BREAKING!!! Jose Peseiro DUMPED, EGUAVOEN TO CONTINUE!!
- maceo4
Re: BREAKING!!! Jose Peseiro DUMPED, EGUAVOEN TO CONTINUE!!
He prefaced that statement by referencing how Egu had only 5 days with the full squad before the Egypt game, and based on the shambolic planning he sees it as a phenomenal performance. Mind you a lot of people complaining now were predicting we would lose even 4-0 in our first match…But me personally I wouldn’t use such a term, just say he did better than a lot of pre-tournament expectations…EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:00 amYeye dey smell. Is he reporting or representing the NFF? Has there ever been a FC hired that wasn't allowed his own assistants? On what metric did Eguavoen do phenomenally well after getting knocked da f** out in the 2nd rd? Worst performance since 92. Croonism is killing us. How can Collin Udoh say the rubbish that coming out of his mouth? Is he on Nff payroll?![]()
He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:00 amYeye dey smell. Is he reporting or representing the NFF? Has there ever been a FC hired that wasn't allowed his own assistants? On what metric did Eguavoen do phenomenally well after getting knocked da f** out in the 2nd rd? Worst performance since 92. Croonism is killing us. How can Collin Udoh say the rubbish that coming out of his mouth? Is he on Nff payroll?![]()
I'm sorry but he has become a town crier foe the Nff. No objectivity whatsoever in his comments. Does denying a.new coach his choice of assistants sound reasonable? Is that a valid reason to nullify a contract?maceo4 wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:15 amHe prefaced that statement by referencing how Egu had only 5 days with the full squad before the Egypt game, and based on the shambolic planning he sees it as a phenomenal performance. Mind you a lot of people complaining now were predicting we would lose even 4-0 in our first match…But me personally I wouldn’t use such a term, just say he did better than a lot of pre-tournament expectations…EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:00 amYeye dey smell. Is he reporting or representing the NFF? Has there ever been a FC hired that wasn't allowed his own assistants? On what metric did Eguavoen do phenomenally well after getting knocked da f** out in the 2nd rd? Worst performance since 92. Croonism is killing us. How can Collin Udoh say the rubbish that coming out of his mouth? Is he on Nff payroll?![]()
The man is now a PA to Pinnick. Very sad to see a respected sports journalist compromise himself in such manner.
No! Never heard of it. Not at this level. No coach will ever sign on to coach a serious national team without his choice of assistant coaches. It doesn't happen anywhere. His willingness to just sugarcoat it as something that was kinda BTW is disgraceful. He knows better.1naija wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:29 am He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:00 amYeye dey smell. Is he reporting or representing the NFF? Has there ever been a FC hired that wasn't allowed his own assistants? On what metric did Eguavoen do phenomenally well after getting knocked da f** out in the 2nd rd? Worst performance since 92. Croonism is killing us. How can Collin Udoh say the rubbish that coming out of his mouth? Is he on Nff payroll?![]()
Best thing NFF done in years...Nigeria should only be managed by a Nigerian + logistical/tactical reason it makes sense
I miss CE...been away for mental health reasons...
Great to have you back.
We are all vulnerable and need to handle the stress of modern living in better ways.
Thanks for sharing bro.

I do not necessarily think Nigeria should be managed by Nigerians but I believe it is a continuing insult to state that Nigerian assistans must be appointed to learn under a foreign manager. That is just insulting. There are many Nigerians who are more qualified than some of the European managers hired to coach Nigeria. Simply hire a manager and allow the manager to name his assistants and stop these insulting appointments.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
I agree but only in principle.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 2:46 pmI do not necessarily think Nigeria should be managed by Nigerians but I believe it is a continuing insult to state that Nigerian assistans must be appointed to learn under a foreign manager. That is just insulting. There are many Nigerians who are more qualified than some of the European managers hired to coach Nigeria. Simply hire a manager and allow the manager to name his assistants and stop these insulting appointments.
Bcos it is also disrespectful to suggest that our fully qualified coaches be asked to co-manage the national team eg 'Finidi and Amuneke' or 'Eguavon and Amuneke' or 'Finidi and and Eguavon'.
