Lars Largerback asked to stay on "KoC"

Re: Lars Largerback asked to stay on "KoC"

felarey wrote:
Al B Sure wrote:Lars is getting a 'pass' on CE now there is a suprise. :D :D :D

Most of those opposed to Lagerback on this forum are doing so on the basis of an ideological opposition to a foreign coach. Their stance has nothing to do with football. They are prepared to back Amodu, CCC or Onigbinde simply because they are Nigerian.

After being outplayed at the ANC by Zambia, Ghana, Benin and Egypt, they still wanted Amodu to take us to the World Cup and break Zaire's 1974 record. We just have to ignore them.
Ayo, why not Siasia? Do you think he should be given a chance? If not, why?
[1] Siasia is a businessman Like Lagerback?
[2] Do you know that Siasia, Eguavoen and Akanni sold Sani Kaita to Sparta Rotterdam? You were there to see the transaction and you saw Siasia pocket some money? Sani Kaita got to Sparta Rotterdam by playing well in the WYC in 2005. That everybody knows.
[3] Do you know that Siasia has his clique of boys like Isaac Promise who play for him irrespective of form? Promise is the captain and he mostly plays well, when he wasn't play well, Siasia replaced him with Ogbuke.
[4] Do you know that at the Beijing Olympics, the senior players - Anichebe and Osaze- had problems with Siasia? Osaze has a problem with everybody - Amodu, his teammates, his coach at Loko and even Lagerback. This proves nothing
[5] Mikel even refused to pick up Siasia's calls
[6] Do you think Siasia will be able to control the big egos around the team? Yes. He doesn't need to control players, he has earned the respect of players that have played for him. All of them.
[7] If Siasia is coach,our NFF crooks will continue doing business as usual, collecting money from players and agents. He will get his cut and keep quiet That's why they obviously like him so much? By the way do you know what slander is?
[8] Some of you are also forgetting that all Siasia's success has come in age grade competitions where Nigeria cheats shamelessly U-23 is almost senior really. No need to get too technical here. Messi, Riquelme, Di Maria, Ronaldinho played at the last Olympics
[9] I can tell you now, that the players will not respect Siasia. They will openly flout his authority How do you know this?
[10] Siasia needs to go and coach a European club. He needs to be able to coach the boys at their clubs. That will give him the clout for the Eagles job.
You want Europeans to approve him first. It seems that's all you want.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Orion wrote:Lagerback has learnt a lot about the team in this short period of intense preparations for the WC and actual competitive games and is the best manager to take the team forward. We could see improvements in the team compared to our nations cup run where things were just going backwards. I doubt he'll stay tho. Won't be surprised if he gets a better paying job offer before the end of his holiday.
You are mad. You don't need more than one week to realise that Yak is finished , Yobo is better as a right bak , Ayinla is better than Haruna and Afolabi is not a right back.

I didn't see any improvement in this team.
EagleGunner

Post by EagleGunner »

felarey wrote:

Most of those opposed to Lagerback on this forum are doing so on the basis of an ideological opposition to a foreign coach. Their stance has nothing to do with football. They are prepared to back Amodu, CCC or Onigbinde simply because they are Nigerian.

After being outplayed at the ANC by Zambia, Ghana, Benin and Egypt, they still wanted Amodu to take us to the World Cup and break Zaire's 1974 record. We just have to ignore them.
[1] Siasia is a businessman
[2] Do you know that Siasia, Eguavoen and Akanni sold Sani Kaita to Sparta Rotterdam?
[3] Do you know that Siasia has his clique of boys like Isaac Promise who play for him irrespective of form?
[4] Do you know that at the Beijing Olympics, the senior players - Anichebe and Osaze- had problems with Siasia
[6] Do you think Siasia will be able to control the big egos around the team?
[7] If Siasia is coach,our NFF crooks will continue doing business as usual, collecting money from players and agents. He will get his cut and keep quiet
[8] Some of you are also forgetting that all Siasia's success has come in age grade competitions where Nigeria cheats shamelessly
[9] I can tell you now, that the players will not respect Siasia. They will openly flout his authority
[10] Siasia needs to go and coach a European club. He needs to be able to coach the boys at their clubs. That will give him the clout for the Eagles job.
You know, i have been a member of this forum since the early days and i have not really had reason to take you to task before...but i must say this post of yours has got to trully be taking the biscuit...if i didnt know you better, i'd say it was written by a kid trying to impress his teenage crush!! Do you have evidence to support what you just posted?? If i were you i'd be careful of what i post on forums. Then again if i were you i wouldnt post such salacious allegations.

