SE v LIBERIA ANCQ COUNTDOWN...

Re: WE WILL BEAT LIBERIA!

KingLoku wrote:
1naija wrote:WE WILL BEAT LIBERIA!

Why do I think so? Because of our Superb performance against "Forceful" Abuja FC. :atc: :evil: :sad:

Is this what we've been reduced to? This will not continue to be our portion. Amen!

U didn't hear the latest ? The hb lads drew Water FC 1-1 a few days ago . So from police and prisoner FC, to church FC ,now Water FC . Na who be water FC ? Are they playing pirates ? Maybe they played MEND soccer team from the delta, maybe they played a water polo team and could only manage a draw.
It's amiture football,hb or water Fc they both play the same kick & rush none tactical football so it can go either way!
Now u finally confessing that Keshi is clueless when it comes to tactical aspect of the game ? Atleast he is coach of GE..
Yeah but I never once mentioned or criticised Keshi's ability as a coach but I do know that these home based players are far from profession on field so you can't expect instant miracles.
Re: SE v LIBERIA ANCQ COUNTDOWN...

kone wrote:Playing mikel as a playmaker has been tryed countless times and is def not the answer the highest he should get is a deep lying pm as for now nosa igiebor should get the shirt he was really impressive for u 23 and few games at se if not aluko should play that position till the real chairman rabiu ibrahim is ready
Rabiu who? Dude, it's time to give up on that dream. I have said it numerous times, and I will say it again: RABIU IBRAHIM IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.

bushboy wrote:
kone wrote:Playing mikel as a playmaker has been tryed countless times and is def not the answer the highest he should get is a deep lying pm as for now nosa igiebor should get the shirt he was really impressive for u 23 and few games at se if not aluko should play that position till the real chairman rabiu ibrahim is ready
Rabiu who? Dude, it's time to give up on that dream. I have said it numerous times, and I will say it again: RABIU IBRAHIM IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!!

Tell am again. Not good enough for the bench in 3 different second tier teams and who knows how many failed trials. It is clippingitis that screw up peoples brains. Kone is still watching clips of the 2007 under 17 world cup.

bushboy wrote:

Tell am again. Not good enough for the bench in 3 different second tier teams and who knows how many failed trials. It is clippingitis that screw up peoples brains. Kone is still watching clips of the 2007 under 17 world cup.

kone wrote:2012 some nigerians want obi mikel as their main playmaker lls I swear una funnny o. 165 game 2 goals
...so what's the job of a "playmaker"? Score goals or create plays to score goal?
papilo

Post by papilo »

kone wrote:2012 some nigerians want obi mikel as their main playmaker lls I swear una funnny o. 165 game 2 goals
...so what's the job of a "playmaker"? Score goals or create plays to score goal?
Bros I tire o. Help me ask them o.
yes o

Please let Mikel not be the playmaker for SE. He doesnt play that role at Chelsea. He should play his anchorman role. I am actually more worried that we might not beat Liberia with Mikel IN THE TEAM!!

Re: Should Mikel Obi play for the Eagles?

Ugbowo wrote:What are we arguing here??? Mikel has played the #10 role very well for Nigeria contributing numerous assists and generally controlling play in the process. We are fortunste to have more than capable DMs in the SE and unfortonute because we dont have enough AMs. Mikel has shown a great ability to adapt and play the role when necessary. We should be grateful instead of asking for an unnecessary change.

KPOM, I dont know where all these people get the idea that Mikel is not creative or cannot operate as an AM. Mikel ALWAYS plays better for SE, than he does for Chelsea IMO. He always adds more to his game which we never or rarely see for Chelsea. SE does not have an AM at the moment anyways. Nosa Igiebor may be the guy to step up, but his poor performances for Real Betis really have me wondering if this is the guy. A 3 man midfield of Mikel, Joel, Ogude/Reuben is more than adequate at the moment with Mikel being the furthest forward of the trio.
Between the two of you - produce Mikel's stats!! Forget goals - dude is very low on that. Produce his game to assist ratio. Someone will think Mikel has a 0.3 game to assist ratio listening to you guys.

