Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) FT

ugly boy
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (1-1) FT

Post by ugly boy »

Lolly wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 11:30 pm
fabio wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 10:28 pm The two players on the pitch whose finishing were piss poor, were the two players who came very late to camp. It was quite obvious.
And they were the same ones who created chances for themselves and others.

I see how we are trying to shift the blame away from the one who selected the lopsided starting eleven.
Gbam

ugly boy wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 11:43 pm Finidi is a criminal. He invited injured players so he can replace them with local player
He starts foreign players who are clubless like Ihenacho, Ndidi while sitting ballers like Boniface on the bench. No wonder Nathan excused himself. Finidi was installed by the SPIVs in NFF
We are all frustrated by the results, but there are a lot of false allegations in your statement.

I stand corrected on Iheanacho being clubless. He has been released by Leicester, which is not surprising. He should take a breather from the Natioinal team and sort his career out. The National team is no rehabilitation centre, and he has done little over the past year to show that he currently belongs.

No evidence to suggest that Finidi has any criminal intent. He clearly believes in players like Tanimu, who did not have a bad game, but I felt he struggled in the 2nd half and we have better options.

He is new on the job, and his admin needs to be better and not totally reliant on the NFF. We never know though, he may have spoken to some players who assured him of their fitness, even if the reports stated otherwise (eg Chukwueze).

Finidi was a world class player in his time, and he has sacrificed for Nigeria. He has paid his dues as a coach, and if Rijkaard can be appointed as a rookie coach for Holland, Finidi is more than qualified for the SE. He won the league with Enyimba.

I think he messed up with the friendlies, and some players coming into their prime were upset. He needs to be humble, and do what Onigbinde did not do with him and Oliseh in 2002. Tella's actions were premature, especially given the role Dele Bashiru played today, but the coach needs to be the adult and pull these kids closer.

First we need to beat Benin. No ifs or buts.

Start the best players, make sure you have the best 27 in camp going forward. It is OK to call exceptional home based players if they meet a need, but we don't want a repeat of going to the World Cup with Babatunde, Uchebo, Nwofor and Uzuoenyi.

As much as I love the big boss, these guys went to the 2014 WC over Brown Ideye and Obafemi Martins. Even Osaze was a late addition.

It is one thing to prove a point, it is another thing to self harm.
Last edited by truetalk on Sat Jun 08, 2024 3:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

ugly boy wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 11:43 pm Finidi is a criminal. He invited injured players so he can replace them with local player
He starts foreign players who are clubless like Ihenacho, Ndidi while sitting ballers like Boniface on the bench. No wonder Nathan excused himself. Finidi was installed by the SPIVs in NFF
Why are grown men comfortable at denigrating someone?

I pray you are never in a position where one accuses you of criminality simply because they don't agree with you.

This is very unfortunate.

Cally wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 10:26 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 10:22 pm
truetalk wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 10:12 pm
Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 10:09 pm
truetalk wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 9:40 pm
fabio wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 9:35 pm Alhassan Yusuf was very good today, when he came in.
Yes he was. I was nervous because he has made costly mistakes in the past, but he showed up today.
He made one mistake.
A blindside tackle at the AFCON. A tackle that would have been avoided if a teammate let him know that there was a man at his blindside.

If we are to win games on a consistent basis, we need mobile midfielders who can tackle and release ball quickly. Guinea exposed this... but we shocked it off to it being a friendly.
In Alhassan he brings energy. He is not afraid to show for the ball, and he is capable of threading a pass.
I also like that he recognizes who should receive the ball immediately.

Any notion of Wing-Play by Finidi should be DEAD! He needs to find the midfield pairing and alignment that works.
Chairman, it was more than one mistake O!

Watch the opening match against EG again. Yes, the match everyone hailed him for. Even in the AFCON final when he came on, he made costly mistakes, but that game get as e be for everyone.

Like I said, he was good today, but you cannot afford him and Iwobi on the pitch.

Two midfielders that can't score or assist at a reasonable level.

Ndidi, Onyedika, Onyeka and Dele =-Bashiru look the part.
My Oga, maybe I don drink Alhassan koolaid but I didn't see the mistakes you speak about.

