Lars Largerback asked to stay on "KoC"
Re: Lars Largerback asked to stay on "KoC"
Any sensible manager taking the job when he did would have played them. Why? Time was too short to make any drastic changes from the WCQ and ACN side. We also had injuries or lack of fitness issues to Apam, Obi and Ike Uche. These were three key players available to him. Give him more time and he'll find sharper strikers.realtrouble wrote:You are mad. You don't need more than one week to realise that Yak is finished , Yobo is better as a right bak , Ayinla is better than Haruna and Afolabi is not a right back.Orion wrote:Lagerback has learnt a lot about the team in this short period of intense preparations for the WC and actual competitive games and is the best manager to take the team forward. We could see improvements in the team compared to our nations cup run where things were just going backwards. I doubt he'll stay tho. Won't be surprised if he gets a better paying job offer before the end of his holiday.
I didn't see any improvement in this team.
...oyinbo na oyinbo u don't wan him shout like a black man, abi?platinum wrote:When I read some of the responses to this thread, I start to think, "Hmm maybe we deserve every ounce of ill that plagues us". How can people be so myopic???????????
When it was Amodu, they said he never shouted or spoke during games(same with Onigbinde), I have not seen ONE thread talking about this guy's 'quietness'.
I'll address his position from strictly a sporting perspective because frankly, trying to address everything else is going to make me throw up in disgust.
His philosophies are not in line with ours. We play a pressing game, we like possession, we like to attack. He is opposite of all that. On that basis alone, he is unfit for the job. He showed thru our 2 games that he's unwilling to bend his ways to merge with ours, it wasnt until late late in the day that he opened up all cylinders. If we go with this dude, we'll be out of ANC/WC reckoning with 2/3 games to go.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
[1] We have all seen what Milo has achieved with Ghana
[2] Milo was a nobody before he went to Ghana
[3] Likewise, Westerhoff was a nobody before he went to Nigeria
[4] Nobody I have heard of disputes Lagerback's technical know-how
[5] I believe that given time, he will come good
[6] My only beef with Lagerback is his insistence on 4-4-2. Once he agrees to drop this, he should be awarded a fresh contract
[7] At this level, it is small things like not giving away silly free kicks, taking your chances, not turning your back on shots, throwing your body in the way of goal-bound shots, keeping possession in vital areas, etc that make the difference between victory and failure
[8] Many of Lagerback's selections were baffling but I am giving him the benefit of the doubt that he does not know the players yet
[9] Now that he knows the players, I hope he does better and does not invite the likes of Kaita or Afolabi within 200 miles of the team again
[10] Given time, I see no reason why Lagerback cannot succeed with this team
[6] My only beef with Lagerback is his insistence on 4-4-2. Once he agrees to drop this, he should be awarded a fresh contract
[7] At this level, it is small things like not giving away silly free kicks, taking your chances, not turning your back on shots, throwing your body in the way of goal-bound shots, keeping possession in vital areas, etc that make the difference between victory and failure
[8] Many of Lagerback's selections were baffling but I am giving him the benefit of the doubt that he does not know the players yet
[9] Now that he knows the players, I hope he does better and does not invite the likes of Kaita or Afolabi within 200 miles of the team again
- phantomjournalist
He'll only end up getting the axe right before the next World Cup anyway.
Blue is the color.
%$#@^& moron.Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
- cchinukw
But you were the one saying years ago that the national team is no place for trainees. By the way Milo and Westerhoff only succeeded in a unique set of circumstances chief of which was purposefulness of the national FAs in both instances than coaching ability per se. Question to you is if you are willing to give foreign nobodies a shot at coaching our national team why not extend that same benefit of the doubt to proven coaches like Egu and Siasia? Its not brain surgery is it?Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] We have all seen what Milo has achieved with Ghana
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Nigerians aren't reasonable. Hiring and firing is going to kill the Super Eagles and that's what they don't understand. How long did it take Westerhof to get it right? I'm not a fan of Lagerback per se but let's just give him 2 years to see what he can do and if he doesn't perform we should fire him.tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
Please he couldn't have done much under the circumstances.
