Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March
Re: Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March
Isn't Osayi injured? I checked all the recent matches by his club and he wasn't even listed on the bench?
Re: Final List: 23 Super Eagles of Nigeria players invited for Rwanda & Zimbabwe World Cup Qualifiers in March
Fans have a right to question a coach's selection. Most of the comments have been reasonable.joao wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:37 pm Prejudices everywhere on this thread. Yet, none of these ITKs applied for the coaching position
when it was open. Like some contributors said above, we need to wait and see how Chelle selects
the game day starters and see whether the team can show cohesiveness, discipline, and execute as
needed.
Immediate Issues with the 23-Man List
- No Ahmed Musa is heartwarming. We should be moving forward
- I thought FDB wouldn't be ready though he was on the bench for Lazio vs Udinese yesterday.
- Don't know why Maduka Okoye wasn't invited. The guy has also just come back from injury and has been cleared of all betting charges in Italy. He was actually in goal for Udinese vs Lazio yesterday. Was Chelle's info up to date here?
- Good that Tolu Arokodare has been invited and Sadiq Umar is back and on form for Valencia. These guys with Alhassan Yusuf in MLS must earn this call-up if given the opportunity to play. It's always diasppointing that Victor Boniface hasn't yet despite his scoring exploits in Germany but maybe now that he seems to have fallen out of favour with Xabi Alonso, he'd probably hang some goals.
- I think our defence is somewhat lean in personnel. If we play with 5 (i.e 2 wing backs) we'd be very left with just one sub. I'm guessing we are probably gonna be playing 4-3-3 rather than 5-3-2, which the player have grown accustomed to from afcon. For me, this department is a worry, going by the fact that we have just 3 CBs and 3 WBs. I know some of them are utility defenders but I hope Igoh Ogbu (never seen him play) can come good if beckoned unto. His stats say he's 1.87m tall and he's play 19 games this season with 5 yellow cards. Ol' boy, no come collect 2 yellows in a game or even a red with those strong tackles. Just use that height and long legs very well
- No Ahmed Musa is heartwarming. We should be moving forward
- I thought FDB wouldn't be ready though he was on the bench for Lazio vs Udinese yesterday.
- Don't know why Maduka Okoye wasn't invited. The guy has also just come back from injury and has been cleared of all betting charges in Italy. He was actually in goal for Udinese vs Lazio yesterday. Was Chelle's info up to date here?
- Good that Tolu Arokodare has been invited and Sadiq Umar is back and on form for Valencia. These guys with Alhassan Yusuf in MLS must earn this call-up if given the opportunity to play. It's always diasppointing that Victor Boniface hasn't yet despite his scoring exploits in Germany but maybe now that he seems to have fallen out of favour with Xabi Alonso, he'd probably hang some goals.
- I think our defence is somewhat lean in personnel. If we play with 5 (i.e 2 wing backs) we'd be very left with just one sub. I'm guessing we are probably gonna be playing 4-3-3 rather than 5-3-2, which the player have grown accustomed to from afcon. For me, this department is a worry, going by the fact that we have just 3 CBs and 3 WBs. I know some of them are utility defenders but I hope Igoh Ogbu (never seen him play) can come good if beckoned unto. His stats say he's 1.87m tall and he's play 19 games this season with 5 yellow cards. Ol' boy, no come collect 2 yellows in a game or even a red with those strong tackles. Just use that height and long legs very well
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Ejuke has to be on there. This is borderline negligence.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Please, free Victor Boniface.
Remove him from your list of Bushmen.
Your power strong.
Look no further than the player who took his place.
Dele-Bashiru might be fitness issues.
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
I'm sorry, I cannot do that.
Isn't it obvious that the source of my wealth and joy in life comes from a list of players I have on a random football website.
I cannot give up my power.
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
6 defenders and 4 No 9s shows that the coach is going for broke, will throw the kitchen sink at Rwanda and Zim. We use to complain about not having enough MF but now its defenders are our problem. Just pray Troost doesn’t get injured or we don “ke ran” be dat. In Yoruba “ke ran” means u don tiff goat and the owner is on ya azz.
- danfo driver
Yea, I am not as angry as Musa and Iheanacho are out.Cellular wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:52 pmDD, I believe none of us here have any idea how the players were chosen. Prof. Enugu II, had led us in an exercise in predictig who will make the finally 23. Don't believe anyone got it right. There was no consensus list.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:12 pmMost people here seem chill. Even Vancity seems chill to me.Cellular wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:09 pmThank you.Tobi17 wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:00 pm The real meat in the soup is how Chelle will tactically coach this team to win our remaining games and qualify...every other thing is just conjecture at this point. I've learned never to trust fancy names on a squad list anymore, especially when these players play so well at the clubs and then stink up the joint against fellow African teams including so called "minnows" due to piss-poor managers.
