Redknapp to coach Nigeria?
- danfo driver
Re: Redknapp to coach Nigeria?
Ugbowo wrote:Has the NFF announced Rohr??
At EnuguII, I read Shina’s article too.....but where’s the announcement?
Rohr is the one saying he has signed.
Siddonlook mode as usual
The guy started negotiations by raising his shoulder up up! making demands up and down!
- Telling us that he wants a pay increase!
- Telling us that he has 2 offers from 2 other countries!
- Telling us that he wanted to work from his brothel in Bordeaux or his home office in Germany!
- Telling us that he wanted an apartment and driver while he was in Nigeria!
- Telling us that he wanted to visit Nigeria once a year during detty december!
- Telling us that he will send his assistant to scout NPL games!
Now, e eye don clear!
- He is begging for a pay decrease
- He is no longer mentioning the two offers
- He no longer wants to work from Bordeaux or Germany
- He no longer needs a free apartment in Ikoyi or a driver. He will pay those himself
- He is begging to do detty January - December!
- He is begging to watch every NPL game, sitting on the stands!
Odiegwu! When I said he will toe the line and do whatever we demand, some people cried out in pain and disbelief! Here you are!

...desperation from corona virus lock down.
People, Nigerian fraudulent scam artist are not making money due to the pandemic, why not derail a current coach and employ one, an unproven one at best, so they can get their bank account stashed.
The disease (fraud) eating at Nigeria will keep us stagnated for a very long time.
People, Nigerian fraudulent scam artist are not making money due to the pandemic, why not derail a current coach and employ one, an unproven one at best, so they can get their bank account stashed.
The disease (fraud) eating at Nigeria will keep us stagnated for a very long time.
Absolute madness, I spoke with a Zambian friend, who was their FA Secretary yesterday and he couldn't believe that we were even contemplating not renewing his contract.ahidjo2 wrote:Removing Rohr will be one of the most stupid and senseless things to have ever happened to Nigerian soccer. Even thinking about it is pure foolishness. There will be absolutely no rational basis or justification to do so. The usual enemies of Nigeria will want us to go back to the old days of having a disorganized and disjointed team. Nigerian team has never, I repeat never being organized as the present team...How do you explain sacking a coach that very easily qualified Nigeria for a world cup with a game to spare in what can be described as the toughest world cup group that Nigeria had ever been in? How do you justify that? How do you justify sacking a coach that took the team to AFCON 3rd place (no thanks to a last-minute free-kick in the semis. The game was heading for extra time) after failing to qualify for 2 consecutive editions? He even qualified the team before the last game as he did during the world cup qualifiers. He is presently topping the AFCON qualification table and the world cup qualifiers are about to start... There are so many confusionists in Nigeria!
Peter Crouch: I'm so excited to get my Nigerian passport