If he stays on....performance will improve exponentially.
We need continuity.
BTW>.....We paid for that holiday.![]()
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Mr. Piffington wrote:Nigerians aren't reasonable. Hiring and firing is going to kill the Super Eagles and that's what they don't understand. How long did it take Westerhof to get it right? I'm not a fan of Lagerback per se but let's just give him 2 years to see what he can do and if he doesn't perform we should fire him.tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
We need continuity.
Kpom!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
But you were the one saying years ago that the national team is no place for trainees. By the way Milo and Westerhoff only succeeded in a unique set of circumstances chief of which was purposefulness of the national FAs in both instances than coaching ability per se. Question to you is if you are willing to give foreign nobodies a shot at coaching our national team why not extend that same benefit of the doubt to proven coaches like Egu and Siasia? Its not brain surgery is it?

What purposefulness did our NFA show when Westerhoff was in charge? Westerhoff succeeded because he was single-minded. This is what we want from Lagerback. Someone prepared to go straight to Goodluck if the NFF are talking nonsense.
For perhaps the first time in over 10 years, I have to say I agree with Gotti. The return on investment in these FCs is near or equal to ZERO.Gotti wrote:So we are recruiting for "demeanor"?!ANC wrote:It's a wonderful idea. NFA learning from mistakes after all. I just like his demeanor, he is the right man for the job. Now they should allow kanu or Finidi or Ikpeba to work under him.
Africans! That's why your forefathers got sold for trinkets.![]()
Personally, I don't believe we can do any worse than largerback or Berti if we put a fraction of the millions squandered on Largerback behind a combo of Siaisia/Oliseh/Kanu.
Let's build from the bottom up, start with a playing style anchored on solid formations and go from there. Let's emulate the German example and go with a more mobile formation where every single player is confident on the ball and is not afraid to take risks.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."
Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."
Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
Kpom to 20th power.I swear people like youstill instill some positive hopes for Nigeria. The only problem is the myopic diabiolical few tend to impose the ill conceived will on the masses. You support your assertions with superior facts. Pathological liars like Ayo will fabricate prevarications to confuse the rest of us. May the Almighty increase your wisdom and keeping preaching the truth.Some nincoompoops here in this forum are advocating for incompetent failed coaches like Amodu.JMObi wrote:Lars Lagerback is an average european coach with a computer. He lacks technical and tactical ability. He lacks motivational ability. He lacks the ability to scout. So what exactly is he being paid 1.5 million for? There are many coaches that would have identified the weaknesses a lot quicker and fixed it in a short period of time like:
- Guus Hiddink
- Carlo Ancelotti
- Dunga
What Nigeria needs now is to start from scratch and rebuild because the foundation is crumbling and we need to discover fresh blood. The ideal coach for that is Siasia because he did that for the WYC AND for the Olympics.
Siasia also is someone who has the force of will to get players to play exactly as he wants them to. He blasted the Olympics team in 2008 after their first two miserable games and you saw greatness. He blasted that rubbish U20 team in Egypt and they played their best game against Germany in the quarters.
Siasia is the obvious choice but in Nigeria, people would rather brainlessly attempt the impossible or the illogical so make I siddon and look.
Let SiaSia or Oliseh handle the team....my preference is Oliseh.....he has so much up-to-date-knowledge
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
This is the BEST time to sack any coach. For a coach that could not do better than Onigbinde, he should be SACKED and made to forfeit his remaining salary.Mr. Piffington wrote:Nigerians aren't reasonable. Hiring and firing is going to kill the Super Eagles and that's what they don't understand. How long did it take Westerhof to get it right? I'm not a fan of Lagerback per se but let's just give him 2 years to see what he can do and if he doesn't perform we should fire him.tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
We need continuity.
How do you REWARD a man that failed to meet set target with a contract extension but sacked one that met ALL.
- cchinukw
Of all the major opaks to yarn someone is talking about demeanor. I guess we all liked Maradona's demeanour during the South American qualifiers. Huh?
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"

Just shows you're just as stupid and without scruples as some of the folks we have running our FA. I didn't read anywhere that a semi final target was tied to his contract and pay. How would YOU feel if were not paid for contracts agreed to after you completed the work? This is the problem with Nigeria. Forget football, how can anyone take you seriously for ANY business deal when you demonstrate you cannot even act in a civilised manner for little things like these? WAKE UP and join the civilised world!!!wanaj0 wrote:This is the BEST time to sack any coach. For a coach that could not do better than Onigbinde, he should be SACKED and made to forfeit his remaining salary.Mr. Piffington wrote:Nigerians aren't reasonable. Hiring and firing is going to kill the Super Eagles and that's what they don't understand. How long did it take Westerhof to get it right? I'm not a fan of Lagerback per se but let's just give him 2 years to see what he can do and if he doesn't perform we should fire him.tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
We need continuity.
How do you REWARD a man that failed to meet set target with a contract extension but sacked one that met ALL.

...u damn right, Nigerians not reasonable until a whiteman tells them the truth we will never listen to our own...such is the saddness.Mr. Piffington wrote:Nigerians aren't reasonable. Hiring and firing is going to kill the Super Eagles and that's what they don't understand. How long did it take Westerhof to get it right? I'm not a fan of Lagerback per se but let's just give him 2 years to see what he can do and if he doesn't perform we should fire him.tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
We need continuity.
Very pathetic, anything to justify mediocrity as much as it is oyinbo. Largaerabout is mediocre. Has it boiled down to wowos defending mediocre by analysing the goal SE conceeded (not even scored). And it is even MORE pathetic that this gullible pathetic arguer will make the following '' How can Largarback help Yakubu to score from 4 yards out? How can Largarback help Obasi, Martins and Osaze to make basic footballing decisions'' - I say to hell, what's Largarback job then? Was this the first time yak missed sitters since the WCQ or others made those aweful basic decisions so as to take the glory and shrining? HELL NO. So why after $1.5m your Largarback master cannot dictect and correct such errors? Was is not about such errors that he was engaged? or is it just to select almost the same 23 players that Amodu used and were constantly crucified and vilified? You can keep licking oyinbo ash as much as you like but dont come here to make some of us look more foolish than you are.tbite wrote:Nolagos777 wrote:tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
We need continuity.
On what do you base this statement ? Is it based on his CV. Or the game against Greece, or no, it's the game against SK.
Dude, now is the time to change coaches. The best time. Clean house and start over. This is the time do to it.
Based on what I saw there wasn't much wrong with lagerback.
All the goals that Nigeria conceded came from matters beyond his control.
The first goal we conceded was illegitimate to begin with, how do you teach players to not be held?
The 2 goals against Greece were as a result of bad mentality on the part of the players.
The 2 goals against Nigeria V Korea were due to a mixture of bad defending and bad officiating.
How can Lagerback help Yakubu score from 4 yards out? How can lagerback help Obasi, Martins and Osaze to make basic footballing decisions?
I do not absorb him of his mistakes, but these are mistakes that can be justified by the time he had to work with the players.
He made mistakes yes he did! but against Argentina that was good football, we can work from there, against Korea even we can take it from there.
The over 60k Arsenal fans cheered as their young gunners destroyed the opponents with their sleek moves.
Patriotism is our future.
Because both Dunga & Maradonna have something Kanu doesn't have - A World Cup Medal....Except you want to substitute this with an Olympic GoldThe Ugandan. wrote:They should give the job to Kanu. Brazil hired Dunga and Argentina, Maradona without any coaching credentials. Why doesn't Nigeria do the same?ANC wrote:It's a wonderful idea. NFA learning from mistakes after all. I just like his demeanor, he is the right man for the job. Now they should allow kanu or Finidi or Ikpeba to work under him.

Tokiroy makes the gooood times Roll !
Gotti wrote:So we are recruiting for "demeanor"?!ANC wrote:It's a wonderful idea. NFA learning from mistakes after all. I just like his demeanor, he is the right man for the job. Now they should allow kanu or Finidi or Ikpeba to work under him.
Africans! That's why your forefathers got sold for trinkets.![]()

You are Your Own Dog
This is great news!!!
I'm so happy and I hope he accepts the position; after all this means all our problems will disappear!
1.) Our eyesore of a local league will automatically improve and once again start producing players for the NT like in the 70s, 80s and 90s when we had our major successes
2.) Our age cheating problems will disappear and other countries will actually believe we deserved to dominate and win age grade competitions
3.) Our NFA will turn over a new leaf and become proactive and accountable to Nigerians like in the rest of the civilized world
4.) Government interference in football will be minimal or downright non-existent and WC qualification will not mean an automatic change of coach and an opportunity to make money.
5.) We will once again play with flair and intent, displaying all that was once feared by the rest of the world.
This is great news; all our problems are solved by the wave of a benevolent hand.
IT'S A NEW DAY!!!
I'm so happy and I hope he accepts the position; after all this means all our problems will disappear!
1.) Our eyesore of a local league will automatically improve and once again start producing players for the NT like in the 70s, 80s and 90s when we had our major successes
2.) Our age cheating problems will disappear and other countries will actually believe we deserved to dominate and win age grade competitions
3.) Our NFA will turn over a new leaf and become proactive and accountable to Nigerians like in the rest of the civilized world
4.) Government interference in football will be minimal or downright non-existent and WC qualification will not mean an automatic change of coach and an opportunity to make money.
5.) We will once again play with flair and intent, displaying all that was once feared by the rest of the world.
This is great news; all our problems are solved by the wave of a benevolent hand.
IT'S A NEW DAY!!!
Zelex wrote:#NGA ask Lagerback to stay on. Swede says he will make a decision after a holiday with his family
http://twitter.com/ColinUdoh
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB
Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.
- cchinukw
tedder89 wrote:This is great news!!!
IT'S A NEW DAY!!!
Zelex wrote:#NGA ask Lagerback to stay on. Swede says he will make a decision after a holiday with his family
http://twitter.com/ColinUdoh

oyinbo yansh licking in full force. wowo is actually a serious disease.patriot wrote:Very pathetic, anything to justify mediocrity as much as it is oyinbo. Largaerabout is mediocre. Has it boiled down to wowos defending mediocre by analysing the goal SE conceeded (not even scored). And it is even MORE pathetic that this gullible pathetic arguer will make the following '' How can Largarback help Yakubu to score from 4 yards out? How can Largarback help Obasi, Martins and Osaze to make basic footballing decisions'' - I say to hell, what's Largarback job then? Was this the first time yak missed sitters since the WCQ or others made those aweful basic decisions so as to take the glory and shrining? HELL NO. So why after $1.5m your Largarback master cannot dictect and correct such errors? Was is not about such errors that he was engaged? or is it just to select almost the same 23 players that Amodu used and were constantly crucified and vilified? You can keep licking oyinbo ash as much as you like but dont come here to make some of us look more foolish than you are.tbite wrote:Nolagos777 wrote:tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
We need continuity.
On what do you base this statement ? Is it based on his CV. Or the game against Greece, or no, it's the game against SK.
Dude, now is the time to change coaches. The best time. Clean house and start over. This is the time do to it.
The first goal we conceded was illegitimate to begin with, how do you teach players to not be held?
The 2 goals against Greece were as a result of bad mentality on the part of the players.
The 2 goals against Nigeria V Korea were due to a mixture of bad defending and bad officiating.
How can Lagerback help Yakubu score from 4 yards out? How can lagerback help Obasi, Martins and Osaze to make basic footballing decisions?
I do not absorb him of his mistakes, but these are mistakes that can be justified by the time he had to work with the players.
He made mistakes yes he did! but against Argentina that was good football, we can work from there, against Korea even we can take it from there.

If there were no God, I would not be alive.
And if God is not good, I would have been dead.
Those of us clamoring for Siasia to be hired on what basis?
Just because he got to the finals of two major age-grade competition does not mean he's capable of handling the SE! Siasia and Lagerback were in the similar position when they were both hired and we know what came out of it (bearign in mind that SiaSia knew most of the FE players in the 2009 U20 WC), and yet he failed.
So please do not suggest that he should be hired. If they want to hire him for SE then as assistant to any coach hired to manage the SE now and l will still say that Lagerback should be retained!
PS: I am a great fan of Siasia but i do not believe he can handle the SE for now. Please forget sentiment!!!
Peace
Just because he got to the finals of two major age-grade competition does not mean he's capable of handling the SE! Siasia and Lagerback were in the similar position when they were both hired and we know what came out of it (bearign in mind that SiaSia knew most of the FE players in the 2009 U20 WC), and yet he failed.
So please do not suggest that he should be hired. If they want to hire him for SE then as assistant to any coach hired to manage the SE now and l will still say that Lagerback should be retained!
PS: I am a great fan of Siasia but i do not believe he can handle the SE for now. Please forget sentiment!!!
Peace
TERRORISM is the WAR of the POOR while WAR is the TERRORISM of the RICH!
The Best Quotes For Me So Far: "I was born here but brought up as an African. When you reach adulthood you either feel African or you don't, and it's not worth playing if you don't have that feeling." Efan Ekoku
I am not a WOWO.Talk IT wrote:oyinbo yansh licking in full force. wowo is actually a serious disease.patriot wrote:Very pathetic, anything to justify mediocrity as much as it is oyinbo. Largaerabout is mediocre. Has it boiled down to wowos defending mediocre by analysing the goal SE conceeded (not even scored). And it is even MORE pathetic that this gullible pathetic arguer will make the following '' How can Largarback help Yakubu to score from 4 yards out? How can Largarback help Obasi, Martins and Osaze to make basic footballing decisions'' - I say to hell, what's Largarback job then? Was this the first time yak missed sitters since the WCQ or others made those aweful basic decisions so as to take the glory and shrining? HELL NO. So why after $1.5m your Largarback master cannot dictect and correct such errors? Was is not about such errors that he was engaged? or is it just to select almost the same 23 players that Amodu used and were constantly crucified and vilified? You can keep licking oyinbo ash as much as you like but dont come here to make some of us look more foolish than you are.tbite wrote:Nolagos777 wrote:tbite wrote:What was wrong with Lagerback?
We need continuity.
I am simply try to etch in the mind of the deluded that certain matters are out of the control of the coach.
No coach in the world can make a professional function, that is not their job description, they cannot turn a mediocre player into a wonderkid.
What they can do is guide these players and utilize them in the best possible way to get the best possible results. They can run them through plays, they can advice them and run drills, but they cannot guarantee the player will be capable of delivering.
If any of you actually follow football you will know that these players, the strikers, the defenders and midfielders are not actually stellar under myriads of coaches.
Yakubu is no longer making waves in England, Martins is not in the first team in wolfsburg, Kanu is a bench warmer in Portsmouth, Osaze Odemwingie is hot and cold in Russia, Chinedu Obasi as with Nsofor are inconsistent in Hoffenheim and Malaga respectively. Lukman Haruna is one of the few players actually progressing rather than regressing, but he could not prosper under the limelight, Danny Shittu is the biggest culprit, he could not even manage one start for Bolton Wanderers. Joseph Yobo relegated himself to the sidelines and fell down the pecking order, Taiye Taiwo's average performance is hidden by Heinze's.
So what wer have is a host of overrated Nigerian players.
I mentioned those goals conceded and those poor attacking plays because they display the same moves for club. Martins squanders 1 on 1s for club as well, Yakubu likewise, Nsofor is exactly the same for Malaga as he is for Nigeria.
Lagerback or Amodu have not brought their stock down, this is their quality.
I think Lagerback could still have worked with what he had, but like I said it can be justified by the short amount of time available.
TO PUT IT BLUNT, watch football, watch the EPL, watch La Liga, watch the Ligue 1, watch the Bundesliga.
These players are average.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT