Nigeria 0 vs Algeria 1 Live!

Re: Nigeria 0 vs Algeria 1 Live!

oscar52 wrote:I like what I saw in Tijani. But am longing for the day a Nigerian will coach the SE again so I can actually enjoy the football again. These days its like watching a DIV 3 European team play.
I thought I was the only one who saw something in Tijani. He looks like a good player.
Yes Tijani made sense. He even got a shot in the 2 mins he played compared to all the mins other forward got.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

Mr Shows wrote:
oscar52 wrote:I like what I saw in Tijani. But am longing for the day a Nigerian will coach the SE again so I can actually enjoy the football again. These days its like watching a DIV 3 European team play.
I thought I was the only one who saw something in Tijani. He looks like a good player.
He has that X Factor, you see at first sight... When you see a baller, you just know after the first touch.
Stop it. Do not go there.
The friendly is played in Austria.

COOKING SPOON wrote:Not a bad game, I can definitely see some positives. Sanusi, Ebuehi and Balogun are in great form. Okoye is a good prospect. But Kelechi needs to get off the nkwobi and gulder
I be thing say na only me see that one with Kelechi. Maybe that is his stature but bobo got to lose some LBS...haba!

olu wrote:To be fair to this team I expected them to be rusty since we haven't played together for almost a year, that being said I did expect us to retain possession better. Our play will improve dramatically when Ndidi and Aribo come back.
The DISJOINTED performance is understandable...
The team has not played in a year, it has several new invitees and only trained a few days.
I guess Algeria had been playing together behind everybody's back.... :tic:

Mr Shows wrote:
He has that X Factor, you see at first sight... When you see a baller, you just know after the first touch.
Definitely looked a decent player, though I was hoping Ejuke would have been tried there to run at a tiring Algerian defense.

To be honest both teams were poor, Algeria scored from some fortuitous rebound that came from a corner kick and wasn't cleared properly by our defense... aside from that I can't think of our goal keeper making any decent save all game.

Tobi17 wrote:To be honest both teams were poor, Algeria scored from some fortuitous rebound that came from a corner kick and wasn't cleared properly by our defense... aside from that I can't think of our goal keeper making any decent save all game.
He had a good save from a scorcher of a freekick as well, and also a chip/cross from the left handside. he had a good game and looked pretty assured in corners and free kicks.

I am not stressing. Good work out. They were not embarrassed, missing 5 key players including our best two. Good new additions and my God the return of Ebuehi brings tears of joy. We will be ready for whatever comes

1naija wrote:The real story of the game is not the scoreline, but that Nigeria did not have a single shot on goal.
Wait for Damunk to come and 'debunk' you with some weird facts that somehow show we were the better team lol...
Hey, Fake News.

Let me debunk your diss.
'Zero Shots On Target' Is a Serious Discussion Point
That was me.

You a Trumpet by any chance?
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

kawawa wrote:I am not stressing. Good work out. They were not embarrassed, missing 5 key players including our best two. Good new additions and my God the return of Ebuehi brings tears of joy. We will be ready for whatever comes
I def was not expecting him to be there yet.
That boy is good.

Tobi17 wrote:To be honest both teams were poor, Algeria scored from some fortuitous rebound that came from a corner kick and wasn't cleared properly by our defense... aside from that I can't think of our goal keeper making any decent save all game.
He had a good save from a scorcher of a freekick as well, and also a chip/cross from the left handside. he had a good game and looked pretty assured in corners and free kicks.
No I meant how many point blank saves did Maduka even make all game? csuse from the knee-jerk reactions here you would think the Algerians tore us open a million times and over.

olu wrote:To be fair to this team I expected them to be rusty since we haven't played together for almost a year, that being said I did expect us to retain possession better. Our play will improve dramatically when Ndidi and Aribo come back.
The team has not played in a year, it has several new invitees and only trained a few days.
Baba Algeria won but it wasn't like they played well.

Robby na you be this? :shock:

Algeria was also DISJOINTED...
Even their goal was DISJOINTED! :lol:

Algeria passed the eye test, Nigeria did not.

yes our defence was pretty sound tbh.

Both fullbacks seem like an upgrade.

However Algeria was far superior to us in fitness, pressing game, and passing, off ball runs. Unless it was just the anxiety of watching live. I will watch again with a calm head.

But they did play better than us overall. So we shouldn’t be using time off as an excuse as if it only affects us. Rustiness is understood but some of our boys didn’t look like NT level players.

for what its worth this is how the Algerians rated their players, on their website

Alexandre Oukidja (6.5)
Reda Halaimia (6.5)
Mehdi Tahrat (6)
Aïssa Mandi (7)
Ramy Bensebaini (7.5)
Haris Belkebla (6)
Mehdi Abeid (6.5)
Farid Boulaya (7)
Said Benrahma (6.5)
Andy Delort (5.5)
Riyad Mahrez (5)

For Mahrez and Delort (who is tearing up ligue 1) to get 5s and Benrahma to get a 6.5 shows me our defence did well.

Also their midfield was completely experimental like ours, with not even one regular starter. They were missing more starters overall than we were.

Fact not feelings!

maceo4 wrote:Algeria looks a much better more coordinated team, we huffed and puffed but the better team won....again...

Yea its clear that they have been together for a while. They built up play better than we did. Our goal keeper is pretty good.

When was their coach appointed and when was our coach appointed?

maceo4 wrote:Algeria looks a much better more coordinated team, we huffed and puffed but the better team won....again...

Yea its clear that they have been together for a while. They built up play better than we did. Our goal keeper is pretty good.
Rohr been there 4 years mind you, longer than this Algerian coach has been there...just saying

:taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Lolly wrote:
The defensive coach and his team scored 12 goals in their six WC qualifying matches (4 more than the team that came 2nd) in the group that had Zambia, Algeria and Cameroon.

Our main problem today compared to the WC team is the lack of QUALITY in our midfield.
How many goals did we concede in Afcon?
Scored 9, conceded 7. Positive GD.
Lolly, do you know the last time SE conceded 7 goals in AfCON?

It's time to ditch that green jersey. I'm not superstitious or making excuses for Rohr but we've lost too many games with that dark green. It's beginning to stretch beyond just pure coincidence.

Could there be a logical reason? Maybe, but we don't even need to know. Just change it. Our greens were never that dark anyway.