I also don't agree with you regarding Iwobi. He was one of the few players that was willing to move the ball quickly and pass to an open man. Did you see the number of times Osayi ran anticipating a pass from Lookman only for Lookman to overlook him and keep the ball? Did you also see the number of times when Alhassan passed the ball with pace and moved it about without dwelling on the ball?
The two blackholes today were Lookman and Iheanacho. E get one pass he was supposed to make and he didn't make it and I begin wonder what in the world is he still doing on the pitch.

Anyway, I am biased. I like certain type of players... guys that are quick thinkers. Pass the ball... don't dwell on it. Present yourself for the pass... make runs...

The good thing is that we have players who can do those things... the only thing is that they don't get to start and play together.
Spot on!
Sadly, not everyone sees the game they way you see it. There's a time to dribble and shine but generally, I love players that do the simple things well with consistency because they simplify the game for their team and it helps the team achieve their objectives. Iwobi is that type of player as are Ndidi, Yusuf and Onyedika to mention a few. If we get our midfield mix right, our hitmen upfront will be more effective in scoring for us and we will control games better. Iwobi was one of our best players today.

Cellular wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 12:14 am
Why are grown men comfortable at denigrating someone?

I pray you are never in a position where one accuses you of criminality simply because they don't agree with you.

This is very unfortunate.
Unfortunate, indeed. However, it is the way of the world today. People throw baseless accusations left, right, and center!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I thought you have strikers and do not need Osimhen. How did you strikers do today? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

truetalk wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 12:08 am

Iheanacho is not clubless. He was mostly on the bench for Leicester and tries to play big man football for the Eagles, but he is not clubless.

Why are you telling lies? This is the easiest thing to check online. Iheanacho was released from Leicester! FACTUALLY, HE IS CLUBLESS!!

danfo driver wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 2:10 am

Iheanacho is not clubless. He was mostly on the bench for Leicester and tries to play big man football for the Eagles, but he is not clubless.

Why are you telling lies? This is the easiest thing to check online. Iheanacho was released from Leicester! FACTUALLY, HE IS CLUBLESS!!
Mmmehhhhhhh!!

Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

https://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/spor ... er-9330921

So Leicester released a statement today announcing Iheanacho's departure, and you are jumping all over the place like a tantrum throwing teenager.

You said you won't bother, yet you are all over the forum spewing trash, calling the people of the country idiotic?
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=317433

I would not invite Iheanacho to the National team and he certainly should not be starting, but he was not clubless when he was invited, and the news of his departure from leicester is just hitting the air today.

You're not even worth the time and effort. KingLoku is back and you will soon cross his path.

truetalk wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 3:27 am

https://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/spor ... er-9330921

So Leicester released a statement today announcing Iheanacho's departure, and you are jumping all over the place like a tantrum throwing teenager.

You said you won't bother, yet you are all over the forum spewing trash, calling the people of the country idiotic?
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=317433

I would not invite Iheanacho to the National team and he certainly should not be starting, but he was not clubless when he was invited, and the news of his departure from leicester is just hitting the air today.

You're not even worth the time and effort. KingLoku is back and you will soon cross his path.
you lied! And that is a fact. Simple as that. Iheanacho is a clubless player, and that is a fact.

And let me make this very clear, you can NOT threaten me! unlike some people here, this place is not important to me. You think because you are a moderator of a forum that doesnt put food on my table you can make threats because I told you the truth -- YOU LIED!?? :lol: :lol: Please dont make me laugh! If you like ban me, I will close Cybereagle and move on as if I never knew this place existed. I have been looking for a way to close this chapter, actually.

LOL @ threats because I told you that you lied! Dude, YOU LIED! THAT IS A FACT, do your worst! hiss

"you will soon cross his path" yen yen yen! :lol: :lol: Go and put moderator on your CV nah... and see how many job interviews you get. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Last edited by danfo driver on Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

uhmm.. what are you talking about? Everyone and their granny knew that Iheanacho will become clubless on May 31, 2024 - days before the match. Everyone knew that Iheanacho had been a Div 2 benchwarmer the whole season. What are you talking about?

