Official ...Nigeria's final 23--Toyin Ibitoye

Re: Official ...Nigeria's final 23--Toyin Ibitoye

Player wrote:Some of you all need to chill and just get behind the team, you guys ain't Coaches....no one cares about your opinions...
Frank blank aka serial name changer was crying last nite. I hope he went to for a medical check out this morning.. :D :D :D
dhoney

Post by dhoney »

Cristao II wrote:
analyzer wrote:Defense pretty much picked itself.. Same for attack sans Babatunde - not sure what is going on here.

Nosa's omission is the one that really is a head scratcher.. Dude had a good season and his last 2 games for SE i watched (ethiopia and scotland) he was solid.. His ability to hold ball and distribute from midfield is only next to Mikel IMO.. Was a perfect back up to Mikel if needed.. As well as can be used deep next to Onazi while Mikel pushes forward or can be used box to box.. IMO, Nosa probably was a better fit from deep MF than playing in AM..
Really, really confused as to why Nosa was dropped.. Will rather drop Babatunde for Nosa if Ruben and co must be on the plane.. Even forgot Uchebo who did not really impress me..
Ruben that has hardly featured in any competitive game under Keshi for past 18 months just dey glide along like that.. Whatever Keshi sees in this kid and babatunde, i hope they actually vindicate his faith in them with solid on field performances.. Because the thing no just add up that much..

IMO, the MF is not light in numbers but arguably in quality.. You have 5 MFs for about 2-3 spots at a time..
:agree: :agree:
You guys forgot that Nosa was injured for most part of the season. His fitness is a big concern even though, I would have loved to see him in the WC. To me, he is the closest sub for Mikel.

And Babatunde what?...I am sorry Keshi had no reason including that grass cutter, I honestly prefered Odumadi

But like I always say all these complaints na over the bar....Let's get behind this team and give them full support. Up SE
Last edited by dhoney on Tue Jun 03, 2014 7:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Many thanks to Nosa, Mba, Nsofor, Ejike, Obi, Akpeyi and Odumadi. I hope you guys continue to have great success in your paths in the future and hopefully come back stronger for Nigeria and fulfil your world cup dreams.

Also special thanks to those who played a role but were not considered the likes of Ogude, Ideye et al.

For the chosen, the very best of luck and hope you bring real joy the hearts of millions who will be rooting for you and at the same time hope you greatly exceed your WC aspirations.

To the coaches and administrators, here is to a distraction free competition hopefully filled with many inspired decisions.

To the fans of the Eagles here is hoping your hearts are filled with joy and great pride with the performances of our team.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.
dhoney

Post by dhoney »

hestonap wrote:Many thanks to Nosa, Mba, Nsofor, Ejike, Obi, Akpeyi and Odumadi. I hope you guys continue to have great success in your paths in the future and hopefully come back stronger for Nigeria and fulfil your world cup dreams.

Also special thanks to those who played a role but were not considered the likes of Ogude, Ideye et al.

For the chosen, the very best of luck and hope you bring real joy the hearts of millions who will be rooting for you and at the same time hope you greatly exceed your WC aspirations.

To the coaches and administrators, here is to a distraction free competition hopefully filled with many inspired decisions.

To the fans of the Eagles here is hoping your hearts are filled with joy and great pride with the performances of our team.

:clap: that's the spirit bro.
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
dhoney

Post by dhoney »

paj wrote:
okuns wrote:
patrick wrote:
okuns wrote:I like the list. I have no qualms about it at all. I have long suspected that Keshi will take all his defenders to the World Cup and true to form he did that. The only surprise to me was he retained Amoebi, but I suspect non-footballing factors played a role in his selection.

I really wanted Ejike to make it, but I can understand why he was left off. He does not bring anything different to the team that Moses, Musa, and Osaze do not have. I am so glad Nsofor was dropped because I really do not like his game. He packs a good shot, but I really think he is quite pedestrian when he plays for the SE.

I am very excited to see Reuben Gabriel in the squad, I have a feeling he will start alongside Onazi. Babatunde I see as a direct replacement for Onazi should he pick up cards. He will provide cover to Omeruo and Ambrose should the opportunity arise.

Excellent list and a lot of thought was put into it, we are going to be solid in Brazil. And we are going to be hard to beat!
Lord have mercy :rotf: :rotf:
Na so I see am. This is not about match fixing, but the way he plays. He works hard and is often overworked in the defensive midfield position. Due to this, he is prone to picking up cautions and I suspect he might accumulate so much that he might not be eligible to play a match. Keshi has done his scenario planning and that is why this list has been kpomed by yours truly.

