CAF 2023 Awards :APOY Our Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala

Re: CAF 2023 Awards

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 8:19 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 4:51 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 4:36 pm
The NFF would have sent flowers to CAF. :lol:

I remember when we spoke about this issue during the Balon D'or, and some Nigerians and the likes of Ndi Ewu Dakar just couldnt understand what we were trying to say. They wanted to be the nice Negro, who is so 'educated' and can "put his emotions to the side" and be "logical," and can "see past tribal and national leanings." You know, "the learned negro." :lol:

Like I told them, you clearly do not understand how things work! How to get political power. How to force people to respect you and bend to your will, over the long-term.

Many countries and people understand this and they use it to their advantage. The naive negro doesnt.
danfo,

Let them boycott, TBH.

First, I see no real path to the award for Mahrez even if it was awarded in Mars.

In all honesty, this award should go to the best Moroccan player who took them to the semi final of the World Cup.... a place no team in African colors has ever been. We may want Osimhen but frankly that is simply reeking of a Nigerian-bias and nothing more. If this is truly an African award, it is high time, CAF starts to prioritize what a player does wearing an African shirt and not an European one. If the players performed in an European shirt then let him get the UEFA award. CAF must begin to prioritize its own competitions and those in which its teams participate in -- the World Cup, the AFCON and the club competitions. Mohammed Salah has a legitimate claim given his exploits at the last AFCON. What exactly is Osimhen's claim -- performance in the colors of an Italian club....not Nigerian or African colors?
EII,

The reality is that all of Africa’s best players play professionally outside Africa. You can’t restrict consideration for the award to just the handful of games in which the players wear African colors. If that were to be the primary basis for the award then the best Senegalese player deserved to be on the ballot more than the best Moroccan player.

Osimhen totally deserved the award❗️

Re: CAF 2023 Awards :APOY Our Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 10:22 pm
YUJAM wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 10:16 pm Thought there's an active Francophone conspiracy to deny Nigerian players the APOY? :dream:

Congratulations to Victor. It is well deserved :thumbs:
24 years wait, Enyeama and Mikel were robbed . The new CAF president is from the South. Since Issa left.. torey don change
… as was Jay Jay Okocha🤔❗️

adeaderije wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 8:33 pm I’m surprised nnadozie didn’t make the dream team
Politics rearing it’s ugly head. Makes no sense whatsoever for the best female goalie not to be on the female best 11🤔❗️

Congratulations to Victor Osimhen.
Next year's award will go to Victor Boniface.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 8:19 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 4:51 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 4:36 pm
The NFF would have sent flowers to CAF. :lol:

I remember when we spoke about this issue during the Balon D'or, and some Nigerians and the likes of Ndi Ewu Dakar just couldnt understand what we were trying to say. They wanted to be the nice Negro, who is so 'educated' and can "put his emotions to the side" and be "logical," and can "see past tribal and national leanings." You know, "the learned negro." :lol:

Like I told them, you clearly do not understand how things work! How to get political power. How to force people to respect you and bend to your will, over the long-term.

Many countries and people understand this and they use it to their advantage. The naive negro doesnt.
danfo,

Let them boycott, TBH.

First, I see no real path to the award for Mahrez even if it was awarded in Mars.

In all honesty, this award should go to the best Moroccan player who took them to the semi final of the World Cup.... a place no team in African colors has ever been. We may want Osimhen but frankly that is simply reeking of a Nigerian-bias and nothing more. If this is truly an African award, it is high time, CAF starts to prioritize what a player does wearing an African shirt and not an European one. If the players performed in an European shirt then let him get the UEFA award. CAF must begin to prioritize its own competitions and those in which its teams participate in -- the World Cup, the AFCON and the club competitions. Mohammed Salah has a legitimate claim given his exploits at the last AFCON. What exactly is Osimhen's claim -- performance in the colors of an Italian club....not Nigerian or African colors?
Thats why they won Team of The Year. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Uncle, I dont think you know what the PLAYER of the year requirements are. But no wahala, despite what you guys wanted WE WON!!! WE GOT THE AWARD!!! AND THIS IS JUST THE BEGINING!! WE ARE WINNING IT AGAIN NEXT YEAR, 2025, 2026, 2027!!!! :D
Last edited by danfo driver on Tue Dec 12, 2023 12:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: CAF 2023 Awards :APOY Our Victor Osimhen

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 9:00 pm This is so lovely, Naija for life, we have the best man and woman player on the continent. Next goal is to be the best team on this continent. green white green babby
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: My brother, this is just the beginning! We will retain this award next year!

aruako1 wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 9:09 pm
Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 8:19 pm -- performance in the colors of an Italian club....not Nigerian or African colors?
But Osimhen scored goals for Nigeria as well

Chief, do you know that Osimhen was the highest goal scorer in the just concluded AFCON qualifiers? He scored 10 goals!! The second person on the list scored 5 goals (Mane).

Do you know how many goals Salah scored??? 2!! :lol: :lol:

But dont worry, they want to tell us about performance in African colors, when the honest truth has nothing to do with that! We know the truth!

Now I am more pumped to go to the AFCON and bring that fooking trophy home! We are winning this award again next year!

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 10:28 pm
YUJAM wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 10:16 pm Thought there's an active Francophone conspiracy to deny Nigerian players the APOY? :dream:

Yes, there is still one.

The outcry for them to check themselves must have played a role.

They will go back to regular scheduled programming.

Congratulations to Victor Osimhen!
They have no choice! We are winning the next 4, at least! Salah is the only competition right now and he is 31. When Victor moves to EPL next month, with all their hyping of their sh11t league, he will have zero competition for the award. it will be like Yaya Toure. Yaya even had competition .. right now, how many top African players are out there? Salah? Who else? ..... it shows you how skint the competition is when people will mention Kudus :lol: :lol: :lol:

This should also serve as a motivation to our other players! If you perform at a high level, this is the reward! We have lacked that for 20-something years, were our players didn't strive to be the best!

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 10:22 pm

24 years wait, Enyeama and Mikel were robbed . The new CAF president is from the South. Since Issa left.. torey don change
Mikel doesn't score goal. He was never going to win it. They barely give such awards to goal keepers either, otherwise Manuel Nueuer, Buffon and courtois would’ve won the Ballon D’or.

Congrats to Osimhen. :thumbs:

Nigerian football needed this as we're currently in a major slump.

some claim we do not produce world-class players. we must scout london for players..smh

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 11:50 pm
adeaderije wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 8:33 pm I’m surprised nnadozie didn’t make the dream team
Politics rearing it’s ugly head. Makes no sense whatsoever for the best female goalie not to be on the female best 11🤔❗️

Head scratching decision…. :blink:

This press conference alone should qualify to make him the Captain of the SE.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2023 3:26 am some claim we do not produce world-class players. we must scout london for players..smh
safe for 96-2000 era, this is the most talented SE team in my book.
Contrary to what many believe, you have "competent" midfielders and defenders too.
Improve team management, goalkeeper situation would sort itself out too.
2think

Post by 2think »

:clap: :clap: :clap: :thumb: :thumb:

A big congrats to Victor
May the Lord God Bless U real Good

Nobody is talking about this in Nigeria. All everyone is taking about are Man U, Liverpool, and Arsenal. Such a shame.

The Francophones are still complaining though. When Enyeama and Mikel were shunned, what did we Nigerians do? We were largely quiet!

They are writing criticism of the award everywhere and protesting! So yeah Yujam, even when we win, they still try to take it away from us.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Re: CAF 2023 Awards :APOY Our Victor Osimhen and Assisat Oshola

iworo wrote: Mon Dec 11, 2023 10:05 pm He should have mentioned Samuel Eto'o's name :lol:. Why now Osimhen :lol: :lol:? Eto'o was also eagerly awaiting his name to be called :rotf: :rotf: .
I think he probably only wanted to mention Amuneke and Drogba. He mentioned Adebayor and Kalou I think probably because they were right there in front of him. Eto'o was sat all the way in the back.

Amuneke selected him, Drogba is his idol. Of course everybody there are relevant, but they are not necessarily his main idols/mentors etc.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 4:50 pm The Francophones are still complaining though. When Enyeama and Mikel were shunned, what did we Nigerians do? We were largely quiet!

They are writing criticism of the award everywhere and protesting! So yeah Yujam, even when we win, they still try to take it away from us.
Thats how its supposed to be done! This is what I mean about political power. They know they dont deserve it, but you have to put up your voice so that the governing body will be afraid of you and when its your turn, they wont screw you over.

Nigerians are brainless. Thats why when we deserve it, and we are cheated, we keep quiet. Thats why a bunch of Nigerians, including the cvnt, Ndi Ewu Dakar, Maceo and AMUMUnike, brainlessly wanted to look "impartial" and embarassed themselves. We are not ready!

Is Lookman (Europa League winner and AFCON finalist) the favourite to win it? If so it will be the first time for nearly 30 years (since since 1993-1994 and 1996-1997) that Nigerians have won it two years in a row.