U20: Nigeria 5 Guatemala0FT(EdafeX2, Ajagun,Kayode,Musa)

Re: U20: Nigeria 5 Guatemala 0 2H(EdafeX2, Ajagun, Kayode,Musa)

maceo4 wrote: Gotti, it hadn't happened in the 1st minute, it hadn't happened in over 80 something minutes, yet the coach continued riding his luck hoping nothing will happen until it did. He should have made subs earlier to rest players esp someone like Azeez who missed most of the training camp. And it didn't appear like a knee injury to me, he looked to be holding his hammy while being dragged off by the physio.
MACE:
My point was limited to the manner of injury (and it was Egbedi who was clutching his hammy), which had nothing to do with its timing...

The issue of substitution is a different matter (for the record, I think he should have), but he has spoken about that -- the team had some injuries going into the game, so he apparently felt he had limited options and needed to get the most of the players fielded.

http://www.fifa.com/u20worldcup/matches ... uotes.html
John Obuh, Nigeria coach
"Guatemala are a good side, but with the kind of opportunities we had, we needed to score. My intention was to play with new players since we had two injured in the attack and one in the midfield and luckily for us, three of our defenders who were previously injured had a good game. I planned on keeping those changes until the end depending on the players' situation, but I'm sure that those injured players should be ready for the next match."

Gooner1
Re: U20: Nigeria 5 Guatemala0FT(EdafeX2, Ajagun,Kayode,Musa)

Post by Gooner1 »

This has to be the best Eagles performance I have seen in a long time bar none.

Everything was there:

Pressing the ball
team cohesion
midfied dominance
speed
strength
Defence (better than what I saw @ the Emirates)

Anytime a player was thought to be in danger, another teammate would make himself available

Some improvements still need to be addressed
The coach, when 3 or 4 nil up should rest his most effective players, not be forced to make changes when these players are pulling up left right and centre.

I watched the game via Eurosport........man the commentary was one of the best :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

"Nigeria are playing like a heavyweight boxer, looking to knockout his opponent in the first 15 seconds"
"Can you imagine their coach trying to explain the tactic that sometimes you need to go backwards to go forward? These players would look at you with bemusement!!!!!!"
"The wingers really should not be here, they should be on the Olympic relay team"
"I could watch Nigeria play like this for the next 6 hours.....no not really @ some point I would rather like to go home and relax" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Dodo wrote:What effing rubbish, a game that is 5 nil up is won and there is nothing more to learn, if you put in sone players that are pushing for starting spots, you get options, you need options from the bench, you don't find out about your options by playing them for 2 minutes or leaving them on the bench, team gelling is done in just one game
Azeez banged his knee which could just as well have happened in the 1st minute...
yeah Gotti, but it didnt happen in the first minute, i'm not saying that it wouldnt have happened if he had taken him out, i just felt that he needed to make changes, no one in particular, to protect his players and also to give some others a run and maybe discover one or two options from the bench but he seems to have explained the situation now and the game is done, so we move on

Gooner1 wrote:This has to be the best Eagles performance I have seen in a long time bar none.

Everything was there:

Pressing the ball
team cohesion
midfied dominance
speed
strength
Defence (better than what I saw @ the Emirates)

Anytime a player was thought to be in danger, another teammate would make himself available

Some improvements still need to be addressed
The coach, when 3 or 4 nil up should rest his most effective players, not be forced to make changes when these players are pulling up left right and centre.

I watched the game via Eurosport........man the commentary was one of the best :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

"Nigeria are playing like a heavyweight boxer, looking to knockout his opponent in the first 15 seconds"
"Can you imagine their coach trying to explain the tactic that sometimes you need to go backwards to go forward? These players would look at you with bemusement!!!!!!"
"The wingers really should not be here, they should be on the Olympic relay team"
"I could watch Nigeria play like this for the next 6 hours.....no not really @ some point I would rather like to go home and relax" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Totally agree...........Wenger still fuming.

Re: U20 WC Nigeria vs Guatemala 345 ET

bolaji wrote:Africa has been marginalized by the network stations in this U-20 Tournament. The spanish channels are showing only spanish teams and ESPNU is doing the same.
I cry for Africa. :atc:
Schillachi wrote:It seems this will not be shown on TV.. They are all showing Costa Rica vs Spain instead...
Do you mean Spanish speaking teams because if so Nigeria are playing Gutemala & I believe that speak Spanish.

