ALL HAIL OLOYE!!
Re: ALL HAIL OLOYE!!
Oloye,
Thank you. Francis Moniedafe, who trained under Alabi, also speaks very highly of the guy and his methods. Alibi was the guy who took Francis from NNB to Insurance after Ogbemudia had moved Francis from Gongola State at the time back to Bendel State.
oloye wrote:I was privileged to train under both coaches, i think their philosophies differ. Alabi belong to the old school greatly influenced by european soccer. I believe he trained in Hungary, the little time i spent with him at NNB ....geez his training nearly took the life out of me. His emphasies was on fitness..., there is a particular training of his, where you run around in squares, Jesus whoever invented that training should be arraigned before the ICC before he does much damage. When Pa Alabi shows up in training...he normal shows up 10 mins into training. When he shows up and grabs a cone....come and see adults shivering...we recognise his intentions by that act.Enugu II wrote:Babafad,Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Babafad wrote:
Even though he is smiling, you can tell from that wicked haircut say him fit wound persin.
Where did you unearth this photo? Wow, the old memories. Oloye and his Shaibu Amodu gang tried to dominate Nigeria in those days.
Oloye,
One question I always wanted to ask you: "Did Shaibu learn all his tricks from his apprenticeship under the great Alabi Aisien or was it from somewhere else?"
When were undergoing trials at NNB, we were camped at Bins Hotel, there was a portharcourt guy, a goalie. When we finish this drill and get back to the hotel, the guy would start drinking water like a fish. He would order his water in a big bowl , the sight of him and big bowl of water was hilarious...in no time we labelled the guy water. I remember i kept saying to myself how am i going to survive this sort of training.
Amodu on the other hand was heavily inspired by Brasil, he believed that a team would peak as the season goes on. We train hard but not as hard as Alabi...in fact in all my football career i never saw anything like Alabi's training. It had eastern european fitness regime written all over it.
Last edited by Enugu II on Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Alabi did his coaching course in Hungary. I used to watch insurance train at the Ogbe stadium when Alabi was their coach.
Enugu II wrote:Ollie,
Thank you. Francis Monxiedafe, who trained under Alabi, also speaks very highly of the guy and his methods.He was the guy who took Francis from NNB to Insurance After Ogbemudia had moved Francis from Gondola State at the time back to Bendel State.
oloye wrote:I was privileged to train under both coaches, i think their philosophies differ. Alabi belong to the old school greatly influenced by european soccer. I believe he trained in Hungary, the little time i spent with him at NNB ....geez his training nearly took the life out of me. His emphasies was on fitness..., there is a particular training of his, where you run around in squares, Jesus whoever invented that training should be arraigned before the ICC before he does much damage. When Pa Alabi shows up in training...he normal shows up 10 mins into training. When he shows up and grabs a cone....come and see adults shivering...we recognise his intentions by that act.Enugu II wrote:Babafad,Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Babafad wrote:
Even though he is smiling, you can tell from that wicked haircut say him fit wound persin.
Where did you unearth this photo? Wow, the old memories. Oloye and his Shaibu Amodu gang tried to dominate Nigeria in those days.
Oloye,
One question I always wanted to ask you: "Did Shaibu learn all his tricks from his apprenticeship under the great Alabi Aisien or was it from somewhere else?"
When were undergoing trials at NNB, we were camped at Bins Hotel, there was a portharcourt guy, a goalie. When we finish this drill and get back to the hotel, the guy would start drinking water like a fish. He would order his water in a big bowl , the sight of him and big bowl of water was hilarious...in no time we labelled the guy water. I remember i kept saying to myself how am i going to survive this sort of training.
Amodu on the other hand was heavily inspired by Brasil, he believed that a team would peak as the season goes on. We train hard but not as hard as Alabi...in fact in all my football career i never saw anything like Alabi's training. It had eastern european fitness regime written all over it.
No my bro.I decided to hang up my boots after principals cup level.
Enugu II wrote:Sir V,
Did you play for Plateau?
Sir V wrote:Kai! this was the match Oloye broke my leg when I was trying to do you "show me your height"Babafad wrote:
Oloye (on the right) then playing for BCC Lions, shakes a Plateau United player.![]()
Oloye my bro, you need to write up a book on your football experience
I hear you my bro!Sir V wrote:Kai! this was the match Oloye broke my leg when I was trying to do you "show me your height"Babafad wrote:
Oloye (on the right) then playing for BCC Lions, shakes a Plateau United player.![]()
Oloye my bro, you need to write up a book on your football experience
Oloye how many legs did you retire to the orthopedic ward during your playing days...no lie

nianiote wrote:Was that match played in Cameroon?

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Robbynice wrote:One thing is certain, egbon Oloye looks the part #lookingthepart
Unlike a certain 6'7 Robbynice and his pot-belly.

Baba Oloye,oloye wrote:No they did not....we have been over this before Mega...megapro wrote:Roland Ewere captain of Bendel InsuranceBabafad wrote:
Oloye (on the right) then playing for BCC Lions, shakes a Plateau United player.
Insurance won the game that day in Gboko 1:0![]()
LB Owewe scored the goalI cannot remember playing in any match we lost at Gboko, definitely not against Insurance. We lost two matches that year at home...i did not feature in the both, u was out injured. I remember Stores was one of them, cannot recollect the other. On both occassions i had premonition we were going to lose, i did not even come to the stadium.
this one I qwill bet €1.000,-- with you and chop it.
Insurance wore that jersey (supplied by Egbon) only that 93 when they won their first WAFU.
that year remains their best in the league the last 36 years and lost the title the last day despite beating Rangers 5:0 because inwuanyanwu went same day to beat El-Kanemi in Maiduguri 2:0.
Will PM you Ewere's or Bauldwin's numbers. BCC were owned home and away that year. Bassey scored off a corner kick at Ogbe in the reverse encounter.
kluvi, omale, alhassan, moduga, owewe, ewere, jado (osadolor) oruma, obanor, bassey (adetoyimbo) bazuaye
wk 1 rovers 1-1 away
wk 2 plateau utd 2-1 home
wk 3 bcc lions 1-0 away
wk 4 acb 2-2 home
wk 5 berger 2-1 home
wk 6 rangers 0-1 away
wk 7 sharks 2-0 home
wk 16 rovers 1-0 away
wk 17 plateau utd 1-1 away
wk 18 acb 0-1 away
wk 19 bcc lions 1-0 home
wk 20 berger 3-1 away
wk 30 rangers 5-0 home
globaalsoccer, allstarssoccer sites etc used to carry the details
wk 7 sharks 2-0 home
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
Undertaker wrote:patrick wrote:Make I help u, Bolaji Douglas.Undertaker wrote:Or Sam Pam?
I thought you guys said he Played for the Eagles? Bolaji Douglas wasn't a Super Eagles player....![]()
You really disappoint Undie. If this was your friend Big Punkie now, I would understand.
Playing for SE is not just about the World Cup and Nations' Cup.
Keshi learnt well from his mentor, Amodu. Inviting players that would 'fight' for him was one of those lessons. Oloye continues to fight for Amodu till tomorrow.
Playing friendlies with Redeemed Everlasting Arms Parish (or similar societies and associations) and other NFF mandated matches like WAFU Cup (back in the day) and CHAN these days, should also be considered. You need these fighters to play these matches.
Combining these two factors, you can begin to appreciate Oloye's multiple caps.
OK Just yabbing bros a bit. He was actually a defender on the rise, before injuries ended his career. Personally, I think he stayed in BCC longer than necessary, but as we later found out, he had seen a flower he wanted to pluck in Gboko, so he was staying there for non-footballing reasons. You never know, but what if he had moved abroad instead of tarrying in Gboko.
What is however extremely impressive is the way he has transitioned to a successful post football career after his playing career was cut short by injuries. That would be enough to send most people's live into a downward spiral, but I guess Oloye just rolled up the sleeves and moved on to find other ways to provide for himself and his family.
The post footballing transition alone is enough reason to hail Oloye.
I troway Salute.
And let's not forget that Oloye was among the first wave of Nigerian footballers with degrees. He graduated from University of Ilorin circa 1986 with his degree (after losing to my all-conquering University of Calabar team in the final of the National Pepsi-Cola Universities Cup).
He never claimed to be a regular SE player did he? He was in the King Fahd Cup (now Confederations Cup) squad in 1995.Undertaker wrote:patrick wrote:Make I help u, Bolaji Douglas.Undertaker wrote:Or Sam Pam?
I thought you guys said he Played for the Eagles? Bolaji Douglas wasn't a Super Eagles player....![]()
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Obong wrote:And let's not forget that Oloye was among the first wave of Nigerian footballers with degrees. He graduated from University of Ilorin circa 1986 with his degree (after losing to my all-conquering University of Calabar team in the final of the National Pepsi-Cola Universities Cup).
Hmmm, are you sure Oloye graduated from Unilorin in 1986? I thought he was younger o. Anyway, on the other hand, if he played with the late Muda Lawal and Felix Owoblow, that would make sense.
True words my guy but, Undertaker is not claiming anthing false, and Oloye has not faulted him. He did not play for the Super Eagles in an official game -against another country,- but that takes nothing from his distinguished career.truetalk wrote:Undertaker wrote:patrick wrote:Make I help u, Bolaji Douglas.Undertaker wrote:Or Sam Pam?
You really disappoint Undie. If this was your friend Big Punkie now, I would understand.
Playing for SE is not just about the World Cup and Nations' Cup.
Keshi learnt well from his mentor, Amodu. Inviting players that would 'fight' for him was one of those lessons. Oloye continues to fight for Amodu till tomorrow.
Playing friendlies with Redeemed Everlasting Arms Parish (or similar societies and associations) and other NFF mandated matches like WAFU Cup (back in the day) and CHAN these days, should also be considered. You need these fighters to play these matches.
Combining these two factors, you can begin to appreciate Oloye's multiple caps.
OK Just yabbing bros a bit. He was actually a defender on the rise, before injuries ended his career. Personally, I think he stayed in BCC longer than necessary, but as we later found out, he had seen a flower he wanted to pluck in Gboko, so he was staying there for non-footballing reasons. You never know, but what if he had moved abroad instead of tarrying in Gboko.
What is however extremely impressive is the way he has transitioned to a successful post football career after his playing career was cut short by injuries. That would be enough to send most people's live into a downward spiral, but I guess Oloye just rolled up the sleeves and moved on to find other ways to provide for himself and his family.
The post footballing transition alone is enough reason to hail Oloye.
I troway Salute.
He played for Nigeria at the World University games 1987 in Zagreb alongside Folorunsho Okenla, Nosa Osadolor, Oliver Ndigwe etc and also represented Africa at the King Fahd cup 1995 although he saw no action. One can name several FIFA senior world cup champions that never played a game for their countries.....
megapro 2012:
oloye thanks for the nostalgia...good one...good pix baba fad..
Are you people sure that is Oloye in the pictures? I do not see any strikers sprawled in the dust nearby. Even in his wedding pictures, there were ushers sprawled among the pews .... I am not saying Oloye tackled the ushers, but in the picture he is looking innocently at the Reverend and patting his shoulder, as if to say it was just a shoulder-to-shoulder charge.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Bros during his era orthopedic business was booming like oil boom. The rumor has it at a time strikers went on strike demanding of hisyannick wrote:Oloye how many legs did you retire to the orthopedic ward during your playing days...no lie![]()
immediate retirement o. The juicy of the rumour claimed he was collecting money in advance from orthopedics assuring them a number
of patients per week. Orthopedics in various cities when they heard his team was coming into town they went on frenzy parties knowing
fully well their ATM was in town.
Japanaruako1 wrote:He never claimed to be a regular SE player did he? He was in the King Fahd Cup (now Confederations Cup) squad in 1995.Undertaker wrote:patrick wrote:Make I help u, Bolaji Douglas.Undertaker wrote:Or Sam Pam?
Formation
[1] Shigetatsu MATSUNAGA (GK)
[2] Yoshihiro NATSUKA
[3] Satoshi TSUNAMI
[4] Masami IHARA
[5] Tetsuji HASHIRADANI
[7] Takumi HORIIKE
[8] Tsuyoshi KITAZAWA (-73')
[9] Toshihiro YAMAGUCHI
[10] Ruy RAMOS (-45' HT)
[11] Kazu MIURA
[15] Motohiro YAMAGUCHI
Substitute(s)
[6] Hajime MORIYASU
[12] Shinkichi KIKUCHI
[13] Kenta HASEGAWA
[14] Hiromitsu ISOGAI (+45' HT)
[16] Masahira FUKUDA (+73')
[17] Naoki SOMA
[18] Hiroshige YANAGIMOTO
[19] Masayuki OKANO
[20] Nobuyuki KOJIMA
Shu KAMO (JPN)
Nigeria
Formation
[1] Peter RUFAI (GK)
[2] Augustine EGUAVOEN
[3] Ben IROHA
[5] Uche OKECHUKWU
[8] Mutiu ADEPOJU
[11] Emmanuel AMUNIKE
[12] Samson SIASIA (-83')
[13] Sunday OLISEH
[14] Daniel AMOKACHI
[18] Efan EKOKU (-62')
[20] Uche OKAFOR
Substitute(s)
[4] Stephen KESHI
[6] Mutari MOMODU (+83')
[7] Barnabas IMENGER
[9] Dominic IORFA
[10] Jay Jay OKOCHA (+62')
[15] Bolji DOUGLAS
[16] Ibrahim SHORUNMU
[17] Sam PAM
[19] Michael EMENALO
Shaibu AMODU (NGA)
Kai! bully12 and i thought you were my friendbully12 wrote:Bros during his era orthopedic business was booming like oil boom. The rumor has it at a time strikers went on strike demanding of hisyannick wrote:Oloye how many legs did you retire to the orthopedic ward during your playing days...no lie![]()
immediate retirement o. The juicy of the rumour claimed he was collecting money in advance from orthopedics assuring them a number
of patients per week. Orthopedics in various cities when they heard his team was coming into town they went on frenzy parties knowing
fully well their ATM was in town.
