Benin vs Nigeria (0:1) FT

Oguleftie
Re: Benin vs Nigeria (0:1) FT

Post by Oguleftie »

How many players did not make an error, or an error pass?

Dammy wrote:I like the look of Iwuala. He looked more dangerous than Onyekuru. I hope he starts against Lesotho.

How did he "look more dangerous" ?

You are just using sentiments. Onyekuru was the most dangerous player in the first half. He had a poor second half though.

Iwuala hasn't proven himself to be anything more than a Pius Ikedia. Selfish boneheaded play at the end to not square to either Onuachu or Osimehn.
Onyekuru was not the most dangerous Nigerian player in the first half of the match that I watched. He couldn't get past his marker and did not get in any good crossing. He hustled to help the defence and Zaidu was more of an offensive threat than him. He missed the best chance of the first half, when he headed straight at the goalkeeper.

We missed Iwobi today. He brings a lot of creativity to the team. We would have won 3 -0 if he played.

I was watching highlights of the European WC qualifiers today and cant count how many goals that were scored from corner kicks. We had about 10 corner kicks today and none was a direct threat.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Aribo was great today, reminds me of Osaro Obabaifo!

Aswani wrote:Aribo was great today, reminds me of Osaro Obabaifo!
Aswani,

Thank you! Aribo balled, make no mistake. Clearly, there is an adjustment phase for several of these players coming from Europe. Iwobi went through the same phase. His may have even gone longer. In my view, this was Aribo's first convincing game against an African opposition.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

He was all that plus a bag of chips.

Uncle, you are still using this phrase from the 90s?

What's next? Peace in the middle east?

Uncle, you are still using this phrase from the 90s?

What's next? Peace in the middle east?
Egbon mi, na so we see am o :rotf:

Re: Benin vs Nigeria (0:0)

truetalk wrote:
vancity eagle wrote:he did more wrong in the match than right.

he gave away the ball in the middle of the pitch, could have been disastrous

near the end instead of squaring the ball to either Onuachu or Osimehn, he did the typical "African" thing of shooting himself in a poor position instead of playing for the team.

He did show great touch controlling a crossfield pass, so there is potential, but please calm down on the hype, there are plenty of others who are ahead of him who have not gotten a chance.
Some people can never say the TRUTH!
Bro, with some folks best to save your energy... :oops:

Apparently, among all of the poor decisions varriously made across the pitch today, his was the only "African" one! SMH
I would not have stereotyped it as African, but that ranked as the dumbest move of the game along with Ekong's reluctance to communicate with his Keeper and ask him to stay back so he could head the ball. Almost gave up a goal in a game we were dominating.

I did not particularly see any reason to think he should be part of the 23, based on this showing.

Uncle Wanaj0, you know we are more likely to think of you as the one pushing an agenda (Oh sorry, this is not Naija politricks)
So you agree that he did more WRONG than RIGHT on the pitch today?

He did very well.

I hope Onyekuru starts the next game. Want to see if he can build on this performance. He really has to justify his inclusion if he starts. Kalu and Simon are probably still Rohr's preferred alternatives at the moment