Camp update for Russian friendly: Aina and 5 other players out, Olusegun called up
Re: Camp update for Russian friendly: Aina and 5 other players out, Olusegun called up
To be fair the Super Eagles then were more fun than what we have now, or maybe football just isn't exciting as it used to be back then unless we have a world cup or AFCON.
Re: Camp update for Russian friendly: Aina and 5 other players out, Olusegun called up
Tobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jun 04, 2025 1:02 amTo be fair the Super Eagles then were more fun than what we have now, or maybe football just isn't exciting as it used to be back then unless we have a world cup or AFCON.

Or maybe we are just all older than we used to be.

Those that get excited by the SE still get excited and you see it all over social media. They laugh, they cry, they dance, they shout, they wail, they throw insults. They might even fight. But they are inevitably younger.
That’s life in general.
As a kid and later a young guy, I can’t remember my father jumping up and down or dancing over the Green Eagles.
And he was always critical of the Odegbamis and Muda Lawals, preferring to talk about “the good old days” and I couldn’t understand why. Now I do.
Age tempers our emotions. You can’t expend all your emotional energy on just football.
School fees dey. Madame’s wahala dey. Stubborn cholesterol and BP levels day.

- danfo driver
Another good angle. With life responsibilities, there are other important things in life.Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jun 04, 2025 5:56 amTobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jun 04, 2025 1:02 amTo be fair the Super Eagles then were more fun than what we have now, or maybe football just isn't exciting as it used to be back then unless we have a world cup or AFCON.![]()
Those that get excited by the SE still get excited and you see it all over social media. They laugh, they cry, they dance, they shout, they wail, they throw insults. They might even fight. But they are inevitably younger.
That’s life in general.
As a kid and later a young guy, I can’t remember my father jumping up and down or dancing over the Green Eagles.
And he was always critical of the Odegbamis and Muda Lawals, preferring to talk about “the good old days” and I couldn’t understand why. Now I do.
Age tempers our emotions. You can’t expend all your emotional energy on just football.
School fees dey. Madame’s wahala dey. Stubborn cholesterol and BP levels day.![]()
Football parity is what is making some 'game day fans' disappointed.
These claimed fans of the game have a non-competitive mentality. And just
like believers in monarchy, they are disappointed when yester serfs attempt to,
or become masters. Please note; What happened to Brazil, Italy, and Germany lately?
Our NFF achieved some marks and either got complacent, or those we called minnows
upped their games to challenge and compete. Meanwhile our SE refused to innovate.
What with fans continuing to overhype players, the NFF still meddling with team
selection, and our coaches still relying on players physicality instead of mental capacity?
Before the Unity Cup matches, I warned here that if our SE decide to play the physical
game with either of the Caribbean teams (Jamaica/Trinidad), that we will have problems.
We saw what happened against Jamaica, as they matched us physically and were just
edged out on penalties. I want to bet that if we had played a focused, controlled possession,
and slower paced game, we would have tempered down their aggression and outscored them
by at least two goals.
Finally, we need to realize the difference between competition and exhibition, as football
has gotten to the point where there is almost no room for sentiments.
These claimed fans of the game have a non-competitive mentality. And just
like believers in monarchy, they are disappointed when yester serfs attempt to,
or become masters. Please note; What happened to Brazil, Italy, and Germany lately?
Our NFF achieved some marks and either got complacent, or those we called minnows
upped their games to challenge and compete. Meanwhile our SE refused to innovate.
What with fans continuing to overhype players, the NFF still meddling with team
selection, and our coaches still relying on players physicality instead of mental capacity?
Before the Unity Cup matches, I warned here that if our SE decide to play the physical
game with either of the Caribbean teams (Jamaica/Trinidad), that we will have problems.
We saw what happened against Jamaica, as they matched us physically and were just
edged out on penalties. I want to bet that if we had played a focused, controlled possession,
and slower paced game, we would have tempered down their aggression and outscored them
by at least two goals.
Finally, we need to realize the difference between competition and exhibition, as football
has gotten to the point where there is almost no room for sentiments.
Temporarily my brotha.
You are not going to abandon life’s responsibilities for a life of following football.
And we all know how the SE can frustrate the hell out of your life, elevating your BP even more.

Troost-Ekong: "Football unites nations"

Before the BetBoom friendly match with the Russian national team, Nigerian national team captain William Troost-Ekong spoke about his previous trips to Russia, shared his expectations for the Russians' performance and stated that he considers football to be more than just a game.
William Troost-Ekong, captain of the Nigerian team:
- How are you in Moscow? What do you know about the Russian national team?
- This is not my first time in Moscow and Russia, I have already played in Krasnodar and Volgograd and other cities in 2018. Yesterday we walked around the city a little, visited Red Square. But we are here on business - this is not a tourist trip. Together with the coach, we have already discussed how we will act in the match.
I don't know much about the Russian team now. We understand that the team has changed a lot. Over the past three days, we've watched a lot of videos to better understand what they're playing. We're taking this opponent very seriously. We know that the Russian team hasn't conceded a single goal in the last few matches - we'll try to change that tomorrow. We're looking forward to the game.
– You said that you watched a lot of videos about the Russian team. What style will Nigeria offer in this game? What strengths did you see in the Russian team?
– I don’t know how much I can reveal our game plan, because the head coach is here. Tomorrow we will try to combine different styles – we have an understanding of how to act. We have been working with the coach only since the beginning of the year, and this match is a good chance to make our team stronger and continue progressing.
There are new players in the squad – this is a great opportunity for them to show how they meet the expectations of the coaching staff. We have seen that the Russian team plays aggressively, often using a 4-3-3 formation and high pressing. This will not be an easy task for us, but I will not go into details. We know both the strengths and weaknesses of this team.
- What game will we see tomorrow?
- Football unites people and shows the best of humanity. Tomorrow the match will be watched by a wide range of spectators - both Nigerian and Russian fans. I hope that many spectators will come to the stadium, and it will be a great pride for us to play in front of them.
The match is important. It is friendly, but we still want to win. I think, despite the friendly status of the meeting, both teams will strive for victory.
Football unites nations – for us it is an opportunity to meet, get to know each other, show respect for each other and show that football is not just a game, but something more.
- Do you know any Nigerian footballers who played in Russia?
- Yes, the first ones that come to mind are Brian Idowu, Victor Moses, who was in Moscow's Spartak. Now we have a young footballer from Krasnodar on our team.
– You have been to many cities in Russia – what do you remember?
– I had a chance to visit Russia in 2018. Unfortunately, we looked at many cities through the glass of a bus. I found St. Petersburg very beautiful. But for us it was not a tourist trip, we were preparing for matches.
The Russian national team will play against the Nigerian team on June 6. The match will be held in Moscow at the Luzhniki stadium. The game will start at 20:00 Moscow time. Tickets can only be purchased on the website of the official ticket partner of the Russian Football Union – Kassir.ru.
https://rfs.ru/news/222517

Before the BetBoom friendly match with the Russian national team, Nigerian national team captain William Troost-Ekong spoke about his previous trips to Russia, shared his expectations for the Russians' performance and stated that he considers football to be more than just a game.
William Troost-Ekong, captain of the Nigerian team:
- How are you in Moscow? What do you know about the Russian national team?
- This is not my first time in Moscow and Russia, I have already played in Krasnodar and Volgograd and other cities in 2018. Yesterday we walked around the city a little, visited Red Square. But we are here on business - this is not a tourist trip. Together with the coach, we have already discussed how we will act in the match.
I don't know much about the Russian team now. We understand that the team has changed a lot. Over the past three days, we've watched a lot of videos to better understand what they're playing. We're taking this opponent very seriously. We know that the Russian team hasn't conceded a single goal in the last few matches - we'll try to change that tomorrow. We're looking forward to the game.
– You said that you watched a lot of videos about the Russian team. What style will Nigeria offer in this game? What strengths did you see in the Russian team?
– I don’t know how much I can reveal our game plan, because the head coach is here. Tomorrow we will try to combine different styles – we have an understanding of how to act. We have been working with the coach only since the beginning of the year, and this match is a good chance to make our team stronger and continue progressing.
There are new players in the squad – this is a great opportunity for them to show how they meet the expectations of the coaching staff. We have seen that the Russian team plays aggressively, often using a 4-3-3 formation and high pressing. This will not be an easy task for us, but I will not go into details. We know both the strengths and weaknesses of this team.
- What game will we see tomorrow?
- Football unites people and shows the best of humanity. Tomorrow the match will be watched by a wide range of spectators - both Nigerian and Russian fans. I hope that many spectators will come to the stadium, and it will be a great pride for us to play in front of them.
The match is important. It is friendly, but we still want to win. I think, despite the friendly status of the meeting, both teams will strive for victory.
Football unites nations – for us it is an opportunity to meet, get to know each other, show respect for each other and show that football is not just a game, but something more.
- Do you know any Nigerian footballers who played in Russia?
- Yes, the first ones that come to mind are Brian Idowu, Victor Moses, who was in Moscow's Spartak. Now we have a young footballer from Krasnodar on our team.
– You have been to many cities in Russia – what do you remember?
– I had a chance to visit Russia in 2018. Unfortunately, we looked at many cities through the glass of a bus. I found St. Petersburg very beautiful. But for us it was not a tourist trip, we were preparing for matches.
The Russian national team will play against the Nigerian team on June 6. The match will be held in Moscow at the Luzhniki stadium. The game will start at 20:00 Moscow time. Tickets can only be purchased on the website of the official ticket partner of the Russian Football Union – Kassir.ru.
https://rfs.ru/news/222517
- danfo driver
only question they should have asked Opioror Mango Head is "You are 33 in a retirement league and you have been sh1t all your career, when are you going to have some dignity and retire?"
Thank God Alhaji decided to get married to a 4th wife, otherwise he would have been on the plane to Russia!

Damunk wrote: ↑Wed Jun 04, 2025 5:56 amTobi17 wrote: ↑Wed Jun 04, 2025 1:02 amTo be fair the Super Eagles then were more fun than what we have now, or maybe football just isn't exciting as it used to be back then unless we have a world cup or AFCON.![]()
That’s life in general.
School fees dey. Madame’s wahala dey. Stubborn cholesterol and BP levels day.![]()
No lies told

- danfo driver
Wow! So Uncle Cellular went to hire a young boy in Russia? How many rubles you give the boy? Confess!

Absolutely depraved levels of shamelessness these criminals will resort to.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu Jun 05, 2025 11:59 pm Wow! So Uncle Cellular went to hire a young boy in Russia? How many rubles you give the boy? Confess!![]()
So you mean some random Russian boy is enthralled with Sodiq ?
Of all the SE stars at hand and this kid is taking g selfies with Sodiq ?
Abeg how much did they pay this child ?
Sodiq transfer to Russia loading ..........
- bret- hart
I find it hard to believe that some kid in Russia knows who Sodiq one of the worst RBs to ever wear the GWG is? Smells like 419 to me.
Like I saidbret- hart wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 1:37 am I find it hard to believe that some kid in Russia knows who Sodiq one of the worst RBs to ever wear the GWG is? Smells like 419 to me.
Sodiq transfer to Russian 2nd division team loading ......
vancity eagle wrote: ↑Fri Jun 06, 2025 1:19 amAbsolutely depraved levels of shamelessness these criminals will resort to.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu Jun 05, 2025 11:59 pm Wow! So Uncle Cellular went to hire a young boy in Russia? How many rubles you give the boy? Confess!![]()
So you mean some random Russian boy is enthralled with Sodiq ?
Of all the SE stars at hand and this kid is taking g selfies with Sodiq ?
Abeg how much did they pay this child ?

Last edited by iworo on Fri Jun 06, 2025 3:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
Is this guy on something??

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
On Colos, on colos

Facial expressions were hilarious.
Why pay, AI is your friend....danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu Jun 05, 2025 11:59 pm Wow! So Uncle Cellular went to hire a young boy in Russia? How many rubles you give the boy? Confess!![]()