Page 13 of 32

Re: Nigeria vs CIV (1-0) Ekong HT

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:47 pm
by ohsee
I know this makes me old, but we are playing the way the Rangers of the Christian Chukwu-Emeka Okala era used to play. I hope we win like they used to despite being outplayed.

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:48 pm
by fabio
mapet wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:46 pm 1. Chukwueze is yet to get into this game putting pressure on Aina and Iwobi to work deeper.
2. We need to get the balls to Lookman and Chukwueze, not lob to Osimeh. Osimeh will commit lots of fouls on tussling with defenders...but it's also a chance we should take to make the ivorian defenders be under constant pressure and cave in subsequenbtly
3. Zanusi needs to calm down...
4. Lookman needs to work more...
Simon Moses, needs to replace Chukwueze.

by metalalloy
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:44 pm Nigeria is leading. Got to play the best football in the 2nd half. Bring in Iheanacho, and Simon in the 70th minutes. Subs will be important.
Iheanacho for who? And to do what?

by ohenhen1
Simon and Iheanacho in

Chukwuze and Lookman out.

If we are leading and need to see out the game bring in Omeruo and Yusuf for Iwobi and Osimhen.

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:49 pm
by Tbite
I just filed a complaint to Fifa.

by Coach
Going for a red card. Aurier is the obvious bet, heart says Serge, head says follow the heart. Mouthwatering odds on Fofana, all in, that’s a bargain.

8 corners and two goals in the last 12 minutes of regulation. Accumulator.

by olu
I think he's been their most dangerous player so far. Aina may need some cover to keep him under wraps.
metalalloy wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:46 pm This Andingra is pretty good. That battle vs AIna is a good one.

by ANC
metalalloy wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:48 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:44 pm Nigeria is leading. Got to play the best football in the 2nd half. Bring in Iheanacho, and Simon in the 70th minutes. Subs will be important.
Iheanacho for who? And to do what?
twerk?

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:50 pm
by 100%Naija
ohsee wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:47 pm I know this makes me old, but we are playing the way the Rangers of the Christian Chukwu-Emeka Okala era used to play. I hope we win like they used to despite being outplayed.
Dede my parents were still in cloth diapers when this was happening. :taunt:

by soothsayer
fabio wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:48 pm
mapet wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:46 pm 1. Chukwueze is yet to get into this game putting pressure on Aina and Iwobi to work deeper.
2. We need to get the balls to Lookman and Chukwueze, not lob to Osimeh. Osimeh will commit lots of fouls on tussling with defenders...but it's also a chance we should take to make the ivorian defenders be under constant pressure and cave in subsequenbtly
3. Zanusi needs to calm down...
4. Lookman needs to work more...
Simon Moses, needs to replace Chukwueze.
From what I have seen of Chukwueze .. definitely.

by Shadams
soothsayer wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:46 pm
Shadams wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:44 pm We have been as poor as the referee in the game so far. Hope they turn things around.
Ivory coast forwards have been poor.
A better team would have punished us on the right wing by now.
Indeed, and a lot is coming from the wings, especially Aina's; plus our midfield duo of Onyeka and Iwobi are consistently overrun.

by 2drama
Come on Super Eagles stick to the game plan. Soak up on defense and take your shots on goal

by metalalloy
ohsee wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:47 pm I know this makes me old, but we are playing the way the Rangers of the Christian Chukwu-Emeka Okala era used to play. I hope we win like they used to despite being outplayed.
Unc which kind black and white tv era games you watch :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

by Coach
Iwobi 12/1. Hmm?

by ohsee
metalalloy wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:46 pm This Andingra is pretty good. That battle vs AIna is a good one.
You mean you have not seen him skewer defences for Brighton?

Guys, we're 45mins from winning Afcon. :atc: :shock:

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:51 pm
by waka-man
Stadium is oddly quiet. Sense of de ja vu creeping into the orange minds. There a real awe of Nigeria and Ekong has just freaked them out.

by ANC
Tbite wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:49 pm I just filed a complaint to Fifa.
was your complaint what the FIFA president and wenger reading during the game?

by Tbite
There is no way on earth that Simon should not come on. No possible way.

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:52 pm
by soothsayer
ANC wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:51 pm

by Scipio Africanus
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:50 pm Guys, we're 45mins from winning Afcon. :atc: :shock:
45 minutes? Might as well be 10 years with this bent ref :laugh:

by Tbite
ANC wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:51 pm
:taunt:

by olu
Like others, would like to see Simon come on at some point and maybe Moffi or Kele.

If Yusuf comes on anytime soon, it should be to play with Onyeka and Iwobi and not to replace one of them.