That in itself shows a distinct lack of confidence in our local coaches, even by the ones that cry loudly that they don't want foreign coaches.
The real shame is that we simply do not have coaches that have gone out there and shown outstanding qualities, either in our local clubs or in Africa.
Virtually every single profession in Nigeria has had its professionals go out there to compete with the very best, from Nigeria to Africa to Europe and America.
We have excelled- even those from the humblest of beginnings have excelled.
So what is the excuse of our coaches?
I was trained by NIGERIANS in NIGERIA
The generation before me were trained by FOREIGNERS.
Why is the coaching profession so far behind in 2022?
Thats the question we need to answer instead of waving the patriot flag and ignoring the lack of quality personnel.
You cant keep a quality Nigerian down, so why is the supposed quality in the coaching profession still hiding?
Damunk wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 4:17 pmI agree but only in principle.Enugu II wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 2:46 pmI do not necessarily think Nigeria should be managed by Nigerians but I believe it is a continuing insult to state that Nigerian assistans must be appointed to learn under a foreign manager. That is just insulting. There are many Nigerians who are more qualified than some of the European managers hired to coach Nigeria. Simply hire a manager and allow the manager to name his assistants and stop these insulting appointments.
Bcos it is also disrespectful to suggest that our fully qualified coaches be asked to co-manage the national team eg 'Finidi and Amuneke' or 'Eguavon and Amuneke' or 'Finidi and and Eguavon'.
That in itself shows a distinct lack of confidence in our local coaches, even by the ones that cry loudly that they don't want foreign coaches.
The real shame is that we simply do not have coaches that have gone out there and shown outstanding qualities, either in our local clubs or in Africa.
Virtually every single profession in Nigeria has had its professionals go out there to compete with the very best, from Nigeria to Africa to Europe and America.
Thats the question we need to answer instead of waving the patriot flag and ignoring the lack of quality personnel.
You cant keep a quality Nigerian down, so why is the supposed quality in the coaching profession still hiding?
Most of the apostles of LCs here will not offer a coherent reason for their stance beyond waving the flag.
CE is full of posturing and posers, and half football literate folks...
This is the issue I've raised repeatedly. More than a decade ago I wrote a piece in The Guardian where I stated that IMO we need a well informed and professional Nigerian coach, one who has the experience of European football and an understanding of Nigerian footballing culture, to play to our optimum.
We clearly do not have that. All due respect, but Eguavoen is just another run of the mill Nigerian born coach without professional dedication to football coaching.. You see them all over the place perambulating around the NFF for crumbs from the table, and getting good PR from sportswriters like KOC offered up in the clip.
To get such a coach, we either have our ex Euro pros dedicate themselves to the profession and grow their career as we see with the likes of Gerrard. In otherwords, leverage from the relationships they have in Europe to grow themselves.
So far we have nobody doing this...
Its on the football mgt side that we have such peeps, Emenalo being one obviously. I know Finidi can be cited, but he does not have a platform to grow. The environment for professional devpt via a viable league does not exist for him...
The other option and the sustainable option is to develop our local league. You cannot overstate the importance of the local league. Its not just a platform for developing players; its also an incubating lab for coaches to grow their craft.
That's what you see across Europe. The English Championship is all about medieval football. But its a platform for experimentation of ideas by coaches and you see the good ones filter out, like Graham Potter.
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Nigeria will provide the coaches you are referring too, when Football in Nigeria becomes 'professional industry' like Medicine, Law etc. That would not happen without investment and societal or industrial needs (Law industry needs people to study law, because they require lawyers, judges etc, ditto all professional jobs in Nigeria).Damunk wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 4:17 pm I agree but only in principle.
English footballers becomes coaches, pundits, administrators, etc. It's an industry that needs experts. Nigeria football never reach that level.
fabio wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 4:58 pmNigeria will provide the coaches you are referring too, when Football in Nigeria becomes 'professional industry' like Medicine, Law etc. That would not happen without investment and societal or industrial needs (Law industry needs people to study law, because they require lawyers, judges etc, ditto all professional jobs in Nigeria).Damunk wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 4:17 pm I agree but only in principle.
