Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (0-1 ) Ekong FT
Re: Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (0-1 ) Ekong FT
Folks, this is the best game I have seen the SE play in an very, very, long time. The defense was one area of concern for me going into this game. That was one hell of a defensive line. Congratulations to the boys
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
After our goal, we conceded half pitch in territory - very disturbing move. No build up play - we had several chances on the counter but our guys chose hero_ball over passing to someone else.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
The irony of our tournament is that our much heralded attack might be our biggest disappointment while our vilified defence will carry us through the murky waters...either way I'm here for this journey.
Nwabili is a REVELATION.
I can't remember the last time if ever I saw the se defend better than this.
Remember Nigeria is NOT good at holding onto such leads traditionally. Especially 9 minute injury time.
A typical SE side would have conceded.
Remember Nigeria is NOT good at holding onto such leads traditionally. Especially 9 minute injury time.
A typical SE side would have conceded.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Time to read this game thread from page three, I enjoyed this match a whole deal . My goodness Nwabali is the real deal, he has presence in the goal and knows how to organize the back line. We've finally stummbled on to something here
Old boy na you be this?waka-man wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:53 pm Amazing scenes here at the stadium. This means so much to these guys. They’ve been insulted and abused and people lost faith in them. But they dug into and delivered the goods on the biggest stage. With the possible exception of Zaudu, everyone had one of their best games in the GWG.
Super proud.

Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
- maceo4
Abi…he gets the praise for how his team performed today, first win against a decent team…
- green4life
Meaning, please?theDunamis wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:55 pm Osimhen just won Man of the Match the very same way Messi won the last Ballon d'Or.

well done super eagles

- airwolex
Defending was great but boy, these attackers do not know what to do on a break.
- maceo4
The bobo confident no be small and matches it with decisive play. Loving it! I fear well well when he sat down like he was injured!Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:59 pm Time to read this game thread from page three, I enjoyed this match a whole deal . My goodness Nwabali is the real deal, he has presence in the goal and knows how to organize the back line. We've finally stummbled on to something here
green4life wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:00 pmWe were set up nicely. With a little better execution, the end result would've never been in doubt. It was that comfortable.
Agreed. Our players need to commit fully to the team game. Just pass the ball- use the best placed option...
Should have buried them on the counter...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
- green4life
We were always set up to counter attack from the opening whistle so there was always going to be zero pretense on our defensive intent once we scored. The set up was fine. It's the execution on the counter that was lacking.
- SylverEagles
- Site Admin
The last two times we won the cup, we beat Ivory Coast on the way.
Just saying...
I have been asking the question of those that have been calling for the coach to drop Ajayi, Ekong for Awaziem, for what exactly? Our defence has not been a worry for me. It has been the midfield linking up with the attack. And today just revealed why we haven't been winning matches.SylverEagles wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:54 pm So a much maligned defence is keeping us competitive while the more vaunted attack is missing chances and maiming birds!!!
Well done for the defenders!!
We get into good positions either on the break or near the opponents box, and then a poor pass or selfish play just kills everything
Aina, Ekong, Ajayi, Bassey and even Zaidu did a fantastic job today. And I must add Onyeka was a beast just in front of them.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Really? wait till something bad happens to the team and they will be calling for Peseiro's head again

pics bro make we see wetin u dey yarnwaka-man wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:53 pm Amazing scenes here at the stadium. This means so much to these guys. They’ve been insulted and abused and people lost faith in them. But they dug into and delivered the goods on the biggest stage. With the possible exception of Zaudu, everyone had one of their best games in the GWG.
Super proud.

To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
For those that missed the game will be replayed 6pm on BEinsports
Maybe it will happen again and we will take itSylverEagles wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:03 pm The last two times we won the cup, we beat Ivory Coast on the way.
Just saying...
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Correct guy!Bigpokey24 wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 8:07 pm For those that missed the game will be replayed 6pm on BEinsports

Nigerians ke, the front 3 players really need to start bring each other into the game. The glory hunting needs to stopSleaky72 wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:59 pmPlease tell them.SylverEagles wrote: ↑Thu Jan 18, 2024 7:54 pm So a much maligned defence is keeping us competitive while the more vaunted attack is missing chances and maiming birds!!!
Well done for the defenders!!
The coach had a tactical master plan.
If he had more clinical players to execute his
system it would have been easily two or three zip.
But I’ll take the W.
Hopefully Nigerians become less knee jerk and unnecessarily emotional and aggressive
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)