Obong wrote:Thanks, Ikwerreman. This truth does not hurt. It makes "my belle sweet well well". I fully expect Keshi to start a midfield of Mikel-Joel Obi-Nosa Igiebor, with Nosa having the offensive responsibilities, Joel playing centrally, and Mikel shielding the back four, yet launching attacks via his trademark passes down the wings.... A deceptive sort of 4-3-3.
Sorry o!! Mikel's trademark pass is the sideways pass!! He is great as a DM and is capable of linking defence and attack HOWEVER if you dont practice - you lose your skills.

Mikel is not the answer....
sabb

Post by sabb »

kawawa wrote:
bushboy wrote:

To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
sabb

Post by sabb »

kone wrote:idiots make una no go find a playmaker dey there dey ask if person wey no fit score 1 goal in 167 games is qualified as a pm foolish oloshi buruku omo olorinla ndi ofe mmanu ajeku mamoni or mate they put hazard,mata,iniesta,xavi,oscar,pastore as 10 we are putting obi as 10
na so e pain u reach :lol:
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
sabb

Post by sabb »

nemi2002 wrote:Mikel is not the answer....
answer to playmaker or just to feature in the SE

Post by GUEST »

papilo

Post by papilo »

Good to know but any online links?
yes o

Cristao II wrote:
Obong wrote:Thanks, Ikwerreman. This truth does not hurt. It makes "my belle sweet well well". I fully expect Keshi to start a midfield of Mikel-Joel Obi-Nosa Igiebor, with Nosa having the offensive responsibilities, Joel playing centrally, and Mikel shielding the back four, yet launching attacks via his trademark passes down the wings.... A deceptive sort of 4-3-3.
Sorry o!! Mikel's trademark pass is the sideways pass!! He is great as a DM and is capable of linking defence and attack HOWEVER if you dont practice - you lose your skills.
Don't you have a 'refresh' button for your cerebral software?
That is old, discredited news. Alhaji, abeg check ya brain for the updated version! :taunt:
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

Cristao II wrote:
Don't you have a 'refresh' button for your cerebral software?
That is old, discredited news. Alhaji, abeg check ya brain for the updated version! :taunt:

kawawa wrote:Tell am again. Not good enough for the bench in 3 different second tier teams and who knows how many failed trials. It is clippingitis that screw up peoples brains. Kone is still watching clips of the 2007 under 17 world cup.
Brilliant! A new word for the CE lexicon! :thumb:
icee

Post by icee »

You know, Mikel is a good player, one of the best at what he does (he's type of holding Midfield Play). I share the concern of some forumites in that, I don't see a definate starting role for someone of Mikel's style in what I envision to be Super Eagles style. Again, I'm not saying Mikel is not good (He is), but as good as he is, He will not start or feature in many top Euro clubs that don't play the Chelse kind of Mid. I will be more apt to include Mikel in a 5 man mid (3 - 5 - 2). Joel and Moses of the flanks and Ike in the middle (pending the time we find a real playmaker), a dirty mid like Rueben with Mikel sitting deep. I won't trust Mikel against physical African opposition to be the lone deep midfielder (He's simply not "dirty" enough neither does he have the natural hustle for me to leave him as the lone shield). His ability to pass from a deep position can be put to use if Rueben or someother hard worker / huster is deep with him.
Tebelleh King
Interesting Individual Battles for Saturday’s match

Post by Tebelleh King »

Interesting Individual Battles for Saturday’s match

http://www.liberiansoccer.com/Interesti ... 121121.htm

By Wleh Bedell
[email protected]
+2316106293

Though the Lone Star up till the time of writing this story had not landed in Nigeria mainly due to flight problem, there is however a huge hope that the match will be played from the neutrals feeling as there are several key points to look out for.

While the Nigerians are the favorites and the Lone Star also regarded as poor travelers as they have failed to win a single match in their last twenty competitive away fixtures where they managed just one draw, losing nineteen, scoring nine goals and conceding fifty four, the Super Eagles can be described as strong hosts as they have won fifteen of their last seventeen competitive home matches, drawing two and losing none.

They have scored thirty-nine goals and conceded eight, there are nonetheless key individual battles that must be looked at from a very tactical standpoint.

Joel Obi vs Solomon Grimes
The Lone Star Cypriot based full back will no doubt have a very torrid time trying to contain the explosive Inter Milan youngster Joel Obi. Solo has no doubt experienced a dip in form on the international level, and with the speed and trickery of the cultured left foot Obi, who was reportedly on the books of Queens Park Rangers (QPR) in England, the Former Mighty Barrolle defender will have to stay back and neglect offensive play. Expect Solo to find life very uneasy as the ruthless Obi will be a handful.

Victor Moses vs George Gebro
The speed of the Chelsea man will certainly cause problems for the ageing Captain George Gebro. Moses who is also endowed with skills will make the hosts have width in their game, but with Gebro being a rugged fullback, the former Wigan man should expect several knocks. One apparent worry however is the fear that the Invincible Eleven (IE) player will run out of steam or could even be ejected as far as cards are concerned as the game progresses especially during the second stanza where the concentration level and endurance will greatly come to bear. George will however still provide the diagonal crosses and will always start on an aggressive note, but not much will be seen of him in terms of making rapid overlapping runs upfront.

Ikwechukwu Uche vs Teah Dennis,Jr.
Having played against the Villareal finisher for a lengthy spell during the first leg when he came on as a first half substitute, the Barrack Young Controllers (BYC) dark-horse will be an interesting opponent for the Super Eagles leading scorer. Teah is good at dispossessing as his intelligence in keeping rein on opponents has made him a difficult customer. But, the power and movement of Uche will no doubt pose problems for the promising rearguard. Uche on a day can turn any defense around and his aggression in the final third coupled with his clinical finishing will make life very difficult for the former LPRC Oilers center back.

Emmanuel Aminike vs Solomon Wesseh
The powerful striker from Russian club Spartak Moscow will cause all kinds of problems for the LPRC Oilers stopper. Like Dennis, Wesseh will put up a strong fight, but how well will he cope or whether he will endure to the end is what remains to be seen. Wesseh is a tough marker and is uncompromising, but lacks speed, and with Amunike fond of drifting in wide areas and making a host of jinks in various areas of the final third coupled with his strong shots like his strike partner Uche, Solomon and defensive mates must work over time and concentrate to the fullest as well as play an almost imperfect game to keep a clean sheet that looks seemingly impossible.

John Mikel Obi vs Isaac Zola Pupo
The Chelsea balanced midfielder who will be playing his first match for country under Stephen Keshi will serve as a shield in front his side back four and at the same time close down on the visitors playmaker, Isaac Zola Pupo of local outfit LPRC Oilers, has the physical stature and influence to lift his side. He and his direct opponent Pupo have the short crisp, simple passing game in common, and with Mikel expected to play in a zonal marking-like fashion, Pupo could also have the advantage to spray the passes from deep as Mikel will not man mark him. But, when Pupo goes deep to the opposition goal area in trying to give a direct pass to the front men, he will find it difficult to get pass or get the better of Mikel. But, when Pupo is deep in midfield where he will have to be involved with another opponent, the problem or fear is that how good will be his passes in terms of quality to the forwards be remains a major worry.

Nosa Igiebor vs Alseny Keita
The young and hardworking Real Betis playmaker will operate mainly from deep to spray the passes as his France based marker from US Monasaart FC will not chase him all over the park, but wait for him deep in defense where he will stand in front the back four in also helping the back four.
On a one v one situation however, Keita, could win the individual battle, but the technique and trickery of the lad from the Primera Liga will also be a difficult opponent. Nosa will be required to provide the penetration and also supply down the wings, something that Keita will have to work on a lot to stop which will be too difficult.

Elderson Echiejele vs Sekou Jabateh Oliseh
The Portuguese club Sporting Braga man will first have to focus on dealing with the skills and speed of the CSKA Moscow understudy before using his vast speed as well to move forward. Jabateh will threaten him offensively and the battle between the two will be intriguing. Elderson can fight, throw in the tackles, while Sekou can dribble and outpace, but his inability to track back will as well be a major concern.

Godfrey Oboabona vs Tonia Tisdell/ Ansu Toure
The lad from local club Sun Shine Stars will have to stay back, but will also use his strength to intimidate the skillful Tisdell or the quick Toure. The left side of the Lone Star’s attack will be the most lively especially with the skillful Tisdell, but his lack of power could also be some major worry.

Efe Ambrose vs Patrick Ronaldinho Wleh
The man who has promised to stop world footballer of the year, Lionel Messi, when his side Celtic of Scotland meets the Mighty Barcelona on match day three of the UEFA champions’ league at the Camp Nou is strong, but could be exposed by the skills of the towering Wleh. Also, the aerial power of the Malaysian based striker will be a handful for Efe whose aggression, power and lithe marking could scare Wleh.