English footballers becomes coaches, pundits, administrators, etc. It's an industry that needs experts. Nigeria football never reach that level.
Your point captures most of what I stated above.
But it misses out the portion where our ex-pros dedicate themselves to becoming professional coaches, rather than seeking shortcuts. Was writing about Yaya Toure doing this recently...
We are at that level now...
Better
E be like you get contrary inside scoop. Make you share with us nah...
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:54 amNo! Never heard of it. Not at this level. No coach will ever sign on to coach a serious national team without his choice of assistant coaches. It doesn't happen anywhere. His willingness to just sugarcoat it as something that was kinda BTW is disgraceful. He knows better.1naija wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:29 am He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
- The YeyeMan
It's still medieval. Potter used his platform at Östersunds in Sweden to grow and experiment as a coach. By the time he got his first job in the UK he was pretty well seasoned.
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:54 amNo! Never heard of it. Not at this level. No coach will ever sign on to coach a serious national team without his choice of assistant coaches. It doesn't happen anywhere. His willingness to just sugarcoat it as something that was kinda BTW is disgraceful. He knows better.1naija wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:29 am He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
What is most disappointing for me is how he casually accepts that a federation with one of the top teams in the continent can simply give up on AFCON in pursuit of WCQ.
I can understand that if it was the WC tournament itself, like Cameroon did years ago. But qualifiers?
And then he compounds the clusterfuck by claiming Eguavoen performed phenomenally in coming out of the first round!
I mean, seriously?
This is why we will never develop as a country. B/c we are forever willing to accept sh1t...
Txjtxj wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 3:25 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:54 amNo! Never heard of it. Not at this level. No coach will ever sign on to coach a serious national team without his choice of assistant coaches. It doesn't happen anywhere. His willingness to just sugarcoat it as something that was kinda BTW is disgraceful. He knows better.1naija wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:29 am He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
What is most disappointing for me is how he casually accepts that a federation with one of the top teams in the continent can simply give up on AFCON in pursuit of WCQ.
I can understand that if it was the WC tournament itself, like Cameroon did years ago. But qualifiers?
And then he compounds the clusterfuck by claiming Eguavoen performed phenomenally in coming out of the first round!
I mean, seriously?
This is why we will never develop as a country. B/c we are forever willing to accept sh1t...
Why are you deliberately misquoting Colin? I bet if he was here you will have a full rebuttal because he clearly did not state that getting out the group was a phenomenal performance at AFCON. My interpretation is that the team performed phenomenally in the group games and that much was pretty clear to many Nigerians who saw the AFCON and had watched this team in recent years. The reaction to the team was a lot of excitement instead of the boredom and disinterest that followed this team in recent years. That is what Colin refers to.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:26 pmTxjtxj wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 3:25 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:54 amNo! Never heard of it. Not at this level. No coach will ever sign on to coach a serious national team without his choice of assistant coaches. It doesn't happen anywhere. His willingness to just sugarcoat it as something that was kinda BTW is disgraceful. He knows better.1naija wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:29 am He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
I mean, seriously?
Why are you deliberately misquoting Colin? I bet if he was here you will have a full rebuttal because he clearly did not state that getting out the group was a phenomenal performance at AFCON. My interpretation is that the team performed phenomenally in the group games and that much was pretty clear to many Nigerians who saw the AFCON and had watched this team in recent years. The reaction to the team was a lot of excitement instead of the boredom and disinterest that followed this team in recent years. That is what Colin refers to.
First of all he did NOT say it like u are parsing it. You are lying on his behalf.
He said, Egu performed phenomenally.
2nd, even by ur interpretation, the team 'performing phenomenally in the group games' is the equivalent of qualifying from the first round.
If the team performed 'phenomenally in the group games", what that means is that we are praising them for getting out of the group games.
That is a clear and direct inference. And I'm happy to take KOC on this anytime...
Your response lacks common sense and complete thought...
Txjtxj wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:35 pmEnugu II wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:26 pmTxjtxj wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 3:25 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:54 amNo! Never heard of it. Not at this level. No coach will ever sign on to coach a serious national team without his choice of assistant coaches. It doesn't happen anywhere. His willingness to just sugarcoat it as something that was kinda BTW is disgraceful. He knows better.1naija wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:29 am He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
I mean, seriously?
First of all he did NOT say it like u are parsing it. You are lying on his behalf.
2nd, even by ur interpretation, the team 'performing phenomenally in the group games' is the equivalent of qualifying from the first round.
If the team performed 'phenomenally in the group games", what that means is that we are praising them for getting out of the group games.
That is a clear and direct inference. And I'm happy to take KOC on this anytime...
Unfortunately your interpretation is severely flawed. He stated that the team performed phenomenally and they did in the opening round. Nigeria team was basically abandoned by the NFF and the fans had practically abandoned the ream because of poor performances before the AFCON. Morale was very low. The way the team then performed in the group games was a massive turnaround. That is exactly what he was referring to.
Enugu II wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:49 pmTxjtxj wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:35 pmEnugu II wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 4:26 pmTxjtxj wrote: ↑Sun Feb 06, 2022 3:25 pmEMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:54 amNo! Never heard of it. Not at this level. No coach will ever sign on to coach a serious national team without his choice of assistant coaches. It doesn't happen anywhere. His willingness to just sugarcoat it as something that was kinda BTW is disgraceful. He knows better.1naija wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:29 am He is telling you what he understood happened. If what he is saying is correct, has there ever been an instance you know of where a verbal agreement was made with a coach to work with existing assistants only for the coach to come back later to ask for his own assistants and more money?
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Sat Feb 05, 2022 5:00 am
Yeye dey smell. Is he reporting or representing the NFF? Has there ever been a FC hired that wasn't allowed his own assistants? On what metric did Eguavoen do phenomenally well after getting knocked da f** out in the 2nd rd? Worst performance since 92. Croonism is killing us. How can Collin Udoh say the rubbish that coming out of his mouth? Is he on Nff payroll?![]()
I mean, seriously?
Unfortunately your interpretation is severely flawed. He stated that the team performed phenomenally and they did in the opening round. Nigeria team was basically abandoned by the NFF and the fans had practically abandoned the ream because of poor performances before the AFCON. Morale was very low. The way the team then performed in the group games was a massive turnaround. That is exactly what he was referring to.
Its ur interpretation that is flawed. You are essentially giving him credit for what HE DID NOT SAY.
And then turning round and accusing me of deliberately misinterpreting him. What fvcking nerve!
Eguavoen performed phenomenally is what he said.
How can anyone say that for a Nigeria team whose only achievement is coming of the first round in AFCON?
Do you know the last time this happened to us?
The best u can claim is to say he misspoke, not to accuse me of deliberate falsehood.
Don't make me insult u back!
I believe Colin Udoh (aka Kickoff Chief) explained all of these in this videomaceo4 wrote: ↑Fri Jan 28, 2022 7:14 pmFirst off, does Peseiro actually have a contract with the NFF or just a verbal agreement? Second, if he does shouldn't it be stated in his contract where he should reside and his residence details hashed out in the contract? If he doesn't why should he be in Nigeria working with the NFF who haven't employed him? Is there something I'm missing or some scenario where this isn't an absolute sh1t show from the NFF? First they claimed they have a contract with him when clearly they don't, they also claimed the plan is for him to be in Cameroon to be around observing the team and scouting opposition, which clearly he wasn't, and then take over after the AFCON to handle the WCQ which according to this is not gonna happen. These were all things that came out of Picnics mouth on live TV, so how do they suddenly get absolution from either completely lying or completely bungling up their plans or both????Enugu II wrote: ↑Fri Jan 28, 2022 7:09 pmLolly
I agree with you but we have argued here that these coaches need not be in Nigeria because the players they manage are all outside the country. Have we not repeatedly made the claim here?. That the coach can just come during games when players arrive. In my view, that is absolute rubbish. The manager needs to live in Nigeria and travel to meet his players when ever. Right now if he had a place here, he should be working with the NFF to ensure that all arrangements are in order and can inspect those while contacting his players from Nigeria and going wherever to visit.
- maceo4
Robby, my comments where from quite a while ago and I’m the one that posted the Colin Udoh video giving clarification to some of those my prior questions. Be like sey your live stream dey buffer…keep up