UEFA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT ENGLISH FANS

Re: UEFA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT ENGLISH FANS

The YeyeMan wrote: I don't support one group over another. Just offering another perespective gained from my experience. I've seen English fans close up - at home and abroad - when abroad they tend to get violent when drunk. The Russians seem to have organised thuggery. The heavy handed French policing isn't helping matters. When it comes to rival fans starting ruckus, it takes three to tango. Neither side is blameless here.
YeyeMan, I'm just giving you the gears. But regarding the highlighted, have you read "Among the thugs," by Bill Buford, a book about English football fans abroad? Yes, it's from decades ago, but it describes very well organized thuggery. Maybe the Russians learnt from the English.

anikulapo wrote:I really can't stand the British hypocrisy. They are reporting more about the late game charging of the stewards barriers by Russian fans than the days of mayhem by their fans .... Pathetic gremlins ... So happy they didn't win :biggrin:
Not here in the UK.
The networks are saturated with reports of the mayhem and are even picking out individuals from video footage. British intelligence and security bodies are also under attack by the media.
I'm waiting for the Sunday newspaper headlines...

ohsee wrote:
The YeyeMan wrote: I don't support one group over another. Just offering another perespective gained from my experience. I've seen English fans close up - at home and abroad - when abroad they tend to get violent when drunk. The Russians seem to have organised thuggery. The heavy handed French policing isn't helping matters. When it comes to rival fans starting ruckus, it takes three to tango. Neither side is blameless here.
YeyeMan, I'm just giving you the gears. But regarding the highlighted, have you read "Among the thugs," by Bill Buford, a book about English football fans abroad? Yes, it's from decades ago, but it describes very well organized thuggery. Maybe the Russians learnt from the English.
The real issue here is that these riots are well-planned in advance. Anyone that believes they are not orchestrated is out of touch. It is not a simple matter of hundreds of fans getting drunk and smashing up the pub. Those at the very core of the violence are not even 'fans'. They live for the violence and are very skilled at evading border controls and even identification at home in England. I believe many have links to the extreme right.
So the English Disease is also organised thuggery. It isn't too hard to incite and recruit otherwise ordinary fans on match day because the English do not hold their drink very well (unlike the Russians) and so when push comes to shove, they are more likely to end up on their backs and get a good kicking.
Game over.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

The English fans are of course no angels throw in the drink and the worst in them comes out. They are however no match for the organised Russian hooligans who go about their business as if it's a military operation.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube
Chimurenga Rebel

God help the African fans who will be going to support their teams in Russia 2018.
If you gave me a free ticket and paid for my airfare to Russia 2018 I will kindly decline.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Gudo wrote:God help the African fans who will be going to support their teams in Russia 2018.
If you gave me a free ticket and paid for my airfare to Russia 2018 I will kindly decline.
Its a scary thought.
But I am sure our Brother Zee will lead the way and we will all be safe.
He knows them well and enjoys their trust...apparently. :tic:
Chimurenga Rebel

Gudo wrote:God help the African fans who will be going to support their teams in Russia 2018.
Its a scary thought.
Zee should put his money where his mouth is. He should attend a game in Russia and then
provide CE with pictures showing us all what a pleasant experience it was for him :taunt: :taunt:

Prince wrote:This Russians are crazy i might give the next world cup a miss. Crazy people
would that be the entire country or just a microcosm which the press seems to focus on.

Me, i wan go, and if we qualify, i am going
Europeans are crazy, this is extreme right groups fighting each other, hosting tournament in Europe is never fun.

Vincent. wrote:
The YeyeMan wrote:Vincent, what sanctions should be applied to the Russian national team?
We are all focusing on English fans because they are a special case and repeat offenders who have been engaging in violence at practically every international tournament for decades. As I said, if Scottish and Welsh fans can behave themselves, then the English FA can try harder if threatened with sanctions. The English have already done enough to face the threat of a ban. For example, English football clubs were banned from Europe for some years and they seem to control their fans during club competitions. The same approach can influence the English national team and its fans.

As for the Russians and all the others, the UEFA should do what the English FA does to EPL football clubs - punish them if they fail to control their fans or players. Increased punishment (up to the threat of a ban from UEFA competitions) for repeat offenders. The Russians are gradually approaching the level of the English because they fought street battles with Polish fans at Euro 2012, so they should also be put on notice.
The England v Russia game was ear marked some time ago as one that could witness trouble. I think there's a CE at the game so I hope he's safe.

The reason English fans haven't caused trouble at international tournaments for decades is because tournaments have been held in far flung places like Japan-Korea, South Africa, and Brazil - which only a dedicated a hooligan would visit to cause strife. France is in the vicinity of the UK so was unfortunately likely to be a violence hotspot.

As for Russian fans - in many ways they've already surpassed the English fans with their brand of callous thuggery.

Oh boy...I was at the game last night. Both set of fans are some despicable set of human beings, but the English fans are pure scum because they ALWAYS play the victims.
The fighting started in the stands, and after the game on the streets of Marseille. We moved to the water front to find food after the game, and the battles raged on the streets. Police had to use tear gas eventually to try and get rid of the crowds. At one point there was a terrorism scare where we were sitting outside, some guy dressed in black on a motorcycle drove on the sidewalk and people started yelling GO and running, see race! Man france is on a edge man, and I could not wait to get out of the dump called Marsille fast enough.

I pity the cities that have to host either of these countries in the next few days ...

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Gudo wrote:The English fans are of course no angels throw in the drink and the worst in them comes out. They are however no match for the organised Russian hooligans who go about their business as if it's a military operation.
Really? Where are you getting all this from?

Let's not pretend that the English hooligans are some innocent guys who drank too much and lost control. Both sets of hooligans pre-plan their violence. Sets of hooligans often arrange to fight each other before or after football matches. This has been well documented in books, documentaries, and interviews involving hard-core English hooligans. These people get high on the violence itself and not the football.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

Its a scary thought.
Unfortunately, this is baseless scare mongering. It will be no worse than African fans going to support their teams in a tournament in England or any other country with a culture of hooliganism.

Remember all the scare mongering ahead of the Sochi Olympics or the World Cup in South Africa (rape, car jacking, AIDS, gun violence, etc)? The reality is that fans in host countries are always on their best behaviors during tournaments.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009

ohsee wrote:
I haven't read it but yes English hooligans back in the day were very well organised.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

Vincent. wrote:
The YeyeMan wrote:Vincent, what sanctions should be applied to the Russian national team?
We are all focusing on English fans because they are a special case and repeat offenders who have been engaging in violence at practically every international tournament for decades. As I said, if Scottish and Welsh fans can behave themselves, then the English FA can try harder if threatened with sanctions. The English have already done enough to face the threat of a ban. For example, English football clubs were banned from Europe for some years and they seem to control their fans during club competitions. The same approach can influence the English national team and its fans.

As for the Russians and all the others, the UEFA should do what the English FA does to EPL football clubs - punish them if they fail to control their fans or players. Increased punishment (up to the threat of a ban from UEFA competitions) for repeat offenders. The Russians are gradually approaching the level of the English because they fought street battles with Polish fans at Euro 2012, so they should also be put on notice.
The England v Russia game was ear marked some time ago as one that could witness trouble. I think there's a CE at the game so I hope he's safe.

The reason English fans haven't caused trouble at international tournaments for decades is because tournaments have been held in far flung places like Japan-Korea, South Africa, and Brazil - which only a dedicated a hooligan would visit to cause strife. France is in the vicinity of the UK so was unfortunately likely to be a violence hotspot.

As for Russian fans - in many ways they've already surpassed the English fans with their brand of callous thuggery.

Oh boy...I was at the game last night. Both set of fans are some despicable set of human beings, but the English fans are pure scum because they ALWAYS play the victims.
The fighting started in the stands, and after the game on the streets of Marseille. We moved to the water front to find food after the game, and the battles raged on the streets. Police had to use tear gas eventually to try and get rid of the crowds. At one point there was a terrorism scare where we were sitting outside, some guy dressed in black on a motorcycle drove on the sidewalk and people started yelling GO and running, see race! Man france is on a edge man, and I could not wait to get out of the dump called Marsille fast enough.

I pity the cities that have to host either of these countries in the next few days ...
I'm glad you're safe, bro!

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25

© The YeyeMan 2025

Vincent. wrote:
Its a scary thought.
Unfortunately, this is baseless scare mongering.
It's based on numerous incidents of racism among Russian fans; and a failure to acknowledge these incidents by the Russian authorities.

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025

Vincent. wrote:
Its a scary thought.
Unfortunately, this is baseless scare mongering. It will be no worse than African fans going to support their teams in a tournament in England or any other country with a culture of hooliganism.

Remember all the scare mongering ahead of the Sochi Olympics or the World Cup in South Africa (rape, car jacking, AIDS, gun violence, etc)? The reality is that fans in host countries are always on their best behaviors during tournaments.
Vincent, we know you have a thing for defending all things Russian, probably borne of a dislike for all things British.
But the fact of the matter is that any African football fan will feel (and be) much safer travelling around the UK in support of his national team in his national colours than he would be travelling around Russia.

You can deny it all you like, but even though racism in the UK clearly still exists, at least over the decades the govt has continued to educate the public. I was born and grew up as a child here, went away and came back as an adult.

Not only have I seen the difference between what the UK was as a child and what it was when I came back, but I can see the difference between the UK of the 90s and today. There is a huge difference in the Briton's attitude towards race between then and now.

If you have similar comparisons to make for Russia, please let us know. But no way will I buy your argument that it is scare-mongering. Even here in the UK today, any black Briton will tell you that the influx of East Europeans into the country has made them feel far less safe and the difference in attitude towards me as a black man is very palpable.

Vincent. wrote:
Prince wrote:This Russians are crazy i might give the next world cup a miss. Crazy people
I have no interest in going to Russia for the World Cup. Or Qatar for that matter. I've been going to international tournaments since 1998 and that will be the Russia World Cup will be the first where I won't even bother applying for tickets.
Why? Because of media fear mongering? Russia and Qatar will be fine. Just like South Africa was fine despite all the scare mongering that preceded it.
I didn't care for the media fear-mongering of South Africa. I knew there wouldn't be any problems there. Russia is a different proposition as I find the Russian state largely disagreeable.
..So says the brainwashed clown :mrgreen: that feeds on 'western blabla' media.
Cry me a river...........your hooligans from your GROUPIE kung fu league :lol: , got their drunk asses kicked big time. Next time they hear Russia, they won't step into that town.
Silly violent drunks and their equally silly brainwashed ...............defenders.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Vincent. wrote:
I have no interest in going to Russia for the World Cup. Or Qatar for that matter. I've been going to international tournaments since 1998 and that will be the Russia World Cup will be the first where I won't even bother applying for tickets.
Why? Because of media fear mongering? Russia and Qatar will be fine. Just like South Africa was fine despite all the scare mongering that preceded it.
I didn't care for the media fear-mongering of South Africa. I knew there wouldn't be any problems there. Russia is a different proposition as I find the Russian state largely disagreeable.
..So says the brainwashed clown :mrgreen: that feeds on 'western blabla' media.
Cry me a river...........your hooligans from your GROUPIE kung fu league :lol: , got their drunk asses kicked big time. Next time they hear Russia, they won't step into that town.
Silly violent drunks and their equally silly brainwashed ...............defenders.
See this useless deranged mutt who has never set foot in Russia but covers his bedroom with Putin posters. :D

How bodi?

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025

Russia 2018 Russia vs USA and Russia vs England...
Those games go be the most watch if they meet each other.

Vincent. wrote:
Gudo wrote:The English fans are of course no angels throw in the drink and the worst in them comes out. They are however no match for the organised Russian hooligans who go about their business as if it's a military operation.