Guy just go to bed abeg, this post has to be a result of sleep deprivation wherever you are. Babatunde as a replacement for Onazi? why stop there? how about as a replacement for enyeama?
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Babatunde for Onazi??.. .. I beg go catch some sleep as advised. Or better still stay with soccer they play on the table NOT on the field.

:laugh: :laugh:

Those saying 'get behind the team' just dont get it sometimes. There is no logical reason to me why Nosa Igiebor would get dropped from that list.

Yes when the whistle blows, I will be behind Nigeria but my heart is far more with the team Keshi picked for the ANC than this WC squad.

I wish them well but I dont agree with all of Keshi's selection. Babatunde ahead of Ideye? I dont get it!! I just dont get it. Those talking about Nosa's injury - REALLY!! REALLY F'ING REALLY!! Remind me of Reuben's match fitness. Yes, Nosa has been injured this season but I would be shocked if he has less playing time than Reuben. The same Reuben that came down with something during ANC - I dont think I even saw him during CONFEDs. He hasnt even played a game for his Belgian club!!

Oh well in line with CE's preferred stance before I am attacked by some - I WISH THEM WELL. I only hope they mean and wish Nigerians watching them WELL as WELL!!
Last edited by Cristao II on Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Sir V wrote:
Okochadman2Nas wrote: i can't believe Nosa was dropped and Ruben and Babatunde were chosen ..smh
Keshi will rest Gabriel Reuben against Greece to avoid injury.

Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

1naija wrote:We know Yobo vetted the list before it was released, so how much blame should he bear for the list. Based on his status in Nigerian football I am sure he was allocated 5 slots to fill. I will blame Keshi 98%, the NFF 1.5% and Yobo 0.5%.
Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

analyzer wrote:Defense pretty much picked itself.. Same for attack sans Babatunde - not sure what is going on here.

Nosa's omission is the one that really is a head scratcher.. Dude had a good season and his last 2 games for SE i watched (ethiopia and scotland) he was solid.. His ability to hold ball and distribute from midfield is only next to Mikel IMO.. Was a perfect back up to Mikel if needed.. As well as can be used deep next to Onazi while Mikel pushes forward or can be used box to box.. IMO, Nosa probably was a better fit from deep MF than playing in AM..
Really, really confused as to why Nosa was dropped.. Will rather drop Babatunde for Nosa if Ruben and co must be on the plane.. Even forgot Uchebo who did not really impress me..
Ruben that has hardly featured in any competitive game under Keshi for past 18 months just dey glide along like that.. Whatever Keshi sees in this kid and babatunde, i hope they actually vindicate his faith in them with solid on field performances.. Because the thing no just add up that much..

IMO, the MF is not light in numbers but arguably in quality.. You have 5 MFs for about 2-3 spots at a time..
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

KingLoku wrote:Kind of like the list .. Babatunde is a good player , he got confident on the ball ..Shola is a ball holder .. I like the list ,, well done Keshi :clap: :clap:
what da :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: pipul abeg look outside your windows, una dey see any pink elephant flying? :scared: :scared: :scared:

Anyways Naija United. For God, Nigeria and Humanity. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

LET'S GO BOYS - UP NIGERIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Controversial selections, but if analysed, you can understand the reasoning. During the Scotland friendly, I said it appeared to me the coaches were concerned about the balance on the left side, so they had FOUR left footed players from the off including Elderson. I believe the coach wanted to test a theory to see which worked best. I guess Babatunde got the nod.

Uzoenyi is the real surprise, but his skill level (he is actually very skillful and can cross the ball) won it for him. I see him as someone who will come in for Moses if he tires or the coaches feel they can get at the right side of the opponent with a skillful naturally left footed player. He will see action in Brazil.

As per Nosa, I feel for the lad. He had a good game against Scotland, and I felt our game got a lift when he came on. I can only imagine the coaches rightly projecting for 6 games. Can his body stand the rigours? If they were unsure, then they are within their right to drop the player.

Then what is this I read about a thin midfield? Even though Moses and Musa are listed as attackers,they mostly operate from the advanced midfield positions, and I am sure are versatile enough to play anywhere along the line.

I see Osaze being used as support for Emenike, should the coaches decide to switch to a 4-4-2. Nwofor will be his replacement.

Still think we have a strong squad, and what's left is for us fans to really get behind this team. This team can make the quarter-finals, and with a bit of tournament luck maybe even further. All the best to the Super Eagles of Nigeria.
Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

KingLoku wrote:Kind of like the list .. Babatunde is a good player , he got confident on the ball ..Shola is a ball holder .. I like the list ,, well done Keshi :clap: :clap:
what da :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: pipul abeg look outside your windows, una dey see any pink elephant flying? :scared: :scared: :scared:

Anyways Naija United. For God, Nigeria and Humanity. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

LET'S GO BOYS - UP NIGERIAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
true say Bro, those players are below par
Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

Shownoja wrote:Controversial selections, but if analysed, you can understand the reasoning. During the Scotland friendly, I said it appeared to me the coaches were concerned about the balance on the left side, so they had FOUR left footed players from the off including Elderson. I believe the coach wanted to test a theory to see which worked best. I guess Babatunde got the nod.

Uzoenyi is the real surprise, but his skill level (he is actually very skillful and can cross the ball) won it for him. I see him as someone who will come in for Moses if he tires or the coaches feel they can get at the right side of the opponent with a skillful naturally left footed player. He will see action in Brazil.

As per Nosa, I feel for the lad. He had a good game against Scotland, and I felt our game got a lift when he came on. I can only imagine the coaches rightly projecting for 6 games. Can his body stand the rigours? If they were unsure, then they are within their right to drop the player.

Then what is this I read about a thin midfield? Even though Moses and Musa are listed as attackers,they mostly operate from the advanced midfield positions, and I am sure are versatile enough to play anywhere along the line.

I see Osaze being used as support for Emenike, should the coaches decide to switch to a 4-4-2. Nwofor will be his replacement.

Still think we have a strong squad, and what's left is for us fans to really get behind this team. This team can make the quarter-finals, and with a bit of tournament luck maybe even further. All the best to the Super Eagles of Nigeria.
Uzoenyi is not on the list Bro

Okochadman2Nas wrote:
Shownoja wrote:Controversial selections, but if analysed, you can understand the reasoning. During the Scotland friendly, I said it appeared to me the coaches were concerned about the balance on the left side, so they had FOUR left footed players from the off including Elderson. I believe the coach wanted to test a theory to see which worked best. I guess Babatunde got the nod.

Uzoenyi is not on the list Bro
My bad.

Azubuike Egweke most be a very lucky man..
Chingo Bling
Re: Out at last...Nigeria's final 23--Toyin Ibitoye

Post by Chingo Bling »

Sir V wrote:Gabriel took Nosa's place. Sad
One that gives me considerable pause...
Particularly, given Gabriel's rustiness (though Nosa's health isn't reassuring either).
Shame Tony aint Nosas agent! He would have been in that flight.
xinity

Post by xinity »

Surprised the Boss took only 4 midfielders. But aside from Nosa exclusion, the list is ok with me. Glad Uchebo made it. Very unpredictable player.

anointed wrote:I don't count Michael Uchebo to be an out and out midfielder so we are effectively taking only 4 midfielders to Brazil. I hope and pray I'm wrong but our doesn't show we want to stay long in the tourney.

And can the Tony Harri$ thread now be unlocked?
How many MDs did the PowerPoint Pensioner take? And how long did that cause us to stay? CE logic...
If you are talking of Lars Lagerback (only heavens know why you are so fixated on him...dearis God oooo), I wrote this article (below) before the 2010 WC after he was hired. Then I thought average or even less average players can take us to some extent if we had a good team. I also though likewise in 2002 when Pa Oni was in charge but a good team of not more than average players will get stuck at some stage but with some better talents, the good team can go the extra mile. I have no doubt in my mind that Keshi will churn out a good team in Brazil but other countries too like Bosnia, Argentina and even Iran will also come with good teams but the sides with the better players will push the limits. That's my opinion now: good teams must be made of good players, not average ones.
WORLD CUP 2010: NAVIGATING GROUP B FROM THE SUPER EAGLES PERSPECTIVE
After seeing the Super Eagles’ see-saw victory over the North Korea in Jo’burg in the third of the tune-up games towards the 2010 World Cup where Nigeria has been grouped alongside Argentina, South Korea and Greece in the round robin stages; it has become clearer what our beloved Super Eagles would look like in South Africa.