Peter Crouch has followed up reports that Harry Redknapp is in line to be the new Nigeria manager - by declaring his availability.
Gernot Rohr sees his contract expire at the end of the month and there is serious doubt over the German's future.
And The Star claims the Nigerian hierarchy are considering trying to tempt 73-year-old Redknapp back into the dug out.
That left football fans on social media joking it could see Redknapp trying to bring his old favourites Crouch, Jermain Defoe and Niko Kranjcar back together in West Africa.
And Stoke City hero Crouch chuckled: "So excited to get my Nigerian passport through today #gosupereagles "
Charlie Adam was among the replies, saying: "You better make sure Peter Odemwingie doesn't just turn up!"
Crouch, now aged 39, scored 22 times in 42 appearances for England and played for Redknapp at Southampton, Portsmouth and Tottenham.
Last week he had been quizzed about starring on ITV hit Harry's Heroes, a second series of Redknapp leading a team of England veterans to take on Germany.
He said: "Having looked at some of the frames of the players who were involved, – and their respective dates of birth – I think I need a few more pints, a few more years and a few more stone to put on before I can make that team!
"What I will say is that Jermain Defoe and I are in our own WhatsApp group and we are just waiting for the message from Harry to come and join him. We will see what we can do with Niko Kranjcar and make him an honorary Englishman!
"It was a really enjoyable programme but you are right – there was a serious element. Neil Ruddock's health issues were addressed in the first programme and others spoke candidly about the battles they have faced.
"Lee Hendrie's situation really struck a chord with me. Lee is a mate, someone I had great times with at Aston Villa but he's been affected severely by depression.
"He will know that people who care about him are there for him. Life away from football is not as straightforward as you would think."
Redknapp has been reflecting this month about the first time he signed Crouch.
He told the BBC: "Graham Rix was the manager at Pompey and I was director of football. I don't know what I was meant to be doing, it was the biggest waste of time ever that year.
"Anyway, Graham was pushing to sign Crouchy and I said to [chairman] Milan Mandaric 'Pete's a good player, he will do well for the club'. Milan said. 'Do you really expect me to pay £1m for a basketball player? Are you crazy'."
"He said, 'if we sign him, it's on your head. If he's no good, you take the blame'. At the end of the year we sold him for about £5.5m to Aston Villa and Milan said, 'I told you he was always going to be a player'."
But an unlikely further reunion is even further off the table considering his own thoughts on what will happen next.
"When we come out of lockdown I would like to buy a football club," he said.
"That is my ambition. At a lower level, League One, League Two, maybe National League.
"But someone with potential. I would love that, go on Saturdays on the coach. I don't think I could afford Crouchy's wages but maybe he could come in as manager!
"I'm not spending loads of dough. We're working on a low budget. You need a manager who knows the league. An expert in that division. So that rules Crouchy out."
https://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/f ... pp-4166843

Peter Crouch has followed up reports that Harry Redknapp is in line to be the new Nigeria manager - by declaring his availability.
Gernot Rohr sees his contract expire at the end of the month and there is serious doubt over the German's future.
And The Star claims the Nigerian hierarchy are considering trying to tempt 73-year-old Redknapp back into the dug out.
That left football fans on social media joking it could see Redknapp trying to bring his old favourites Crouch, Jermain Defoe and Niko Kranjcar back together in West Africa.
And Stoke City hero Crouch chuckled: "So excited to get my Nigerian passport through today #gosupereagles "
Charlie Adam was among the replies, saying: "You better make sure Peter Odemwingie doesn't just turn up!"
Crouch, now aged 39, scored 22 times in 42 appearances for England and played for Redknapp at Southampton, Portsmouth and Tottenham.
Last week he had been quizzed about starring on ITV hit Harry's Heroes, a second series of Redknapp leading a team of England veterans to take on Germany.
He said: "Having looked at some of the frames of the players who were involved, – and their respective dates of birth – I think I need a few more pints, a few more years and a few more stone to put on before I can make that team!
"What I will say is that Jermain Defoe and I are in our own WhatsApp group and we are just waiting for the message from Harry to come and join him. We will see what we can do with Niko Kranjcar and make him an honorary Englishman!
"It was a really enjoyable programme but you are right – there was a serious element. Neil Ruddock's health issues were addressed in the first programme and others spoke candidly about the battles they have faced.
"Lee Hendrie's situation really struck a chord with me. Lee is a mate, someone I had great times with at Aston Villa but he's been affected severely by depression.
"He will know that people who care about him are there for him. Life away from football is not as straightforward as you would think."
Redknapp has been reflecting this month about the first time he signed Crouch.
He told the BBC: "Graham Rix was the manager at Pompey and I was director of football. I don't know what I was meant to be doing, it was the biggest waste of time ever that year.
"Anyway, Graham was pushing to sign Crouchy and I said to [chairman] Milan Mandaric 'Pete's a good player, he will do well for the club'. Milan said. 'Do you really expect me to pay £1m for a basketball player? Are you crazy'."
"He said, 'if we sign him, it's on your head. If he's no good, you take the blame'. At the end of the year we sold him for about £5.5m to Aston Villa and Milan said, 'I told you he was always going to be a player'."
But an unlikely further reunion is even further off the table considering his own thoughts on what will happen next.
"When we come out of lockdown I would like to buy a football club," he said.
"That is my ambition. At a lower level, League One, League Two, maybe National League.
"But someone with potential. I would love that, go on Saturdays on the coach. I don't think I could afford Crouchy's wages but maybe he could come in as manager!
"I'm not spending loads of dough. We're working on a low budget. You need a manager who knows the league. An expert in that division. So that rules Crouchy out."
https://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/f ... pp-4166843
If you need someone to convince you how and why the losses to Argentina and Algeria were far more significant than the loss to Madagascar, then we shouldn't even be having this conversation.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:There you go again trying to be smart-lipped without any concrete facts. I’d like to know what angel* favored Nigeria over Argentina or Algeria and why you think a loss to a nobody pales in comparison to a loss to Argentina or even Algeria, for that matter. That’s kind of nonsensical; true most of us felt they were beatable and indeed with a little better coaching and game management, Argentina should have gone home.
Google the Internet for Rohr reports
My exact words were: "...it (the Madagascar game) was one match that cost us little or nothing and totally pales into insignificance compared to the losses to Argentina and Algeria."
I don't even know where to start with you on that one.
So I won't.

NFF President, Amaju Pinnick, has officially announced the contract renewal of Super Eagles coach, Gerhnot Rohr for a new 2 year contract. Congratulations Baba Rohr!
Redknapp ko Cuper ni!

Hopefully the unseeming and shameless campaign by Redknapp and his cohorts can now be given a rest.
Rohr to stay on as Nigeria coach
https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/52825589
Last updated on 22 minutes ago22 minutes ago.
From the section Sport Africa
Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr is to stay on as Super Eagles coach, ending months of protracted contract negotiations.
Discussions have been going on since 2019 over the deal, with problems arising after the Nigeria Football Federation insisted publicly that Rohr spend more time in Nigeria.
But the nation’s football governing body has now confirmed both parties have agreed to a new deal.
"I am happy to announce that the NFF and Coach Gernot Rohr have concluded all contractual discussions and he will stay on as the coach of the Super Eagles", Amaju Pinnick, President of the NFF, said in a statement on Wednesday.
"We can now qualify on qualifying for the World Cup and winning the Nations Cup. These are sacrosanct and Coach Rohr is aware of these conditions." Pinnick added.
Rohr’s former contract was set to expire in June 2020, and while he was presented a new deal at the start of April, there were uncertainties about an agreement based on new clauses set by the NFF.
This was further put in the with reports that Harry Redknapp could be in line for the Super Eagles job.
However the NFF told BBC Sport Africa "they do not know anything about Redknapp being appointed as Super Eagles coach," and the confirmed deal for Rohr has ended this speculation.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
2 things
1. 2 year contract does not see him through to Qatar 2022, it will need to be a 2 and half year contract. I hope this is just a mistake and that the contract is not just 2 years.
2. According to BBC article it appears to suggest that winning the 2021 ANC is a Condition for Rohr to retain his contract. Again I hope this is not the case.
1. 2 year contract does not see him through to Qatar 2022, it will need to be a 2 and half year contract. I hope this is just a mistake and that the contract is not just 2 years.
2. According to BBC article it appears to suggest that winning the 2021 ANC is a Condition for Rohr to retain his contract. Again I hope this is not the case.
we know we aint winning nothing with ****. I expect him gone , come AFCON 2021
Rohr is not perfect but Redknapp would not have been an improvement. We don't even know how he would cope on the African Landscape. Rohr is tried and tested in Africa.
- danfo driver
GroundNut Rogue will accept anything we give him! He will accept it and he will toe the line! Simple as that.vancity eagle wrote:2 things
It's official!