Our first game will more than anything else determine if Chelle is the man for the job and the hopes of our world cup chances.
Finally, someone who is not losing their heads over a mere list.
Like you pointed out, those same players baring Osimhen struggled with 'minnows' and couldn't beat one stinking team in 4 games.
Everyone should just chill and quit bitching.![]()
I think the discussion here is focused at a coach who claimed he will use merit to pick his team, but didn't full do that.
Would there be 100% consensus on a team selection? No. Would there be need to question why a coach said one thing and did another? Yes. At least the discussion here is on 2-4 players. That is a huge change.
If you were the coach, you will have a different list based on how you want to play and the players that will execute what you want them to do.
Me, personally, I have more of a problem with Boniface and Aribo because they have shown to be lacking when they wear the GWG. It is my personal opinion. I would have liked to have seen Onyeka and Uche who I think have the fighting spirit to battle in two very crucial must-win games. I like Alhassan a lot... he is a fighter. He will run for you. And in games where no quarters are asked and none given, I think he is a good callup.
I am just surprised that a guy who preached merit decided to make decision that do not show merit. Thats all.
As for your Ben Johnson Runner, Al Hassan, football is more than running. Ikedia was once a runner, as well. Its unfortunate that someone who moved to a retirement league can get invited, but thats the coach's prerogative.
- danfo driver
Why you dey do Mamalwo like this? Was he in medical school when Maduka was born, as well?fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:00 pmWe all know Maduka not making the team is really paining you. Kpele. The rest of what you wrote is.... Never mind.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:53 pmKindly provide evidence where I supported Iheanacho’s inclusion in Chelle’s team, Just one! and I promise to leave CE for you guys.
That thread was if Iheanacho looked fit or not, and I disagreed with people calling him “Fat”.

- danfo driver
Shouldnt you concern yourself with the Benin Republic team?EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:01 pm Oh well….its too late to complain. I just hope the coach knows a lot we don’t because k leg dey this list. Anyway sha, whether you’re Christian or Muslim, it’s fasting month in Nigeria. Extend your fasting period and double your prayers because any injury to Troost and it could all fall apart. Me I dey go shrine tomorrow.![]()

- danfo driver
Aside from the fact that you have no clue what formation the coach will play, right?naijaguy wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:14 pm Some of us has been saying it that Nwabali is Nigeria's number one and rightly so; as he's way better than Maduka Okoye.
Even Okoye knows he's not on the same level currently with Nwabali.
Although I also believe he should be in the squad as the second goalkeeper. I guess his omission is because he's coming back from injury. I guess that's why Fisayo is also missing.
I think the defence is too thin. I honestly don't see why Boniface, Akorodele and Sadiq should all be in the squad.
In all, good squad.
- danfo driver
Who will help Tolu settle in?Cellular wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:15 pmOga, you don't know if there was any communication between Maduka, his club management and the SE coach. You don't know if he begged out to be included to continue with his rehab and return to full match fitness.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:10 pmMy Guy,fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:00 pmWe all know Maduka not making the team is really paining you. Kpele. The rest of what you wrote is.... Never mind.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:53 pmKindly provide evidence where I supported Iheanacho’s inclusion in Chelle’s team, Just one! and I promise to leave CE for you guys.
That thread was if Iheanacho looked fit or not, and I disagreed with people calling him “Fat”.
I believe communication channels are established between players and National team coaching staff about match fitness and all before National duty call ups.
Maduka had been back in training for weeks now, Chelle and the rest of the crew cannot claim not to have known that. Maduka was also in the 31 man prelim-list. So a prior notifications about a possible call up must have been sent to Udinese. Maduka was in Goal yesterday for Udinese and was fantastic, His saves kept Udinese in the game.
This is the same mistake we made and carried Uzoho to the previous WCQ and he stunk up the joint denying us a ticket.
Anyway Goodluck to the team.
A lot of times players in his position will ask to be left off if he is coming to sit on the bench so that they can concentrate in remaining fit for their club having been out for a long time.
Anyway, di player whose inclusion dey pain me pass na Content Creator.![]()
Funny enough, for those who were talking abotu Musa helping "team spirit," Boniface is very close friends with Victor and has been a long time friend of Tolu.
i have no issues with the squad. excited about papa daniel
- danfo driver

Nwabali has let in more “cheesy” goals than Maduka.fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:42 pmMr.Man, go and support the team in Rwanda. I judge Maduka on his performance with SE, not Udinese.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:10 pmMy Guy,fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:00 pmWe all know Maduka not making the team is really paining you. Kpele. The rest of what you wrote is.... Never mind.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:53 pmKindly provide evidence where I supported Iheanacho’s inclusion in Chelle’s team, Just one! and I promise to leave CE for you guys.
I believe communication channels are established between players and National team coaching staff about match fitness and all before National duty call ups.
Maduka had been back in training for weeks now, Chelle and the rest of the crew cannot claim not to have known that. Maduka was also in the 31 man prelim-list. So a prior notifications about a possible call up must have been sent to Udinese. Maduka was in Goal yesterday for Udinese and was fantastic, His saves kept Udinese in the game.
This is the same mistake we made and carried Uzoho to the previous WCQ and he stunk up the joint denying us a ticket.
Go and rewatch the Benin Republic game and the friendly against Mali.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again
Just imagine if it was a local coach that made this selection.
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.
I agree. Do you remember the cheesy goal conceded against Morocco in AfCon and Rwanda in AfCon qualifier?Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 8:18 pmNwabali has let in more “cheesy” goals than Maduka.fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:42 pmMr.Man, go and support the team in Rwanda. I judge Maduka on his performance with SE, not Udinese.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:10 pmMy Guy,fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:00 pmWe all know Maduka not making the team is really paining you. Kpele. The rest of what you wrote is.... Never mind.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 5:53 pmKindly provide evidence where I supported Iheanacho’s inclusion in Chelle’s team, Just one! and I promise to leave CE for you guys.
- danfo driver
'Musa did EVERYTHING to be on the list - both online and offline"

Tunisia you mean?fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 8:30 pmI agree. Do you remember the cheesy goal conceded against Morocco in AfCon and Rwanda in AfCon qualifier?Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 8:18 pmNwabali has let in more “cheesy” goals than Maduka.fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:42 pmMr.Man, go and support the team in Rwanda. I judge Maduka on his performance with SE, not Udinese.Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:10 pmMy Guy,fabio wrote: ↑Tue Mar 11, 2025 6:00 pmWe all know Maduka not making the team is really paining you. Kpele. The rest of what you wrote is.... Never mind.
We can agree to disagree. I will pick Maduka over Stanley, IMHO he’s a better keeper. There’s a reason why he’s a starter for Udinese while your favorite is at Chippa United.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Story.
As a defender, Nwabali exudes more confidence keeping for Naija than ya boy.
When your boy was given his opportunity he fumbled it away, literally.
Other than Boniface and Aribo, everyone else on this list deserves to be there. It is unfortunate that Uche and Dessers are not there.
Let’s be clear, this is not Eguavoen or Pesseiro. Chile’s formations have been discussed at length and these are the best personnel for what he wants to achieve.
Ndidi is and always will be a central defender first so we are not short in that department. Excellent leader and great command of the back and ability to play out of the back. Better than Bassey or Troost.
In the midfield, despite the omissions, everyone other than the two players mentioned is a box to box midfielder OR HAS BALL PLAYING SKILLS. Thats Chell’s preference. Unfortunately Onyeka does not fit that bill and he does not need defenders in the midfield. That does not explain the exclusion of Uche and Dennis. They are highly mobile and their time willl come.
Upfront, four wide players and for inside forwards. I predict that the Eagles will score a headed goal in each of the two matches. Take that to the bank.
Arokodare, Osimhen and even Boniface are exceptional headers of the ball. Size will matter and so will physicality.
Let’s be clear, this is not Eguavoen or Pesseiro. Chile’s formations have been discussed at length and these are the best personnel for what he wants to achieve.
Ndidi is and always will be a central defender first so we are not short in that department. Excellent leader and great command of the back and ability to play out of the back. Better than Bassey or Troost.
In the midfield, despite the omissions, everyone other than the two players mentioned is a box to box midfielder OR HAS BALL PLAYING SKILLS. Thats Chell’s preference. Unfortunately Onyeka does not fit that bill and he does not need defenders in the midfield. That does not explain the exclusion of Uche and Dennis. They are highly mobile and their time willl come.
Upfront, four wide players and for inside forwards. I predict that the Eagles will score a headed goal in each of the two matches. Take that to the bank.
Arokodare, Osimhen and even Boniface are exceptional headers of the ball. Size will matter and so will physicality.
Wetin Boniface take do Alonso? They need goals but Boniface is on the bench.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe