Life as a Shooting stars player...
Re: Life as a Shooting stars player...
Just entering thread. Weekend read game, set and match.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Oloye , please tell us about Balu Balu 

- YemiBrazil
BAP wrote:Oloye , please tell us about Balu Balu

I featured prominently the team in the 1989 season that I was there, I played in at least 95% of the league matches, but there were couple of the matches were memorable for a number of reasons which I would like to share. The most memorable of this of course would be the two matches (home and away) with Stationary Stores, the arch rivals of Shooting. The rivalry and perhaps the hostilities between the two teams go way back. Every time Stationary Stores come down to play in Ibadan, they so in style, let me just say they have a way of announcing their presence in the ancient city. Let me just say they do so in a way that frightens the daylight out of the peaceful Ibadan people. In the past violence had trailed their visits to the ancient city given their tendency to intimidate their rivals. They visited us first in what was the last match of the first half of the season, let me just say the match was played both on and off the field.
This was my first taste of the rivalry I have heard about and read about as a kid and even when I was playing in the lower cadre of the league. I was kind of anxious, but upbeat. As a player these are the kind of matches you live for, these sort of matches make the others look insignificant. Nevertheless the supporters of Stores have a history that makes one to be unsure what to expect on the field. By the time we got to the stadium, we could feel their presence, they had managed to take over a part of the stadium where the players bus enters access the stadium right to the point where the players would enter the dressing room. As our bus entered the gates of the stadium, we could feel their presence, they started insulting us, calling us names, banging on our buses threatening fire and brimstones, also assuring us we were going to be disgraced right there in front of our supporters. I was surprised none of our supporters were in sight, perhaps for security and safety reasons. By the time we got to the entrance of the dressing room, I was kind of worried….they were everywhere.
We alighted from the bus, to get into the dressing of the Lekan Salami stadium in Adamasingba, we would have to descend a flight of stairs down , what made this worrying was that the fans of Stores had formed what looked a guard of honour and we would have to walk right through them. It was the most frightening walk, we soon got to know why they formed a guard of honour…..sorry it was not a guard of honour, it was a guard of intimidation. As we walked right through, we felt them, then suddenly we could feel them kicking our ankles and as we went down the stairs the one at the top of us were pouring what we later found out was the excess urea from their body on top of us. We had to make a dash for it.
How do we as players feel in this sort of scenario? The truth is, fans do this to intimidate players, but the reverse is the effect, at least for veterans in the game. It gears up the players, it psyches them up. We were angry not with the Stores fans but with our own fans, we could not understand why we could be so intimidated on our own grounds. Right from the dressing room the atmosphere was tense. The tension spilled over when our captain Kabiru Adejare punched Ibitimi Collins in the face, he told us Ibitimi provoked him. His eyes were swollen from the punch…..aghh Kabiru, remind me to tell you more about Kabiru and his famed punches. All manner of threats were issued against Kabiru including death threats, he was told not to show his face in Lagos or else he would be lynched.
Stores as usual paraded a team of young unknown players, they consist of the following, Ibitimi Collins aka Barbwire,Pat Obitor, Shobayo, Dele Bob Manuel, Taiwo Oloyede, Ike Shorounmu, Ajibade Babalade, Ifeanyi Aghenu. They gave us a good match, scored a goal against us in the first half. In the dying minutes of the game we equalised, to be honest it was the best we deserved from the game, they were the better side. Although we would not play the return leg for some weeks to come, we were all worried about the manner of reception we would get in Lagos considering the antics of their fans in Ibadan. Even more we were worried for Kabiru, we kept hearing that the fans were hell bent on dealing with him. You see Barbwire was one of their favorite players….he was one of their own.
The return leg came, a week before Kabiru bagged another yellow card which brought his tally to the sum that would automatically suspend him for the next match. We were in camp in preparation for the match, it was to be a mid-week match, with the state FA cup final scheduled for the weekend. We were to travel to Lagos in the morning a journey of about an hour and half, and return after the match. On the eve of the match, we had a meeting with our club chairman to discuss the match , one of the topics was to try to dissuade Kabiru from travelling for the match since he was already suspended anyway. Kabiru would have none of it, he felt it his duty as the captain to go with us, some of us pleaded with him personally…..Kabiru was adamant. Story had it that Kabiru was a street guy, an Alfa boy and well able to ehemm…if you know what I mean. Kabiru was not an ordinary guy o…so we heard. Remember I said to play for Shooting you must be ready to deal with intrigues..well he was one of these intrigues. I will tell you more about Kabiru, but for now my curiosity towards the Lagos match has taken another dimension. I was worried for what would befall us on the field, may off it as well in the hands of those flaming fans. As if that was not enough, I was now worried for Kabiru…these threats were real and the management of the club was now concerned for his welfare.
