ALGERIA RELEASE KILLER SQUAD
Re: ALGERIA RELEASE KILLER SQUAD
Algeria are excellent going forward and have loads of talented attacking players (Mahrez, Soudani, Slimani, Brahimi). The trouble is their defence is as leaky as a bathroom broken tap. They remind me of Nigeria, circa 1990s. Despite all the praise on Mahrez, Soudani and Brahimi have really impressed me with their ability.
Killer squad indeed!
Guys,
As always, we are prone to over-reacting on this site.
This Algerian side had Germany on the ropes in the 2nd round of the World Cup (Ghana also outplayed Germany). The same Germany that put 7 past Brazil en-route winning the World Cup.
This Algerian side was no. 1 on the continent for about 2 years after the World Cup. They were beating teams by 3, 4 and 5 goals in the qualifiers for the 2015 and 2017 ANC. So they are not a bad side, by any means.
As I told our Algerian brother on this site (Aaminar), they got overconfident & had not faced real adversity. They genuinely assumed they had a (France B) squad that was somewhat above the African continent. They however forgot that there are always 10 -12 African teams that always have enough talent to raise their game with the right administrative backing. I knew Algeria would struggle in the qualifiers (look up the threads).
Right now the confidence of the team is low, & they are like the much hyped prizefighter that has been hit back & knocked down for the first time & cannot adequately respond to this new situation. Cameroon helped set it up & we delivered the knockout punch in Uyo. I genuinely expected them to take AFCON by storm, but I guess sometimes the hangover lasts longer for some teams.
They have loads of talent. Yacine Brahimi can take over any game on his own. Mahrez & Ben Taleb are solid baller and worth the hype. Mboli is a good goalkeeper. Their defense is an Achilles heel, but should not hurt them at the AFCON level.
They will be back as most of their stars are young, but this hangover is likely to continue for some time, which is good for us as it should help us wrap up our group.
We can't let our guard down though, we must bring our A game (on the pitch & off it, administratively) all the time.
This Algerian side had Germany on the ropes in the 2nd round of the World Cup (Ghana also outplayed Germany). The same Germany that put 7 past Brazil en-route winning the World Cup.
This Algerian side was no. 1 on the continent for about 2 years after the World Cup. They were beating teams by 3, 4 and 5 goals in the qualifiers for the 2015 and 2017 ANC. So they are not a bad side, by any means.
As I told our Algerian brother on this site (Aaminar), they got overconfident & had not faced real adversity. They genuinely assumed they had a (France B) squad that was somewhat above the African continent. They however forgot that there are always 10 -12 African teams that always have enough talent to raise their game with the right administrative backing. I knew Algeria would struggle in the qualifiers (look up the threads).
Right now the confidence of the team is low, & they are like the much hyped prizefighter that has been hit back & knocked down for the first time & cannot adequately respond to this new situation. Cameroon helped set it up & we delivered the knockout punch in Uyo. I genuinely expected them to take AFCON by storm, but I guess sometimes the hangover lasts longer for some teams.
They have loads of talent. Yacine Brahimi can take over any game on his own. Mahrez & Ben Taleb are solid baller and worth the hype. Mboli is a good goalkeeper. Their defense is an Achilles heel, but should not hurt them at the AFCON level.
They will be back as most of their stars are young, but this hangover is likely to continue for some time, which is good for us as it should help us wrap up our group.
We can't let our guard down though, we must bring our A game (on the pitch & off it, administratively) all the time.
Last edited by truetalk on Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
And so what? In 1982 they beat Germany ,it did not stop the slump that followed. They have a good squad no doubt, but right now they are getting killed. Their form is in the dog house, may be they will get it right but right now there is nothing killing about this killer squad.truetalk wrote:Guys,
This Algerian side was no. 1 on the continent for about 2 years after the Workd Cup. They were beating teams by 3, 4 and 5 goals in the qualifiers for the 2015 and 2017 ANC. So they are not a bad side, buy any means.
As I told our Algerian brother on this site (Aaminar), they got overconfindent & had not faced real adversity. They genuinely assumed they had a (France B) squad that was somewhat above the African continent. They however forgot that there are always 10 -12 African teams that always have enough talent to raise their game with the right administrative backing. I knew Algeria would struggle in the qualifiers (look up the threads).
They have loads of talent. Yacine Brahimi can take over any game on his own. Mahrez & Ben Taleb are solid baller and worth the hype. Mboli is a good goalkeeper. Their defence is an Achilles heel, but should not hurt them at the AFCON level.
- Tunisian Gooner
game is more than about talent, this is not FIFA on PS4.
As collective this team has been poor for well over 2 years, little success many of their players have enjoyed for both club and country has gone to their heads. Algeria lack composure, unity, commitment, they cave at first hint of adversity and their astonishingly arrogant, refuse to address flaws that are blatantly obvious.
Today loss was perfect example, this is perhaps the worst Tunisian side in well over 2 decades, a side Algeria should frankly beat quite comfortably. Instead Tunisia won via greater commitment and resiliency, the moment that OG went to make 1-0 for Tunisia Algerian heads dropped and they totally lost the plot. Ghoulam ridiculously stupid tackle on Khazri handed Tunisia the game on a silver platter.
As collective this team has been poor for well over 2 years, little success many of their players have enjoyed for both club and country has gone to their heads. Algeria lack composure, unity, commitment, they cave at first hint of adversity and their astonishingly arrogant, refuse to address flaws that are blatantly obvious.
