Is Bush really that Bad?
LOL.. go dig out the data in regards to aid given to eygpt and compare that to israel.gyal wrote:Ziontrain,
Why are u always concerned about Israel. Can you never respond to a topic without bringing israel into it. Do you know what country recieves the second most aid from U.S-its Egypt . The last time I checked Egypt was an african country.. so please stop with the Israel tangent u have. There is no doubt that Israel recieves the most foreign aid, but Egypt (an African country) recieves the second largest aid. So is the U.S thus not giving aid to africa - or let me guess- the North Africans don't count, we only care about what bush has done for black africans or what![]()
Get off your high horse already, sheesh!!!
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna
Hey, i know the U.S gives about $5b to Israel annually, and gives about $2b dollars to Egypt for maintaining peace in the mid east. I know the U.S gives weapons worth millions of dollars to Israel 2. But hey, it is not like Bush came to office b4 that started. It has been like that a long time ago.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
Yeah, but that's the point. If you want to talk about Humanitarian aid, where is it needed - if not in Africa? So the numbers are just a joke. There is NO American president that has ever cared about Africa.They give tons of money to Israel and Egypt for *strategic military* reasons.
Then they throw peanuts to Africa and make a lot of noise. I'm not saying we should expect money from then. But by the same token, don't come in here saying they are being generous on some kind of human basis. They are not. None of them give a damn until its too late.
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007
Juventus,
I was just trying to point out that if youre going to highlight the aid Israel gets as proof that Africa gets peanuts, why not highlight Egypt than. Why not complain that Egypt recieves 2 billion in aid each yr, maybe we should ask the U.S to spread the money given to Egypt to all AFrican countries. It just seems to me sometimes that people always have to figure in the Israel issue everytime they have something bad to say about the U.S.
Anyway, enough of this....its the weekend and I have to save my energy for other things
I was just trying to point out that if youre going to highlight the aid Israel gets as proof that Africa gets peanuts, why not highlight Egypt than. Why not complain that Egypt recieves 2 billion in aid each yr, maybe we should ask the U.S to spread the money given to Egypt to all AFrican countries. It just seems to me sometimes that people always have to figure in the Israel issue everytime they have something bad to say about the U.S.

Anyway, enough of this....its the weekend and I have to save my energy for other things

1) Israal gets far more money than Egypt
2) When you consider the population difference b/w Egypt and Isreal, that disparity is gigantic!
3) When you you conside that percapity number vs a of Africa - even MORE suprising
4) Even Egypt is getting money for military reasons, not humanitarion
5) In fact by many standards that Egypyt govt is quite undemocratic and shouldn't be getting that kind of financial support from the USA aka the self-proclaimed "champion of democracy"
6) And then later they are suprised that Arabs dont like them - while supporting represive govts at their own convenience!
2) When you consider the population difference b/w Egypt and Isreal, that disparity is gigantic!
3) When you you conside that percapity number vs a of Africa - even MORE suprising
4) Even Egypt is getting money for military reasons, not humanitarion
5) In fact by many standards that Egypyt govt is quite undemocratic and shouldn't be getting that kind of financial support from the USA aka the self-proclaimed "champion of democracy"
6) And then later they are suprised that Arabs dont like them - while supporting represive govts at their own convenience!
Believe it or not, THAT is exactly what Osama bin Laden was doing in Saudi and what Ayaman Al Zawahiri was doing in Egypt before they were expelled bythe govts in their country - which are propped up solely by US support.Jinn wrote:& why can't the repressed citizens of these countries go the route of cuba & start a revolution? i wonder.
Abi you STILL don't get why they decided to then attack their problem at its source ie the US?
You don't realize that all the 19 hijackers were Saudis and Egyptian. Did you ask why?
Those guys mention Isreal/Palestinians in passing, but the fact is that their movements grew up from DOMESTIC dissatisfaction and lack of an ability to change anything locally - they were facing US-backed dictatorship govts.
You won't ask these questions if you only listen to CNN or read the Wall St Journal or NY Times. You keep waiting for THEM to tell you the whole truth, you will be waiting forever.
But yeah, Bush and all other US presidents have been a *true* friend to Africa and the rest of the developing world. No doubt. Keep up the good work, right?
Ziontrain, na wa for you sef.......and by the way, why are you even posting, shouldnt you be on the Arsenal ban 8) 8) 8)
Anyway, why you get Zion for ya name if you get so much angst towards the land of Zion......Nevertheless, I agree with you that the US helps out Egypt for mainly strategic military and political reasons, but last time I checked there was nothing strange or wrong about it.
And regardless of what anyone says, African leaders have done worse to their people and our continent than anything Mr. Whitey can ever dream up.
We, as Africans need to get our act together before we can expect anything or blame others for any of the problems that we have caused for ourselves.....It is as simple as that
Anyway, why you get Zion for ya name if you get so much angst towards the land of Zion......Nevertheless, I agree with you that the US helps out Egypt for mainly strategic military and political reasons, but last time I checked there was nothing strange or wrong about it.
And regardless of what anyone says, African leaders have done worse to their people and our continent than anything Mr. Whitey can ever dream up.
We, as Africans need to get our act together before we can expect anything or blame others for any of the problems that we have caused for ourselves.....It is as simple as that
Nothing "strange" or "wrong" about propping up an undemocratic govt - while claiming to invade Iraq in the name of "democracy"? Right. Ok. Whatever. If you think there's nothing "wrong" in what I just described, there not really any point in discussing this one, to be honest.anikulapo wrote: , I agree with you that the US helps out Egypt for mainly strategic military and political reasons, but last time I checked there was nothing strange or wrong about it.
This is the same crap they've been doing since they got rid of Lumumba. They are no friend of anybody - other than themselves.
Ummmm Duhhhh, what do you think nations do? Isn't it about looking out for their own interests? If you think otherwise then that is the height of naivete....Ziontrain wrote:Nothing "strange" or "wrong" about propping up an undemocratic govt - while claiming to invade Iraq in the name of "democracy"? Right. Ok. Whatever. If you think there's nothing "wrong" in what I just described, there not really any point in discussing this one, to be honest.anikulapo wrote: , I agree with you that the US helps out Egypt for mainly strategic military and political reasons, but last time I checked there was nothing strange or wrong about it.
This is the same crap they've been doing since they got rid of Lumumba. They are no friend of anybody - other than themselves.

- Thought
anikulapo,
They are selling us the idea that they are the moral authority and we should support their geopolitical policies. They go as far as coercing us through force, aid denial, systematic economic policies, etc... wtf are you talking about self interest? Sure it is their priority but now that they are the superpower they have responsibilities uniqique to that position. Dont go on blasting your pro-American rhetoric and even making some very banal arguments.

Real Madrid - The Greatest Club on Earth!
Dude, please chose another forum name, because you are actually not thinking..........If you expect a nation to not adopt policies or strategies that are not primarily in its own interests and adopt a propaganda to support it then you are very naive....
Personally, I dont understand the point of your response anyway, you seem to be getting hot and heavy over nothing....Make you take a chill pill

Wow, and you got this highly credible information from being:BABS wrote:Well everybody always knew that Bush is a figure head. People like Cheney are the ones that call the shot.okuns wrote:In my opinion, Bush is not really that bad. The problem with this Administration is d#$% Cheney...
A. A fly on the wall during policy meetings or on the golf course.
B. From being a member of the inner circle.
C. From consulting the crystal ball on your kitchen table.
D. From reading up on one of Rossike's websites

- Thought
As usual you resort to petty insults to defend your shallow arguments. As immature as you seem to be, you wouldnt understand the point of my post, coz anything that comes remotely close to invalidating your narrow perceptions on responsibilities you immediately read over.anikulapo wrote:Dude, please chose another forum name, because you are actually not thinking..........If you expect a nation to not adopt policies or strategies that are not primarily in its own interests and adopt a propaganda to support it then you are very naive....

Hey God ohhhhhhhh........Thought e, you are being too sensitive...Na wetin sef...Relax a little...If you felt insulted then kpelel.......No vex, aight
- Thought
You sabi how serious this misadventures of Bush dey, abi? So when you begin dey defend them with the most prepostrous arguments, man dey wonder why...anikulapo wrote:Hey God ohhhhhhhh........Thought e, you are being too sensitive...Na wetin sef...Relax a little...If you felt insulted then kpelel.......No vex, aight

I think as Nigerians have bigger fish to fry than the goings-on in Iraq. That is Bush and America's main problem. Nigeria has a lot more issues than the US that we should be focusing on 8)Thought wrote:You sabi how serious this misadventures of Bush dey, abi? So when you begin dey defend them with the most prepostrous arguments, man dey wonder why...anikulapo wrote:Hey God ohhhhhhhh........Thought e, you are being too sensitive...Na wetin sef...Relax a little...If you felt insulted then kpelel.......No vex, aight
- Thought
But that no mean say we suppose ignore international affairs, especially those with fide reaching consequences as the "War on Terror". The whole world has been dragged into that because somebody managed to kill a couple of thousand Americans.
We cannot live an isolated existence and the lessons obtained from critical observation of such actions are invaluable and may prove quite informative when we make our own moves.
The world is a global village and as such imperialist ambitions by the only superpower mustnt be overlooked.
We cannot live an isolated existence and the lessons obtained from critical observation of such actions are invaluable and may prove quite informative when we make our own moves.
The world is a global village and as such imperialist ambitions by the only superpower mustnt be overlooked.

You sabi how serious this misadventures of Bush dey, abi
Thought, what is ya own sef? Kaiii, na wa ohhh........Did I ever say we should practice isolationism? I am talking about priorities. Why should we be so busy worrying about the US's problems when our own house is on fire.....But hey, to each his own, consequently, more power....Peace