Ndidi out, but Osimhen leads Nigeria list for CAR as Rohr also hands debut call up to Rangers star

Re: Ndidi out, but Osimhen leads Nigeria list for CAR as Rohr also hands debut call up to Rangers star

Gotti wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:57 am
Mr Shows wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 9:28 pmThis was Bonke's debut for the SE. Watching the game realtime, it looked like he was a bit out of sorts but go back and watch his positional and tactical play. Rohr gave him a specific brief, he wasn't played to inject flair into the midfield. He was to simply break up play, be a nuisance and make shot passes to the offensive outlets in the team. Rohr liked what he saw in his game and he will likely see action in the away game.

As for Musa.. once he collects his 100th cap, Moffi is going to take the shirt off his back.
Scary! Because oga Bonke was decidedly UNDERWHELMING!
Anyway, understand Rohr not 'experimenting' with a new invitee, but it's his fault to be in this situation.
what on earth do you mean "not experimenting with a new invitee"

BONKE WAS A NEW INVITEE.

Also did Rohr not just call up Bassey ? The guy is either being misquoted, or speaking out of both sides of his mouth.
Re: Ndidi out, but Osimhen leads Nigeria list for CAR as Rohr also hands debut call up to Rangers star

Last edited by Otitokoro on Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Which current form? Simon went to sleep for a sec against the Capo Verdeans, which led to their lone goal. Otherwise, he has been performing quite well for club and country. Considering that was his first costly mistake in eons, he is entitled to be pardoned. And no, Onyekuru is NOT better than him.

Tyrone has struggled majorly to break into the Venezia team and has been a benchwarmer lately.

Sanusi is going through some confidence issues, not helped by his coach Sergio Conceicao at Porto. He deserves some time away from the National team to regain his self confidence.

Moffi has been shooting blanks lately for L'Orient. Musa is close to his 100th cap (hopefully, he can get it against CAF Republic and we can see less of him).

With Bonke, Ndidi and Etebo are out. Onyeka is in for Ndidi. Who would you have brought in for Etebo, that has the international experience that Bonke has? Kingsley Michael? Hasn't even made the Bologna bench in weeks, talk less of playing. Alhassan Yussuf? Has been injured for weeks and is playing second fiddle to the Belgian MF Nainggolan who recently joined Antwerp. Who then?

We need to think deeply through some of the selections before criticizing them.
Flex Swift wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 8:10 pm On current form Henry is playing better than Moses Simon. Moses also had a stinker against Cape Verde and may need sometime away from the Eagles.

I like Balogun but have not seen enough of Akpoguma to form an opinion the rest of the Nigerian Centre half’s are rubbish.

Collins was our best player against Cape Verde so I am happy he kept his place I would have selected Sanusi as backup. Aina and Tyrone would be my picks for the right back position with the later providing cover.

What is Shehu doing in the squad ? Musa’s place should have been given to Moffa.

No way I would have selected Bonke I have seen enough to conclude he is a liability hopefully he doesn’t play.
Re: Team List - New addition

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 2:41 pm This list is just so dissapointing and imbalanced on many fronts.

1. Do we really need 9 defenders ? What on earth is the value of Omeruo and frankly Shehu on this team ? Omeruo has Balogun, Troost, Akpoguma, and Awaziem all ahead of him. In what world do we need 5 central defenders ? For what fuc*ing purpose ? Shehu also is not needed, and now Ebuehi has lost his place. I dont know what Ebuehi has done to Rohr because they way he has been treated he may be regretting his switch to Nigeria. The guy has performed consistently, yet is getting dissed for a scrub in Cyprus. Even central defenders have been played at RB with him sitting on the bench.

2. Midfield is downright pathetic. 3 fuc*ing midfielders including a carpenters apprentice named Bonke. I will tell you all now. Do not be surprised if we fail to qualify for World Cup or fail at afcon AS A DIRECT RESULT of Rohr's disrespect of the midfield position. This is the second time we have had to do without both Ndidi and Etebo, and this joke of a coach thinks Bonke is the solution. Alhassan and Kingsley are injured but no reason not to call Nwobodo, Nwakali, even Ejaria. Nwobodo is currently leading the Turkish league in tackles per game.

3. Calvin Bassey was the "big fish" Are you kidding me ? This is who they claim they had to "keep a secret" to ward off any advances from England. What a letdown. He may be a decent option, but I was hoping for a gamechanging player, not somebody who is not really better than what we already have.

4. The dropping of Moffi is inexcusable considering we have 9 defenders. Should Osimehn get injured we would be forced to start the slow basketball player, and he has proven he has no business starting matches for us because he does not play with the Naija rhythm. We dont need a TAP IN striker. Rohr has not learned his lesson after the Cameroon and Algeria friendly debacles. Onuachu is not a reliable starter for SE. Osimehn needs a legit backup.

5. Ahmed Musa. I'm sorry to say, but can this guy just tear an achilles or something.
You must like Musa to be kind to him. At least you did not wish him death like you did to someone :boo:

Tbf Otitokoro made some very good points, by and large these squad should be able to comfortably beat CAR home and away... all the fancy players we want will get their chance in the expanded world cup list (if we make it).

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:38 am Tbf Otitokoro made some very good points, by and large these squad should be able to comfortably beat CAR home and away... all the fancy players we want will get their chance in the expanded world cup list (if we make it).
Nobody is worried about failing against Central Africa.

Rohr is simply wasting chance after chance to improve the squad.

When will he do it ? During the afcon proper ? Or the world cup playoff ?

These are prime opportunities he is wasting.

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 7:05 am
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:38 am Tbf Otitokoro made some very good points, by and large these squad should be able to comfortably beat CAR home and away... all the fancy players we want will get their chance in the expanded world cup list (if we make it).
Nobody is worried about failing against Central Africa.

Rohr is simply wasting chance after chance to improve the squad.

When will he do it ? During the afcon proper ? Or the world cup playoff ?

These are prime opportunities he is wasting.
Read Otitokoro's post to get a clear perspective, some of the players we want to see invited are either injured or out of form at their clubs (at least that's a valid criteria for why the players you want to see weren't invited)... that's not to say Rohr can't do better, cause there's no reason why the likes of Musa, Shehu and maybe Bonke should be making the team.

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:22 am
Gotti wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:57 am Scary! Because oga Bonke was decidedly UNDERWHELMING!
Anyway, understand Rohr not 'experimenting' with a new invitee, but it's his fault to be in this situation.
what on earth do you mean "not experimenting with a new invitee"

BONKE WAS A NEW INVITEE.

Also did Rohr not just call up Bassey ? The guy is either being misquoted, or speaking out of both sides of his mouth.
Not 'experimenting' in a competitive game...
But it's his fault because he should have tried more midfielders in friendlies.

Pretty certain Bassey will not start over Collins versus CAR...
In fact, unlikely Bonke will see much action, if any, but might have to lock Bassey down.

Otitokoro wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:49 am Which current form? Simon went to sleep for a sec against the Capo Verdeans, which led to their lone goal. Otherwise, he has been performing quite well for club and country. Considering that was his first costly mistake in eons, he is entitled to be pardoned. And no, Onyekuru is NOT better than him.

Tyrone has struggled majorly to break into the Venezia team and has been a benchwarmer lately.

Sanusi is going through some confidence issues, not helped by his coach Sergio Conceicao at Porto. He deserves some time away from the National team to regain his self confidence.

Moffi has been shooting blanks lately for L'Orient. Musa is close to his 100th cap (hopefully, he can get it against CAF Republic and we can see less of him).

With Bonke, Ndidi and Etebo are out. Onyeka is in for Ndidi. Who would you have brought in for Etebo, that has the international experience that Bonke has? Kingsley Michael? Hasn't even made the Bologna bench in weeks, talk less of playing. Alhassan Yussuf? Has been injured for weeks and is playing second fiddle to the Belgian MF Nainggolan who recently joined Antwerp. Who then?

Not true! Yusuf lines up ALONGSIDE Nainggolan when fit.
Yusuf joined Antwerp and went straight into the starting lineup, playing in 5 straight games before his injury.

Btw, not surprised by Bonke's UNDERWHELMING showing against Cape Verde...
Start watching him when the CE's former resident spiv was touting him, and he's decent but basically pedestrian.

Btw, Kingsley Michael is also presently injured, which is why he hasn't been on Bologna's matchday squad.
But presumably the Chief Scout's "special software" doesn't cover Turkey where Obinna Nwobodo has consistently been in good form.

Gotti wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 7:42 am
Otitokoro wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 1:49 am Which current form? Simon went to sleep for a sec against the Capo Verdeans, which led to their lone goal. Otherwise, he has been performing quite well for club and country. Considering that was his first costly mistake in eons, he is entitled to be pardoned. And no, Onyekuru is NOT better than him.

Not true! Yusuf lines up ALONGSIDE Nainggolan when fit.
Yusuf joined Antwerp and went straight into the starting lineup, playing in 5 straight games before his injury.

Btw, not surprised by Bonke's UNDERWHELMING showing against Cape Verde...
Start watching him when the CE's former resident spiv was touting him, and he's decent but basically pedestrian.

Btw, Kingsley Michael is also presently injured, which is why he hasn't been on Bologna's matchday squad.
But presumably the Chief Scout's "special software" doesn't cover Turkey where Obinna Nwobodo has consistently been in good form.
Ah ok so Michael is injured, sucks. Was wondering if **** really was more impressed with Bonke…which is incredible for me to believe.

In response to the above: The facts are as follows: Nantes have played 8 league games they in 10th place they have drawn 1 game lost 3 games and won 4 that is not great form and they lost at the weekend and are not even playing Europe as they just be relegation last season. Moses was rubbish against Cape Verde a (minno) in a game he should have shown his quality.

Meanwhile Henry’s Greek team sit firmly at the top of the table and haven’t lost a game this season. They are also playing in Europe and beat Fenabache away 3 nil with Henry a main contributor yesterday. When he came on against Cape Verde the game changed and we created more chances. Henry also performed well against Benin away in Nigeria’s 1-nil victory.

Simple observation of both players reveals Henry is in better form then Moses and you alway select the player in better form as you pointed out that Moffi has been shooting blanks so rightly has been dropped.

Whose fault is it that Rohr has had to result to calling Bonke? We played 2 friendlies and Rohr called up 11 defenders and 3 midfielders. Wasn’t that the time to scout and test more midfield players? Sometimes you need to call a spade a spade.

Flex Swift wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 8:10 pm On current form Henry is playing better than Moses Simon. Moses also had a stinker against Cape Verde and may need sometime away from the Eagles.

I like Balogun but have not seen enough of Akpoguma to form an opinion the rest of the Nigerian Centre half’s are rubbish.

Collins was our best player against Cape Verde so I am happy he kept his place I would have selected Sanusi as backup. Aina and Tyrone would be my picks for the right back position with the later providing cover.

What is Shehu doing in the squad ? Musa’s place should have been given to Moffa.

No way I would have selected Bonke I have seen enough to conclude he is a liability hopefully he doesn’t play.

Moffi also out. but Musa keeps his place. What a joke. Nigeria still don't understand that a meritocracy is best way to go. We all remember how Rohr tried everything to slow the progress of Osimhen in the team. Wanted Ighalo to return from retirement.

Flex Swift wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 8:38 pm
maceo4 wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 8:34 pm
txj wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 8:13 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 6:10 pm
highbury wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 5:07 pm
Ejaria and Lookman are never coming to SE. They don't want them.
But they want Calvin Bassey.

You do realize Bassey is a center back; right?
CB/LB?

BTW, is Balogun injured?
Balogun partnered Calvin Klein this evening in the European cup
Calvin Bassey is not a center back (although he can player there), he's primarily a left back. He will be cover for Jamilu Collins. He only played centre back yesterday due to most of Rangers centre backs being out either due to injury or suspension.
Re: Team List - New addition

kawawa wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:37 am Where is Ndidi, Balogun, Etebo. A typo somewhere, injured or fake list
Etebo has been ruled out for five months with a muscle tear.

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:51 pm Moffi also out. but Musa keeps his place. What a joke. Nigeria still don't understand that a meritocracy is best way to go. We all remember how Rohr tried everything to slow the progress of Osimhen in the team. Wanted Ighalo to return from retirement.
Tried to slow Osimhen's progress? Because why?
Does Osimhen know this? :roll:

Does what you wrote make any sense to you?
How did Rohr try to obstruct Osimhen's progress in the team? Ighalo was in very fine form at the time and it would have been very silly of any coach to drop him for Osimhen.
Even IF Ighalo comes back today, there is no way Rohr will play Ighalo at Osimhen's expense. None whatsoever! Osimhen is currently and arguably one of the hottest strikers in world football and Rohr knows that. Osimhen is evolving and having a proven striker help him on his journey to becoming world class is actually a good idea.

Regarding Moffi and Musa, I tried to explain some of the rationale. In a squad of 23, Moffi (on current form) will NOT be included. He is currently on a dry spell, when his main competitors (Osimhen, Iheanacho and Onuachu) are currently on hot streaks. Which of the 3 will you drop for him?

Musa has served Nigeria well and is on the cusp of hitting a century of caps. He is also the de facto captain of the team (albeit, non starting). It makes sense for him to hit that milestone, and not repeat the mistakes made with Jon Mikel Obi (91 caps) and Nwankwo Kanu (86 caps), two legends of Nigerian football. Musa deserves it!
ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:51 pm Moffi also out. but Musa keeps his place. What a joke. Nigeria still don't understand that a meritocracy is best way to go. We all remember how Rohr tried everything to slow the progress of Osimhen in the team. Wanted Ighalo to return from retirement.

Gotti wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 12:51 am
txj wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 8:13 pm You do realize Bassey is a center back; right?
He's a LB/LWB, who can fill in at CB...

He's played at LCB for Rangers. Quite raw, but also quite promising...

An interesting one for me, b/c of lack of competition and need for upgrade in CD

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
return2k2

Post by return2k2 »

:taunt: :taunt:

txj wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 4:31 pm
txj wrote: Thu Sep 30, 2021 8:13 pm You do realize Bassey is a center back; right?

An interesting one for me, b/c of lack of competition and need for upgrade in CD
He played one game there, and according to folks wasn’t that impressive there, so how exactly would you consider him an upgrade in CD? You made it seem like you actually know the player when clearly you don’t…being a smart arse for no reason :roll:

maceo4 wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:40 pm

He played one game there, and according to folks wasn’t that impressive there, so how exactly would you consider him an upgrade in CD? You made it seem like you actually know the player when clearly you don’t…being a smart arse for no reason :roll:

Maceo is so corrupt! There were 2 accounts by so called "folks" who watched him at LB, 1 said he did well the other said he didn't but you focus on the one that fits your narrative. Are u a former Nigerian police officer? :laugh:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Oct 01, 2021 7:27 pm

Maceo is so corrupt! There were 2 accounts by so called "folks" who watched him at LB, 1 said he did well the other said he didn't but you focus on the one that fits your narrative. Are u a former Nigerian police officer? :laugh:
I trust Gottis take…what’s my narrative btw?

I just read that Iwobi is out injured and replaced by Terem Moffi.

That was probably the most high level game as a CD, but he's capable of playing across the defensive line.

I was speaking generally about the need for an upgrade/competition in the CD position

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp