UEFA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT ENGLISH FANS
Re: UEFA NEEDS TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT ENGLISH FANS
Chief, you have already lost a debate when you premise your argument on baseless allegations. I don't debate based on love for Russia or anything. I debate based on facts. If you look back on thse debates involving Russia, I turn out to be right 99% of the time because I argue based on ffacts, not sentiments. On the contrary, you have no facts to back what you said.Damunk wrote:Vincent, we know you have a thing for defending all things Russian, probably borne of a dislike for all things British.Vincent. wrote:Unfortunately, this is baseless scare mongering. It will be no worse than African fans going to support their teams in a tournament in England or any other country with a culture of hooliganism.Damunk wrote:Its a scary thought.Gudo wrote:God help the African fans who will be going to support their teams in Russia 2018.
If you gave me a free ticket and paid for my airfare to Russia 2018 I will kindly decline.
But I am sure our Brother Zee will lead the way and we will all be safe.
He knows them well and enjoys their trust...apparently.
Remember all the scare mongering ahead of the Sochi Olympics or the World Cup in South Africa (rape, car jacking, AIDS, gun violence, etc)? The reality is that fans in host countries are always on their best behaviors during tournaments.
But the fact of the matter is that any African football fan will feel (and be) much safer travelling around the UK in support of his national team in his national colours than he would be travelling around Russia.
You can deny it all you like, but even though racism in the UK clearly still exists, at least over the decades the govt has continued to educate the public. I was born and grew up as a child here, went away and came back as an adult.
Not only have I seen the difference between what the UK was as a child and what it was when I came back, but I can see the difference between the UK of the 90s and today. There is a huge difference in the Briton's attitude towards race between then and now.
If you have similar comparisons to make for Russia, please let us know. But no way will I buy your argument that it is scare-mongering. Even here in the UK today, any black Briton will tell you that the influx of East Europeans into the country has made them feel far less safe and the difference in attitude towards me as a black man is very palpable.
As I suspected, you are getting things confused. There is no comparison between the UK and Eastern European countries (including Russia) or even some Western European countries (like Italy, Greece, etc) when it comes to day-to-day Black/White race relations. Nobody is saying that Russia is less racist than the UK. That is not the point of the debate. The point is that nobody in Russia or Italy or Greece will be going around attacking foreign visitors who travel there to support their teams during a major tournament. It does not happen. Anyone who tells you that is just spreading fear.You can deny it all you like, but even though racism in the UK clearly still exists, at least over the decades the govt has continued to educate the public. I was born and grew up as a child here, went away and came back as an adult.
Not only have I seen the difference between what the UK was as a child and what it was when I came back, but I can see the difference between the UK of the 90s and today. There is a huge difference in the Briton's attitude towards race between then and now.
I can tell you right now that there will be no band of Russian racists hunting down African football fans during World Cup 2018. You can bookmark this page and get back to me after that World Cup. I can also tell you that there will be no band of pious Muslims going around to attack gay football fans when the World Cup is held in Qatar. I can also tell you that there will be no epidemic of Zika among theletes and visitors after the Rio Olympics.
In short, my point is not about "loving" Russia or "hating" the UK, it is about baseless fear mongering every time an international tournament is around the corer, especially if it is not taking place in rich, Western European country. The same scare mongering that prompted relatives of several American athletes to stay at home during the Sochi Olympics and prompted many Westerners from going to South Africa for the World Cup.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.
“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
On what basis should I explain anything? Nobody said the Russians were not involved. What we said is that the English have been involved in fighting three consecutive days. Fact. I even mentioned that Russian hooligans engaged in street battles with Polish fans at Euro 2012. Fact. That does not change the fact that English fans have a reputation and the English FA needs to do more to control their fans like the Scottish and Welsh FA do.
I suspect UEFA is charging the Russians for what happened INSIDE the stadium, when the Russians reportedly attacked the English. I don't think UEFA has jurisdiction over what happens on the streets of Marseilles. So, yes, UEFA is right to charge and punish the Russians. No argument there.
The YeyeMan wrote:Oya Vincent, Monki (aka Zee), explanate why UEFA investigating the Russian fans for crowd disturbances, racist behaviour and setting off fire works in the stadium? Aniks, you might need to rename this thread....
Uefa opens case against Russia but not England after Euro 2016 fan violence
Associated Press
Sunday 12 June 2016 11.06 BST
https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... -euro-2016
Uefa express ‘utter disgust’ but have not opened case against the English FA
Uefa has expressed its “utter disgust” and opened disciplinary proceedings against Russia for crowd disturbances, racist behaviour by fans and fireworks being set off during the European Championship game against England on Saturday. Uefa has not opened any case against the English Football Association.
The control, ethics and disciplinary bodies of Uefa will judge the Russia case on Tuesday ahead of their second Euro 2016 Group B match against Slovakia on Wednesday.
Uefa says it will implement “corrective measures” to strengthen security at European Championship stadiums after “segregation issues” at the Stade Velodrome, where the game finished 1-1.
Regional police chief Laurent Nunez said most of the injuries in Marseille were minor but that four were serious and that one of them – an England supporter – was in a serious but stable condition.
Uefa says it “acknowledges that there were segregation issues at Stade Velodrome and will implement corrective measures to strengthen the deployment of security personnel at stadiums, in close collaboration with local authorities.”
In its statement, Uefa said it also “expresses its utter disgust for the violent clashes that occurred in the city centre of Marseille, and its serious concern for the incidents at the end of the match inside Stade Velodrome. This kind of behaviour is totally unacceptable and has no place in football.”
Uefa says “a decision on the sanctions to be imposed will be made within the next few days, once the Russian Football Union has been able to submit written statements and evidence.”
Russia’s sports minister, Vitaly Mutko, has backed Uefa’s decision to take action against the Russian Football Union. “It’s the right thing, there were flares, there was a flare gun, there had been clashes in the stands, it’s necessary to sort all of this out,” said Mutko, speaking to the R-Sport news agency. “We will prepare properly, we will present our position... the fans were rooting greatly, but there are people who do not come for the football.” The former Fifa vice-president, Vyacheslav Koloskov, has said the RFU can expect to receive a “maximum fine” for their supporters behaviour.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.
1. Chief, I will not argue with your knowledge of the situation. Still, my understanding of a military operation conjures an event based on military-style preparation and execution with a rigid command structure. I don't think that is how football hooligans operate. Having military training and being able to drink like fish make the Russians more dangerous, but I would not call it a "military operation."Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:You this Vincent sefVincent. wrote:Really? Where are you getting all this from?Gudo wrote:The English fans are of course no angels throw in the drink and the worst in them comes out. They are however no match for the organised Russian hooligans who go about their business as if it's a military operation.
Let's not pretend that the English hooligans are some innocent guys who drank too much and lost control. Both sets of hooligans pre-plan their violence. Sets of hooligans often arrange to fight each other before or after football matches. This has been well documented in books, documentaries, and interviews involving hard-core English hooligans. These people get high on the violence itself and not the football.![]()
The English fans are a despicable bunch, BUT Gudo is closer to the truth re organised like military than you are giving him credit for. I have, unfortunately seen these guys first-had in Moscow plan and execute fights...this was still pre-social media. And throw in the fact that the majority of Russian males above 18 have military training. Doesn't make them worse than the British, which is NOT Gudo, argument, but much more organized and brutal in execution.
2. Let me ask you this: would you advice African fans not to travel to Russia for World Cup 2018, as some people are doing here? Do you think it is likely that roaming gangs of Russian racists will be attacking African fans during the World Cup?
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Bro Vince:Vincent. wrote:1. Chief, I will not argue with your knowledge of the situation. Still, my understanding of a military operation conjures an event based on military-style preparation and execution with a rigid command structure. I don't think that is how football hooligans operate. Having military training and being able to drink like fish make the Russians more dangerous, but I would not call it a "military operation."Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:You this Vincent sefVincent. wrote:Really? Where are you getting all this from?Gudo wrote:The English fans are of course no angels throw in the drink and the worst in them comes out. They are however no match for the organised Russian hooligans who go about their business as if it's a military operation.
Let's not pretend that the English hooligans are some innocent guys who drank too much and lost control. Both sets of hooligans pre-plan their violence. Sets of hooligans often arrange to fight each other before or after football matches. This has been well documented in books, documentaries, and interviews involving hard-core English hooligans. These people get high on the violence itself and not the football.![]()
The English fans are a despicable bunch, BUT Gudo is closer to the truth re organised like military than you are giving him credit for. I have, unfortunately seen these guys first-had in Moscow plan and execute fights...this was still pre-social media. And throw in the fact that the majority of Russian males above 18 have military training. Doesn't make them worse than the British, which is NOT Gudo, argument, but much more organized and brutal in execution.
2. Let me ask you this: would you advice African fans not to travel to Russia for World Cup 2018, as some people are doing here? Do you think it is likely that roaming gangs of Russian racists will be attacking African fans during the World Cup?
I would not advise myself to go to Russia. I have no advise for others. To be fair my opinions on Russian racist attacks are personal and subjective. I will not dissuade anyone from going, I will rather advise them to be safe and make smart decisions. When you see groups of unruly-looking young men, avoid them. It takes just one angel* to point and call you the n-word (or throw a punch) for the others to join in. On the flip side, it also takes one intelligent decent dude to make a stand in your defense for others to fall in line.
- Comrade Machel
Samora sends heartfelt thanks to russian hooligans for thumping th2 pompous english and teaching them a lesson
It would have been even sweeter if the africans in marseilles ghettos had had that honour

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Nothing will happen except for games involving the English. They are the catalysts that bring out the worst in most hot headed opposing fans.kajifu wrote:Russia 2018 Russia vs USA and Russia vs England...
Those games go be the most watch if they meet each other.
Fan violence is not new. Here you have the notorious Philadelphia fans (All sports). You have Raiders fans in football.
The English have to realize that their reputation precedes them. No one is going to allow them to come and punk (intimidate) them.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Chief Ogbus, I will be going to Russia. Done business in Russia. Never had a problem... just like SA World Cup, the country will put their best foot forward. Won't be surprise if they lock up any known troublemaker.Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Bro Vince:Vincent. wrote:1. Chief, I will not argue with your knowledge of the situation. Still, my understanding of a military operation conjures an event based on military-style preparation and execution with a rigid command structure. I don't think that is how football hooligans operate. Having military training and being able to drink like fish make the Russians more dangerous, but I would not call it a "military operation."Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:You this Vincent sefVincent. wrote:Really? Where are you getting all this from?Gudo wrote:The English fans are of course no angels throw in the drink and the worst in them comes out. They are however no match for the organised Russian hooligans who go about their business as if it's a military operation.
I would not advise myself to go to Russia. I have no advise for others. To be fair my opinions on Russian racist attacks are personal and subjective. I will not dissuade anyone from going, I will rather advise them to be safe and make smart decisions. When you see groups of unruly-looking young men, avoid them. It takes just one angel* to point and call you the n-word (or throw a punch) for the others to join in. On the flip side, it also takes one intelligent decent dude to make a stand in your defense for others to fall in line.
Anyway, if it was in the States, I will think twice about going to Philadelphia to watch any sporting event. You guys are savages. Probably descendants of the English or somn...

UEFA has just released a statement threatening England and Russia with expulsion from the tournament if they cause any additional violence
Not only English the Dutch, Russian are all crazyCellular wrote:Nothing will happen except for games involving the English. They are the catalysts that bring out the worst in most hot headed opposing fans.kajifu wrote:Russia 2018 Russia vs USA and Russia vs England...
Those games go be the most watch if they meet each other.
Fan violence is not new. Here you have the notorious Philadelphia fans (All sports). You have Raiders fans in football.
The English have to realize that their reputation precedes them. No one is going to allow them to come and punk (intimidate) them.
The hard core hooligans don''t care about all that.YUJAM wrote:UEFA has just released a statement threatening England and Russia with expulsion from the tournament if they cause any additional violence
They are there for the fighting, not the football.
- The YeyeMan
This. The Russians were intent on trouble - it's been reported they were wearing gum shields and some even wore England shirts to mix in. It was organised.Damunk wrote:The hard core hooligans don''t care about all that.YUJAM wrote:UEFA has just released a statement threatening England and Russia with expulsion from the tournament if they cause any additional violence
They are there for the fighting, not the football.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
That is also my sentiment. I don't buy this idea that gangs of racists will be pursuing African fans through the streets of Russia (or that groups of ultra-conservative Muslims will be pursuing gay men through the streets of Qatar) during the World Cup.Cellular wrote:Chief Ogbus, I will be going to Russia. Done business in Russia. Never had a problem... just like SA World Cup, the country will put their best foot forward. Won't be surprise if they lock up any known troublemaker.Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Bro Vince:Vincent. wrote:1. Chief, I will not argue with your knowledge of the situation. Still, my understanding of a military operation conjures an event based on military-style preparation and execution with a rigid command structure. I don't think that is how football hooligans operate. Having military training and being able to drink like fish make the Russians more dangerous, but I would not call it a "military operation."Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:You this Vincent sefVincent. wrote:Really? Where are you getting all this from?Gudo wrote:The English fans are of course no angels throw in the drink and the worst in them comes out. They are however no match for the organised Russian hooligans who go about their business as if it's a military operation.
Anyway, if it was in the States, I will think twice about going to Philadelphia to watch any sporting event. You guys are savages. Probably descendants of the English or somn...
- Cellular
- Site Admin
But like many Briticos have pointed out, the fans who cause trouble are not there to watch the game. They came for the fight.YUJAM wrote:UEFA has just released a statement threatening England and Russia with expulsion from the tournament if they cause any additional violence
Anyway, they should ban these savages from participating in tournaments.

