SALISU YUSUF DON HAMMER!!!...then gets caught

Re: SALISU YUSUF DON HAMMER!!!...then gets caught

jette1 wrote:SO entrapping people and framing them is not in itself criminal
Entrapment is legal if it can be shown to be in the public interest - according to English law. There is no "framing" here.

Well done to the journo. This is what investigative journalism is all about. And it confirms what I have been saying here for years about most (if not all) Nigerian coaches.

investigated ke? for how much. I can understand if he was given $100,000 at least
You really need to keep quiet.

mystic wrote:Why are some people acting surprised when we all know that this is part of the rot that bedevils Nigerian football.

Salisu should be suspended from his post immediately pending an NFF investigation.
I tire oooh!

oloye wrote:Seriously a man has got to have a price for himself, I keep using a certain phrase, if I am going to eat a frog, I will eat one that has eggs. One thousand dollars is too cheap to risk tarnishing one's image and dignity for.

But the problem here is in the context of the Nigerian society where money is worshipped... especially the football circle where money is seen as god.

Good luck to him....he has tarnished his own name entrapment or not. But the good thing for him is that in the same Nigeria acts like this might not even raise any eyebrows.
My guy, come on!! This is standard operating procedure. $1,000 is b/c it is CHAN. Flying Eagles selection charge is $5,000. SE is from $10,000.

PS: Na image and dignity dem go chop?

Flex Swift wrote:Can’t believe Salisu didn’t frisk the under cover agents before the meeting began! Anyway we all know that 9ja’s god is money so the sting is no surprise
The guy is small time. Other Naija coaches send someone to collect the money for them.

They need to show the full video because I've had similar conversations with many ppl in our set up and Salisu was very different. Also, the players mentioned, were in the WAFU Cup team Salisu took to Ghana where the sting operation took place. They were already internationals.

Let me state my bias.....I have gotten to know Salisu very recently. He is a very good man with a sturdy reputation. Yes he gets too cozy with agents but never seen to this extent.

I really hate that this is happening to him,

Ugbowo wrote:I’m disappointed for Salisu because na $1k dem wan use take drag hin name now. Meanwhile $1k gets u jack $#% in real life especially wrt Super Eagles. CHAN or NOT.

This heavily edited video shows Salisu accepting the cash but then saying they have to earn it on the field. Meaning he probably really did think it was dash. It was terrible judgement on his part but U17 team place cost millions of Naira. Talkless of Super Eagles.
Dude, come on. :?
My brother, Ugbowo, went to Russia during the world cup. I am hoping he didn't do "handshake" like Ayo.

pajimoh wrote:As mu h as I like what Anas is doing, I think society at large place little value on integrity. It is hardly priced and rewarded in Africa. You're more likely to starve.

We've heard about the refs who took bribes, Kofi Nyantakyi etc but how many of you actually know just one name of those who declined the bribes? They are not even footnote, not rewarded or celebrated.

For those who take bribes the sun shines more than it rains. They know one day might spell their end but all the ones they've gotten away with..... makes it profitable
pajimoh,

:clap: :clap: Very good point. While punishment is due for those who are taking bribe, it is really important to know those who refused. This is a very important point so that posterity can record it as well.

BTW, the Anas project is one that should be lauded by everyone. In fact, I hope that more similar projects can come up to stem the stench from these corrupt activities.
How is this important, in regards to this circumstances and in general? Refusal to take bribe should be normal and nothing to be lauded! It is your duty as a human being to have integrity and behave properly. No one should be thanked for doing what is EXPECTED!

To be honest, most of the responses on this thread and the fact that the thread is only 3 pages doesn't surprise me at all. Not one inch! Nigerians continue to show who they truly are.

tmex12 wrote:
fabio wrote:Innocent until proven guilty.
He is on video! :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

investigated ke? for how much. I can understand if he was given $100,000 at least
You really need to keep quiet.
Why???? Let him keep talking so we know who he truly is! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Ugbowo wrote:They need to show the full video because I've had similar conversations with many ppl in our set up and Salisu was very different. Also, the players mentioned, were in the WAFU Cup team Salisu took to Ghana where the sting operation took place. They were already internationals.

Let me state my bias.....I have gotten to know Salisu very recently. He is a very good man with a sturdy reputation. Yes he gets too cozy with agents but never seen to this extent.
Thanks for stating your bias. There are two things:

1. I believe it is okay for you to condemn the action and not the man, since you know the man and respect him. What he did was completely out of line and absolutely criminal. Simply because someone is your friend does not mean that you cannot see the bad that the person has done, and speak out about it.

2. You know Salisu from what he has shown you. You do not sleep in his bedroom and you are not with him 24/7, so whatever you know about him, is what he has allowed you to know about him.
I am sorry, but "this is not happening to him!" he is not a child or an invalid. he was the one who took himself to that meeting and collected the money, smiling like a thief! He brought this upon himself. How can you even try to rationalize this behaviour??
dhoney

Post by dhoney »

Dammy wrote:It appears the investigative journalists were given $1000 for the sting but gave Salisu $750.
BBC should also investigate what happened to the balance.
It appears both parties are crooked.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: @Dammy...meaning the hunter may now be the hunted or the hunter and hunted are now caught in the web.
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".

This is what happens when generally good people, compromise their principles, even a little.

Salisu should be fired if he accepted a bribe for any reason. I really like him and think he is a good person and coach, but if Nigeria is to change the culture of corruption, there must be clear consequences when people get caught.

BTW, what I find sad is that it is easier to catch the man that accepts $1000 bribe, but the people stealing money by the millions continue to evade justice.

charlie wrote:This is what happens when generally good people, compromise their principles, even a little.

Salisu should be fired if he accepted a bribe for any reason. I really like him and think he is a good person and coach, but if Nigeria is to change the culture of corruption, there must be clear consequences when people get caught.

BTW, what I find sad is that it is easier to catch the man that accepts $1000 bribe, but the people stealing money by the millions continue to evade justice.
That is why i said when you want to eat a frog, eat the one with eggs. A man has to ask himself, if what is being offered is worth all he has labored and toiled to build in life. I can begin to understand if you fell for something like 10k, but common 1k dollars for someone who has been around the national team for how many years now?

I like Salisu and like many have said , he is an easy going fella, i feel disappointed that he got done for mere 1k, that was too cheap! Too cheap for the sensitive post he occupies.

Ugbowo wrote:They need to show the full video because I've had similar conversations with many ppl in our set up and Salisu was very different. Also, the players mentioned, were in the WAFU Cup team Salisu took to Ghana where the sting operation took place. They were already internationals.

Uncle, the fact the he collected bribe does not mean he is not a nice person. A lot of people in Nigeria collect bribes or "anything you can bless me with" as they call it sometimes. The difference between Nigerians and many foreigners like Americans is that most Nigerians are willing to risk their reputation for the simplest thing while most Americans will think about the consequence of their actions first. Corruption is everywhere, but it's worse in Nigeria because of the mindset Salisu displayed here. He sees absolutely nothing wrong with what he did as long as he did not expressly promise the agent or the journalist a slot for his player in exchange for the gift. On most of our jobs, we take annual training on what they call business ethics. On my job, if a vendor offers you a $30 ticket to an Astros game, you are told to decline it because of the appearance such "innocent" gift gives. He should have simply declined the gift given his position and the implication of such gift to his reputation. But I am sure he wasn't thinking of his reputation. He probably was only focused on converting the amount to Naira and forgot about his reputation.

jette1 wrote:SO entrapping people and framing them is not in itself criminal
Entrapment is not a crime in most parts of the world (FBI does it all teh time, recent example is the Russian spy in USA)
framing is a crime, but there was no framing
Yusuf, like most Nigerianese, is a bribe taker ...shame on him

This thread is a perfect example of why Nigeria has a serious problem with the truth...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

He should be fired.

This is how you handle a matter when your friend is caught with oily hands in the kitchen! kudos to KOC. :clap:

All my friends know me (and I have very very small number of friends). if you misbehave, I will tell you! I will condemn your actions publicly and I will be harsh on you and your actions. And then I will support you and be there for you.

Dammy wrote:It appears the investigative journalists were given $1000 for the sting but gave Salisu $750.
BBC should also investigate what happened to the balance.
It appears both parties are crooked.
Salisu did not count but agreed it is $1000 on the video
So, we will go with the $1000
He does not want to repay the whole amount and that's the reason he says it's $750

hmm.

Synopsis wrote:He should be fired.
I will be surprised if he waits for that to happen and not resign to at least retain some dignity or whatever is left of it. He should have walked the minute this hits the air....