Zambia's FA: Chitalu out-scored Messi in a calendar year

Re: time we start calling out FiFa on all yeye records

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Don't worry, Messi will score 35 in the remaining matches this year. There is still time to break Chitalu's record. :taunt:

Goldleaf wrote:Don't worry, Messi will score 35 in the remaining matches this year. There is still time to break Chitalu's record. :taunt:
he has 2 more games to score 35 goals 000000000

Messi's "record": Zambia fights back......

Zambia FA seeks Fifa recognition for 107-goal Chitalu

The Football Association of Zambia (Faz) says it will approach Fifa about getting recognition for striker Godfrey Chitalu's feat of scoring 107 goals in 1972.
The move comes after Lionel Messi broke German Gerd Mueller's record of 85 goals scored in a calendar year, the Argentine now has 88 to his name in 2012.
Faz spokesman Eric Mwanza told BBC Sport it has the records to prove Chitalu should be acknowledged for his goals.
"We want to make it very clear that it is not a question of authenticating, or trying to verify or see if he actually scored the goals - that is not in question," he insisted.
"What is in question now is why has he not been recognised, and that is what we are looking at now.
"We are sending communication to the Secretary General of Fifa, Mr Jerome Valcke, to look again into the matter of Godfrey Chitalu."
After his playing career Chitalu went on to be a coach eventually leading the Zambian national team.
He died along with 29 other people, of which 18 were Zambian internationals, in a plane crash off the coast of Gabon as the team travelled to Senegal for a World Cup qualifier.
Mwanza also added that 1972 was not the first time that Chitalu had been so prolific.
"In the season preceding 1972 he'd scored about 89 goals," he explained.
"In 1972 he scored 107 goals - that includes the league, African club championship matches, national team matches, and international friendly games."
The president of Faz, Kalusha Bwalya, says he clearly remembers Chitalu's prolific season.
"There's no doubt, my father was in the FA and I've seen a lot of games in my time," he stressed.
"Kabwe Warriors, for whom Godfrey Chitalu played, is a legendary team in our country.
"Their front line had Godfrey Chitalu scoring all the goals - and even for the national team, this man did a lot.
"So I think it would be important for people to recognise his feats."
Bwalya, played under Chitalu when he coached the national team in 1993, says he does not want the talk of Chitalu to detract from Messi's goals in 2012.
"I think it's phenomenal to do what Messi has done," he said.
"Some of us have seen players like Pele, Platini, Maradona and Van Basten, as a former footballer, in the modern-day it is so difficult to score even 20 goals - so don't take anything away from Messi.
"He is out of this world."
One unofficial Zambian football website claims that Chitalu in fact scored 116 goals in 1972 but has discounted the first nine he scored in the African Cup of Champion Clubs.
He reportedly scored the goals over two legs against Majantja of Lesotho in the first round of the tournament but the site does not count the goals for unknown reasons.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Catalyst
Re: Zambia's Chitalu Scored More Than Messi's In A Calendar

Post by Catalyst »

kalani wrote:btw Zico is counting goals scored in an exhibition game.
Some of Messi's goals were in Argentina's exhibition games.

So what is your point sir?
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Goldleaf wrote:Don't worry, Messi will score 35 in the remaining matches this year. There is still time to break Chitalu's record. :taunt:
You mean 25?

35 will be hard.

25 is doable.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.

kalani

Post by kalani »

Catalyst wrote:

Not exhibition as in Int'l friendly, exhibition as in Rest of the World XI type games.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
Al B Sure
Re: Zambia's FA: Chitalu out-scored Messi in a calendar year

Post by Al B Sure »

Whick of Messi's goal was in an 'exhibition' games?
Maradona

Post by Maradona »

The Zambian submission will be rejected by FIFA and rightly so.
This has absolutely nothing to do with race. How many times have we heard Caucasians saying Pele is the greatest of all time? I doubt the Zambians will successfully prove he scored all those goals in one year anyway. We are waiting for video evidence of these goals, and documentary evidence that the gaols were scored in matches played within the same year. I am sleeping as comfortably as Messi knowing our inability to keep proper records. Una go learn!!
The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..

"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Maradona wrote:The Zambian submission will be rejected by FIFA and rightly so.
Why?

This has absolutely nothing to do with race. How many times have we heard Caucasians saying Pele is the greatest of all time? I doubt the Zambians will successfully prove he scored all those goals in one year anyway. We are waiting for video evidence of these goals, and documentary evidence that the gaols were scored in matches played within the same year. I am sleeping as comfortably as Messi knowing our inability to keep proper records. Una go learn!!
Can you change you name to Messi?
Haba why dont you wait and see what will happen?