https://twitter.com/SSE_NGA/status/1265671484598628357
Gernot Rohr until December 2022
TERRORISM is the WAR of the POOR while WAR is the TERRORISM of the RICH!
The Best Quotes For Me So Far: "I was born here but brought up as an African. When you reach adulthood you either feel African or you don't, and it's not worth playing if you don't have that feeling." Efan Ekoku
Prof, I wouldn't be surprised if Redknapp knew nothing about the campaign!Enugu II wrote:Hopefully the unseeming and shameless campaign by Redknapp and his cohorts can now be given a rest.
Rohr to stay on as Nigeria coach
https://www.bbc.com/sport/africa/52825589
Last updated on 22 minutes ago22 minutes ago.
From the section Sport Africa
Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr is to stay on as Super Eagles coach, ending months of protracted contract negotiations.
Discussions have been going on since 2019 over the deal, with problems arising after the Nigeria Football Federation insisted publicly that Rohr spend more time in Nigeria.
But the nation’s football governing body has now confirmed both parties have agreed to a new deal.
"I am happy to announce that the NFF and Coach Gernot Rohr have concluded all contractual discussions and he will stay on as the coach of the Super Eagles", Amaju Pinnick, President of the NFF, said in a statement on Wednesday.
"We can now qualify on qualifying for the World Cup and winning the Nations Cup. These are sacrosanct and Coach Rohr is aware of these conditions." Pinnick added.
Rohr’s former contract was set to expire in June 2020, and while he was presented a new deal at the start of April, there were uncertainties about an agreement based on new clauses set by the NFF.
This was further put in the with reports that Harry Redknapp could be in line for the Super Eagles job.
However the NFF told BBC Sport Africa "they do not know anything about Redknapp being appointed as Super Eagles coach," and the confirmed deal for Rohr has ended this speculation.
- danfo driver
LOL. Wheeler Dealer 'Arry is more corrupt than you think. Just being an Englishman or a white man doesnt mean someone is dignified. Please, do not put him on a pedestal.Dammy wrote: Prof, I wouldn't be surprised if Redknapp knew nothing about the campaign!
One day your destructive prayers might be answered.Bigpokey24 wrote:we know we aint winning nothing with ****. I expect him gone , come AFCON 2021
For now, your misery continues.

No be harry dem catch wan collect paper a while back? Even sam Allaydyce sefdanfo driver wrote:LOL. Wheeler Dealer 'Arry is more corrupt than you think. Just being an Englishman or a white man doesnt mean someone is dignified. Please, do not put him on a pedestal.Dammy wrote: Prof, I wouldn't be surprised if Redknapp knew nothing about the campaign!
Rewarding failureNext wrote:It's official!
Gernot Rohr until December 2022
- Eaglezbeak
It sounds like a Nigerian thing to do find a new manager a few weeks before the the World Cup starts but luckily it’ll be played during the European winter so it might give them almost 2 years if the Afcon is played in the Winter which May no longer be the case so it will give them a year and a half to find a new manager.Going by previous appointments and decisions stability isn’t what Nigerians strive for so let’s see.vancity eagle wrote:2 things
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
LMAO! Redknapp? This has to be the dumbest thing ive read all week
Good job to the NFF for working out the issues with Rohr. Go Eagles!

- danfo driver
metalalloy wrote:LMAO! Redknapp? This has to be the dumbest thing ive read all week![]()
The issue though is can Gray and Albrighton make the Super Eagles team? or do we have players of their caliber?

Can you imagine Redknapp scouting in the hot sun in Katsina or Kano? Bunch of jokers!metalalloy wrote:LMAO! Redknapp? This has to be the dumbest thing ive read all week![]()
metalalloy wrote:LMAO! Redknapp? This has to be the dumbest thing ive read all week![]()
KPOM. In my view, it would have been a terrible decision to go the route of Redknapp or whatever. One thing I like about the Rohr decision is the fact that we have continuity which is important in football but sadly and increasingly lacking at the national level. I hope, however, the NFF can fix and insist on some changes in Rohr's approach.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
Dammy wrote:Can you imagine Redknapp scouting in the hot sun in Katsina or Kano? Bunch of jokers!metalalloy wrote:LMAO! Redknapp? This has to be the dumbest thing ive read all week![]()