EII,Enugu II wrote:Cell,Cellular wrote:Prof., "Tried"? They dominated. And the dominated by possession... Chei, I remember watching them play pam-pam... both of Shuaibu Amodu's teams (BCC and El Kanemi)... abandoning the Rajanz and Naija league "Kick and follow"...Enugu II wrote:Babafad,Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Babafad wrote:
Oloye,
Your memory is better than mine but I don't recall any of Coach Alabi Aisien's Insurance teams tapping ball like Amodu's teams... with the ball possession. Or did Coach Aisien coach Flash Flamingoes as well?
Alibi is a guru on ball possession o! His insurance team of 1978 was all about that with Agboinfo and Omokaro controlling things in the middle. In fact, Alabi had brought that after he returned from Hungary and coached Vasco but he was then quickly take away to Insurance by Ogbemudia.
I believe Amodu coached under him in Mighty Jets. I recollect one of his quotes when he spoke about Rangers. Here is what he said:
They are playing Kofi and Afriyie [Reference for Ghana's reputation for ball possession), but midway they will return to native law and custom [Long balls].
Just seeing this. I am sure you meant to write NASCO Jets? Mighty Jets was taken over by NASCO industries hence the hiring Coach Alabi.
-- Senator Edward Kennedy @ Robert F. Kennedy's Funeral on 6/6/68
I think it was 68. I think I remember that dribble. Kanu became good at this later on too.oloye wrote:From left Sola Omowale, James Enagwuna aka 69 rip bro, Oloye and Fuludu Edema. This was againt Berger our Iyawo.Babafad wrote:
Oloye.......2nd right!
James was one of the best midfielders to grace our league, he was called 69 or was it 65 because of a form of dribble he patented. Although igbo James was AJ boy ,he speaks the yoruba language even better than an omo onile. The image of a true Nigerian ,most importantly a complete footballer. Why you never had of him...he came at a time when the likes of hos talents could be found all over the country....to my left is one of such Edema...he would dribble you no matter who you are! A graduate of Business Administration from Uniben...one of the brains that played in our league at the time. A close friend, we lived in the same flat for 2years in Gboko...this was the season after he left us for Berger.
yes o
I was not sure i got it right myself ..hence i left room for doubt. I knew 69 was wrong for so many reasons which fertile minds can quickly recognise:biggrin:papilo wrote:I think it was 68. I think I remember that dribble. Kanu became good at this later on too.oloye wrote:From left Sola Omowale, James Enagwuna aka 69 rip bro, Oloye and Fuludu Edema. This was againt Berger our Iyawo.Babafad wrote:
Oloye.......2nd right!
James was one of the best midfielders to grace our league, he was called 69 or was it 65 because of a form of dribble he patented. Although igbo James was AJ boy ,he speaks the yoruba language even better than an omo onile. The image of a true Nigerian ,most importantly a complete footballer. Why you never had of him...he came at a time when the likes of hos talents could be found all over the country....to my left is one of such Edema...he would dribble you no matter who you are! A graduate of Business Administration from Uniben...one of the brains that played in our league at the time. A close friend, we lived in the same flat for 2years in Gboko...this was the season after he left us for Berger.

Dude stop lying you weren't born then talkless of recordingin in betamax.Tbite wrote:Those were the good ol days. Use to record it on betamax.
Cheiiii![]()
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I
mmeny wrote:Dude stop lying you weren't born then talkless of recordingin in betamax.Tbite wrote:Those were the good ol days. Use to record it on betamax.
Cheiiii![]()