Russia v Nigeria - 1:1 FT

Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:1

danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:36 pm i am comfortable with the result and performance. We could have performed better, but some players showed that they belong and thats the most important thing.

Leaving Moscow (against their first team) with a draw, with our second team, missing 8-9 first 11 players, is very very impressive. I keep saying that if the coach selects his team on merit, we can be very competitive.

Would you say this same thing if Didier Deschamps team performed like this?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:1 FT

Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 8:09 pm
txj wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:59 pm
anointed wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:57 pm Nothing much to write about our play. It was a lot of akrija kinda scrimmage. We were more individualiatic than team-esque. Russia was more but marginally organized than us.

If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces. We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.

We have officially moved from _Iyanu a_ Chelle to _Ki lo n_ Chelle.

Nothing more to add. Sometimes I feel like the peeps watching the game here are in an alternate universe...
We are not playing modern football.
You guys and always trying to be condescending to the next guy. It’s a football forum for crying out loud, this is not coaching school where shoulders have to be raised based on who’s more tactically aware.
Y’all should take a chill pill and allow people express themselves, it’s not that serious.
There is a reason he is called itkxj …
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

:evil: :twisted:
Both goals were grievious defensive mistakes. Those players need to be given 39 lashes of da exact whip, that was given our Lord Jesus Christ !! :mrgreen:
===============================================================
Aaagghhhh gaadammmnn ittt !! Wherez my Heineken + big wet bubble booty chics ? :mrgreen:
[/quote] :mrgreen:
Re: Russia v Nigeria - 1:0

Lolly wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 6:23 pm Boniface is really poor today. Haba!
Today?!

Dude is like a kid's pet rock.
Expecting him to do something is asking a lot.

Solid game from the boyz, Humble pie for haters.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:11 pm petrol $$$ boniface won't press that ball Tolu just scored
He is not interested in pressing.
He plays like he doesn't want to be there.

But na una dey hype am.

Allow di guy to be a full time Content Creator, whosai. :(

Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:16 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:11 pm petrol $$$ boniface won't press that ball Tolu just scored

But na una dey hype am.

Boniface is another Richard Owobokiri, He only shines with his clubside

anointed wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:57 pm Nothing much to write about our play. It was a lot of akrija kinda scrimmage. We were more individualiatic than team-esque. Russia was more but marginally organized than us.

If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing
we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces.
We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.

Nothing more to add. Sometimes I feel like the peeps watching the game here are in an alternate universe...
With overhyped players and unrealistic fans, our football is going to the dumps.
Imagine players hoping to compete at the world stage who still lack one touch
ball control and do not appreciate the quick pass. What about defenders not able
to account for opposing players in the box, or charging at the man for a header instead
of aiming for the ball, thus exposing the team to cheap penalty calls.

In short, too many elementary errors, individually and as a team. Thus we are simply
hoping to be lucky or have prayers answered.

danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:15 pm I am content with our midfield. Add Iwobi, Chukwueze and 1 other creative guy and we are getting closer.

The back 5 wouldnt start for us, or shouldnt anyway. And the forwards wouldnt, with Osimhen and Lookman.
I think there's now quality depth.
The next thing is to figure out which combination works best together.
I would seriously consider keeping this set and just adding Iwobi and Lookman for Dele and Simon, respectively.

In the back, with Aina and Felix we will be more solid. And you also have the flexibility of moving Bassey to Leftback if you want.

wale1974 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:18 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:16 pm

But na una dey hype am.

Boniface is another Richard Owobokiri, He only shines with his clubside
i just said the same to one whatapp chat group i dey

joao wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:22 pm

If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing
we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces.
We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.

With overhyped players and unrealistic fans, our football is going to the dumps.
Imagine players hoping to compete at the world stage who still lack one touch
ball control and do not appreciate the quick pass. What about defenders not able
to account for opposing players in the box, or charging at the man for a header instead
of aiming for the ball, thus exposing the team to cheap penalty calls.

In short, too many elementary errors, individually and as a team. Thus we are simply
hoping to be lucky or have prayers answered.
Tbh I've concluded that we will never play perfect and orgasmic football regardless of who the coach is and I've already made peace with that...and I advise the earlier you come to terms with that the better for your pampered expectations. I like Chelle cause we're not losing games under him (which is more than I could have settled for), and that's good enough for me...we are more competitive in spite of our endless shortcomings.
Last edited by Tobi17 on Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fabio wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:30 pm This defence has a problem with or in the last 10 minutes of games...
It is actually not the defense.
It starts in midfield.
They ran out of gas and weren't closing space...
Russia was able to get into our area with a couple of passes.
The pressing needs to be done better and deliberately and not open the flanks for easy outlet...
That was how they got the upper hand for a few minutes there...

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:35 pm Tolu and Dessers are officially the capable deputies for Osimhen, midfield looks solid as always.

Defence needs to be overhauled, it's clear Ajayi and Ekong are now deadweights that have to be phased out, Bruno needs more competition and Felix Agu couldn't have come at a better time for that purpose.
I am sorry, you watched a different game.
How many chances were created through the middle of our defense?

danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:36 pm i am comfortable with the result and performance. We could have performed better, but some players showed that they belong and thats the most important thing.

Leaving Moscow (against their first team) with a draw, with our second team, missing 8-9 first 11 players, is very very impressive. I keep saying that if the coach selects his team on merit, we can be very competitive.
I agree with you...

Along with figuring out the right mix in midfield, the coach needs to figure out the timing of his subs and who to sub.
But I see that there's depth, should we have all our players available.

Glad the friendlies afforded an opportunity to see Felix and Fredrick. They should be in the mix along with Ogbu.
It also got us to see that Dele is still a very good player for us.
It also came close to ending some SE careers....
We got to see some capable options (depth).

danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:36 pm
Showboy wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:26 pm Our centre backs will not kill me today!! :scared:
:lol: :lol: Those two have supporters here o... off your mic!
I am their chief supporter.

But I won't be upset if the coach decides to trend young.
Would I trend young for a critical away game? No!
For a home game, yes!

Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 8:09 pm

If not for the Ukrainian village people whose native drone afflicted the Russian goalie and Arokodare a free goal, I can't imagine how we would have scored. One annoying thing we have to confront now is our pathetic defence of set pieces. We were lucky not to have conceded twice from free headers.

You guys and always trying to be condescending to the next guy. It’s a football forum for crying out loud, this is not coaching school where shoulders have to be raised based on who’s more tactically aware.
Y’all should take a chill pill and allow people express themselves, it’s not that serious.
You dey mind TXJ?

One of the aims of the friendlies has been achieved.
We have seen Ogbu, Fredrick, Chrisantus and Agu stake a claim.
That is FOUR players added.
We saw Dele Bashiru reintegrate himself back into the team and played well.
We saw a mobile midfield taking place.
Maduka Okoye, had a good game and made a claim for the number one jersey.

All these without us using the same personnel. And was on the road.

The coach and the NFF should be pleased with themselves for getting all these out of 3 friendlies.

txj wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 8:10 pm

Would you say this same thing if Didier Deschamps team performed like this?
Uncle it’s two different situations. We legit took two CBs- one of who is a clubless and the other a failed Tottenham reject who has pretty much retired and struggles in Saudi. It’s a mirablet to only concede 1 goal with their two sh-t!

Russia used their first team. We used our B team,

For me, the CMs and the forwards are what we take with us. That defense need to be let go.

Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:24 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:15 pm I am content with our midfield. Add Iwobi, Chukwueze and 1 other creative guy and we are getting closer.

The back 5 wouldnt start for us, or shouldnt anyway. And the forwards wouldnt, with Osimhen and Lookman.
Move Bassey - our best CB to LB so that Wii will okay CD?

I think there's now quality depth.
The next thing is to figure out which combination works best together.
I would seriously consider keeping this set and just adding Iwobi and Lookman for Dele and Simon, respectively.

In the back, with Aina and Felix we will be more solid. And you also have the flexibility of moving Bassey to Leftback if you want.

Uncle, do you know that Ajayi is clubless? A div 2 team said he was sh1t and released him. Do you also know that Opioror was dragged like a rag doll again today?

Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 9:44 pm
danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:36 pm
Showboy wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:26 pm Our centre backs will not kill me today!! :scared:
:lol: :lol: Those two have supporters here o... off your mic!
I am their chief supporter.

But I won't be upset if the coach decides to trend young.
Would I trend young for a critical away game? No!
For a home game, yes!

So you will take a clubless CB and an Opioror who is in retirement league and has been humiliated by Zimbabwe and the likes to a critical away game simply because of their age? Why don’t we just kukuma invite uncle Ohsee?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:42 pm
Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:37 pm Good game for the eagles.
Coming to Russia and forcing a draw on home soil is no easy feat.
Congratulations to Chelle.

Our weakest link was our CB pairing of Ekong and Aina. If the Russians were more clinical we would have been 3-4 goals behind.

Man of the match was obviously Maduka Okoye! What a keeper!
Aina didn't play, stop with the fake post. Also Russia also had just 2 shots on goal. How the heck did you give the goalie the man of the match? Agenda must Agend. Russia had 10 shots with only 2 on target, they scored an own goal. We had 6 shots and 4 on target . be honest.
Negro sTFU! I meant Ajayi.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 10:17 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:42 pm
Babalawo wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:37 pm Good game for the eagles.
Coming to Russia and forcing a draw on home soil is no easy feat.
Congratulations to Chelle.

Our weakest link was our CB pairing of Ekong and Aina. If the Russians were more clinical we would have been 3-4 goals behind.

Man of the match was obviously Maduka Okoye! What a keeper!
Aina didn't play, stop with the fake post. Also Russia also had just 2 shots on goal. How the heck did you give the goalie the man of the match? Agenda must Agend. Russia had 10 shots with only 2 on target, they scored an own goal. We had 6 shots and 4 on target . be honest.
Negro sTFU! I meant Ajayi.
enemy of progress, you didn't watch the match, stop passing fake news , you jinxed Kamala Harris , you jinxed the SE dueing AFCON final , you also jinxed the SE during the WCQ.. go and support Ghana

danfo driver wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 7:55 pm Image
Danfo

If you keep putting up dis mango here, na so we go put you inside crate to visit Ekong. :rotf: He is not happy at all, at all. Na warning be dat oo.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics