Ndidi suffers knee ligament damage

Re: Ndidi suffers knee ligament damage

1naija wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 5:54 am ?? A few weeks or maximum 10 days. Which is it?
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 3:15 am Out for a few weeks. Max 10 days
You are worried now! You said we shouldn't worry too much about Onazi because he's on the standby list. I'm sure you can now see why folks were worried.

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 18, 2022 9:36 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Mar 18, 2022 9:27 pm So let's see... You want to just call up a random player not on the standby list to replace replace an injured player on the list? That must be how it works in coocoo land where you rule supreme.
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 18, 2022 9:18 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Mar 18, 2022 8:36 pm I would call Awaziem to replace Ndidi and move Ajayi to midfield.
You always talk like someone with a brain concussion, why should we move a natural playing defender into an unfamiliar midfield position especially in a very crucial game? why not just call up Bonke or any of the defensive mids around to replace Ndidi if he doesn't make it... guy na wa for you ooo
Bonke isn't an unfamiliar face, he has played in a crucial qualifier game under Rohr and didn't do badly, he now plays in a decent French league... why can't he be called up considering his good form? why are some of you so rigid and one dimensional?
Tobi

There are rules for inviting players. Clubs must receive invitation of a player a number of weeks before an actual game. Right now, we do not know that Bonke and his club received such invitation. Only players on the list and those on the reserved list have received such invitations. Thus, inviting Bonke at this time is a Longshot if there was no prior invitation.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

That actually sounds like a wise move if clubs aren't willing to release last minute callups. Ajayi has played DM in the past on multiple occasions, and Awazeim is back in the starting XI at his club. Not sure Lorient would be willing to release Bonke.
Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 18, 2022 9:18 pm
1naija wrote: Fri Mar 18, 2022 8:36 pm I would call Awaziem to replace Ndidi and move Ajayi to midfield.
You always talk like someone with a brain concussion, why should we move a natural playing defender into an unfamiliar midfield position especially in a very crucial game? why not just call up Bonke or any of the defensive mids around to replace Ndidi if he doesn't make it... guy na wa for you ooo

I don't worry over football. I am asking for clarification on the conflicted statemet. 10 days is not a few weeks. So its either few weeks or 10 days

We lost to CAR and Tunisia with Ndidi playing 90 minutes, so his presence or that of any single player for that matter does not guarantee the outcome of the game. I did say we have enough quality on the list to compete and perform well in the game if Ndidi is unavailable. Its the team that matters not indivudual players. If Onazi is the player called up from the standby list to replace Ndidi, his performance alone will not be the reason we win or lose the game in 90 minutes. My preference is Awaziem, so quote me right.
Dammy wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 10:56 am
1naija wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 5:54 am ?? A few weeks or maximum 10 days. Which is it?
You are worried now! You said we shouldn't worry too much about Onazi because he's on the standby list. I'm sure you can now see why folks were worried.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

1naija wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 5:54 am
?? A few weeks or maximum 10 days. Which is it?
The answer is "Bigpokey doesn't actually know how much time he will be out."
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

Owngoal is reporting that Bonke and Alhassan have been contacted to replace Ndidi. I hope Bonke gets a call, he's the only one of the 2 that does what we need Ndidi to do at a high level weekly.
asabatex

Post by asabatex »

Why did Eguveon list Onazi as standby, when we have Bonke and Alhassan? Onazi is playing in Saudi Division 2...damn

asabatex wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 8:51 pm Why did Eguveon list Onazi as standby, when we have Bonke and Alhassan? Onazi is playing in Saudi Division 2...damn
I told you.

The people running our football are DUMB and CORRUPT

Onazi was put on "standby" to boost his CV. He was never meant to be a backup option.

The people running our football don't have plan B. They expect injuries to not occur, so they can waste a spot for corrupt reasons.

I told you a midfielder other than Onazi will likely be called.

What we are seeing now, Keshi did on steroids. Remember his entire bench was due to "brown envelope" He even had injured players on the bench. The crook thought he could play an entire worldcup without injuries or suspension.

Just be glad today it is only a "standby" player and not THE ENTIRE BENCH.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 6:48 pm Owngoal is reporting that Bonke and Alhassan have been contacted to replace Ndidi. I hope Bonke gets a call, he's the only one of the 2 that does what we need Ndidi to do at a high level weekly.
As expected, the standby list has always been a bit of a farce IMO, which is why the Onazi brouhaha is pretty hilarious

Ewu,

Only a low life like you will forget the first adage of human decency to wit "Never speak ill of the dead!"

Cmoke :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 9:00 pm
asabatex wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 8:51 pm Why did Eguveon list Onazi as standby, when we have Bonke and Alhassan? Onazi is playing in Saudi Division 2...damn
I told you.

Onazi was put on "standby" to boost his CV. He was never meant to be a backup option.

The people running our football don't have plan B. They expect injuries to not occur, so they can waste a spot for corrupt reasons.

What we are seeing now, Keshi did on steroids. Remember his entire bench was due to "brown envelope" He even had injured players on the bench. The crook thought he could play an entire worldcup without injuries or suspension.

Cmoke wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 9:43 pm Ewu,

Only a low life like you will forget the first adage of human decency to wit "Never speak ill of the dead!"

Cmoke :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

I told you.

Very low life indeed.

Keshi was the greatest and most accomplished Nigeria n foitballer ever. He captained the 94 team to Afcon victory, qualified the 2014 team for the wc and Togo in 2006. On top that he was one of our best defenders ever. Its out of place for a low life cockroach to be talking about him in such matter. Uncalled for!

So was anything I said a lie ?

You all can make up whatever history and story makes you feel better.

Facts are facts.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 3:51 am So was anything I said a lie ?

Facts are facts.
Dude, a lot of people have been here for a long long time in support of SE, particularly those of us in the diaspora. Yes, we all love football but the rallying point is the Nigerian national team. The love of SE is what created CE, not some idealistic notion of how the game is suppose to be played or managed.

Keshi is a national hero to us. We accept and love him for all his accomplishments and faults. An attack on the late Keshi is an assault not just on Keshi but the entire football loving fans of Nigeria. You wouldn't dare go to a European forum and insult their dead heroes so don't try it with us.

If you cannot accept Keshi for his accomplishments then you're in the wrong forum. You might not understand the struggle of this fan base but it's OK. Our players and coaches are precious. They're.not Messi or Ronaldo and we're not about to win the WC. The one thing we all stand for is progress of Nigerian football.

Please. Let this be the last time you ever talk ill of the our late Great Stephen O Keshi (RIP) .

VE,

Your constant fussilade of attacks on the person of the late Keshi is very much in bad taste and absolutely unnecessary, yes Keshi been a HUMAN BEING FIRST had his faults as manager of the SE but the man remains a legend... for goodness sake this man won us a AFCON trophy against ALL ODDS and with the lowest of expectations, give the man his dues and stop bit#ing about with your irritating revisionisms, the Keshi era is long gone and he has duly served his purpose as Nigeria's captain and AFCON winner, move TF on and let the man rest in peace.

I told you.

We have free speech here but one has to wonder what the limits are. IMO, slandering our dead heroes with unfounded allegations should be the limit.

Keshi served Nigeria for decades as a player and coach and won trophies for us. More than YOU can ever do for Nigeria, even in several lifetimes. A coach cannot build a team on brown envelopes that won the AFCON, qualified for the world cup, and got to the 2nd round of the World Cup. Especially for a nation that has only won the AFCON twice in 40 years now.

We struggle as a people because we simply hate ourselves so much. The lack of gratitude when others work hard is astonishing. This is why some Nigerians are corrupt when they get into positions of power. They know people like you will not appreciate their hard work no matter what.

I told you.

I honestly don't blame you... It's not your fault.

It's the faults of all those who regularly made those unfounded accusation against Keshi on this board.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 3:51 am So was anything I said a lie ?

Facts are facts.
What facts? I must have missed Keshi's conviction for corruption. The same "facts" you were spewing about the player in Malaysia that you were sure Eguavoen invited? If you are so sure of your "facts" why don't you publish them on a forum like twitter with your real name and tag Keshi's family? Of course you won't, being the coward that you are.
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

That really beats me hollow.

So Eguavoen hasn't considered calling up more midfielders? even the Onazi he has on standby is currently injured, do these guys actually have any iota of an IQ?

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 2:28 pm So Eguavoen hasn't considered calling up more midfielders? even the Onazi he has on standby is currently injured, do these guys actually have any iota of an IQ?
After reading this post, do you have any iota of an IQ?

fabio wrote: Sun Mar 20, 2022 11:51 am
I told you.

I honestly don't blame you... It's not your fault.

It's the faults of all those who regularly made those unfounded accusation against Keshi on this board.
Umm how many players went public.

Adebayor, Taiwo, Obasi etc.

I suppose they were all lying.
Last edited by vancity eagle on Sun Mar 20, 2022 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 19, 2022 6:48 pm Owngoal is reporting that Bonke and Alhassan have been contacted to replace Ndidi. I hope Bonke gets a call, he's the only one of the 2 that does what we need Ndidi to do at a high level weekly.

@Ugbowo,

Quest que ce?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Bonke has been called up to replace Ndidi, I hope he seizes his opportunity and steps up to the role cause filling in for Ndidi is a BIG responsibility.