Time to bench Mikel ...
Re: Should Mikel be starting?
That's what the coach is paid for...make the right and tough decisions. This is not about what Mikel 'wants'. Its about what the the team 'needs' and what is best for the country.
Its pretty obvious Mikel is way too slow to play as an AM. He doesn't have the wheels - never has. That is precisely the reason Mourinho converted him from an AM to a DM when he joined chelsea over a decade ago.
Rohr needs to grow some balls and make the call.
Its pretty obvious Mikel is way too slow to play as an AM. He doesn't have the wheels - never has. That is precisely the reason Mourinho converted him from an AM to a DM when he joined chelsea over a decade ago.
Rohr needs to grow some balls and make the call.
F360 wrote:So it's on the coach to let him know that at this stage, if he wants to play for his national team, he needs to sacrifice and in this case, sit deeper instead of at AM. If the coach can't get through to him then that's a problem.maceo4 wrote:But problem is he himself (Mikel) says he prefers to play AM, so there’s pressure on the coach to keep his captain happy. But he clearly can’t play that position at any decent level outside of China, so if that is his preferred position then he has to make way for others.F360 wrote:For sure, of course we know he can play DM and sit deep next to a player like Ndidi. He's done it for the majority of his club career. But Rohr won't do the obvious and move him there while playing Iwobi in front of him and Ndidi.Kabalega wrote:I typed as much almost a week ago after the friendly, and got a barage of insults.donadoni wrote:This is not just based on today’s game but recent matches in his new position. He is playing high but not bringing attacking threat or urgency.
If he can play DM beside Ndidi and tackle and retain possession and distribute then ok.
But what he’s doing now is not helping our team. Better to have Iwobi in AM and get either iheanacho or musa on the field. Ighalo is suffering from isolation.![]()
Re: Time to bench Mikel ...
Cellular wrote:Does JJ sabi ball? JJ is an entertainer. If he sabi ball he fit coach pesin.maceo4 wrote:JJ also no sabi ball abi? There goes all your over-sabi, next time invite me come I will teach you the game...Cellular wrote:You no sabi ball.maceo4 wrote:Huh? The Mikel that was getting in Etebos way and hiding from the ball? Even the US commentators were like he has not done enough if anything to affect the game. He was a -1.Cellular wrote:If he wasn't there they would have overrun us and did us worse than Saudi Arabia was done.
And you are not humble enough to accept you don't know.
Next time call a watching buddy or somn.![]()
Oga JJ wrote:“Eagles didn’t get the best out of Alex Iwobi and Victor Moses because the manager was trying to accommodate Mikel Obi in the team.
Bros, I could tell within the first 15 minutes what Croatia strategy was. I also identified their tactics... two separate things.
They respected our speedy way too much and knew that to beat us they will depend on set pieces where their height advantage will come in handy.
You repeatedly saw the playmaker defending way too deep in their area hoping to use his varied range of passing to unlock us.
The loaded up on the flanks Moses was on to try and slow him down and rarely bothered the other side.
Mikel actually kept them honest. Without a ball holder like Mikel, they would have pressed the crap out of us and would have been successful at it.
The answer was to have reverted to a 3-5-2 and free up Iwobi to play centrally while still having the numbers to play defense.

Although Etebo did great as a ball holder as well. We can molest the players, but Etebo, Ndidi and Mikel kept the ball well in the middle and broke up a lot of play from Croatia.
- maceo4
This is where the actual game just doesn't vibe with what you are saying. Etebo was the one holding the ball under pressure winning fouls, and keeping possession of the ball. I'm watching the game for the second time now and don't see what you are saying, Mikel was further up the field and wasn't doing as much ball holding, and when he did it was at the expense of a good run being made by Idowu or Iwobi. But hey like you said I no sabi book...Cellular wrote:Does JJ sabi ball? JJ is an entertainer. If he sabi ball he fit coach pesin.maceo4 wrote:JJ also no sabi ball abi? There goes all your over-sabi, next time invite me come I will teach you the game...Cellular wrote:You no sabi ball.maceo4 wrote:Huh? The Mikel that was getting in Etebos way and hiding from the ball? Even the US commentators were like he has not done enough if anything to affect the game. He was a -1.Cellular wrote:If he wasn't there they would have overrun us and did us worse than Saudi Arabia was done.
And you are not humble enough to accept you don't know.
Next time call a watching buddy or somn.![]()
Oga JJ wrote:“Eagles didn’t get the best out of Alex Iwobi and Victor Moses because the manager was trying to accommodate Mikel Obi in the team.
Bros, I could tell within the first 15 minutes what Croatia strategy was. I also identified their tactics... two separate things.
They respected our speedy way too much and knew that to beat us they will depend on set pieces where their height advantage will come in handy.
You repeatedly saw the playmaker defending way too deep in their area hoping to use his varied range of passing to unlock us.
The loaded up on the flanks Moses was on to try and slow him down and rarely bothered the other side.
Mikel actually kept them honest. Without a ball holder like Mikel, they would have pressed the crap out of us and would have been successful at it.
The answer was to have reverted to a 3-5-2 and free up Iwobi to play centrally while still having the numbers to play defense.
But I do agree we should have gone 3-5-2 but should have brought Mikel back into CM or DM, but definitely NOT AM. If he wants to hold the ball he can do it there abeg...
How can a player like Mikel be asked to perform play making duties? We have all watched him go years at Chelsea with .... how many goals or assists? He is who he is.
Cameroon destroyed their football, when they tried to play Alex Song as #10. At this level, you don't turn a DM into an offensive midfielder. Doesn't work.
Mikel has always played best as a deep lying playmaker.
And all those people claiming Mikel has not done well as a creative force for Nigeria... you really need to watch Mikel's contribution in the past.
- maceo4
But Rohr no gree now...Mikel's best for naija (2013 ANC) has come at CM/DM, he's just not an AM and it is frustrating to watch him being 'accommodated' there at the expense of our attacking play when we have Iwobi or even Etebo that can move the ball forward.marutimon wrote:Mikel has always played best as a deep lying playmaker.