Neither are you. Thats why I have probably never had any conversations with you here. Only reason I wasted my breath to respond to your post is because YOU LIED! and I wont have that.
COOKING SPOON
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (WCQ) 2pm CT

Post by COOKING SPOON »

[tweet][/tweet]
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon

danfo driver wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:08 am

uhmm.. what are you talking about? Everyone and their granny knew that Iheanacho will become clubless on May 31, 2024 - days before the match. Everyone knew that Iheanacho had been a Div 2 benchwarmer the whole season. What are you talking about?

Neither are you. Thats why I have probably never had any conversations with you here. Only reason I wasted my breath to respond to your post is because YOU LIED! and I wont have that.
Mission accomplished. You now have your conversation.

Do you even know what a threat is? Learn to state your contractions properly Junior. Where are Grammar Patrol and TFCO when you need them.

So Iheanacho was clubless when he was invited, and you're talking about facts and lies?
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

[tweet][/tweet]
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

FINIDI MUST GO
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
Re: Nigeria vs South Africa (WCQ) 2pm CT

COOKING SPOON wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:08 am [tweet][/tweet]
Hopefully, this is a case of the Manager defending a player in public, which is the right thing to do.

It should be obvious to Finidi that the press, the fans and others feel that starting Onuachu was wrong.

He should not make that mistake against Benin.

You go first.
COOKING SPOON wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:31 am FINIDI MUST GO

1naija wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 5:20 am You go first.
COOKING SPOON wrote: Sat Jun 08, 2024 4:31 am FINIDI MUST GO

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
mutiman

Post by mutiman »

fabio wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 10:28 pm The two players on the pitch whose finishing were piss poor, were the two players who came very late to camp. It was quite obvious.
Iwobi had a good game, especially in the second half. Lookman was not as effective as expected. He slowed down the game
many a time and missed quite a few opportunities to put Iwobi or Bassey clear on the left in both halfs.
Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Cellular wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 10:03 pm
Showboy wrote: Fri Jun 07, 2024 9:45 pm You guys need to pipe down with this person must play blabla.

Do you see them in training? Moffi came on and ..?

Onyedika came on and did you see the ball from him that almost cost us?

Abeg di coach dey dia and he will live or die by his selection.

It might have been Chief Celly that said - we need to show we can win games without Osimhen - end of!
Na me o.
We have yet to show we are capable of winning a competitive game without him.
All dem pipu way dey jealous am.
E no dey field.
Oya, show us why you deserve to be in the same conversation.
NOTHING!
I salute! 🫡

The thing tire me.

Finidi sees them in training and he plays whoever he wants based on his system and whatever he’s trying to achieve but we sit here and say play him blabla. 😡

If Finidi fails or not - he’s got to do it on his own terms.
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

I just rewatched the game and we were not as bad as it looked watching it live.

Our best player was Iwobi, closely followed by Lookman. Yes, the same Lookman who appeared selfish. He created opportunities for others and himself.

All the others played well with the exception of Iheanacho who was really minus one for us.

We looked a bit disjointed in the first half, obviously trying to adjust to the system especially with our full backs playing out of position. Also, Bashiru though very neat on the ball does not appear to have the energy for the central midfield position. Alhassan on the other hand did better when he came on. But Bashiru would do better playing him further up field.

Ndidi does not move around quick enough. He has really slowed down. I would have preferred Onyeka if he was fit.

Tanimu has potential and playing in a stronger league would help him. His positioning let him down sometimes but overall he had a good game considering he was played out of position. The coach made the right decision playing him instead of Awaziem if he wasn’t injured.

My ratings

Nwabali - 6 (Would have scored him higher but for his wasteful long balls)
Taminu - 6
Ajayi - 7
Bassey - 6
Osayi - 7
Iwobi - 8
Ndidi - 6
Bashiru - 6
Iheanacho - 4
Onuachu - 4
Lookman - 7.5

Subs
Alhassan - 7
Chukeueze - 6
Moffi - 5
Onyedika - 5

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."