Super Eagles Apparel Storefront

http://bit.ly/2KAOOse

Zelex wrote:#NGA ask Lagerback to stay on. Swede says he will make a decision after a holiday with his family
http://twitter.com/ColinUdoh
...after consulting with his family, they will cross check what is lacking at home, new car, new house, food pantry, some bling bling for madam lagaback, then he will ask for more pay...take it or live it oyinbo na oyinbo...he read so on this board so he got us by the balls.

EagleGunner wrote:
felarey wrote:

[1] Siasia is a businessman
[2] Do you know that Siasia, Eguavoen and Akanni sold Sani Kaita to Sparta Rotterdam?
[3] Do you know that Siasia has his clique of boys like Isaac Promise who play for him irrespective of form?
[4] Do you know that at the Beijing Olympics, the senior players - Anichebe and Osaze- had problems with Siasia
[6] Do you think Siasia will be able to control the big egos around the team?
[7] If Siasia is coach,our NFF crooks will continue doing business as usual, collecting money from players and agents. He will get his cut and keep quiet
[8] Some of you are also forgetting that all Siasia's success has come in age grade competitions where Nigeria cheats shamelessly
[9] I can tell you now, that the players will not respect Siasia. They will openly flout his authority
You know, i have been a member of this forum since the early days and i have not really had reason to take you to task before...but i must say this post of yours has got to trully be taking the biscuit...if i didnt know you better, i'd say it was written by a kid trying to impress his teenage crush!! Do you have evidence to support what you just posted?? If i were you i'd be careful of what i post on forums. Then again if i were you i wouldnt post such salacious allegations.
Honestly man. I'll never just go against anyone's opinions but, God, this is just nothing but 10 points of falsehood.
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

Instead of admitting our mistake and grab with both hands this fresh opportunity to start the building of the next generation of footballers while restoring our original style of play, some are still bent on making the same mistake thrice. The common sense choice should be a coaching crew comprising of Siasia, Keshi and Egu. Give these guys contracts for four years and let them also be in charge of the U23.

Lagerback will stiffle our natural style of play and will always lean on nigerian players who play in prominent clubs in europe even if they are not the best in their position. Lagerback wants to improve this team but nigerians want a new team afresh. We want Rabiu, Azeez, Okonkwo, Ajolire, Apam, Nwankwo, Anichebe, Adeleye, Ekpo, Adefemi, Okoro and many other good players. Siasia and the other coaches already know these guys. And are in the best position to integrate them in the team. It will take Lagerback one year to know and understand them and the next qualifiers is just two months away. We fans must demand for this new eagles. With Lagerback, you are best assured that in two months time, you will see the same world cup players bar one or two. They are all he know, and he won't want to bypass Etuhu who play in the EPL and take a look at Ramon Azeez. Lagerback will stick to what he know. This debate is not about who is the best coach, but who is in the best position to build a new team and restore the original style of pressing in parks, speed, change of pace and interchanging of passes. You don't ignore the person closer to the screen and ask another faraway about whats written on the screen even if the person faraway claims to have a better eyesight. The person on top of a palm tree and the person on the ground don't see the same thing.
Last edited by Talk IT on Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

RudeBoy wrote:
lagos777 wrote:
RudeBoy wrote:good and piss off to the Ghanaweb while you are at it! Ohsee/Oshi!
What have you seen from lagerback that makes you think he is up to the job ??
Nigeria is an average team so whoever coaches us doesn't have to be anything special. do not delude yourself.
The more reason we should not be wasting millions of dollars on average european coaches. You guys never learn. Do same $#% over and over again.
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".

....I'll say if we have to stick with Labake,that we give am 2 year contract and see how her performs over the next ANC...let's see what sort of programme he has for Nigeria and see what it does for our football altogether.Methinks Labake would keep NFF interferance @ bay big time...and depending on who he has as a scouting assistance..he could really open up the camp.I think he would be able to give players the sort of chances that other coaches in the past are reluctant to.He made some errors in this world cup but I'll excuse it on timing..
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Talk IT wrote:Instead of admitting our mistake and grab with both hands this fresh opportunity to start the building of the next generation of footballers while restoring our original style of play, some are still bent on making the same mistake thrice. The common sense choice should be a coaching crew comprising of Siasia, Keshi and Egu. Give these guys contracts for four years and let them also be in charge of the U23.

Lagerback will stiffle our natural style of play and will always lean on nigerian players who play in prominent clubs in europe even if they are not the best in their position. Lagerback wants to improve this team but nigerians want a new team afresh. We want Rabiu, Azeez, Okonkwo, Ajolire, Apam, Nwankwo, Anichebe, Adeleye, Ekpo, Adefemi, Okoro and many other good players. Siasia and the other coaches already know these guys. And are in the best position to integrate them in the team. It will take Lagerback one year to know and understand them and the next qualifiers is just two months away. We fans must demand for this new eagles. With Lagerback, you are best assured that in two months time, you will see the same world cup players bar one or two. They are all he know, and he won't want to bypass Etuhu who play in the EPL and take a look at Ramon Azeez. Lagerback will stick to what he know. This debate is not about who is the best coach, but who is in the best position to build a new team and restore the original style of pressing in parks, speed, change of pace and interchanging of passes. You don't ignore the person closer to the screen and ask another faraway about whats written on the screen even if the person faraway claims to have a better eyesight. The person on top of a palm tree and the person on the ground don't see the same thing.

Every single ESPN analyst that I listened to essentially said he was wrong for us. Klinsman, Gullit, etc. At sone point we have to decide what type of football we want to play as nation and go with coaches that fit that philosophy.
Mike Ditka quote :

Don't think he wants the job to keep anyway!
Talk IT

Post by Talk IT »

paj wrote:....I'll say if we have to stick with Labake,that we give am 2 year contract and see how her performs over the next ANC.. . let's see what sort of programme he has for Nigeria and see what it does for our football altogether .Methinks Labake would keep NFF interferance @ bay big time...and depending on who he has as a scouting assistance..he could really open up the camp.I think he would be able to give players the sort of chances that other coaches in the past are reluctant to.He made some errors in this world cup but I'll excuse it on timing..
Kai, this your lagerback must be magician and superman oh. :biggrin:
If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

Talk IT wrote:
paj wrote:....I'll say if we have to stick with Labake,that we give am 2 year contract and see how her performs over the next ANC.. . let's see what sort of programme he has for Nigeria and see what it does for our football altogether .Methinks Labake would keep NFF interferance @ bay big time...and depending on who he has as a scouting assistance..he could really open up the camp.I think he would be able to give players the sort of chances that other coaches in the past are reluctant to.He made some errors in this world cup but I'll excuse it on timing..
Kai, this your lagerback must be magician and superman oh. :biggrin:
The same guy wey NFA dey change plane and hotels on. :rotf:
Mike Ditka quote :

paj wrote:....I'll say if we have to stick with Labake,that we give am 2 year contract and see how her performs over the next ANC...let's see what sort of programme he has for Nigeria and see what it does for our football altogether.Methinks Labake would keep NFF interferance @ bay big time...and depending on who he has as a scouting assistance..he could really open up the camp.I think he would be able to give players the sort of chances that other coaches in the past are reluctant to.He made some errors in this world cup but I'll excuse it on timing..
The man doesn't know the African landscape. He will even fail to qualify for the Nations Cup.

NO problem i still have ARsenal, BArca, AC Milan, Brousia Dortmund, Brazil, Italy to support.

THERE'S ONE REASON TO REATAIN LAGERBECK

He outperformed Onigbinde, coach of 2002, at least in the eyes of the NFA. They tlooked at Onigbinde's group (England, Argentina and Sweden) and decided that Lagerbeck had by far the stronger group (Greece, Argentina and S/Korea). Unlike Onigbinde who brought shame to Nigerian football, Lagerbeck restored the Nigeria's swagger.

Never mind that Lagerbeck himself may not want the job.
Never mind that his honest position, like Cameroon's Schaffer before him, is that a Nigerian is best suited for the job.
Never mind that Osaze was opposed to his tactics.
The NFA need to hold Lagerbeck down to keep him away from the long line of prospecting nations. All of a sudden, Nigerians have come to understand the words continuity and stability, words never mentioned in the past two years.

Gernany was able to turn its fortune to a rookie coach; ditto Brazil and Holland. But Nigerians would never trust their precious jewels to rank amateurs like Oliseh, Siasia, Keshi et al. No Nigerians don't want to be disgraced.

My people have gone MAD!!!!

Lagerback EQUALLED Onigbinde's record under similar conditions though Onigbinde was in a 'tougher' group. So why retained Lagerback and not call Onigbinde back? Only reason why they wanted an FC was because of the 'cut' that they get to make.

For those talking of continuity, NOW is the time to DISBAND team, TEAR everything down and START REBUILDING. You rebuild after the WC not before.

There is nothing that Lagerback or any FC brought to the table that is worth $1.5m because it does not come with ANY GUARANTEE.

South Africa went with a world class coach and have nothing to show for it. They have better leagues, better organisation, better infrastructure but still crashed out. It's not ALL about coaching.

And to Ayo, it is quite rich of you making allegations of corruption against Siasia and co. Those that LIVE in glass house dont throw stones. Your Bryan Robson deals, your CE contributing editor moves, your plans to get 'cut' and 'donate' it to CE, your player agency plans, your Berti and Ezeala saga are well documented on this forum. That people take you serious at all just shows that we deserve what we get. Maybe someone should ressurect your Osaze thread again to show how ignorant you are.

niyi wrote:I want him to stay too on one condition that he is fine with a pay-cut. With him in charge for 4 years, we'll be better at the next world cup.
Assuming that, unlike Lagerback's Sweden team, you actually make it to the next WC...

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

stupid NFF...Lagerback will refuse the job......y not give it Eguaveon , and let Eguaveon pick his own assistants. Pay him good money, so that he does not need egunje.

Goalgetter wrote:Those of you calling Lagerback a fraud are unreasonable. Coaches like Lagerback, Capello and co value their reputation more than the money you keep mentioning. Lagerback has been to at least the second round of every tournament he attended with Sweden, so is someone telling me that he's happy to have a first round exit from the worldcup with Nigeria on his cv? Well the reasoning of some people here is a true reflection of our society, Nigerians put money ahead of everything, forgetting that some people actually care about their reputation first before any other thing. The best decision for Nigerian football is to retain Lagerback. He knows the team very well now and what the team needs. Sad that he didn't get to assess Mikel in this competition.
First, stop grouping Lagerback (0 honors in 33 years) with the likes of Capello (15 titles in 16 years)...
Second, please just quit with the lying -- Lagerback's Sweden did not make it past the group stage at Euro 2008.

wanaj0 wrote:My people have gone MAD!!!!

Lagerback EQUALLED Onigbinde's record under similar conditions though Onigbinde was in a 'tougher' group. So why retained Lagerback and not call Onigbinde back? Only reason why they wanted an FC was because of the 'cut' that they get to make.

For those talking of continuity, NOW is the time to DISBAND team, TEAR everything down and START REBUILDING. You rebuild after the WC not before.

There is nothing that Lagerback or any FC brought to the table that is worth $1.5m because it does not come with ANY GUARANTEE.

South Africa went with a world class coach and have nothing to show for it. They have better leagues, better organisation, better infrastructure but still crashed out. It's not ALL about coaching.

And to Ayo, it is quite rich of you making allegations of corruption against Siasia and co. Those that LIVE in glass house dont throw stones. Your Bryan Robson deals, your CE contributing editor moves, your plans to get 'cut' and 'donate' it to CE, your player agency plans, your Berti and Ezeala saga are well documented on this forum. That people take you serious at all just shows that we deserve what we get. Maybe someone should ressurect your Osaze thread again to show how ignorant you are.

KPOM!!!

ANC wrote:It's a wonderful idea. NFA learning from mistakes after all. I just like his demeanor, he is the right man for the job. Now they should allow kanu or Finidi or Ikpeba to work under him.
So we are recruiting for "demeanor"?!
Africans! That's why your forefathers got sold for trinkets.
:oops:

When I read some of the responses to this thread, I start to think, "Hmm maybe we deserve every ounce of ill that plagues us". How can people be so myopic???????????
When it was Amodu, they said he never shouted or spoke during games(same with Onigbinde), I have not seen ONE thread talking about this guy's 'quietness'.

I'll address his position from strictly a sporting perspective because frankly, trying to address everything else is going to make me throw up in disgust.

His philosophies are not in line with ours. We play a pressing game, we like possession, we like to attack. He is opposite of all that. On that basis alone, he is unfit for the job. He showed thru our 2 games that he's unwilling to bend his ways to merge with ours, it wasnt until late late in the day that he opened up all cylinders. If we go with this dude, we'll be out of ANC/WC reckoning with 2/3 games to go.
JMObi

Post by JMObi »

Lars Lagerback is an average european coach with a computer. He lacks technical and tactical ability. He lacks motivational ability. He lacks the ability to scout. So what exactly is he being paid 1.5 million for? There are many coaches that would have identified the weaknesses a lot quicker and fixed it in a short period of time like:

- Guus Hiddink
- Carlo Ancelotti
- Dunga

What Nigeria needs now is to start from scratch and rebuild because the foundation is crumbling and we need to discover fresh blood. The ideal coach for that is Siasia because he did that for the WYC AND for the Olympics.

Siasia also is someone who has the force of will to get players to play exactly as he wants them to. He blasted the Olympics team in 2008 after their first two miserable games and you saw greatness. He blasted that rubbish U20 team in Egypt and they played their best game against Germany in the quarters.

Siasia is the obvious choice but in Nigeria, people would rather brainlessly attempt the impossible or the illogical so make I siddon and look.
O na-abu ife na-eme ufodu e ekolopu anyi adi elota n’ife obuna nwelu mbido ga enwelili njedebe - Celestine Ukwu

“The sun will shine on those who stand before it shines on those who kneel under them." -- Chinua Achebe