That is the right approach. Countries should be facing a real threat of expulsion from UEFA competitions for this type of behavior.YUJAM wrote:UEFA has just released a statement threatening England and Russia with expulsion from the tournament if they cause any additional violence
The local French fans are partly responsible for the violence.
See black man participating in the riots. He stands out as an obvious target for racist thugs

CE member for sure.Vincent. wrote:See black man participating in the riots. He stands out as an obvious target for racist thugs![]()
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.
kalani JR wrote:The local French fans are partly responsible for the violence.

Internet gangster
Troll
Troll
- Comrade Machel
Som3 blacks are a lost cause. Those same comrades he is willing to die for wouldnt drink a cup of tea from the same cup he usedrasak74 wrote:CE member for sure.Vincent. wrote:See black man participating in the riots. He stands out as an obvious target for racist thugs![]()

Yeyeman before the Russians kick his idiotic as-rasak74 wrote:CE member for sure.Vincent. wrote:See black man participating in the riots. He stands out as an obvious target for racist thugs![]()

"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
The English have the worst record of hooliganism among all Euro teas. So trying to absolve them of blame in these incidents is ridiculous. As Cellular correctly pointed out, the barbarians need to be banned 

Samora Machel wrote:Samora sends heartfelt thanks to russian hooligans for thumping th2 pompous english and teaching them a lesson![]()
2.things are painful to the English here.
1, they were thumped seriously by Russia hooligans
2. They thought they were gonna beat the Russian national team and gloat all week but it hasn't happened and British media is pissed off big time.

Looks like the Ruskies came well prepared and ready to show the Queens peeps that they are Top Dogs when it comes to hooliganism
Looks like the Brits got a proper azz whooping