FT: Zimbabwe 1 vs Nigeria 1

Re: FT: Zimbabwe 1 vs Nigeria 1

maceo4 wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:48 pm
waka-man wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:39 pm
airwolex wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:34 pm I mean our issues are clear, let's start from there.

When confronted with a low block and lots of players behind the ball we are like a deer in headlights. We don't move the ball quickly, and we don't have the players (outside of Moses Simon) that can unlock a defence.

We do however get a lot of set pieces, do we practice that? Do we try a press to make teams make mistakes? Do we just move the ball quickly trying to look for pockets of space? Do we try for counter attacks so thhat the other team isn;t set?

I mean I am not a coach, but these are the things he should be drumming into the minds of the players. They are not Brazil but some of them are playing at the very best leagues and doing well.

I think the coach simply isn't good enough.
Don’t let Maceo catch you saying good things about Simon Moses (even if those good things are plain for everyone to see).
DO NOT try to twist the argument. I never said anything bad about Simon , I simply asked was he flying like you said he would. YOU said Kelechi has no place on this team and that’s been my beef with you. Not about Simon, I never said he doesn’t have a place on the team as he does. My point is SO DOES KELE. That is obvious to anyone with eyes, but YOU said he shouldn’t even be invited. That’s just preposterous and down right stupid based on his continued saving of the teams blushes…but yea try to make it abi it Simon when it’s clear what the issue is, the disrespect and turning a blind eye to Kelly’s positives only to focus on negatives. Every player has negatives be is Simon or Kelly, but it’s about what positives they can bring to the team. Like Kelly with set piece ability and composure in and around the box. His weaknesses are his work rate or defensive ability, but a good coach figures out how to set the team up to take advantage of his positives rather than stupidly saying he’s not needed, yet he keeps saving us…
Folks are clearly sensitive after a crap few games.
If I said Kele should not be invited and that offended you, ndo.
I do think Simon is critical to our team and Kele is not. You have a different opinion which is cool too.
But it’s nothing to write missives about.

waka-man wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 5:07 pm
airwolex wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:34 pm I mean our issues are clear, let's start from there.

When confronted with a low block and lots of players behind the ball we are like a deer in headlights. We don't move the ball quickly, and we don't have the players (outside of Moses Simon) that can unlock a defence.

We do however get a lot of set pieces, do we practice that? Do we try a press to make teams make mistakes? Do we just move the ball quickly trying to look for pockets of space? Do we try for counter attacks so thhat the other team isn;t set?

I mean I am not a coach, but these are the things he should be drumming into the minds of the players. They are not Brazil but some of them are playing at the very best leagues and doing well.

Don’t let Maceo catch you saying good things about Simon Moses (even if those good things are plain for everyone to see).
DO NOT try to twist the argument. I never said anything bad about Simon , I simply asked was he flying like you said he would. YOU said Kelechi has no place on this team and that’s been my beef with you. Not about Simon, I never said he doesn’t have a place on the team as he does. My point is SO DOES KELE. That is obvious to anyone with eyes, but YOU said he shouldn’t even be invited. That’s just preposterous and down right stupid based on his continued saving of the teams blushes…but yea try to make it abi it Simon when it’s clear what the issue is, the disrespect and turning a blind eye to Kelly’s positives only to focus on negatives. Every player has negatives be is Simon or Kelly, but it’s about what positives they can bring to the team. Like Kelly with set piece ability and composure in and around the box. His weaknesses are his work rate or defensive ability, but a good coach figures out how to set the team up to take advantage of his positives rather than stupidly saying he’s not needed, yet he keeps saving us…
I do think Simon is critical to our team and Kele is not. You have a different opinion which is cool too.
But Kelly keeps saving us, so you sound like an enemy of progress saying someone who has been critical in our last 4-5 games is not critical to the team, like what are you even saying? How does that make any sense? But na you know sha…I told you about Kelechis composure, you said he would balloon that chance Taiwo missed, but did you see he only needed one chance to show his class…I don’t get una sef…it is what it is…we make up our minds and ignore any information that could change our preconceived notions…

maceo4 wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 5:11 pm

But Kelly keeps saving us, so you sound like an enemy of progress saying someone who has been critical in our last 4-5 games is not critical to the team, like what are you even saying? How does that make any sense? But na you know sha…I told you about Kelechis composure, you said he would balloon that chance Taiwo missed, but did you see he only needed one chance to show his class…I don’t get una sef…it is what it is…we make up our minds and ignore any information that could change our preconceived notions…
Ok now you’re misrepresenting me. That’s not cool. I said he would either score a spectacular goal or miss it horribly. Why that’s riled you so much I have no idea. I love Nacho but he’s not turned into the reliable player I’d hope he’d be.

I remain convinced: if Osimhen and Boniface are fit, I’d pick Moses before Nacho. If that makes me an enemy of progress to you, so be it.

I didnt watch the game. In fact, I purposefully refused to watch the game as my present location would have required me to cut my sleep short. I absolutely will NO LONGER DO THAT FOR THESE LOT. Thank God I go full 9 hours of sleep and then went to church before I came back to see that many of you are crying. :rotf: :rotf:

Like I told you, you 'gon learn! The problem with most of you is that your lack of football knowledge means that you fail to know what the problem is. And in life, when you do not know the source of your problem, you cant find solutons.

A Loser Cannot Create WInners. Peseiro is a fundamental born LOSER! Someone who has failed everywhere in his career. Someone who got jobs because his famous friend pushed his name forward. A LOSER EXTRAORDINAIRE! Like Belgium, this is the b1tch we want to waste our golden generation on!??? This b1tch who would never be considered by a serious country, thats who we want to waste our chances on? No problem!
Re: Live: Zimbabwe 1 vs Our Nigeria 1

bushboy wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 3:51 pm Iwobi, a midfielder, is giving the pass to a CD? To do what with? Smh.
WOuld you like Osimhen to speak to him? :D

bushboy wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 3:46 pmEyesore.
Would you like Osimhen to clean your eye? :D

bushboy wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 3:47 pm What useless pass did that bushman just play there? Mschewwwww!!
sabb

Post by sabb »

waka-man wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 5:28 pm

Ok now you’re misrepresenting me. That’s not cool. I said he would either score a spectacular goal or miss it horribly. Why that’s riled you so much I have no idea. I love Nacho but he’s not turned into the reliable player I’d hope he’d be.

I remain convinced: if Osimhen and Boniface are fit, I’d pick Moses before Nacho. If that makes me an enemy of progress to you, so be it.
Kele's goal was not spectacular and it was not a horrible miss but a cool pass into the net. Kele has been good for country time and time again and he will only get better, he actually does the basics compared to most if you watch his game in naija colours.
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

lacidi wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 3:59 pm
mcal wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 3:56 pm ...and so many blame coach, abi una wan coach to go inside field and be pushing these players how to position, how to pass, how to trap ball, and so on.

Local based players can't stink this bad, at least.
If it's a naija coach will you say the same? What was your comment when we drew with Ghana?
...yes if it were a naija coach with these uninspiring bunch from abroad I'll say the same.
As per what I said re Ghana match I don't know, don't remember, but likely the same thing.
These "foreigner" (players) do not inspire.
I have seen practices, scrimmages, and both real encounters, today and last week, looks like they are engaged in a workout for fitness.
No fight, no sweat, just 'that'.

...hmm, so Boni-Farce was carrying injury when he played last week, and today?
davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

airwolex wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:01 pm Only watched the second half. There is zero creativity in the team. Part of it is we don't have that many smart players, the second part is that there is no cohesion. Our best moments were between Ajayi, Aribo, Senior Man and Samuel on the right; even that was kinda poor.

Bassey, it pains me to say, is a poor player. Bruno was bad as well. We have so many issues, I don't know where to start, just glad we could draw the game.
I agree with you 100%

Wow! Thus we didn't lose? It's a good result if you ask me, though a victory against Zimbabwe would have been better, considering we couldn't beat
Lesotho in our backyard, but this result is not bad, at all.
Re: Live: Zimbabwe 0 vs Our Nigeria 0

green4life wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 2:24 pm Haha... I saw that coming. Uzoho beat from 40 yards away shot. 1-0
Why is this Uzoho being played? What will it take to finally leave this Uzoho alone? This is beyond irritating, gosh!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 2:24 pm :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: uzoho
Can somebody tell coach Peseiro, or slap him into solving this Uzoho problem - once - and for all?

sabb wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 6:09 pm

Kele's goal was not spectacular and it was not a horrible miss but a cool pass into the net. Kele has been good for country time and time again and he will only get better, he actually does the basics compared to most if you watch his game in naija colours.
You are more balanced sha than a lot of these guys. Their views rarely match reality, but they just keep spewing it regardless. Me I go based off reality and what actually happens during these games and I think any balanced individual would do the same…

bushboy wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 2:30 pm
1naija wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 2:27 pm At this point, even the Israeli league basket is way better than Uzoho.
That was not Uzoho's fault.
Well, whose fault was the cause of the goal, then? I didn't watch the game and I prefer NOT to watch them these days for my own health, else ...

Just saw the finish by Kele! Clinical!
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

These guys should be ashamed of themselves. Useless team useless players useless coach

Useless and despicable coach and team but I'll take the result given the circumstance...time to rapidly go back to the drawing board now and clean house: surely Peseiro is wafting on borrowed time and should be under immense pressure to go. A stopgap manager has to be assigned the job ASAP ahead of the AFCON
spastic

Post by spastic »

txj wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:27 pm
spastic wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:15 pm This will get pushback from the usual FC/LC pundits but I dont think this is a coaching issue at it's core:
1. I don't see great coaching at the national level generally speaking.
2. So, while our coach is not great, he is on par woth all the other below to average managers on the Continent. So at worst we are even at coaching with most of our fellow Africans.

Meaning, if we suck or play poorly (especially the way in which we play poorly) its a talent issue here first an foremost.

I see 3 players I think are average:
Iwobi, Bright and Aina. I see 5 below average in Boniface, Ajayi, Simon, Collins, and Nacho. Everyone else is poor to very poor. I.e. below replacement level. Its hard to be good; talk less great when you have no good players, 3 average players, 5 below average, and everyone else bad.

Coaching cant fix that. Sourcing better technical talent is severely required. Iwobi should be the worst technical midfielder on the team. Not the best and ONLY guy who can pass beyond 5 yards... Thats just pathetic.

How does one then explain their performance at club level? And I'm not talking about the Championship players.

Nothing average about Boniface, Moffi, Lookman, Tella, etc in their clubs.

Even in MF, we have technical players. Are they the level of KDB? Absolutely not!
But the likes of Onyeka, Ndidi, Onyedika, etc can do a top job for you if you have clear ideas about how to play, you pay attention to details, and enforce a high standard. As THEY DO at their clubs!
Again, I have not been watching most of this particular set of players as closely at club level. But as I have long ago noted, an athletic player can excel in a team full of less athletic players who are technically superior to the athlete. So, you put a superior athlete with deficiencies in his game in the midst of 10 less athletic but technically sound players, and the outcome would be better than if you simply had 11 similarly situated technical players.
no no
I have long sensed that we suffer from this problem. We create lots tough no-nonsense-tackling DMs and CBs who are lacking in the finer details, athletic wingers and Big physical specimens for Strikers. But we generally lack that everyday technically and tactically sound guy who isn't special at anything but makes very few mistakes because they a sound in their technical skill and above average in their tactical awareness.

Right now, I only see 2 players who fit that bill. Iwobi and Bright Osayi-Samuel. Aina is borderline too. Everyone else is below technical standards, it seems.

I mean, I couldn't have been the only one who saw, on multiple occasions, an unpressured Nigerian player misplacing passes to a teammate or trying a cross field pass that gets no where close to the intended target. These are not situations where pressure or the opponent's tactics befuddle said players. Both Zimbabwe and Lesotho set up as basic a formation as one could imagine. And our players were just failing at doing basic footballing things well.

eyan wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:16 pm Just saw the goal, that's purely the keeper's fault. From that distance, a keeper should be keeping that out. Uzoho seems to be flat footed.
Yep. I'm surprised people here are saying most keepers would concede that goal. That would have been an easy parry for most good goalkeepers.

Uzoho made it look difficult. It seems more difficult to save when the goalkeeper is poorly positioned and mistimed the shot.

A good goalie would have too much time to parry that ball.

Orion wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 9:51 pm
eyan wrote: Sun Nov 19, 2023 4:16 pm Just saw the goal, that's purely the keeper's fault. From that distance, a keeper should be keeping that out. Uzoho seems to be flat footed.
Yep. I'm surprised people here are saying most keepers would concede that goal. That would have been an easy parry for most good goalkeepers.

Uzoho made it look difficult. It seems more difficult to save when the goalkeeper is poorly positioned and mistimed the shot.

A good goalie would have too much time to parry that ball.
Uzoho don regress in my opinion. Never really concerned him a good GK. No confidence, doesn't inspire confidence....