Lagos here we come, Kabiru was in the entourage, the atmosphere at the Onikan stadium surprisingly was bearable than Ibadan. Our fans turned out en-masse to my our surprise and joy…..they were not cowards after all. A whole section of the Onikan stadium was filled with our fans the colour blue filled the air, the talking drums was yabbing away…we felt relaxed. We went through the pre match routines, the inspection of registration cards, etc by refs. Where did Kabiru chose to sit himself? Right in the midst of the Stores fans…Kabiru is a man I tell you, he has balls.
The game was entertaining it ended 3-3, they forced an equaliser, we led them twice and twice they equalised. Later we heard that for every goal we scored, Kabiru right in the midst of the Stores fans would stand up to celebrate...nothing happened to Kabiru only a few grunts and muffled curses…..Aghh Kabiru o se wo ni o, aghh Kabiru ma tun se be mo o (Aghh Kabiru we are condoning this because it is you…)..The typical Lagos bravado was on show here. After the match we were relieved to see Kabiru emerge from the crowds and join us in the bus. We were celebrating our journey back to Ibadan was going to be worth it or so we thought. It was time to leave the stadium we were all celebrating in the bus and as it emerged from the stadium, they were waiting for us…..oh we were not going to get away with it easily.
Suddenly we heard the sound of stones hitting the sides of our bus, the shattering of glass…. Then I saw at the last minute a huge block heading my way, I had just a split of a second to twist my head to the side, it saved my eye ball else I would have been blinded on one eye. The block smacked me right on the side of the face the force of it knocked me off my seat. Initially I thought I took the brunt of it on my eye, clutched my face then I saw blood, the impact blinded me for a moment, then the blood blurred my vision. The bus kept going we could not stop, we had to get as far away as possible from danger… I still carry the scar by the side of my right eye. Strange people see that scar and speak to me in Igbo believing I am one, a lady once accused me of denying my tribe…all I did was smile at the remark. It was a gift from the famous flaming fans.
The team doctored patched me up and assured me my eye and vision was ok, it was a huge relief. How does one feel in a circumstance like this? If I can remember very well the joy of not losing in Lagos to our arch rival was worth every drop of blood shed, you live for moments like this in this game. The next day the chairman of the club sent for me (we had some sort of rapport between us some sort of mutual respect which I will share later), when he saw me he was shocked, I was all patched up, the right side of my face was swollen. He was worried for me as well as for the match on Saturday, the state FA cup against our local rivals at the time IBL (International Breweries Ilesha) Ilesha. He asked me if I would be able to play, I assured him I would be ok…..I did play, although we lost. On my way out his office, Baba Ogunshina as we fondly refer to him wrote something on a piece of paper.
Okay let me pause here to explain this rite. Whenever you visit Baba and you tell him you are broke, he would say no problem, he would pick up a jotter from his table ask you how much you need, he would write down alongside your name, he would ask you to hand it over to his secretary, who would in turn hand you the money. It was not free, Baba would deduct it from your salary at the end of the month. More on Baba later, he was old school.
As Baba handed the note over to me, I said to him, ‘oti sir..I am okay for money’…Baba smiled and said no Bolaji, use the money to take care of yourself , it is my token of appreciation for what you went through, I want you to be fit and ready for saturday. I was relieved checked the note, Baba wrote 200 naira. That was a lot of money then, for Baba to give you money, you must be special. When I told the players in camp they could not believe it.
What was it between me and Baba? Simple from the day I landed in Ibadan I took my time to study Baba, he was old school. He made his money the hard way, he was one of these old rich men who believed in savings and compounding your money. He worked for the old PZ (Patterson Zochonis (sic)), I think he was an accountant who schooled in London. By the time Baba was through working for PZ he was in the position to buy off most their warehouses located in Gbagi when they were leaving Nigeria.Baba controlled a whole side of Gbagi market about a street long, he had money, but he was not flamboyant. There were many stories told of Baba, I learnt Baba has only one pair of stockings which he had been using since the late 60s and that it had holes in them…very true, I heard that Baba’s son although a graduate and in employment, he brings his salary to baba, who would deduct his allowances for him and bank the rest for him. Baba does not do free money simple.
Baba believes people should be prudent with their money. Baba takes his tea by counting 3 drops of milk, it was a right he performed and easy to verify. We thought it was because he was stingy, but now I think it was on medical advice. But seeing baba count three drops of milk into his tea was amusing….such was the man called Baba Ogunshina.
I respect Baba, I share his philosophy about life, although Baba’s own borders on the extreme, but he is a proof that it works. People say Baba was stingy, but Baba imbibed the English attitude to money. Baba’s weakness like all mortals was women….okay let us leave baba and his weaknesses alone….. When I joined Shooting, the agreed sign on fees if can remember was 3, 000 naira. No problem except Shooting was not fluid at the time, so the money was to be paid in piece meal. I hated the arrangement. On the day I arrived , I was paid the first installment of 500 naira to buy stuffs I needed to settle down into the accommodation they provided.
Then I started hearing stories of how players had been collecting theirs in piecemeal, by mid season some of them had only a balance of just about 200 left. I needed my money and I needed it in bulk. So I went to Baba, I told him I had a business plan with my Uncle , he was a veterinary doctor who deals in animal drugs, which he imports from the UK. Baba fell in love with me right there, he was hearing something he hardly hears from players. According to him, all the players he knew were good at investing their money in the bank of the waist..aka women. Naughty naughty Baba, when it comes to women baba knows all the lingos. Baba pulled out his cheque book and gave me the 1500 naira, which I collected and banked. He offered me all manner of advice. We sort of got along well from then on, we would chat about what I would like to do after football. At the time my plan was to work for a bank, it was an ambition I nursed through University. Baba promised to get me into the Oyo state owned bank at the time Trans Bank it was called. But when BCC came calling all my plans changed.
This was my first taste of the rivalry I have heard about and read about as a kid and even when I was playing in the lower cadre of the league. I was kind of anxious, but upbeat. As a player these are the kind of matches you live for, these sort of matches make the others look insignificant. Nevertheless the supporters of Stores have a history that makes one to be unsure what to expect on the field. By the time we got to the stadium, we could feel their presence, they had managed to take over a part of the stadium where the players bus enters access the stadium right to the point where the players would enter the dressing room. As our bus entered the gates of the stadium, we could feel their presence, they started insulting us, calling us names, banging on our buses threatening fire and brimstones, also assuring us we were going to be disgraced right there in front of our supporters. I was surprised none of our supporters were in sight, perhaps for security and safety reasons. By the time we got to the entrance of the dressing room, I was kind of worried….they were everywhere.
We alighted from the bus, to get into the dressing of the Lekan Salami stadium in Adamasingba, we would have to descend a flight of stairs down , what made this worrying was that the fans of Stores had formed what looked a guard of honour and we would have to walk right through them. It was the most frightening walk, we soon got to know why they formed a guard of honour…..sorry it was not a guard of honour, it was a guard of intimidation. As we walked right through, we felt them, then suddenly we could feel them kicking our ankles and as we went down the stairs the one at the top of us were pouring what we later found out was the excess urea from their body on top of us. We had to make a dash for it.
How do we as players feel in this sort of scenario? The truth is, fans do this to intimidate players, but the reverse is the effect, at least for veterans in the game. It gears up the players, it psyches them up. We were angry not with the Stores fans but with our own fans, we could not understand why we could be so intimidated on our own grounds. Right from the dressing room the atmosphere was tense. The tension spilled over when our captain Kabiru Adejare punched Ibitimi Collins in the face, he told us Ibitimi provoked him. His eyes were swollen from the punch…..aghh Kabiru, remind me to tell you more about Kabiru and his famed punches. All manner of threats were issued against Kabiru including death threats, he was told not to show his face in Lagos or else he would be lynched.
