Nigeria 2 Egypt 2 U23 (EteboX2) FT

Curve whiz
Re: Nigeria 2 Egypt 2 U23 (EteboX2) 2nd half

Post by Curve whiz »

Cally wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Cally wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Cally wrote:
bushboy wrote:I garner from this thread that Awoniyi was not that impressive? I made the call on him when he was missing chance after chance in NZ, but I was insulted and told his movement was spectacular. Some even were ready to cap him for SE!
It says a lot about the value of a player when a division 2 team can afford to release you to go play in a tournament outside the FIFA window.
He is young, and he will surely improve, but I hope we can chill on the hype from now on. The only two players worthy of hype from that 2013 U17 team are clear for all to see.
Yet again, its all about Taiwo Awoniyi for you. Bobo will continue to prosper despite your bad wishes. He will continue to grow. He will be great. Your hatred will continue to consume you. You are older than the guy, I'm sure, but you won't spend your time on more useful stuff. He has deserved all the hype he's gotten so far, and more.

Agbaya hater....
Okay.
You bet...
My dear Cally, you are taking this issue way too personal. Haba!! Awoniyi will not be the first player to be criticized on this forum, and he will not be the last. As much as Okocha is shrined on here, he also has his critics. That is football. We can agree to disagree. You rate Awoniyi, and I do not. I have every right to evaluate a players quality and give my opinion. There is no need to harass me from thread to thread with insults. In NZ when Awoniyi was starting with Isaac on the bench, you had some very negative assessments if Isaac, but I did not attack you. I know what my own 2 eyes were telling me and Isaac was head and shoulders the superior player. Now, instead of eating your humble pie and bowing down to my vastly superior evaluation of talent, you dey here dey yab me. Proclaiming a player will be great no be by mouth alone. You can't give what you don't have. I wish Awoniyi well, but I won't delude myself into saying I see anything in him that indicates he is a special talent at his age.
I do not usually have time for this, but something about the way you singularly criticize this player irks me. There is not thread where Taiwo's name is mentioned that you will not show up and say something negative, all cause he was in contention with Isaac. I made it a point of duty to call you out every time you do it, which is every time Taiwo is mentioned. Notice I hardly make comments about Isaac. Reason is I wish both players well. You don't wish Taiwo well, your comments about him show that clearly.

Go through the last U-23 game thread, and every comment you made was about Awoniyi, completing ignoring the game and every other player. Apparently, you did not even watch the game, yet you had time to criticize Taiwo. The moment Isaac was dropped from this team, you became typically vindictive, accusing the team of fielding overaged players, and threatening to take them to Mali and FIFA. :rotf: Its easy to see through folks like you.

I apologize if I've insulted you, but I find it ridiculous that you won't concentrate on anything less than constantly criticizing a 17 year old that has done nothing to you, or has he? It may serve you better to keep hyping your favorites. Enjoy your vastly superior evaluation of talent. :rotf:
What these folks don't realise is that if this team fail to make it to Rio or are disqualified, it would have a direct consequence on the career pathway for the Success, Ihenacho and co. The failure to qualify for London 2012 has a direct effect on the way the career of a player like Christantus for example never took off as it should. Playing the Olympics is the closest to the full national team and most players will likely move directly into their full national teams and top clubs after a successful tournament like this.

So ya'll better pray for the team to qualify, cos I am.

Curve whiz wrote:
Cally wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Cally wrote:
bushboy wrote:
Cally wrote:
bushboy wrote:I garner from this thread that Awoniyi was not that impressive? I made the call on him when he was missing chance after chance in NZ, but I was insulted and told his movement was spectacular. Some even were ready to cap him for SE!
It says a lot about the value of a player when a division 2 team can afford to release you to go play in a tournament outside the FIFA window.
He is young, and he will surely improve, but I hope we can chill on the hype from now on. The only two players worthy of hype from that 2013 U17 team are clear for all to see.
Yet again, its all about Taiwo Awoniyi for you. Bobo will continue to prosper despite your bad wishes. He will continue to grow. He will be great. Your hatred will continue to consume you. You are older than the guy, I'm sure, but you won't spend your time on more useful stuff. He has deserved all the hype he's gotten so far, and more.

