*********Enakarhire*********Yobo*********Nwaneri*******
***********************Enyeama***********************
**************Martins**************Utaka***************
***********************Okocha************************
****************Obi************Obodo*****************
***Taiwo**************************************Odiah***
*********Enakarhire*********Yobo*********Nwaneri*******
***********************Enyeama***********************
realplayer wrote:Yobo can not chase Drogba all over the pitch. I have blamed Yobo's role in our central defence as I expect him to be the most experienced defender and so the organizer or our defence.
I have watched that match over 3 times as well as our other matches and was not surprised at that goal. That type of cheap goal will continue to hunt Nigeria as long as we are not technically desciplined.
From what I saw, TT was playing like an attacking midfieder and hardly defended. So we were technically playing 3-4-3 while the Ivoriens were playing 4-5-1. That was why we found it diffficult to break down the Ivoriens as they always seemed to out number us and were compact. The danger to Nigeria was that we were prone to counter attacks, isolation of defender on a dangerous 1 to 1 situation as well as gaps in the defence as most of our attackers and midfielders do not defend!
Drogba is one of the fastest strikers in the world and needs just a yard by your side and the rest is history. It was from TT's hole that Drogba sneaked through. If our defence was desciplined, TT would have been back with Drogba and not in the Ivorien half of the pitch.
I want to believe TT is a defender (Left full back). His primary role is to defend, secondary to help the attack and lastly to score. From the way he plays, it is the other way round!
In the weak Nigerian defence, TT is minus one! Again, this shows the pathetic state of our coaches who rely on the individual talents of our players to see them through.
Remember what the Swedish scout in the last world cup said about the SE. "They are a talented bunch but the interesting weakness is their individual defending!" We have not learn anything since then and do not mass defend like Cameroun and other countries at our level.
That is why we are not in the WC and did not win the ANC. Our coaches are technically pathetic!
Triple Kpom !!!!!!
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.
Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.
U got me!Gotti wrote:A little problem with that thesis...Yiba wrote:Taribo was raw and physical with little regard for rudimentary defending when he was in Nigeria.I remember our friendly match with Sweeden,prelude to world cup.The guy almost destroyed Stefan Schwarz's leg.
Taribo was already based at Aiuxerre then!![]()
<

wot i don't get rite now is dat TT seems to know is role @ OM which is defend - attack - score in dat order but in d SE he just seems to attack like there is no tomorrow, even @ some point he is always d last man defending, which is why ur last statement is so close 2 d truth, rite now i'm leaning towards 3-5-2 in friendly just to see how dey fareWINNERMAN wrote:realplayer wrote:Yobo can not chase Drogba all over the pitch. I have blamed Yobo's role in our central defence as I expect him to be the most experienced defender and so the organizer or our defence.
I have watched that match over 3 times as well as our other matches and was not surprised at that goal. That type of cheap goal will continue to hunt Nigeria as long as we are not technically desciplined.
From what I saw, TT was playing like an attacking midfieder and hardly defended. So we were technically playing 3-4-3 while the Ivoriens were playing 4-5-1. That was why we found it diffficult to break down the Ivoriens as they always seemed to out number us and were compact. The danger to Nigeria was that we were prone to counter attacks, isolation of defender on a dangerous 1 to 1 situation as well as gaps in the defence as most of our attackers and midfielders do not defend!
Drogba is one of the fastest strikers in the world and needs just a yard by your side and the rest is history. It was from TT's hole that Drogba sneaked through. If our defence was desciplined, TT would have been back with Drogba and not in the Ivorien half of the pitch.
I want to believe TT is a defender (Left full back). His primary role is to defend, secondary to help the attack and lastly to score. From the way he plays, it is the other way round!
In the weak Nigerian defence, TT is minus one! Again, this shows the pathetic state of our coaches who rely on the individual talents of our players to see them through.
Remember what the Swedish scout in the last world cup said about the SE. "They are a talented bunch but the interesting weakness is their individual defending!" We have not learn anything since then and do not mass defend like Cameroun and other countries at our level.
That is why we are not in the WC and did not win the ANC. Our coaches are technically pathetic!