Stores as usual paraded a team of young unknown players, they consist of the following, Ibitimi Collins aka Barbwire,Pat Obitor, Shobayo, Dele Bob Manuel, Taiwo Oloyede, Ike Shorounmu, Ajibade Babalade, Ifeanyi Aghenu. They gave us a good match, scored a goal against us in the first half. In the dying minutes of the game we equalised, to be honest it was the best we deserved from the game, they were the better side. Although we would not play the return leg for some weeks to come, we were all worried about the manner of reception we would get in Lagos considering the antics of their fans in Ibadan. Even more we were worried for Kabiru, we kept hearing that the fans were hell bent on dealing with him. You see Barbwire was one of their favorite players….he was one of their own.
The return leg came, a week before Kabiru bagged another yellow card which brought his tally to the sum that would automatically suspend him for the next match. We were in camp in preparation for the match, it was to be a mid-week match, with the state FA cup final scheduled for the weekend. We were to travel to Lagos in the morning a journey of about an hour and half, and return after the match. On the eve of the match, we had a meeting with our club chairman to discuss the match , one of the topics was to try to dissuade Kabiru from travelling for the match since he was already suspended anyway. Kabiru would have none of it, he felt it his duty as the captain to go with us, some of us pleaded with him personally…..Kabiru was adamant. Story had it that Kabiru was a street guy, an Alfa boy and well able to ehemm…if you know what I mean. Kabiru was not an ordinary guy o…so we heard. Remember I said to play for Shooting you must be ready to deal with intrigues..well he was one of these intrigues. I will tell you more about Kabiru, but for now my curiosity towards the Lagos match has taken another dimension. I was worried for what would befall us on the field, may off it as well in the hands of those flaming fans. As if that was not enough, I was now worried for Kabiru…these threats were real and the management of the club was now concerned for his welfare.
Lagos here we come, Kabiru was in the entourage, the atmosphere at the Onikan stadium surprisingly was bearable than Ibadan. Our fans turned out en-masse to my our surprise and joy…..they were not cowards after all. A whole section of the Onikan stadium was filled with our fans the colour blue filled the air, the talking drums was yabbing away…we felt relaxed. We went through the pre match routines, the inspection of registration cards, etc by refs. Where did Kabiru chose to sit himself? Right in the midst of the Stores fans…Kabiru is a man I tell you, he has balls.
The game was entertaining it ended 3-3, they forced an equaliser, we led them twice and twice they equalised. Later we heard that for every goal we scored, Kabiru right in the midst of the Stores fans would stand up to celebrate...nothing happened to Kabiru only a few grunts and muffled curses…..Aghh Kabiru o se wo ni o, aghh Kabiru ma tun se be mo o (Aghh Kabiru we are condoning this because it is you…)..The typical Lagos bravado was on show here. After the match we were relieved to see Kabiru emerge from the crowds and join us in the bus. We were celebrating our journey back to Ibadan was going to be worth it or so we thought. It was time to leave the stadium we were all celebrating in the bus and as it emerged from the stadium, they were waiting for us…..oh we were not going to get away with it easily.
Suddenly we heard the sound of stones hitting the sides of our bus, the shattering of glass…. Then I saw at the last minute a huge block heading my way, I had just a split of a second to twist my head to the side, it saved my eye ball else I would have been blinded on one eye. The block smacked me right on the side of the face the force of it knocked me off my seat. Initially I thought I took the brunt of it on my eye, clutched my face then I saw blood, the impact blinded me for a moment, then the blood blurred my vision. The bus kept going we could not stop, we had to get as far away as possible from danger… I still carry the scar by the side of my right eye. Strange people see that scar and speak to me in Igbo believing I am one, a lady once accused me of denying my tribe…all I did was smile at the remark. It was a gift from the famous flaming fans.
The team doctored patched me up and assured me my eye and vision was ok, it was a huge relief. How does one feel in a circumstance like this? If I can remember very well the joy of not losing in Lagos to our arch rival was worth every drop of blood shed, you live for moments like this in this game. The next day the chairman of the club sent for me (we had some sort of rapport between us some sort of mutual respect which I will share later), when he saw me he was shocked, I was all patched up, the right side of my face was swollen. He was worried for me as well as for the match on Saturday, the state FA cup against our local rivals at the time IBL (International Breweries Ilesha) Ilesha. He asked me if I would be able to play, I assured him I would be ok…..I did play, although we lost. On my way out his office, Baba Ogunshina as we fondly refer to him wrote something on a piece of paper.
Okay let me pause here to explain this rite. Whenever you visit Baba and you tell him you are broke, he would say no problem, he would pick up a jotter from his table ask you how much you need, he would write down alongside your name, he would ask you to hand it over to his secretary, who would in turn hand you the money. It was not free, Baba would deduct it from your salary at the end of the month. More on Baba later, he was old school.
As Baba handed the note over to me, I said to him, ‘oti sir..I am okay for money’…Baba smiled and said no Bolaji, use the money to take care of yourself , it is my token of appreciation for what you went through, I want you to be fit and ready for saturday. I was relieved checked the note, Baba wrote 200 naira. That was a lot of money then, for Baba to give you money, you must be special. When I told the players in camp they could not believe it.
What was it between me and Baba? Simple from the day I landed in Ibadan I took my time to study Baba, he was old school. He made his money the hard way, he was one of these old rich men who believed in savings and compounding your money. He worked for the old PZ (Patterson Zochonis (sic)), I think he was an accountant who schooled in London. By the time Baba was through working for PZ he was in the position to buy off most their warehouses located in Gbagi when they were leaving Nigeria.Baba controlled a whole side of Gbagi market about a street long, he had money, but he was not flamboyant. There were many stories told of Baba, I learnt Baba has only one pair of stockings which he had been using since the late 60s and that it had holes in them…very true, I heard that Baba’s son although a graduate and in employment, he brings his salary to baba, who would deduct his allowances for him and bank the rest for him. Baba does not do free money simple.
Baba believes people should be prudent with their money. Baba takes his tea by counting 3 drops of milk, it was a right he performed and easy to verify. We thought it was because he was stingy, but now I think it was on medical advice. But seeing baba count three drops of milk into his tea was amusing….such was the man called Baba Ogunshina.
I respect Baba, I share his philosophy about life, although Baba’s own borders on the extreme, but he is a proof that it works. People say Baba was stingy, but Baba imbibed the English attitude to money. Baba’s weakness like all mortals was women….okay let us leave baba and his weaknesses alone….. When I joined Shooting, the agreed sign on fees if can remember was 3, 000 naira. No problem except Shooting was not fluid at the time, so the money was to be paid in piece meal. I hated the arrangement. On the day I arrived , I was paid the first installment of 500 naira to buy stuffs I needed to settle down into the accommodation they provided.
Then I started hearing stories of how players had been collecting theirs in piecemeal, by mid season some of them had only a balance of just about 200 left. I needed my money and I needed it in bulk. So I went to Baba, I told him I had a business plan with my Uncle , he was a veterinary doctor who deals in animal drugs, which he imports from the UK. Baba fell in love with me right there, he was hearing something he hardly hears from players. According to him, all the players he knew were good at investing their money in the bank of the waist..aka women. Naughty naughty Baba, when it comes to women baba knows all the lingos. Baba pulled out his cheque book and gave me the 1500 naira, which I collected and banked. He offered me all manner of advice. We sort of got along well from then on, we would chat about what I would like to do after football. At the time my plan was to work for a bank, it was an ambition I nursed through University. Baba promised to get me into the Oyo state owned bank at the time Trans Bank it was called. But when BCC came calling all my plans changed.
- YemiBrazil
oloye wrote:Fabio thread sofri oh...remember that yoruba adage..'A nmu eiye bo lapo...'fabio wrote:As you can read... only a club like 3sc can give you this type of experience and memories.
God bless Me
God Bless oloye
God Bless 3sc
God Bless 3sc supporters
God bless Nigeria.![]()
I am bringing out a bird from my pouch...you are yet to see what manner of bird..it may be one that is not fit for food...

Why you dey fear! Dont worry i am keeping the details for the memoirs proper..these are just appetizersYemiBrazil wrote:oloye wrote:Fabio thread sofri oh...remember that yoruba adage..'A nmu eiye bo lapo...'fabio wrote:As you can read... only a club like 3sc can give you this type of experience and memories.
God bless Me
God Bless oloye
God Bless 3sc
God Bless 3sc supporters
God bless Nigeria.![]()
I am bringing out a bird from my pouch...you are yet to see what manner of bird..it may be one that is not fit for food...