Agbaya hater....
Okay.
You bet...
My dear Cally, you are taking this issue way too personal. Haba!! Awoniyi will not be the first player to be criticized on this forum, and he will not be the last. As much as Okocha is shrined on here, he also has his critics. That is football. We can agree to disagree. You rate Awoniyi, and I do not. I have every right to evaluate a players quality and give my opinion. There is no need to harass me from thread to thread with insults. In NZ when Awoniyi was starting with Isaac on the bench, you had some very negative assessments if Isaac, but I did not attack you. I know what my own 2 eyes were telling me and Isaac was head and shoulders the superior player. Now, instead of eating your humble pie and bowing down to my vastly superior evaluation of talent, you dey here dey yab me. Proclaiming a player will be great no be by mouth alone. You can't give what you don't have. I wish Awoniyi well, but I won't delude myself into saying I see anything in him that indicates he is a special talent at his age.
I do not usually have time for this, but something about the way you singularly criticize this player irks me. There is not thread where Taiwo's name is mentioned that you will not show up and say something negative, all cause he was in contention with Isaac. I made it a point of duty to call you out every time you do it, which is every time Taiwo is mentioned. Notice I hardly make comments about Isaac. Reason is I wish both players well. You don't wish Taiwo well, your comments about him show that clearly.

Go through the last U-23 game thread, and every comment you made was about Awoniyi, completing ignoring the game and every other player. Apparently, you did not even watch the game, yet you had time to criticize Taiwo. The moment Isaac was dropped from this team, you became typically vindictive, accusing the team of fielding overaged players, and threatening to take them to Mali and FIFA. :rotf: Its easy to see through folks like you.

I apologize if I've insulted you, but I find it ridiculous that you won't concentrate on anything less than constantly criticizing a 17 year old that has done nothing to you, or has he? It may serve you better to keep hyping your favorites. Enjoy your vastly superior evaluation of talent. :rotf:
What these folks don't realise is that if this team fail to make it to Rio or are disqualified, it would have a direct consequence on the career pathway for the Success, Ihenacho and co. The failure to qualify for London 2012 has a direct effect on the way the career of a player like Christantus for example never took off as it should. Playing the Olympics is the closest to the full national team and most players will likely move directly into their full national teams and top clubs after a successful tournament like this.

So ya'll better pray for the team to qualify, cos I am.
Maybe, but your examples don't work, the likes of Success and Iheanacho already have their club futures settled for now, it's the others who need it more...but it's not catastrophic if we don't make it, it's not our birthright after all...If we are not good enough then it is what it is
Re: Nigeria 2 Egypt 2 U23 (EteboX2) FT

Orion wrote:
Robotnik wrote:
Pos Team Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts Qualification
1 Algeria 2 1 1 0 3 1 +2 4 Knockout stage
2 Nigeria 2 1 1 0 5 4 +1 4
3 Egypt 2 0 2 0 3 3 0 2
4 Mali (E) 2 0 0 2 2 5 −3 0
Updated to match(es) played on 2 December 2015. Source: CAF
what are you people yelling about? smh ... U23 got this
There is a certain danger you are not seeing from this table.
What danger are you looking at? We're tying on points with the top team in the group and the next team is 2 points adrift. It's harder for Egypt to qualify. They need to beat Mali, make sure they win by 2 goals or more, AND hope we drop points against Algeria (3 conditions). We only need to beat Algeria (1 condition).
My brother I thought it was only me...It is really amazing how people see only what they want to see. I am sure Egypt would rather be in our shoes right now where they would control their destiny rather than be in the position where they are now where they are hoping and praying other results go their way that is even assuming they win their own game...It is a damn shame if you ask me...smh

I have watched the game again.

My Analysis

GK- Emanuel 7 our best player, he made many good decisions.

RB- Seth 4 poor positioning, got beat on many occasions. Can't really blame him, Okechukwu did nothing to help him out. Was responsible for the first goal.

LB- Udo 3 the worst player on the pitch. The Egyptians brought on Karim just to exploit their advantage. The guy was always out of position or playing the Egyptians onside. Got beat for pace for the 2nd goal. Again no support from the midfield.

CB- Oduduwa 6 He was okay

CB- Amaefule 6 He was okay

MF- Okechukwu 3 miss placed passes, poor job covering the back four.

MF- Usman Muhammed 5 He was average should have scored in the later stages, his effort hit the post.

FW- Etebo 5, two penalties, didn't do much to create chances for Ajayi and Awoniyi.

FW- Awoniyi 4, poor performance.

FW- Ajayi 4 poor performance

FW- Dimgba 6, good wing play, skillfull player

Algeria will play the same way. We have to do a better job protecting the full backs or we will not qualify for the next round. Bring in an extra midfielder, play 4-3-3. Also stop playing a high line if you are not going to compact the space between the midfield and defenders. You also have to put pressure on the opposition in the midfield if you are going to play a high line.

Orion wrote:
folem wrote:
Undertaker wrote:Guys if these results happens next

Nigeria vs. Algeria 1-1

Egypt vs. Mali 2-0

Are we out or in?
In.

Any draw with Algeria gives us 5 points (same with Algeria) but if Egypt wins and get 5 points then on H2H between the three teams, Algeria will lose out to Egypt unless it is a 2-2 or more draw with Nigeria. In that case a draw of lots may determine who qualifies among the two.
You sure brah?

Algeria beat Mali 2-0 while we beat Mali 3-2. They have a +1 better gd.
I think what he is saying is, if all 3 teams end up with 5 points then results against Mali will be discounted and a H2H between the 3 teams will be used instead of overall goal difference. Not sure how true that is, but between the 3 of us, we currently have 2 goals, Egypt has 3 goals and Algeria 1 goal.

Hence a 1-1 draw will see Egypt and Nigeria through, if Egypt wins against Mali.
The way that usually works out is if they are tied on GD. I think GD is the first tiebreaker.

Someone confirm sha.

folem

Post by folem »

Orion wrote:
folem wrote:
Undertaker wrote:Guys if these results happens next

Nigeria vs. Algeria 1-1

Egypt vs. Mali 2-0

Are we out or in?
In.

Any draw with Algeria gives us 5 points (same with Algeria) but if Egypt wins and get 5 points then on H2H between the three teams, Algeria will lose out to Egypt unless it is a 2-2 or more draw with Nigeria. In that case a draw of lots may determine who qualifies among the two.
You sure brah?

Algeria beat Mali 2-0 while we beat Mali 3-2. They have a +1 better gd.
I think what he is saying is, if all 3 teams end up with 5 points then results against Mali will be discounted and a H2H between the 3 teams will be used instead of overall goal difference. Not sure how true that is, but between the 3 of us, we currently have 2 goals, Egypt has 3 goals and Algeria 1 goal.

Hence a 1-1 draw will see Egypt and Nigeria through, if Egypt wins against Mali.
The way that usually works out is if they are tied on GD. I think GD is the first tiebreaker.

Someone confirm sha.
Tiebreakers

The teams are ranked according to points (3 points for a win, 1 point for a draw, 0 points for a loss). If tied on points, tiebreakers are applied in the following order:

1. Number of points obtained in games between the teams concerned;
2. Goal difference in games between the teams concerned;
3. Goals scored in games between the teams concerned;
4. If, after applying criteria 1 to 3 to several teams, two teams still have an equal ranking, criteria 1 to 3 are reapplied exclusively 5 to the matches between the two teams in question to determine their final rankings. If this procedure does not lead to a decision, criteria 5 to 7 apply;
5. Goal difference in all games;
6. Goals scored in all games;
7. Drawing of lots.

Source: Article 68.2

^ Rule is a bit ambiguous but it looks like a H2H rule similar to the CL rule which ignores results against the poorest team (since it is not a 'concerned' team). Assuming my interpretation is correct, a draw puts thru to the semis while a minimum 2-2 draw guarantees first place. Of course we can go on ahead and find a way to win and avoid these permutations. Meanwhile, Egypt still has to beat Mali in any event to get to the feeding table which may prove to be a case of easier said than done. Fingers crossed :mrgreen:

ohenhen1 wrote:I have watched the game again.

My Analysis

RB- Seth 4 poor positioning, got beat on many occasions. Can't really blame him, Okechukwu did nothing to help him out. Was responsible for the first goal.

LB- Udo 3 the worst player on the pitch. The Egyptians brought on Karim just to exploit their advantage. The guy was always out of position or playing the Egyptians onside. Got beat for pace for the 2nd goal. Again no support from the midfield.

MF- Usman Muhammed 5 He was average should have scored in the later stages, his effort hit the post.

FW- Etebo 5, two penalties, didn't do much to create chances for Ajayi and Awoniyi.

Algeria will play the same way. We have to do a better job protecting the full backs or we will not qualify for the next round. Bring in an extra midfielder, play 4-3-3. Also stop playing a high line if you are not going to compact the space between the midfield and defenders. You also have to put pressure on the opposition in the midfield if you are going to play a high line.

I'll be charitable and believe that you cannot tell our players apart...

ohenhen1 wrote:I have watched the game again.

My Analysis

I'll be charitable and believe that you cannot tell our players apart...
Please, who was the left back?

Cito wrote:Our LB needs to be sent home after this game. No iota of LB skill in him.
so U are saying he should've been left BACK in 9ja? :taunt:

Cellular wrote:Please, who was the left back?
Ndifreke Ekong...

He's a support striker at Abia Warriors (paired with Chisom Chikatara), who is sometimes played in midfield. We already know that he is a subpar defender based on his showing at the AAG where he played some at RB, so it was something of a surprise to see him line-up at LB at this competition. However, with the injuries to Stanley Amuzie and Chima Akas, perhaps the cupboard was totally bare.

PS: The dude may actually be a good defender as an individual, but at the very least the lack of repitition (playing a position that one does not regularly play) has affected his habits and instincts.

paj wrote:
Cito wrote:Our LB needs to be sent home after this game. No iota of LB skill in him.
so U are saying he should've been left BACK in 9ja? :taunt:
No he should be 'Left out'