NIGERIA 0 VS USA 2 (FT) TUESDAY 1600 ESPNU
Re: NIGERIA 0 VS USA 1 TUESDAY 1600 ESPNU
Damunk,
These players need to continue to grow and get better. There were a lot of flaws in their game against the US but can also act as part of their development when they move up through the ranks in years to come. This bad habit of taking shots from nowhere is something that needs to stop in our football.
Our coaches must also continue to get better and point these things out to players very early in their careers so it doesn't become a bad habit. I doubt some of these players watch a game of themselves after each match to see what they did right and wrong in a match.
These players need to continue to grow and get better. There were a lot of flaws in their game against the US but can also act as part of their development when they move up through the ranks in years to come. This bad habit of taking shots from nowhere is something that needs to stop in our football.
Our coaches must also continue to get better and point these things out to players very early in their careers so it doesn't become a bad habit. I doubt some of these players watch a game of themselves after each match to see what they did right and wrong in a match.
Damunk wrote:What I really loved most about this team was their ball possession. Rarely did you see them just hoof the ball upfield. They always had options because they gave themselves options. Off the ball movement was good.
I am sure the FIFA technical report will have a lot to say about how the Nigerian game has improved, and it would be nice to see the game statistics. I actually prefer this team to the losing finalists of 2 years ago, by far.
I'm sure if Sunday or Ordega or Oparanozie had tucked away one or two early goals, na anoda tin everybody go dey talk. I hope these girls get well rewarded, sports scholarships, etc etc.
She has a lot to learn.... Can actually play the role of anchor lady in the middle if she just concentrates on the game and stop all the wild shot taking and the selfishness she plays with. So much to learn in the years to come.
wazobia wrote:That run just sums up Esther Sunday; all flash, plenty of dribbling skills but no end product!
Fruitless = Semi Finals = Exposure = Lessons to learnora wrote:Another fruitless ending to a good team but lacking the tactical prowess as shown again by our coaches. This team was more superior skill wise but the coach lacks what it takes to excel on the world stage. How many times have we gotten to this level after scaling through the early rounds.
Keshi be warned.
I fully agree, and the key phrase here as you said is that this is all 'part of their development'.MI5 wrote:Damunk,
If everyone was like many of the contributors here, they would kill these girls' careers prematurely. Imagine you have a young son or daughter you are developing, would anyone keep harping on the negatives as if what is at stake is a professional contract with Barcelona?

The US and Germany took a long time to get to wherethey are, and even if they outsmart us tactically, it does not diminish the leaps and strides these girls have made to their game in a few short years. I dont think any other Africans will watch these girls and not feel immensely proud - even the Ghanaians!

Na only Naija people wan collect everytin without fully going thru the natural course of development.
Again, the key word is development.
Some people are looking for the finished product and will abuse them accordingly when they get frustrated.
Not very wise.
Re: NIGERIA VS USA TUESDAY 1600 ESPNU
I saw that from the beginning of this tournament. They are just clueless.Biafra wrote:Na wa for the kind of medics staff we go with to tournament like this. Somebody will be injured and they will be pulling the person out of the pitch.
IGBOS ARE THE IMPORTANT AND USEFUL SLAVES OF NIGERIA. THEY HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.
Re: NIGERIA 0 VS USA 2 (FT) TUESDAY 1600 ESPNU
Men!
Germany is doing a number on Japan as we speak...
3-0 up within the first 20 minutes!
Mapet,
You see that I feel that defence was the worst weak link that we had in that game. In the EPL, Bundusliga and LaLiga, that goal ruled offside would have been given. What do you think?
IGBOS ARE THE IMPORTANT AND USEFUL SLAVES OF NIGERIA. THEY HAVE A CHOICE TO MAKE.
You mean the Japanese are naive. Their coach did not teach the players the simple things. They got to where they are purely by talent. I knew they will be found out once they meet a real team. The coaches dont know what to do. They are so clueless.Otitokoro wrote:Men!
THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE FOR FITNESS GERMANY AND USA THE TWO FITTEST TEANS MAKE FINAL OUR SUBS IRJI ARE SLOWER THAN THEIR TIRED PLAYERS!wanaj0 wrote:You mean the Japanese are naive. Their coach did not teach the players the simple things. They got to where they are purely by talent. I knew they will be found out once they meet a real team. The coaches dont know what to do. They are so clueless.Otitokoro wrote:Men!
Skill us not enough
For evil too prosper it only needs men of goodwill to stand by Idile and do nothing!
- tfco
- Eagle
well done Naija
You did Africa proud.
Naira Did We

Oh! Now the Germans and Americans are the 'athletic' ones.fishward wrote:THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE FOR FITNESS GERMANY AND USA THE TWO FITTEST TEANS MAKE FINAL OUR SUBS IRJI ARE SLOWER THAN THEIR TIRED PLAYERS!wanaj0 wrote:You mean the Japanese are naive. Their coach did not teach the players the simple things. They got to where they are purely by talent. I knew they will be found out once they meet a real team. The coaches dont know what to do. They are so clueless.Otitokoro wrote:Men!
Skill us not enough

@Zoro,
Honestly that goal would stand in any FIFA standard games, but I guess we just have to overlook slips like this in women games as women assistant refs make funny blunders.
I also believe that our coaches are coming up. I'm very impressed with the fluid football our girls played today, but the coaches needs to drive a culture of better discipline into our players. It could be a football culture thing, our players probably built the driblling and shooting aspects of their game while playing on the streets and less of defending....
We need to learn how to park the bus and move like swarm of bees like US did few times.....
Honestly that goal would stand in any FIFA standard games, but I guess we just have to overlook slips like this in women games as women assistant refs make funny blunders.
I also believe that our coaches are coming up. I'm very impressed with the fluid football our girls played today, but the coaches needs to drive a culture of better discipline into our players. It could be a football culture thing, our players probably built the driblling and shooting aspects of their game while playing on the streets and less of defending....
We need to learn how to park the bus and move like swarm of bees like US did few times.....
zoro wrote:Mapet,
They tried, they gave it their best and for that this is my gift to the girls:

- Naija4lyfe
Mr. Piffington wrote:They tried, they gave it their best and for that this is my gift to the girls:
lol u mad bro? you waited this long....
Naija4lyfe
B-B But, I thought U-20 tournaments are to be used for development, not win at all cost...correct me if Im wrongMr. Piffington wrote:They tried, they gave it their best and for that this is my gift to the girls:
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Naija4lyfe wrote:Mr. Piffington wrote:They tried, they gave it their best and for that this is my gift to the girls:
Leave am.. he was waiting for the poor kids to fail before jumping up and saying " i told you so"
Abeg, the girls did very well. There can only be one winner and there is no shame in losing to the dominant force in women's football.
We lost - didn't we? I knew we will because of what I have highlighted in above as written by Damunk. Every team that realises that about us will always win us and the USA is one of such country.MI5 wrote:Damunk,
Damunk wrote:What I really loved most about this team was their ball possession. Rarely did you see them just hoof the ball upfield. They always had options because they gave themselves options. Off the ball movement was good.
I am sure the FIFA technical report will have a lot to say about how the Nigerian game has improved, and it would be nice to see the game statistics. I actually prefer this team to the losing finalists of 2 years ago, by far.
I'm sure if Sunday or Ordega or Oparanozie had tucked away one or two early goals, na anoda tin everybody go dey talk. I hope these girls get well rewarded, sports scholarships, etc etc.
I don't know what you're talking about, I don't do "I told you so" I'm simply congratulating our girls on making it to the semi-finals. It's mission accomplished.metalalloy wrote:Naija4lyfe wrote:Mr. Piffington wrote:They tried, they gave it their best and for that this is my gift to the girls:
Leave am.. he was waiting for the poor kids to fail before jumping up and saying " i told you so"
Abeg, the girls did very well. There can only be one winner and there is no shame in losing to the dominant force in women's football.

They were done in by cheap defensive mistakes. On the first goal, not sure who was supposed to be covering the chick that headed the goal in, but she was wide open and onsides. On the second goal, not sure if it was Njoku or one of the central defenders, but it seemed, she ran out of gas and let the US player run past her, and once she got the ball and cut back, we were toast.
- EagleGunner
Everybody has their own opinion, dont have to agree with it.
Super Eagles Apparel Storefront
http://bit.ly/2KAOOse
beware the whipping Japan will give us on Saturday
The wounded lioness Japan will inflict serious damage on saturday if we do not get our act together. john obuh had it right when he played strikers for only 45 mins. opranozie Orgie etc are all 45 minute players . When obuh tried sani mohammed for 90 we lost. even odenwing only shines for 45 mins and then is finished. we simply do not have stamina.
one day when we can match the others for fitness like 96 olwmpic team then we can challenge again , untill then we will always be bridesmaides!
For evil too prosper it only needs men of goodwill to stand by Idile and do nothing!
BREAKING NEWS: The Americans have been disqualified for using an ineligible player
SOME angel* JUST INTERRUPTED MY DREAM

Re: beware the whipping Japan will give us on Saturday
I guess she is a 45mins player, that's why she scored in 112th minute against Mexicofishward wrote:The wounded lioness Japan will inflict serious damage on saturday if we do not get our act together. john obuh had it right when he played strikers for only 45 mins. opranozie Orgie etc are all 45 minute players . When obuh tried sani mohammed for 90 we lost. even odenwing only shines for 45 mins and then is finished. we simply do not have stamina.

Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.