The immediate task is now to navigate Group B of the World Cup between June 12 and June 22 against Argentina, Greece and South Korea. Obviously, everyone agrees that Super Eagles must make it beyond the first round for the World Cup to be worth the while for us. In our first 2 appearances in 94 and 98, we accomplished that. In 2002, we regressed by not getting out of the starting blocks. In 2006, we regressed further by not even qualifying all together. So as we make a comeback, we are thinking of getting even beyond the 2nd round, which is has become our benchmark. Already, the hastily and expensively hired coach of Super Eagles, Lars Lagerback, has gone ahead of us to sing a real far-flung semi final tune.

Do we have the players? I’d say it doesn’t look like it. But do we have the team? May be. You can’t write of a team just because they don’t have the kind of players of your choice. And unlike club football, where you can buy the players you desire from any corner of the globe, international football restricts you to making do with what the country you love, coach or belong to has to offer. After all, Greece, who won the European Championship in 2004 didn’t have any noteworthy players before they stunned the whole world with a disciplined team performance. So, we may not have the players but right team tactics and adherence to such could and definitely would play the deciding factors.

If we have to look at the countries that boast of the best individual players around the world, then we look no further than Brazil, Argentina, Germany, France and the like. But very many times, these teams always end up with eggs on their faces. In 2002, we were in the same team with an Argentina that was as usual loaded to the hilt but like we did, they also bit the dust at the very first hurdle. For France, the defending World and European Champions then, they didn’t even score a goal.

The long and short of this is that it’s not the players that guarantee success at the World Cup but the team. Instead of crying over the retired Jay Jay Okochas and Rashidi Yekinis of this world and the now past-his-old-self, decrepitly languid and lethargic Kanu or whatever, what we can think of is how we can expect an effective and efficient team under Lars Lagerback.

The Lars Lagerback angle is one angle to this issue and it goes a long way to determining our output in South Africa. I, for one, am not sold out on Lagerback as the right man for the job. But I agree with letting go of the Draconian Shuaib Amodu while I would have preferred Samson Siasia for the job simply because he already knew more than half the players we had available for the World Cup while Lagerback more or less started from the scratch.

Take for instance when the 30-man list was first released; Lagerback left out Olufemi Ajilore and Rabiu Ibrahim. This has come to haunt us in that Mikel Obi is out and there’s no midfielder to replace him. This is the only reason why Brown Ideye, an attacker, was picked. In addition, why Elderson Echiejile is going to that World Cup beats me personally as a person.

Personally, if I were the coach, Kanu would have been watching the World Cup in his sitting room, likewise John Utaka. No matter how deep Lagerback feels or convinces us he knows the team, it can’t be like how someone like Siasia does.
What may work for us with Lagerback in charge is possibly the work ethics his native Sweden has been known for in football.

Sweden can hardly see any of the big nations eye to eye in terms of individual endowments but over the years especially since 1990 when they have consistently qualified for the World Cup and European Championship, their tactical discipline has been enviable. In fact, Lagerback was in charge in 2002 when Adegboye Onigbinde led the Super Eagles to Japan/Korea.

Apart from the fact that his team outfoxed Nigeria 2-1 after Julius Aghahowa had given us the lead, Sweden actually made it out of the 2002 World Cup’s group of death and qualified for the 2nd Round.

For the first time ever, a coach of the Super Eagles also used OPTA Stats to adjudge the performance of Nigerian players. OPTA Stats are almost a cliché in football worldwide but it’s still alien to our national team formations. Whereas, most people that saw the Nigeria/Saudi Arabia match lampooned Chinedu Obasi for a poor outing, OPTA Stats actually scored him the highest. No serious coach around the world work based on feelings or memories any more but empirical evidence from data supplied by the likes of OPTA Stats.

Nonetheless, how these would be of positive use to the Nigerian team remains to be seen because if one assumes that Lagerback fielded his first team in the first half against North Korea, then where was Obasi? Not even in the 2nd half substitutions was Obasi given a look in. Whereas, it looked more like Sanni Kaita is being forced into the right midfield position or rather the right midfield position is being forced on Kaita, when everyone already thought Obasi had that position locked down.