Azubuike Egwueke vs Zah Krangar
It is the giant or the towering center back against the pin-sized, but crafty forward. Zah will not get involved in the physical duel, but will use his technique, subtle moves and deft touches to cause some problems. With him in the attack, the Lone Star will virtually play with a lone striker as he will move deep into midfield, make runs and play almost like a decoy behind the lone striker.

Whatever the case, these key individual battles will count a lot as far as deciding how the result will be in the end.

icee wrote:You know, Mikel is a good player, one of the best at what he does (he's type of holding Midfield Play). I share the concern of some forumites in that, I don't see a definate starting role for someone of Mikel's style in what I envision to be Super Eagles style. Again, I'm not saying Mikel is not good (He is), but as good as he is, He will not start or feature in many top Euro clubs that don't play the Chelse kind of Mid. I will be more apt to include Mikel in a 5 man mid (3 - 5 - 2). Joel and Moses of the flanks and Ike in the middle (pending the time we find a real playmaker), a dirty mid like Rueben with Mikel sitting deep. I won't trust Mikel against physical African opposition to be the lone deep midfielder (He's simply not "dirty" enough neither does he have the natural hustle for me to leave him as the lone shield). His ability to pass from a deep position can be put to use if Rueben or someother hard worker / huster is deep with him.
Mikel is almost a luxury player, esp for our SE.

icee wrote:You know, Mikel is a good player, one of the best at what he does (he's type of holding Midfield Play). I share the concern of some forumites in that, I don't see a definate starting role for someone of Mikel's style in what I envision to be Super Eagles style. Again, I'm not saying Mikel is not good (He is), but as good as he is, He will not start or feature in many top Euro clubs that don't play the Chelse kind of Mid. I will be more apt to include Mikel in a 5 man mid (3 - 5 - 2). Joel and Moses of the flanks and Ike in the middle (pending the time we find a real playmaker), a dirty mid like Rueben with Mikel sitting deep. I won't trust Mikel against physical African opposition to be the lone deep midfielder (He's simply not "dirty" enough neither does he have the natural hustle for me to leave him as the lone shield). His ability to pass from a deep position can be put to use if Rueben or someother hard worker / huster is deep with him.
Mikel is almost a luxury player, esp for our SE.
Unbelievable. WOW.
Abbey
Re: Interesting Individual Battles for Saturday’s match

Post by Abbey »

Tebelleh King wrote:Interesting Individual Battles for Saturday’s match

http://www.liberiansoccer.com/Interesti ... 121121.htm

By Wleh Bedell
[email protected]
+2316106293

Though the Lone Star up till the time of writing this story had not landed in Nigeria mainly due to flight problem, there is however a huge hope that the match will be played from the neutrals feeling as there are several key points to look out for.

While the Nigerians are the favorites and the Lone Star also regarded as poor travelers as they have failed to win a single match in their last twenty competitive away fixtures where they managed just one draw, losing nineteen, scoring nine goals and conceding fifty four, the Super Eagles can be described as strong hosts as they have won fifteen of their last seventeen competitive home matches, drawing two and losing none.

They have scored thirty-nine goals and conceded eight, there are nonetheless key individual battles that must be looked at from a very tactical standpoint.

Joel Obi vs Solomon Grimes
The Lone Star Cypriot based full back will no doubt have a very torrid time trying to contain the explosive Inter Milan youngster Joel Obi. Solo has no doubt experienced a dip in form on the international level, and with the speed and trickery of the cultured left foot Obi, who was reportedly on the books of Queens Park Rangers (QPR) in England, the Former Mighty Barrolle defender will have to stay back and neglect offensive play. Expect Solo to find life very uneasy as the ruthless Obi will be a handful.

Victor Moses vs George Gebro
The speed of the Chelsea man will certainly cause problems for the ageing Captain George Gebro. Moses who is also endowed with skills will make the hosts have width in their game, but with Gebro being a rugged fullback, the former Wigan man should expect several knocks. One apparent worry however is the fear that the Invincible Eleven (IE) player will run out of steam or could even be ejected as far as cards are concerned as the game progresses especially during the second stanza where the concentration level and endurance will greatly come to bear. George will however still provide the diagonal crosses and will always start on an aggressive note, but not much will be seen of him in terms of making rapid overlapping runs upfront.