Modsss! It's time to lock this thread. E don do now that we've all agreed that 3SC is the greatest football club in Africa and Asia.
Bros , na fight?oloye wrote:Why you dey fear! Dont worry i am keeping the details for the memoirs proper..these are just appetizersYemiBrazil wrote:oloye wrote:Fabio thread sofri oh...remember that yoruba adage..'A nmu eiye bo lapo...'fabio wrote:As you can read... only a club like 3sc can give you this type of experience and memories.
God bless Me
God Bless oloye
God Bless 3sc
God Bless 3sc supporters
God bless Nigeria.![]()
Modsss! It's time to lock this thread. E don do now that we've all agreed that 3SC is the greatest football club in Africa and Asia.
You no even answer pesin ..

Tell us about Baba Eleran and Balu Balu or was taht before your time ?
Also any encounters in your playing days with Werepe?
Balu balu was way before my time o sorry!BAP wrote:Oloye , please tell us about Balu Balu
No problem ... How Bodyoloye wrote:Balu balu was way before my time o sorry!BAP wrote:Oloye , please tell us about Balu Balu
Hope all is well in Ireland ?
So Oloye you be someone else
and all this time I thought u were Taiwo Oloyede 

Oloye, my man, that's why I will always respect your opinions....b'cos unlike 99% of forumers here, you've earned the rights to hold those opinions having lived it yourself. I sstill remember your BBC Lions days...watching you play with the likes of Sam Elijah, Edema Fuludu, Louis Igwilo, Moses Kpakor, Dominic Iorfa et al.
And by the way, I read your interview with the Daily Trust newspaper. Solid!!
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
Egbon Bolaji Douglas if you miss the ball don't miss the leg.
Oloye need story about Niyi Akande.
- Toxicarrow
Hmmm....Ore, you dey take style look for "inside gist about Dotun Alatise and Coach Akande" ? Abiojafranpa wrote:Oloye need story about Niyi Akande.

Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
No way, but Taiwo na my buddy....he was under my wings when he played in Gboko for Lionsanikulapo wrote:So Oloye you be someone else![]()
and all this time I thought u were Taiwo Oloyede
That one na serious story o...me i don leave Shooting that time. That is why i said only the strong play for ShootingToxicarrow wrote:Hmmm....Ore, you dey take style look for "inside gist about Dotun Alatise and Coach Akande" ? Abiojafranpa wrote:Oloye need story about Niyi Akande.![]()
Oloye you made my day with the memories i.e. Ibadan, Shooting and even Baba Ogunshina.
Baba Ogunshina in his lifetime was an Uncle In-law, you are spot on about him, great man, wealthy, non flamboyant, was called stingy but came out with highly well read children. He lived every minute for IICC (blue flowing through his arteries and veins), maybe to the detriment of even family.
I remember you as a cult hero at the University of Ilorin, yes o (our alma mata) Thanks for the memories.
Baba Ogunshina in his lifetime was an Uncle In-law, you are spot on about him, great man, wealthy, non flamboyant, was called stingy but came out with highly well read children. He lived every minute for IICC (blue flowing through his arteries and veins), maybe to the detriment of even family.
I remember you as a cult hero at the University of Ilorin, yes o (our alma mata) Thanks for the memories.
- Toxicarrow
Irrespective, we will love to hear inside information on Niyi Akande. It does not have to be about "Dotun palaver".oloye wrote:That one na serious story o...me i don leave Shooting that time. That is why i said only the strong play for ShootingToxicarrow wrote:Hmmm....Ore, you dey take style look for "inside gist about Dotun Alatise and Coach Akande" ? Abiojafranpa wrote:Oloye need story about Niyi Akande.![]()
Anything on Akande will take care of "our long throats" here
Check out Sooting's website:
oloye, thanks for a well delivered set of memories.
Also thanks for reminding folks that you don't have to be from the east of the country to love Rangers FC.
Just like now I have no allegiance to clubs, but to the game. Thus when Rangers were great I was a fan too.
As for Shooting I was a fan too, especially when Muda Lawal, who was my 'Idi-Oro" Lagos playing pal before he
moved to Shooting, was featuring for the club.
I truly believe Nigeria could use people like you, who have played in our football culture and have added
foreign experience on how things need be done, and players managed. Unfortunately, and as you have noted
in some of your write-ups, those running our football as well as many of our other national enterprises are in it
for themselves.
