NIGERIA 0 VS USA 2 (FT) TUESDAY 1600 ESPNU

wazobia
Re: NIGERIA 0 VS USA 1 TUESDAY 1600 ESPNU

Post by wazobia »

That run just sums up Esther Sunday; all flash, plenty of dribbling skills but no end product!
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO

WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'

ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'

OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'
sabb

Post by sabb »

naija girls trying and giving it their all, cmon girls
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
mapet

Post by mapet »

Esther Sunday has been a phenomenom is this game. Whoever talked sense into her did a good job

GUEST wrote:Well their Talents carried them this Far..

What more can You ask of them?
I beg to differ. That's the kind f patronising stuff those Eurosport commentators say when they describe Africans as 'athletic'. This is far more than just talent. They are weaving some serious interplay here -that's 'football sense'.. We shouldn't diminish their game just because they are losing. I am impressed with both the team and the individual play. Their weak point is their finishing - finish.
CMS

Post by CMS »

I beg to differ. That's the kind f patronising stuff those Eurosport commentators say when they describe Africans as 'athletic'. This is far more than just talent. They are weaving some serious interplay here -that's 'football sense'.. We shouldn't diminish their game just because they are losing. I am impressed with both the team and the individual play. Their weak point is their finishing - finish.
Too many people that don't know diddly about the game keep spewing nonsense here. Computer is a moda.

Imagine someone saying Oparanozie was holding the ball too long and that's why we are losing..
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
CMS

Post by CMS »

Now there's nobody in the box to connect the crosses

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.
CMS

Post by CMS »

Congrats to the US team. I dey go sleep. But they will have a tough time beating the Germans. I think its Germany's cup.

Nothing more to add!!!

Im proud of the girls

Congrats to US too

2 kondo! Good try by the girls though.

Game over
WELL DONE GIRLS!
THOSE OF US WEY SABI THIS GAME ARE PROUD OF YOU!!!!!
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
cybersoccerfan

Post by cybersoccerfan »

Game was lost by poor decision making.
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

The girls played well but did not have enough scorers ... a good team, but it needs one more striker, or Sunday needs to learn how to shoot.

x
ora

Post by ora »

Another fruitless ending to a good team but lacking the tactical prowess as shown again by our coaches. This team was more superior skill wise but the coach lacks what it takes to excel on the world stage. How many times have we gotten to this level after scaling through the early rounds.

Keshi be warned.
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

...Naija girls good job...you gave your best...y'all did...ignore any garbage talk here. Proud of you.
mapet

Post by mapet »

Like I said earlier, this is a game in which the Nigerian girls were high tactical and were undone by defending. They actually played very well and marginally better than US, but finishing was our bane.

I think our coaches need to teach girls little stuffs that matters, like importance of completing passes, composure and calmness in front of goal, better positioning and defending set pieces.

ora wrote:Another fruitless ending to a good team but lacking the tactical prowess as shown again by our coaches. This team was more superior skill wise but the coach lacks what it takes to excel on the world stage. How many times have we gotten to this level after scaling through the early rounds.

Keshi be warned.
Tell us nah. How many times?
We are only just emerging on the world stage and some of you guys are expecting to 'carry trophy' just like that?
This is the same mentality that gets our coaches to take short cuts to victory - a failure to recognise that it is a process that takes time, investment and commitment at all levels.
Na beans?
SSTAR

Post by SSTAR »

Congrats to the girls for a good game, even in a loss. They have nothing to be ashamed about.
Only those without knowledge of the game will spew rubbish about their competitiveness and team
work in the match.
The team played good football, and that shows the effect of good coaching too.
Ermmn, .....can't wait for our usual bronze. :winking: :thumb: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Cheers!!!
The meek shall inherit the earth, but they will not hold the mineral rights!!!

Yes, of course there are things to be learned, but you will also recognise that a good coach recognises and builds on the strengths of the team whilst working on the weaknesses. You can bet your bottom dollar that many of the commentators on this thread will make terrible coaches, because they see only the negative and wouldn't see the positive aspects in this team even if they had it rammed up their backsides.

mapet wrote:Like I said earlier, this is a game in which the Nigerian girls were high tactical and were undone by defending. They actually played very well and marginally better than US, but finishing was our bane.

I think our coaches need to teach girls little stuffs that matters, like importance of completing passes, composure and calmness in front of goal, better positioning and defending set pieces.

ora

Post by ora »

NO doubt the girls did great, but in the field of football, tactical composure and reading of the game by the coaching staff matters. So the Americans played defensively, ( Chelsea Did and won) the coaching staff did what to change the pace of the game?

Enough of the excuses, we are a good team that lacks.....
2think

Post by 2think »

kudos the falconets

PLS Update the scores
Last edited by 2think on Tue Sep 04, 2012 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
May the Lord God Bless U real Good

...saw later part of 1st half and the whole of 2nd.
What did us was poor decision up front.
2x Sunday should have got close she chose to shoot (weak).
Oparanozie did her job, but was tired, even with her strenght was clumpsy atimes.
Ordega gave it all fighting well, she reminds me of a certain Nigerian falcon girl at USA '99 who played on the right wing.
Our midfield were not conneting well, pass-wise.
Defense looked tired and out of focus.
Overall dem don try. Nigeria need serious and continious investment and training.

Congrats to the players and they got as far as they could... They had the ball more and a better chance to win the game had they converted their chances early in the game... Overall, the prospects are bright and only a matter of time before they win that cup.

As for some of the players who were annoying Esther Sunday, Ngozi Nkobi and a few others. They need coaches who will make them better players and know what to do with the ball when they have it. To many times, we lost the ball in the middle who led to US scoring to easy goals... Player development is key to a overall success of a team. One more game to play on Saturday. Get that GOLDEN BRONZE... :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

What I really loved most about this team was their ball possession. Rarely did you see them just hoof the ball upfield. They always had options because they gave themselves options. Off the ball movement was good.
I am sure the FIFA technical report will have a lot to say about how the Nigerian game has improved, and it would be nice to see the game statistics. I actually prefer this team to the losing finalists of 2 years ago, by far.

I'm sure if Sunday or Ordega or Oparanozie had tucked away one or two early goals, na anoda tin everybody go dey talk. I hope these girls get well rewarded, sports scholarships, etc etc.