Odemwi-tweet-tweet

Eclipse
Re: Odemwi-tweet-tweet

Post by Eclipse »

Abeg carry go....so that give wba carte Blanche to treat him like an arsehole? He should sit there and take $#%? You be real anohia!!
only the super eagles of nigeria are capable of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory-total football magazine circa june 02'

Eclipse wrote:Abeg carry go....so that give wba carte Blanche to treat him like an arsehole? He should sit there and take $#%? You be real anohia!!
How are they treating him like an arsehole?
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Eclipse wrote:Abeg carry go....so that give wba carte Blanche to treat him like an arsehole? He should sit there and take $#%? You be real anohia!!
No, now. How can he take such nonsense? He must tweet! He must tweet like no man's business, tweet like there is no tomorrow.

He must rack up a world-record number of tweets .... after all, tweeting transferred him to QPR, tweeting saved him from being benched at WBA, tweeting made him an integral part of Nigeria's 2013 Nations Cup victory, and tweeting has taken his career to an all-new high, making him one of the most respected individuals in world sports and not in anyway a global joke.

Let him tweet. It will solve all his problems.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Odemwingie could buy out contract
ESPN staff
March 19, 2013 « Kompany may feature for Belgium | Lampard still believes Ferdinand could return »

Peter Odemwingie has only scored once in his last 14 appearances for West brom © Getty Images
Enlarge Related LinksNews: Odemwingie set for fine after hitting out at WBA

News: Clarke: Odemwingie reintegration is underway

Profile: Peter Odemwingie
Peter Odemwingie is considering buying out his contract at West Bromwich Albion in a bid to leave The Hawthorns at the end of the season.

The Nigeria international will return to the club on Wednesday to face punishment over his latest breach of club discipline, following his weekend Twitter rant against the Premier League side.

Odemwingie is facing the prospect of a second fine of two weeks' wages, around £80,000, for a tirade against Albion on Twitter on Sunday.

Albion have officially stated they will deal with the player's comments "internally", although it is understood they have no intentions of sacking the striker or banning him from using Twitter, after the player claimed he wanted to be sacked.

The prospect of further punishment has not stopped the 31-year-old from taking to Twitter again, ahead of his return from a family break in Dubai, and now it appears he is thinking of buying out his existing contract.

Odemwingie tweeted on Tuesday: "I see a free player. A player who buys out his contract soon. Or a retired player. Does he look like he cares much? They made him not to."

Odemwingie had previously retweeted a message from a follower pointing out that he would be eligible to buy out his contract this summer under article 17 of FIFA's transfer regulations.

Article 17 allows players over the age of 28 to end their contracts two years after signing by paying a compensation figure that is determined by their weekly wage and their original transfer fee.

Odemwingie's future already looked uncertain after his January transfer request, the subsequent statements and tweets, and his drive to Queens Park Rangers on deadline day led to a club fine. The striker, however, believes Albion are the ones to blame for the embarrassing situation.

He tweeted on Tuesday: "31st Jan. if there was a prise in the afternoon, there should still be one in the evening. Simple.

"A simple phone call to return back would have been enough for me to return and deal only with laughs about saying bye to team-mates.

"Became adamant? Club should have realised that dealing with an agent's behaviour affects me more than him who exposed me to cameras.

"Then fine me for that and an unauthorised interview? Since when has it become wrong to give interviews? Didn't see that in my contract.

"Drove two hours to London. Spent hours there to drive back alone and arrive home 3am and still turn up at the training in the morning.

"Glad I respectfully thanked everyone before leaving. All could be simply avoided by club statement saying : 'it was a miscommunication'.

"Instead I humbly took the blame on me and promised to comply with club rules. Manager says let's please move on and forget. Yet I am not playing."

Odemwingie has made just four appearances as a substitute since January and criticised the club at the weekend for keeping him on the bench.

Read more at http://www.espn.co.uk/football/sport/story/198377.html
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

Arsene could use him.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

bamenda boy wrote:Arsene could use him.

Better players than him are on the Arsenal bench...Gervinho, Arshavin, etc...you want make e add to Arsenal problems with non-stop tweeting?

He says he's ready to retire, it may be his best bet.

Ol boy, you no understand the business side of things.

Player contracts have performance bonuses that (cheap) clubs routinely try to get out of. In the USA, the Washington Redskins has a very rich owner but when a player (Laveranues Coles) tried to embarrass the club and show up the owner, he ordered the manager to send the player a flat screen tv because that is where he will be watching the team from that point forward... It took time and pleading for the owner to let the General Manager to trade the guy.

Bottom line is that Osaze has NO leverage whatsoever. The team is not struggling with relegation, they are still getting results... his salary is not that high, they can afford not to play him. They can literally finish him as a professional in England. He is no longer a young man... so if they decide to mess with him and mess him up good, they can easily do it.

Him getting on Tweeter does not help his case one bit.

The team is doing it not for Osaze but for any other player that might have the same line of reasoning.

dhoney

Post by dhoney »

Player contracts have performance bonuses that (cheap) clubs routinely try to get out of. In the USA, the Washington Redskins has a very rich owner but when a player (Laveranues Coles) tried to embarrass the club and show up the owner, he ordered the manager to send the player a flat screen tv because that is where he will be watching the team from that point forward... It took time and pleading for the owner to let the General Manager to trade the guy.

Bottom line is that Osaze has NO leverage whatsoever. The team is not struggling with relegation, they are still getting results... his salary is not that high, they can afford not to play him. They can literally finish him as a professional in England. He is no longer a young man... so if they decide to mess with him and mess him up good, they can easily do it.

The team is doing it not for Osaze but for any other player that might have the same line of reasoning.

ahahhhhhhhhhhhh that cracks me up..!
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".

Make him beg Amodu o. Me, I don't talk my own be dat. Ehen
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Leave Eclipse make e dey follow odemwingie...if odemwingie no dey careful, he'll be like diouf who can only find work in the lower leagues....
Of course, if Osas is to be believed, he doesn't care....in which case, playing in the lower leagues of England isn't too bad, the money he'll make there may demand a throttle-down of lifestyle but it's still more than most make around the world.

I dont think its as clear cut as that. He only has 2 years on his contract and the articles above hint that he could buy his contract out under FIFA rules. If he can find a club to foot that bill like Oba Martins did with the Sounders, that may be a way out. While you are correct that he doesn't appear to have much leverage, i think he is being advised to continue this twitter rant to increase pressure on the club. The press that Osaze is generating with his rant is also not the kind of publicity a club wants. Also, West Brom is no Chelsea that can afford to keep a malcontent on the bench and keep paying him 40K a week for two years. Not gonna happen. Lukaku is most likely going to be recalled by Chelsea after his loan term is over, they will be short on options upfront and will either have to play him (unlikely) or sell him and get another striker in his place.

mcal wrote:...never #$%$ with oyinbos. He embarrassed them and they are paying him back, methodically.

Hmmm...are you saying....oyinbo na oyinbo?
....u got it, even if ur married to one of theirs.
Eclipse

Post by Eclipse »

metalalloy...thank you very much...they are here questioning his sanity...there is a method to his madness!! He does not want to play for them ever again after they deliberately set out to embarass and humilate him for trying to get a transfer. Is he the only one to publicly ask for a transfer? how many of the numerous players that have done this in the past have been humilated by their clubs because they had the audacity to ask to be transferred? Abeg, left to me, after that kind embrassment, either I SHUT MY MOUTH AND KEEP MY HEAD DOWN LIKE A MEEK HOUSE NEGRO or tell WBA where to get off!! E go tay b4 WBA try that stunt again...guaranteed!!
only the super eagles of nigeria are capable of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory-total football magazine circa june 02'

No point in wasting energy arguing back and forth. Tweeter has so far helped to damage Odemwengie's career and at 32, there cannot be that many clubs out there looking for a vengeful Tweeter freak. Some players at some point during their career lose their sense of perspective and it appears Osaze is one of them. When you consider players like Chelsea's Ba who is forever haunted by the threat of a knee injury that can end his career, Ba is thankful for his goals and performance whether he is benched or not. When West Ham bought Ba, he had been rejected by a lot of clubs because his suspect knee showed up in medicals. Osaze should learn to be thankful and keep his head down. He is not in politics and therefore all the Tweeter campaign is unnecessary.

Goldleaf wrote:No point in wasting energy arguing back and forth. Tweeter has so far helped to damage Odemwengie's career and at 32, there cannot be that many clubs out there looking for a vengeful Tweeter freak. Some players at some point during their career lose their sense of perspective and it appears Osaze is one of them. When you consider players like Chelsea's Ba who is forever haunted by the threat of a knee injury that can end his career, Ba is thankful for his goals and performance whether he is benched or not. When West Ham bought Ba, he had been rejected by a lot of clubs because his suspect knee showed up in medicals. Osaze should learn to be thankful and keep his head down. He is not in politics and therefore all the Tweeter campaign is unnecessary.

Apples and oranges. Ba is a player with a suspect knee that West Ham took a chance on. A better comparison would be to someone like Kanu that Inter took a chance on. Osaze is a healthy player who have given West Brom 15 goals a season and about 24 assists (15 last year from the wings) for a bargain price of 2.5 million pounds.There is NO DOUBT that West Brom would not be where they are today without his goals over the last 2 seasons. He is 32 and has a couple of years left, he had a club willing to pay for him to play for them in QPR and compensate him well. The deal fell through and now he is being benched. Why should he be "thankful and keep his head down"? where would that get him? I personally would not do what he is doing but i understand his frustration and where he is coming from.

Think about it, what does he really have to lose? He has a contract that is paying him 40k a week for 2 years. He wont get a lot more out there unless a team as desperate as QPR comes along again. If they continue to hold on to him, he will still get paid (minus the fines for his various rants), and West Brom still gets the unwanted press and a poisonous dressing room. Something will have to give sooner or later and if i were a betting man, i would bet that West Brom will blink first.