Triple Kpom !!!!!!
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
You people can start an argument about anything, TT is weak defensively because he plays in a 3-5-2 system at Olympique Marseille, and the Super Eagles play a back four so his defensive responsibilities are somewhat different...
If TT joins a bigger club playing the same system I am afraid he may not get much better than he is now defensively as the focus is likely to be on the offensive side of his game. We should hope that he will join a team that plays a back four in any of the top three leagues and the defensive part of his game should come good within a short period.
But I look at TT and I think he will be a offensive Monster like R Carlos in La Liga, and will improve defensively in Serie A.....Serie A for me!
If TT joins a bigger club playing the same system I am afraid he may not get much better than he is now defensively as the focus is likely to be on the offensive side of his game. We should hope that he will join a team that plays a back four in any of the top three leagues and the defensive part of his game should come good within a short period.
But I look at TT and I think he will be a offensive Monster like R Carlos in La Liga, and will improve defensively in Serie A.....Serie A for me!
To God be the glory
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Both Taiye and Chidi play as wingbacks for their clubs. It is plain daft for Eguavoen to play them in a flatback four.Skylolo wrote:You people can start an argument about anything, TT is weak defensively because he plays in a 3-5-2 system at Olympique Marseille, and the Super Eagles play a back four so his defensive responsibilities are somewhat different...
It just shows how naive and limited his thinking is. Does he not know that there are other ways to play?
Look Ayo Eguavoen's formation can't be changed just because TT and Odiah play as Wing backs in their clubsides...Ayo Akinfe wrote:Both Taiye and Chidi play as wingbacks for their clubs. It is plain daft for Eguavoen to play them in a flatback four.Skylolo wrote:You people can start an argument about anything, TT is weak defensively because he plays in a 3-5-2 system at Olympique Marseille, and the Super Eagles play a back four so his defensive responsibilities are somewhat different...
It just shows how naive and limited his thinking is. Does he not know that there are other ways to play?
Its Up to TT and Odiah to show their International class and step up the defensive part of their game when they play in a flat back four system, Odiah did didn't he? TT could not do this consistently, but that is not Egu's fault that is the price a team pays for youth and Inexpirience....

The Dividends will be reaped in the long run if the team and individuals learn from such experiences!
To God be the glory
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
You play to your strengths and not your weaknesses. Please tell me what stopped Eguavoen plkaying with Yobo, Enakarhire and Nwaneri as three centrebacks with Odiah and Taiwo as wingbacks?Skylolo wrote:
Look Ayo Eguavoen's formation can't be changed just because TT and Odiah play as Wing backs in their clubsides...
Its Up to TT and Odiah to show their International class and step up the defensive part of their game when they play in a flat back four system, Odiah did didn't he? TT could not do this consistently, but that is not Egu's fault that is the price a team pays for youth and Inexpirience....![]()
The Dividends will be reaped in the long run if the team and individuals learn from such experiences!
Skylolo, abeg thank you for bringing this point back up. The Nigerian national team should be forced to play to its strengths only as far as it can be stretched....a 3-5-2 system is not only dependent on wing backs so dont go losing your mind again...nobody has thought about the compatibility of the other players to a system that nigeria has RARELY ever played....
Lets assume that the Coaches got it right with the CB's and Enakhahire was better than Nwanneri, now after the countless mistakes Enakhahire made would you be more comfortable to have a weaker CB-Nwanneri playing just because you want to play 3-5-2?Ayo Akinfe wrote:You play to your strengths and not your weaknesses. Please tell me what stopped Eguavoen plkaying with Yobo, Enakarhire and Nwaneri as three centrebacks with Odiah and Taiwo as wingbacks?Skylolo wrote:
Look Ayo Eguavoen's formation can't be changed just because TT and Odiah play as Wing backs in their clubsides...
Its Up to TT and Odiah to show their International class and step up the defensive part of their game when they play in a flat back four system, Odiah did didn't he? TT could not do this consistently, but that is not Egu's fault that is the price a team pays for youth and Inexpirience....![]()

To God be the glory
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Can you think of anything worse than the rubbish we saw against Ivory Coast?Skylolo wrote:
Lets assume that the Coaches got it right with the CB's and Enakhahire was better than Nwanneri, now after the countless mistakes Enakhahire made would you be more comfortable to have a weaker CB-Nwanneri playing just because you want to play 3-5-2?
- green4life
I gotta agree with Ayo here. You set up your game plan to fit the personnel on hand. And as fate would have it, we are terribly low on quality CD's, while high on midfield type players (TT & Ordiah can be classified as midfielders who can defend - as opposed to traditional defenders). I'm not an advocate of 3-5-2 cause our guys are not disciplined to play with 4 defenders, talkless of 3. But, given that principle, a 3-5-2 system appears to better fit our personnel at this time. Discipline is another issue.Ayo Akinfe wrote:You play to your strengths and not your weaknesses. Please tell me what stopped Eguavoen plkaying with Yobo, Enakarhire and Nwaneri as three centrebacks with Odiah and Taiwo as wingbacks?Skylolo wrote:
G4L I see what you are getting at here but we cant play wingbacks just because TT is vulnerable at LB...green4life wrote:I gotta agree with Ayo here. You set up your game plan to fit the personnel on hand. And as fate would have it, we are terribly low on quality CD's, while high on midfield type players (TT & Ordiah can be classified as midfielders who can defend - as opposed to traditional defenders). I'm not an advocate of 3-5-2 cause our guys are not disciplined to play with 4 defenders, talkless of 3. But, given that principle, a 3-5-2 system appears to better fit our personnel at this time. Discipline is another issue.Ayo Akinfe wrote:You play to your strengths and not your weaknesses. Please tell me what stopped Eguavoen plkaying with Yobo, Enakarhire and Nwaneri as three centrebacks with Odiah and Taiwo as wingbacks?Skylolo wrote:

But you know Ayo he will find absolutely anything to justify this his 3-5-2 that he keeps under his pillow at Night..

To God be the glory
- green4life
I feel you bro. But this time, Ayo might finally have a point even though the brother has been crying wolf on this 3-5-2 thing since the beginning of time even when we had an abundance of CD'sSkylolo wrote:G4L I see what you are getting at here but we cant play wingbacks just because TT is vulnerable at LB...green4life wrote:I gotta agree with Ayo here. You set up your game plan to fit the personnel on hand. And as fate would have it, we are terribly low on quality CD's, while high on midfield type players (TT & Ordiah can be classified as midfielders who can defend - as opposed to traditional defenders). I'm not an advocate of 3-5-2 cause our guys are not disciplined to play with 4 defenders, talkless of 3. But, given that principle, a 3-5-2 system appears to better fit our personnel at this time. Discipline is another issue.Ayo Akinfe wrote:You play to your strengths and not your weaknesses. Please tell me what stopped Eguavoen plkaying with Yobo, Enakarhire and Nwaneri as three centrebacks with Odiah and Taiwo as wingbacks?Skylolo wrote:
The Dividends will be reaped in the long run if the team and individuals learn from such experiences!And like you righfully pointed out we were low on quality CB's anyway...
But you know Ayo he will find absolutely anything to justify this his 3-5-2 that he keeps under his pillow at Night..

Forget the 3-5-2 crap; What TT needs is a GPS, preferably inserted in his head as a microchip....
Last edited by txj on Tue Feb 21, 2006 2:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- realplayer
I am not a man who puts all his eggs in one formation.
If our coaches are astute in tactics, they can change formation based on the opponents they are facing. A good example is when we played one cup of Nations match against South Africa and Bonfere realised that Mark Fish was slow and so he deployed Babangida to the left wing and within 10 mins, Nigeria was 2 goals up and game up.
With the quality of players we have in the SE, we need coaches who can mould the players to different roles. The match against the Ivoriens was very poor due to the selection and the inability of our coaching crew knowing how to win that match. It was shocking they did not work hard on making sure the Ivoriens had no joy.
It is not about playing players to their best strength only but to the teams objective. I feel our coaches have been playing players to their strength. That's why we are not achieving our potential and not winning cups. The Cameroon and CIV match was an example of a purely technical match as both coaches nullified each other tactics and so the match looked dull and not interesting. The players were disciplined in their formation and roles. They played like a team unlike the individualistic Nigerians.
I do not expect Eguavoen and his crew to adopt one style alone. It will be suicidal to play the same formation when playing Brazil and Zimbabwe or Ghana! Our players should be trained and disciplined enough to play to any formation as the situation demands.
If Eguavoen want to play a flat 4, I would expect TT to play as he was asked and not run around like a headless chicken and play to his strength. See how the Ivorien's maintained their shape throughout the match and made our lethal attack very blunt! As talented as Kolo Toure is, I never saw him go past the centre line and he stuck to Kanu like a glue. When Kanu was replaced, he stuck to Aghahowa. He marshalled the defence and we got no joy!
I do not see the sense in playing 3-5-2 when your central defenders are weak, your midfielders are all attack minded and are slow at getting back when they lose the ball, your attackers do not pressure opposing defenders when they lose the ball or defend. In fact, in the whole Nigerian team, about 4 players and the goalie defend! In the Ivorien team, even Drogba always came back to defend.
The simple point is that, the Nigerian team does not know how to defend! To play 3-5-2, the 5 midfielders must always come back to defend and always play behind the ball to protect the back 3. (In the SE midfield, only Obodo and Ayinla defend fairly, the others and TT mostly attack and are not fast to recover once the ball is lost!) Teams like Brazil and England can play this formation as they are physically fit and are disciplined. They are fast to tackle once they lose possession.
Nigeria adopting this formation in my opinion is pure suicide! 4-4-2 is a safer formation.
If our coaches are astute in tactics, they can change formation based on the opponents they are facing. A good example is when we played one cup of Nations match against South Africa and Bonfere realised that Mark Fish was slow and so he deployed Babangida to the left wing and within 10 mins, Nigeria was 2 goals up and game up.
With the quality of players we have in the SE, we need coaches who can mould the players to different roles. The match against the Ivoriens was very poor due to the selection and the inability of our coaching crew knowing how to win that match. It was shocking they did not work hard on making sure the Ivoriens had no joy.
It is not about playing players to their best strength only but to the teams objective. I feel our coaches have been playing players to their strength. That's why we are not achieving our potential and not winning cups. The Cameroon and CIV match was an example of a purely technical match as both coaches nullified each other tactics and so the match looked dull and not interesting. The players were disciplined in their formation and roles. They played like a team unlike the individualistic Nigerians.
I do not expect Eguavoen and his crew to adopt one style alone. It will be suicidal to play the same formation when playing Brazil and Zimbabwe or Ghana! Our players should be trained and disciplined enough to play to any formation as the situation demands.
If Eguavoen want to play a flat 4, I would expect TT to play as he was asked and not run around like a headless chicken and play to his strength. See how the Ivorien's maintained their shape throughout the match and made our lethal attack very blunt! As talented as Kolo Toure is, I never saw him go past the centre line and he stuck to Kanu like a glue. When Kanu was replaced, he stuck to Aghahowa. He marshalled the defence and we got no joy!
I do not see the sense in playing 3-5-2 when your central defenders are weak, your midfielders are all attack minded and are slow at getting back when they lose the ball, your attackers do not pressure opposing defenders when they lose the ball or defend. In fact, in the whole Nigerian team, about 4 players and the goalie defend! In the Ivorien team, even Drogba always came back to defend.
The simple point is that, the Nigerian team does not know how to defend! To play 3-5-2, the 5 midfielders must always come back to defend and always play behind the ball to protect the back 3. (In the SE midfield, only Obodo and Ayinla defend fairly, the others and TT mostly attack and are not fast to recover once the ball is lost!) Teams like Brazil and England can play this formation as they are physically fit and are disciplined. They are fast to tackle once they lose possession.
Nigeria adopting this formation in my opinion is pure suicide! 4-4-2 is a safer formation.
Talent can only blossom with hard work!
- furiously frank
Do you mind him.....the pot bellied idiots thinks he knows soccer.deanotito wrote:Ayo kinfe, you're begining to make the idiotic comments I knew you for in time past.
First of all, Taribo did not cut out NADA in millan....He became a great defender in Auxere....By milan, he was MADE.Italian teams of Inters calibre do not buy street defenders. So TT can become all he can be in Marseilles. You obviously know very little about Taribo. He owes his career to Gux Roux not any inter coach.
And by the way, we can fill up this thread with names of USELESS european defenders....are we then to say european coaches are pathetic??? Only about 5 premiership teams have good defences....the rest are laughable....so abeg SHARRAP, if you no sabi how to make your point. Mace04 made a point about R.Carlos....READ IT!
Taribo owes his soccer knowledge to Julius Berger and Guy Rioux's Auxere. by the time he got into serie a with Inter and AC he was already a full fledge world class defender with issues. If you need to watch Taribo at his best go back and watch Auxere's Championship league run with MOussa Sabb et al. It was in one of those matches he had about 5 stiches and still run back to the field with blood running down his neck, he played his heart out warding off every opponents flies that dared come near Auxere 18 yard box.
The only noticeable thing he did at Inter was running from way back in his own 18 yard to score his only serie a goal at the other end, close to the goal post!
Well YOBO's defending in SE is 10 times better than his defending at Everton. Guess that shows how clueless David Moyes is. I'm sure you know the number of times that YOBO has single handedly 'GIFTED' opposing teams victory due to his school boy errors.Ayo Akinfe wrote:Enyeama too should have spotted that and reacted quicker. He should have been out of his box sweeping that ball up long before Drogba got anywhere near it.realplayer wrote:As far as I am concerned, the Ivorien goal was as a result of Drogba observing that TT was always missing in the defence as he was too attack minded. He easily drifted to the hole left by TT's absence. All that was needed was a simple long ball over the Nigerian defence and Drogba was 1 on 1 with Enyeama!
TT strolled back to pick the ball from the net.
Yes, there was a lack of communication in the Nigerian defence as Yobo and Enak's should have covered the gaps left by TT and be more watchful of Drogba.
Compare the Nigerian defence and that of the Ivorian's and you will agree the difference was VERY clear. Kolo Toure and the back 4 were compact and most desciplined. They hardly passed the centre line!
The point I am making regarding Babayaro and Udeze is that they are more descipline and groomed defenders than TT. I am not saying they have not been subject to blunders or mistakes. All gefenders make mistakes.
The point here is that, at the level at which TT is, he should be much more technically sound and know how to do basic defending.
Defensively, we were a calamity. Coaches like George Graham, David Moyes, Martin O'Neil and Jose Mouriniho spend hours going through such eventualities with their defence.
Graham used to spend at least half of his time with Seaman, Dixon, Winterburn, Adams and Bould. That was a schoolboy goal to conced and it was clear that the boys did not know what to do and Eguavoen was relying on natural talent to see them through.
This your idea of anything OYINBO is better get as e be!!!!!!!
Perhaps, if Enakharihe and/or Yobo had adopted the same discipline as Kolo Toure, Didier wouldn't have had the time and space he did to score the goal.
Blaming TT for that goal is absolutely ridiculous! The marking assignments were Enaks/Yobo on Drogba/Kalou. Centerbacks typically mark front runners (attackers).
TT (and Ordiah) were to provide attacking / defensive options from the flanks and NOT mark the Ivorien front runners.
Enakharihe simply botched his marking assignment. Period.
Blaming TT for that goal is absolutely ridiculous! The marking assignments were Enaks/Yobo on Drogba/Kalou. Centerbacks typically mark front runners (attackers).
TT (and Ordiah) were to provide attacking / defensive options from the flanks and NOT mark the Ivorien front runners.
Enakharihe simply botched his marking assignment. Period.
realplayer wrote: ...If Eguavoen want to play a flat 4, I would expect TT to play as he was asked and not run around like a headless chicken and play to his strength. See how the Ivorien's maintained their shape throughout the match and made our lethal attack very blunt! As talented as Kolo Toure is, I never saw him go past the centre line and he stuck to Kanu like a glue. When Kanu was replaced, he stuck to Aghahowa. He marshalled the defence and we got no joy!