Navigation
It all comes to navigating the treacherous waters of Group B in 10 days. The group can be as easy as it gets depending on how we take it. Already, everyone is talking of Argentina as if it’s only Argentina that is our opponent in the group. Like I told someone, Argentina may beat us 20-0 and then we still get out of the group and even win the World Cup while we may also beat Argentina by any margin and fail to proceed to the next round. All the three matches are extremely important but I’d take our clash with South Korea as the most crucial. The reason isn’t far-fetched: on paper, it looks as though we and South Korea are almost at par and coupled with this is that we play South Korea last in the group.

More on paper is the fact that Greece looks to be the weakest link in the group though you can take that to the bank at your own peril most especially because they have this wily coach in the German, Otto Rehaggel, who masterminded the 2004 Euro victory. Once, expect Greece, with its limited talents, to be an efficient side that would sit tight in defence but would be lurking for opportunities to make lightning fast counters. Another thing they are likely to be waiting for is for the mistake of their opponents. Greece may not attempt a dribble in the World Cup but they would certainly complete several passes in order to maintain possession.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Solid list. I am pleasantly surprised that Uchebo made it. :clap: :clap:

He has been slagged off by quite a few on these pages, but dude is dynamic, has decent ball control and also has a nose for goal.
Happy for Nwofor and Babatunde as well. One hungry and hard working player is worth two that are not.

Now let us go kick some a.ss at the WC! It is long overdue! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

hestonap wrote:Many thanks to Nosa, Mba, Nsofor, Ejike, Obi, Akpeyi and Odumadi. I hope you guys continue to have great success in your paths in the future and hopefully come back stronger for Nigeria and fulfil your world cup dreams.

KPOM! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Cristao II wrote:Those saying 'get behind the team' just dont get it sometimes. There is no logical reason to me why Nosa Igiebor would get dropped from that list.

Yes when the whistle blows, I will be behind Nigeria but my heart is far more with the team Keshi picked for the ANC than this WC squad.

I wish them well but I dont agree with all of Keshi's selection. Babatunde ahead of Ideye? I dont get it!! I just dont get it. Those talking about Nosa's injury - REALLY!! REALLY F'ING REALLY!! Remind me of Reuben's match fitness. Yes, Nosa has been injured this season but I would be shocked if he has less playing time than Reuben. The same Reuben that came down with something during ANC - I dont think I even saw him during CONFEDs. He hasnt even played a game for his Belgian club!!

Oh well in line with CE's preferred stance before I am attacked by some - I WISH THEM WELL. I only hope they mean and wish Nigerians watching them WELL as WELL!!
While I was away in north africa enjoying life......some berbers who are SE nutcases were also scratching their heads as to some dubious inclusions. They were asking me who the hell is this Babtunde guy...........?
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
Elexus

Post by Elexus »

This is a terrible team. I am speechless. But some things are better left unsaid. Keshi cannot improve the team any better than what he has already done. After the World Cup, we should politely thank him for his services and relieve him of this job. If Keshi has 23 players better than Obasi, Uche and Martins and Aiyenugba, then we should win the World Cup.

Elexus wrote:This is a terrible team. I am speechless. But some things are better left unsaid. Keshi cannot improve the team any better than what he has already done. After the World Cup, we should politely thank him for his services and relieve him of this job. If Keshi has 23 players better than Obasi, Uche and Martins and Aiyenugba, then we should win the World Cup.
Martins, Aiyenugba, Uche, and Obasi are top top talents right? Every top club in Europe is banging their doors begging for their signatures right? These are Champions League calibre players no? :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: If we would win the WC with better talents than them then I guess it'll be because the likes of Brazil and Spain, Germany and Argentina are now playing an exclusive world cup of their own minus the scrubs like us.

You have a bloated view of the quality of our players. Obasi is a slowed down version of his old hot self, a player in Germany who isn't on Bayern or Dortmund's radar is not a player to brag about and that's the gospel truth. Uche is at best a mid level talent who's now 30 but has never been anything close to world class in Spain (scoring against Real and Barca once in a while doesn't make you a god), Martins plays in the MLS (no need to say more), and Aiyenugba...who?

If this team does well, it'll be on the strength of Keshi's ability to mold them into a unit not on the performance of individuals, there's one maybe two or three individuals who're anything close to world class and that's mikel, moses and emenike and truly only mikel is at that top level, it'll be on the strength of the team playing as a TEAM that helps us. You may not know it but all the eggs have been in Keshi's basket for a while. Pray and hope they do well, that way Nigerian players get more recognition and move to bigger clubs, that way our soccer program grows. Wake up and smell the coffee already, this team's strength is it's coach and it's unity!