Maradona wrote:LMAO @ this thread.
Where is the video evidence?
I didn't know people took everything on Wikipedia as the gospel truth.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
it is all over the news now :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/20727929
Even Zico score more than Messi :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Re: Messi’s new goalscoring record ‘was broken in 1972′

Maradona wrote:Rubbish!
Why didn't tjhey make all this noise before?
Did they not hear of Gerd Muller?
Silly, incompetent people!!
Thing dey pain u :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Re: Messi’s new goalscoring record ‘was broken in 1972′

kalani wrote:Rajiv Kumar scored 105 against Nigeria in that famous 107-0 victory they had over us. The one with the Tigers and stuff..
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Maradona

Post by Maradona »

Catalyst wrote:
Why?
Read the rest of the post. Isn't it obvious? :lol:
The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..

"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.

Catalyst wrote:

why bother, some black people are born to be a yansh licker
kalani

Post by kalani »

wale1974 wrote:
Catalyst wrote:

why bother, some black people are born to be a yansh licker
I explained what I meant two posts later don't be slow...

Did they count Messi's goals in that Miami thing with Forlan and them?

:roll:
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.

Dude just shut up. Where is the evidence that Gerd Muller scored those goals??? Yeye Uncle Tom.

Fifa refuses to back Lionel Messi or Godfrey Chitalu for goal record
BBCAfricanfootball.com

Fifa has refused to get involved in the debate about who holds the world record for scoring the most goals in a year.
It was widely reported that Lionel Messi's 86th goal of 2012, which he scored on Sunday, surpassed a mark set by Germany's Gerd Mueller 40 years ago.
But the Zambian Football Association claimed Godfrey Chitalu had scored 107 goals for club and country in 1972.
Play media

Fifa does not keep domestic records, so "it's not an official Fifa record", spokesman Alex Stone told BBC Sport.
The world governing body said that, given it only maintains statistics for the international competitions it runs, it is not possibly to ratify records from club football around the world.
"We don't have a database which details every football game played in every country from around the world since day one of their formation," Stone said.
"It's certainly nothing to do with bias - if we can confirm records from our tournaments we like doing that.
"It's the sort of data fans and the media like to see."
Stone confirmed that Fifa has not recognised Messi as holding the record.
"It's a record where someone in the media obviously collected statistics from somewhere and noticed Messi was about to pass that record."
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Flamengo says Zico, not Messi, holds goal record

RIO DE JANEIRO -- Brazilian club Flamengo may challenge Lionel Messi's calendar year record, saying that former Brazil captain Zico scored 89 goals in 1979.
Barcelona's Messi scored his 87th and 88th goals of the year in Wednesday's King's Cup last-16 first leg at Cordoba having thought he had broken Gerd Mueller's 1972 record of 85 on Sunday.
"We are upset. Messi still hasn't passed the milestone," Bruno Lucena, head of Flamengo's research and statistics department, told Brazilian sports daily Lance.
Lucena calculated that Zico scored 81 goals for Flamengo in 1979, plus another seven for Brazil and one in a friendly between Argentina and a Rest of the World XI.
He added that Zico missed two months of the season through injury between September and November.
"If he had played for the whole year, he would have scored more than 100 goals," he said.
Lance produced a list of goals scored by Zico in 1979. According to the statistics, he hit six goals in a game on two occasions, four goals in a game once and five hat-tricks.

Read More: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/soccer ... z2F3fuFZ9A
kalani

Post by kalani »

Flamengo says Zico, not Messi, holds goal record

RIO DE JANEIRO -- Brazilian club Flamengo may challenge Lionel Messi's calendar year record, saying that former Brazil captain Zico scored 89 goals in 1979.
Barcelona's Messi scored his 87th and 88th goals of the year in Wednesday's King's Cup last-16 first leg at Cordoba having thought he had broken Gerd Mueller's 1972 record of 85 on Sunday.
"We are upset. Messi still hasn't passed the milestone," Bruno Lucena, head of Flamengo's research and statistics department, told Brazilian sports daily Lance.
Lucena calculated that Zico scored 81 goals for Flamengo in 1979, plus another seven for Brazil and one in a friendly between Argentina and a Rest of the World XI.
He added that Zico missed two months of the season through injury between September and November.
"If he had played for the whole year, he would have scored more than 100 goals," he said.
Lance produced a list of goals scored by Zico in 1979. According to the statistics, he hit six goals in a game on two occasions, four goals in a game once and five hat-tricks.

Read More: http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/soccer ... z2F3fuFZ9A
Check what I highlighted to see what I meant by exhibition. Some of the goals for Flamengo came from preseason friendlies, those still count because the friendlies were apparently acknowledged by FIFA as part of an unbeaten run credited to Flamengo.
megapro wrote:
Re: Messi's "record": Zambia fights back......

Zambia FA seeks Fifa recognition for 107-goal Chitalu

The Football Association of Zambia (Faz) says it will approach Fifa about getting recognition for striker Godfrey Chitalu's feat of scoring 107 goals in 1972.
Equivalent of the 127 goals I scored in the 1978/79 season in my area .......................................street matches :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo