Aiyegbeni 's critics, check this out
Aiyegbeni will remain aiyegbeni,an unachiever,though i like his struggle for ball,but that alone is not enough ,he needs to improve.The problem we have with naija strikers is that they REFUSE to improve,i dont know why?it is like a disease which must be cured
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
from an 18 team league or is it 20 u have named four players from three teams, which helps me prove my pointAyo Akinfe wrote:Christian VieriDodo wrote:How many players score more than 20 goals in Serie A in a season, not alot
David Treuzeguet
Andrei Shevchenko
Filipo Inzaghi
What stops a Nigerian following their footsteps?
Nanijoe: Nearly does not kill a bird. This is a yes or no question and we all know the answer. Yakubu deserves his props.
nanijoe wrote:I firmly believe that if Yekini had played in any of those leagues in his prime, he would have scored 25 goals a season, the same applies to Agha-wonder.Has Nigeria ever had a striker in La Liga, Le Championet, Die Bundesliga, the Premiership of Serie A that has scored 25 goals a season?
Please..take Klose off that list. That guy is garbage! hot grabage!Ayo Akinfe wrote:Eight goals in 30 league games is a woeful return International strikers are expected to at least notch 20 a season.
The likes of Henry, Van Nistelroy, Viduka, Owen, Shearer and Beattie have shown how it is done. Nigeria has always had this problem. Has Nigeria ever had a striker in La Liga, Le Championet, Die Bundesliga, the Premiership of Serie A that has scored 25 goals a season?
The likes of Trezeguet, Vieri, Shearer, Henry, Ronaldo, Raul, Klose and Van Nistelroy do it for threee seasons back to back! We have a long way to go!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Jimi wrote:Please..take Klose off that list. That guy is garbage! hot grabage!Ayo Akinfe wrote:Eight goals in 30 league games is a woeful return International strikers are expected to at least notch 20 a season.
The likes of Henry, Van Nistelroy, Viduka, Owen, Shearer and Beattie have shown how it is done. Nigeria has always had this problem. Has Nigeria ever had a striker in La Liga, Le Championet, Die Bundesliga, the Premiership of Serie A that has scored 25 goals a season?
The likes of Trezeguet, Vieri, Shearer, Henry, Ronaldo, Raul, Klose and Van Nistelroy do it for threee seasons back to back! We have a long way to go!

I do not think our Cameroonian brothers will agree with you on that. He gave the Indomitable Lions real hell in Japan/Korea 2002!
You have to look at the background of the naija strikers to understand why this is so. No Niaja striker if i can recollect has managed to score up to 20 goals on the local scene, even back in the days of Yekini, you have strikers scoring 8 goals and yet winning the highest goal scorer's award.
When you come from a system that hails and celebrate's such achivement you will know we are in trouble. The training and orientation of many african strikers is flawed, someone like Fash turned up for the SE and could not make out team, because we said he could not dribble, Efan turned up for the SE when he was hot in the league over here, yet could hardly break into the SE.
When your strikers rates themseves by how many defenders they can dribble rather than the number of goals scored, their goal returns will always be abyssmal to say the least. Ofcourse when the foundation is flawed everything becomes flawed.
I use to say to my friends when we watch african strikers, i will tell him watch their positioning in and around the box when the ball is the opponents goal area, you will see why they hardly score. Watch the typical European striker sense of positioning and his eager desire to get to that position , it explains it all.
When you come from a system that hails and celebrate's such achivement you will know we are in trouble. The training and orientation of many african strikers is flawed, someone like Fash turned up for the SE and could not make out team, because we said he could not dribble, Efan turned up for the SE when he was hot in the league over here, yet could hardly break into the SE.
When your strikers rates themseves by how many defenders they can dribble rather than the number of goals scored, their goal returns will always be abyssmal to say the least. Ofcourse when the foundation is flawed everything becomes flawed.
I use to say to my friends when we watch african strikers, i will tell him watch their positioning in and around the box when the ball is the opponents goal area, you will see why they hardly score. Watch the typical European striker sense of positioning and his eager desire to get to that position , it explains it all.