Again, thanks for sharing your memories which in turn stirred those of many who read them.
Also thanks for reminding folks that you don't have to be from the east of the country to love Rangers FC.
Just like now I have no allegiance to clubs, but to the game. Thus when Rangers were great I was a fan too.
As for Shooting I was a fan too, especially when Muda Lawal, who was my 'Idi-Oro" Lagos playing pal before he
moved to Shooting, was featuring for the club.
I truly believe Nigeria could use people like you, who have played in our football culture and have added
foreign experience on how things need be done, and players managed. Unfortunately, and as you have noted
in some of your write-ups, those running our football as well as many of our other national enterprises are in it
for themselves.
Again, thanks for sharing your memories which in turn stirred those of many who read them.
UP UP UP SOOTING!
The great Oloye has done it again. Lovely read.
Your story confirms that Ibadan is/was truly a remarkable place. Easily the best year I ever had and If I had a choice I will not hesitate to go back there.
The only city in west africa where one could buy 5 kobo meat. NYSC is the last time in life you can do anything and go away with it sha.
Arriving NYSC orientation camp at Ede in 1991 IBB split the state in 2. Some of us footballers were posted to Oyo, the others Osun. We trained the entire year preparing for NYSC directors cup at that same UCH field and had friendly games against Exide, housing etc. Sam Ojebode was our coach before he was replaced by Raufu Salami while Shooting's captain Tunji Adeyemi from the second batch was redeployed to serve in Oyo state, and joined us in the attack. Phillip Osondu had accounted for his missing Saudi 89. tony Oneweek was our Libero, and his partner was Umoh that Tunde Bamidele took from Exide to Tornadoes, and I think BCC.
Ibadan is a soccer crazy town and Sooting is a more than an institution and tradition. The firm I was doing my primary assignment designed Engr Remi Asuni's house and one of my tasks was to supervise. Remi and I would argue IICC/ Insurance supremacy from his office to his site everyday. They dont give up. I find myself fortunate to follow the teams run to the CAF cup 1992. They played good stuff but going for the semifinals, Tarila led five others; Dotun, Golden, Benjamin James, Awoyemi and Taofeek Malik to abscound at a stopover in Italy. Only Taofeek came back and was pardoned for the final.
When Stores came visiting that year accompanied with 30 molue buses, a fan was shot and the game was stalemated.
Saliu Isiaka went to JIB rocks and showed what CD is all about. Bus stop.
Nice one again Oloye.
Your story confirms that Ibadan is/was truly a remarkable place. Easily the best year I ever had and If I had a choice I will not hesitate to go back there.
The only city in west africa where one could buy 5 kobo meat. NYSC is the last time in life you can do anything and go away with it sha.
Arriving NYSC orientation camp at Ede in 1991 IBB split the state in 2. Some of us footballers were posted to Oyo, the others Osun. We trained the entire year preparing for NYSC directors cup at that same UCH field and had friendly games against Exide, housing etc. Sam Ojebode was our coach before he was replaced by Raufu Salami while Shooting's captain Tunji Adeyemi from the second batch was redeployed to serve in Oyo state, and joined us in the attack. Phillip Osondu had accounted for his missing Saudi 89. tony Oneweek was our Libero, and his partner was Umoh that Tunde Bamidele took from Exide to Tornadoes, and I think BCC.
Ibadan is a soccer crazy town and Sooting is a more than an institution and tradition. The firm I was doing my primary assignment designed Engr Remi Asuni's house and one of my tasks was to supervise. Remi and I would argue IICC/ Insurance supremacy from his office to his site everyday. They dont give up. I find myself fortunate to follow the teams run to the CAF cup 1992. They played good stuff but going for the semifinals, Tarila led five others; Dotun, Golden, Benjamin James, Awoyemi and Taofeek Malik to abscound at a stopover in Italy. Only Taofeek came back and was pardoned for the final.
When Stores came visiting that year accompanied with 30 molue buses, a fan was shot and the game was stalemated.
Nice one again Oloye.
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
Baba mega! Na you biko,where have u been hiding? Ibadan Oluyole the best city in the whole wide world.megapro wrote:UP UP UP SOOTING!
Nice one again Oloye.