Today loss was perfect example, this is perhaps the worst Tunisian side in well over 2 decades, a side Algeria should frankly beat quite comfortably. Instead Tunisia won via greater commitment and resiliency, the moment that OG went to make 1-0 for Tunisia Algerian heads dropped and they totally lost the plot. Ghoulam ridiculously stupid tackle on Khazri handed Tunisia the game on a silver platter.
Detective Bunk Moreland
'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
Something is seriously wrong with Algeria. How I wish the qualifiers was today.
The Desert foxes appear to have internal issues.... they are currently playing below their abilities, same as during the WC qualifiers... They are unlikely to make it beyond the group stages.
Something about Algeria seems off to me, not sure if it's the coaching situation but they look every bit ordinary right now, Rohr must be smiling while taking notes at this Afcon
This is the disadvantage of having foreign born players, most of them are coming in dreaming only of appearances in the World Cup, and have no emotional appreciation of any other games i.e. Nations Cup.
After watching the first halve of their first game it was as clear as day, most of these guys wanted to be any other place, but at the AFCON. You can easily tell they have no emotional feelings towards the tournament.
I really hope we have a way of letting guys like Iwobi, and the new guys being brought in know, this is way more than just World Cup appearance on your resume, there has to be some attachment to the cause.
After watching the first halve of their first game it was as clear as day, most of these guys wanted to be any other place, but at the AFCON. You can easily tell they have no emotional feelings towards the tournament.
I really hope we have a way of letting guys like Iwobi, and the new guys being brought in know, this is way more than just World Cup appearance on your resume, there has to be some attachment to the cause.
okidoki wrote:This is the disadvantage of having foreign born players, most of them are coming in dreaming only of appearances in the World Cup, and have no emotional appreciation of any other games i.e. Nations Cup.
that is nonsense. They do care about the tournament. Did you see how angry Brahimi was when he was substituted and he kicked the water cooler.
It is a lie that they are not commited and dont care for the tournament. Perhaps they just took some of these teams for granted, and you just cannot do that at international level. For a long time Nigeria suffered from this, where we thought we could just show up and win matches based on the pedigree of our players, but this is not the case.
Nigeria has missed a WC and may ANC's partly because of such arrogance.
The Algerians do care about this tournament.
I dont think their coaching situation is helping them. This coach dropped some key players, which I think is always a risk.
If you think some of the recruited players won't have a mercenary mindset, you are being naive. Imagine Aibe playing Nations cup, while one eye is on World Cup.vancity eagle wrote:okidoki wrote:This is the disadvantage of having foreign born players, most of them are coming in dreaming only of appearances in the World Cup, and have no emotional appreciation of any other games i.e. Nations Cup.
that is nonsense. They do care about the tournament. Did you see how angry Brahimi was when he was substituted and he kicked the water cooler.
It is a lie that they are not commited and dont care for the tournament. Perhaps they just took some of these teams for granted, and you just cannot do that at international level. For a long time Nigeria suffered from this, where we thought we could just show up and win matches based on the pedigree of our players, but this is not the case.
I dont think their coaching situation is helping them. This coach dropped some key players, which I think is always a risk.
okidoki wrote:If you think some of the recruited players won't have a mercenary mindset, you are being naive. Imagine Aibe playing Nations cup, while one eye is on World Cup.vancity eagle wrote:okidoki wrote:This is the disadvantage of having foreign born players, most of them are coming in dreaming only of appearances in the World Cup, and have no emotional appreciation of any other games i.e. Nations Cup.
These players chose to be with Algeria out of love for their origins, I think you are wrong.
The likes of Brahimi and Mahrez will easily make a French team and could have played for France.
Ask Ghanaians, about Prince Boateng, he only remembers he is Ghanaian when the qualify for World Cup. I'm not saying all, but some of them will come with an opportunist attitude and are not all in.
Some one like an Iwobi just looking at his body language, is in this for the long hurl. Not everyone of them will be that way.
- green4life
You got it all wrong for real. Ironically, most of the foreign born players that have played for the SE have been more professional than the Nigerian born players.okidoki wrote:This is the disadvantage of having foreign born players, most of them are coming in dreaming only of appearances in the World Cup, and have no emotional appreciation of any other games i.e. Nations Cup.
This is a coaching issue and not a place of birth problem.
Listen to what the others have said because I think you have it all wrong. You mention KPB. He has had that same exact motivation issue at almost every club he's played for...is that because he didn't own the club?okidoki wrote:Ask Ghanaians, about Prince Boateng, he only remembers he is Ghanaian when the qualify for World Cup. I'm not saying all, but some of them will come with an opportunist attitude and are not all in.
- Scipio Africanus
Scipio Africanus wrote:Killer squad or not, dem go chop cane.
The great Scipio

Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

- Senator WIRES
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:http://www.espnfc.com/algeria/story/298 ... eria-clash
These people are not joking with us o.See players, kai god help us on Nov 12th. :0

- Eaglezbeak
rubbish... you were the same dude who ridiculed the entire CE , when Algeria got grouped with Nigeria and CameroonTunisian Gooner wrote:game is more than about talent, this is not FIFA on PS4.
rubbisokidoki wrote:This is the disadvantage of having foreign born players, most of them are coming in dreaming only of appearances in the World Cup, and have no emotional appreciation of any other games i.e. Nations Cup.