Corporation FC, he later moved to IICC after the nations cup. He claimed to come from Kwara state, but then in those days, we had a law limiting foreigners in a team to just 2. To beat this law it was common for a lot of Ghanaians back then to claim being Nigerians. Most will claim to be from Ogbomosho , Oshogbo or Offa. Or some will simply claim to come from Kano.
Oloye,
Otto Gloria was suspended in london as the team was enrout Algiers. Gottlieb Goller took care of the second leg.
Otto Gloria returned in January 1981 with a new assistant.
the 3 nations cup matches were
03.03.82 3-0 Ethiopia
10.03.82 1-2 Algeria
13.03.82 0-3 Zambia

Otto Gloria was sacked on 30.03.82 after the nations cup.
megapro 2012:
omo-eko
se

Post by omo-eko »

Megapro wrote

Nigeria division 1.
12 teams

A national second division was introduced.

Division One
Bendel Insurance (Benin)
Enugu Rangers
Housing Corporation (Akure)
Mighty Jets (Jos)
Racca Rovers (Kano)
P and T Vasco da Gama (Enugu)
Nigerian Standard (Jos)
Port Harcourt Sharks
Water Corporation (Ibadan)
IICC (Ibadan)
African Continental Bank (Lagos)
Spartans (Owerri)

Champions: Bendel Insurance

Division Two

Calabar Rovers
Works Golden Star (Kano)
Ewekoro Works (Abeokuta)
Tornadoes (Minna)
Defence Industries Corporation Bees (Kaduna)
P and T Satellite (Ilorin)
Textiles (Asaba)
Club 50 (Sokoto)
Customs (Calabar)

Everyone know say stores no even dey league.
1977 they were top with rangers, won the toss of coin but then disappeared from the radar entirely for 4 years.
Raccah were champions in 78 and relegated in 80.
Asabatex beat them 6-0 dont forget.

Megapro, go back to your archives and do your home work, housing corporation is not from akure but ibadan, stores did not win the toss they lost to Rangers, and stores did not disappeard from the radar that is wrong check your record, like i said if you want us to discuss nigeria football bring it on,now i will take you back to 1964 to date , i played for years, officiate so many national league and chalenge cups, principal cups, oba cups in lagos and YSFON GAMES, soccer coach and lastly active memeber of nigeria football suportters club, since 1978 to date
Al B Sure

Post by Al B Sure »

Post your proof with links Omo-eko. That will stop the arguement once and for all don't you think?

Without proof, this will just be a constant to and fro arguement without justifications.
megapro

Post by megapro »

Al B Sure wrote:Post your proof with links Omo-eko. That will stop the arguement once and for all don't you think?

Without proof, this will just be a constant to and fro arguement without justifications.
a ref cofused between:
Housing coporation akure and Water coporation Ibadan.
megapro 2012:
omo-eko
se

Post by omo-eko »

Megapro wrote

a ref cofused between:
Housing coporation akure and Water coporation Ibadan.
My guess is that you are confused, we have housing corporation of ibadan in div 11, olubadan stadium is their home field, and housing corporation of akure not in div1, but become ondo state challenge cup champion that year,
omo-eko
ae

Post by omo-eko »

A l B sure wrote
Post your proof with links Omo-eko. That will stop the arguement once and for all don't you think?

do i need to proof anything? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Al B Sure

Post by Al B Sure »

.......errrrrrr..... yeah!