Ikwechukwu Uche vs Teah Dennis,Jr.
Having played against the Villareal finisher for a lengthy spell during the first leg when he came on as a first half substitute, the Barrack Young Controllers (BYC) dark-horse will be an interesting opponent for the Super Eagles leading scorer. Teah is good at dispossessing as his intelligence in keeping rein on opponents has made him a difficult customer. But, the power and movement of Uche will no doubt pose problems for the promising rearguard. Uche on a day can turn any defense around and his aggression in the final third coupled with his clinical finishing will make life very difficult for the former LPRC Oilers center back.

Emmanuel Aminike vs Solomon Wesseh
The powerful striker from Russian club Spartak Moscow will cause all kinds of problems for the LPRC Oilers stopper. Like Dennis, Wesseh will put up a strong fight, but how well will he cope or whether he will endure to the end is what remains to be seen. Wesseh is a tough marker and is uncompromising, but lacks speed, and with Amunike fond of drifting in wide areas and making a host of jinks in various areas of the final third coupled with his strong shots like his strike partner Uche, Solomon and defensive mates must work over time and concentrate to the fullest as well as play an almost imperfect game to keep a clean sheet that looks seemingly impossible.

John Mikel Obi vs Isaac Zola Pupo
The Chelsea balanced midfielder who will be playing his first match for country under Stephen Keshi will serve as a shield in front his side back four and at the same time close down on the visitors playmaker, Isaac Zola Pupo of local outfit LPRC Oilers, has the physical stature and influence to lift his side. He and his direct opponent Pupo have the short crisp, simple passing game in common, and with Mikel expected to play in a zonal marking-like fashion, Pupo could also have the advantage to spray the passes from deep as Mikel will not man mark him. But, when Pupo goes deep to the opposition goal area in trying to give a direct pass to the front men, he will find it difficult to get pass or get the better of Mikel. But, when Pupo is deep in midfield where he will have to be involved with another opponent, the problem or fear is that how good will be his passes in terms of quality to the forwards be remains a major worry.

Nosa Igiebor vs Alseny Keita
The young and hardworking Real Betis playmaker will operate mainly from deep to spray the passes as his France based marker from US Monasaart FC will not chase him all over the park, but wait for him deep in defense where he will stand in front the back four in also helping the back four.
On a one v one situation however, Keita, could win the individual battle, but the technique and trickery of the lad from the Primera Liga will also be a difficult opponent. Nosa will be required to provide the penetration and also supply down the wings, something that Keita will have to work on a lot to stop which will be too difficult.

Elderson Echiejele vs Sekou Jabateh Oliseh
The Portuguese club Sporting Braga man will first have to focus on dealing with the skills and speed of the CSKA Moscow understudy before using his vast speed as well to move forward. Jabateh will threaten him offensively and the battle between the two will be intriguing. Elderson can fight, throw in the tackles, while Sekou can dribble and outpace, but his inability to track back will as well be a major concern.

Godfrey Oboabona vs Tonia Tisdell/ Ansu Toure
The lad from local club Sun Shine Stars will have to stay back, but will also use his strength to intimidate the skillful Tisdell or the quick Toure. The left side of the Lone Star’s attack will be the most lively especially with the skillful Tisdell, but his lack of power could also be some major worry.

Efe Ambrose vs Patrick Ronaldinho Wleh
The man who has promised to stop world footballer of the year, Lionel Messi, when his side Celtic of Scotland meets the Mighty Barcelona on match day three of the UEFA champions’ league at the Camp Nou is strong, but could be exposed by the skills of the towering Wleh. Also, the aerial power of the Malaysian based striker will be a handful for Efe whose aggression, power and lithe marking could scare Wleh.

Azubuike Egwueke vs Zah Krangar
It is the giant or the towering center back against the pin-sized, but crafty forward. Zah will not get involved in the physical duel, but will use his technique, subtle moves and deft touches to cause some problems. With him in the attack, the Lone Star will virtually play with a lone striker as he will move deep into midfield, make runs and play almost like a decoy behind the lone striker.

Whatever the case, these key individual battles will count a lot as far as deciding how the result will be in the end.
Fair analysis. Hopefully, it won't be a miss-ball-no-miss-leg situation with the lone star...
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.