Let's not pretend that the English hooligans are some innocent guys who drank too much and lost control. Both sets of hooligans pre-plan their violence. Sets of hooligans often arrange to fight each other before or after football matches. This has been well documented in books, documentaries, and interviews involving hard-core English hooligans. These people get high on the violence itself and not the football.
You this Vincent sef :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: The English fans are a despicable bunch, BUT Gudo is closer to the truth re organised like military than you are giving him credit for. I have, unfortunately seen these guys first-had in Moscow plan and execute fights...this was still pre-social media. And throw in the fact that the majority of Russian males above 18 have military training. Doesn't make them worse than the British, which is NOT Gudo, argument, but much more organized and brutal in execution.

Vincent. wrote:

You this Vincent sef :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: The English fans are a despicable bunch, BUT Gudo is closer to the truth re organised like military than you are giving him credit for. I have, unfortunately seen these guys first-had in Moscow plan and execute fights...this was still pre-social media. And throw in the fact that the majority of Russian males above 18 have military training. Doesn't make them worse than the British, which is NOT Gudo, argument, but much more organized and brutal in execution.
The moral of the story..............................don't mess with Don Putin's :thumbs: :thumbs: hooligans :mrgreen: or you will end up drinking your beer mixed with your...........................

blood
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Oya Vincent, Monki (aka Zee), explanate why UEFA investigating the Russian fans for crowd disturbances, racist behaviour and setting off fire works in the stadium? Aniks, you might need to rename this thread....
Uefa opens case against Russia but not England after Euro 2016 fan violence

Associated Press
Sunday 12 June 2016 11.06 BST
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... -euro-2016

Uefa express ‘utter disgust’ but have not opened case against the English FA

Uefa has expressed its “utter disgust” and opened disciplinary proceedings against Russia for crowd disturbances, racist behaviour by fans and fireworks being set off during the European Championship game against England on Saturday. Uefa has not opened any case against the English Football Association.

The control, ethics and disciplinary bodies of Uefa will judge the Russia case on Tuesday ahead of their second Euro 2016 Group B match against Slovakia on Wednesday.

Uefa says it will implement “corrective measures” to strengthen security at European Championship stadiums after “segregation issues” at the Stade Velodrome, where the game finished 1-1.

Regional police chief Laurent Nunez said most of the injuries in Marseille were minor but that four were serious and that one of them – an England supporter – was in a serious but stable condition.

Uefa says it “acknowledges that there were segregation issues at Stade Velodrome and will implement corrective measures to strengthen the deployment of security personnel at stadiums, in close collaboration with local authorities.”

In its statement, Uefa said it also “expresses its utter disgust for the violent clashes that occurred in the city centre of Marseille, and its serious concern for the incidents at the end of the match inside Stade Velodrome. This kind of behaviour is totally unacceptable and has no place in football.”

Uefa says “a decision on the sanctions to be imposed will be made within the next few days, once the Russian Football Union has been able to submit written statements and evidence.”

Russia’s sports minister, Vitaly Mutko, has backed Uefa’s decision to take action against the Russian Football Union. “It’s the right thing, there were flares, there was a flare gun, there had been clashes in the stands, it’s necessary to sort all of this out,” said Mutko, speaking to the R-Sport news agency. “We will prepare properly, we will present our position... the fans were rooting greatly, but there are people who do not come for the football.” The former Fifa vice-president, Vyacheslav Koloskov, has said the RFU can expect to receive a “maximum fine” for their supporters behaviour.

Bigpokey24 quote:

© The YeyeMan 2025

A well fed African man has nothing to fear from Russians or anybody else. :mrgreen: Abeg go and enjoy di games.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Scipio Africanus wrote:
A well fed African man has nothing to fear from Russians or anybody else. :mrgreen: Abeg go and enjoy di games.

Scip, why are you sending the guy with a knife to a gunfight? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Those guys don't fight/attack one-on-one. Well-fed Africans have to form their own "packs" as well...