TXJ, Itotally agree with ur comments regarding Musa......he has got everything and he has to take on his man more and not look to pass.....esp outside the box at this early age. We have been drilling that into Walcott for ages.......

when u get to ur mid-20's, looking for the pass is easy. he should take on his man, get in the box and find a teammate like he did yesterday twice......and when the opportunity presents its self try and score... THE BOY HAS NO CELLING, HE CAN DO WHATEVER HE WANTS TO DO.......

On the team, the Daniel kid was excellent so was Azeez but the defence was all over the place.......they have to gell and quick.

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

I'm a bit worried about Musa, because he has been constantly playing ball, and I don't want him to 'burn out'. He hasn't even started for his Dutch club yet.

The NFF should ease off him after this tournament
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
chendosplastic

Post by chendosplastic »

txj wrote:Maybe maybe not. But thats mos def what happens when u do not protect ur key players after a game is won...esp one whose conditioning is not at par with the rest of the team...

Dodo wrote:What effing rubbish, a game that is 5 nil up is won and there is nothing more to learn, if you put in sone players that are pushing for starting spots, you get options, you need options from the bench, you don't find out about your options by playing them for 2 minutes or leaving them on the bench, team gelling is done in just one game
Azeez banged his knee which could just as well have happened in the 1st minute...
Like USSR did substitute Oleg Salenko when they were 4-0 up against Nigeria in Damman, or Brazil did Ronaldo when they were 3-1 up against us in Atlanta.
A game is over only after the last whistle is gone. The firat game of a tourney is a very important one. Friendlies are for trying out players/formations. Let's leave it to Obuh.
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.

why is the gk trying to dribble in the last pic which Dodo posted?

Dr Cristao wrote:why is the gk trying to dribble in the last pic which Dodo posted?

the last three pics are training pictures, though the gk did have a dribble during the game

cyrilndo

Post by cyrilndo »

Be it U20 or U21 i got to say :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
" The best way to have a fair judgement on anything is to imagine yourself sitting somewhere in space watching planet earth with the beings that inhabit it, especially those who call themselves homo sapiens. You have no nationality or tribe, you are not a fan of Arsenal, Barca, Inter Milan, Manchester United etc. You won't see a booty or huge boobs if they walk pass you. Money is like tissue to you. what is your opinion? "

This post has been made by camex whom I have ignored.
oyek

Post by oyek »

Highlights from the game
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

oyek wrote:Highlights from the game
...the 5goals were a joy to watch again and again and again. But the opposition were too kiddish in all markings, so blame their coach.
Player

Post by Player »

Kayode Olarenwaju is a baller, give him some time to find his groove and you will see the star in him, look at Chrisantus, he was banging in the goals left right and center, but what happened, you guys should just take it easy sha...
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."
spastic

Post by spastic »

Dodo wrote:Image
No 6 certainly has no Ghana blood in him :D
spastic

Post by spastic »

Player wrote:Kayode Olarenwaju is a baller, give him some time to find his groove and you will see the star in him, look at Chrisantus, he was banging in the goals left right and center, but what happened, you guys should just take it easy sha...
I don't think the second part of your statement supports the first :?
Player

Post by Player »

spastic wrote:
Player wrote:Kayode Olarenwaju is a baller, give him some time to find his groove and you will see the star in him, look at Chrisantus, he was banging in the goals left right and center, but what happened, you guys should just take it easy sha...
I don't think the second part of your statement supports the first :?
What do you mean ? All i am trying to say that we should not be quick to bash a player, Kayode reminds me of Ideye, the potnetial is there, and with good coaching we should see positive results...
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."
KB

Post by KB »

oyek wrote:Highlights from the game
...the 5goals were a joy to watch again and again and again. But the opposition were too kiddish in all markings, so blame their coach.
Fantastic! :thumbs:
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3
Re: U20 WC: Nigeria 1 Guatemala 0 first half

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:3-2 naija. na me tok am.
what a clown :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Re: U20 WC: Nigeria 1 Guatemala 0 first half

bouncino wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:3-2 naija. na me tok am.
5 - 0 you mean
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Watching Egypt v Panama, Egypt eking out a single goal victory. Tidy football by the young pharaohs but they are lightweight.

The commentators have shrined the FE from start to finish of this game. According to them we are the team to beat alongside Colombia from what they've seen so far. Cant stop gushing about our pace and power and directness.