CAMP THREAD (THIS WEEK, WE PREPARE FOR WAR!!!)

Re: CAMP THREAD (THIS WEEK, WE PREPARE FOR WAR!!!)

Emir are you shaking?

mcal wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 9:05 am ...so disorderly, some carrying their wife or gf handbag :shock:
Keep up with fashion, those are not Ladies handbags.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

ANC wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 10:27 am Emir are you shaking?
E mi ke. Shake? Let’s just say that I’m cautiously optimistic. :sneaky:

ANC wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 10:11 am
greg wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 7:27 pm
ANC wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:39 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 2:18 pm Osimhen should be captain
Yes!!
That outburst against Finidi last year shows he still has some growing up to do. The same inexperience in harnessing his hormones is the reason why he's not yet a reliable penalty taker. Perhaps he'll have learned how to be wiser with his choice of words and his nerves by the time Troost retires. I love Vic, but for now Troost is my much deserved captain.

I am really confused as to why he struggles with penalty kicks.
Could you provide stats showing the number of PKs he has taken and the number he has missed.

I know its easy to make statements when you havent provided evidence; can you please do so. Thanks.

Uncle Cellular will love this - @ 1:45 + :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Looks like Alhassan is the only player yet to report to camp. E no easy to reach Kigali from the US, his only direct option is Rwandair from DC. I suspect the guy Dey Dubai or Addis waiting to connect flights.

Amavubi continue training ahead of Nigeria and Lesotho (Photos)

The Rwandan national team, Amavubi, is continuing its second day of training in preparation for its matches against Nigeria on Friday, in the fifth match of the 2026 World Cup qualification round, and Lesotho on the sixth.

The Amavubi continue training in preparation for Nigeria and Lesotho in the 2026 World Cup qualifiers.

The training began on Sunday, March 16, 2025, where after arriving at their accommodation, they held their first training session at the Amahoro Stadium training ground, focusing on helping players reduce fatigue, especially those who played games for their teams and those who traveled.

On Monday, the second day of training, the players did physical exercises and strength training, while this evening they continued at the Amahoro Stadium training ground at 5pm.

Players like Manishimwe Djabel, who was not a regular in the national team, Habimana Yves of Rutsiro FC who was called up for the first time, Uwumukiza Obed of Mukura VS who was also called up for the first time, goalkeeper Maxim Wenssen, Rubanguka Steve, Samuel Gueullette in addition to other domestic players, were all among those participating in this training session led by new coach Adel Amrouche, in collaboration with Eric Nshimiyimana while many others are expected on Monday.

The Lions, who continue to lead Group Three with seven points, will host Nigeria on Friday at 6pm and Lesotho on March 25, 2025 at 6pm.

Manishimwe Djabel was not among the national team's players during Monday's training session.

https://www.kigalitoday.com/imikino/foo ... ho-amafoto

Only if they took their first 4 WCQ matches seriously....

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 2:39 pm Looks like Alhassan is the only player yet to report to camp. E no easy to reach Kigali from the US, his only direct option is Rwandair from DC. I suspect the guy Dey Dubai or Addis waiting to connect flights.
Unless things have changed in the last 8 months, it isnt as bad.

Its "not too bad" to get to Rwanda from US and I smiled when Moses Simon joked that "the flight too long - close to 9 hours from Amsterdam." Thats the same flight I used to take.

Fly from US (Boston, DC, NYC) to Amsterdam (7 hours) and then 8 hours 15 minutes from Amsterdam directly to Kigali.

I believe that KLM flight leaves at 10am local time, if I remember correctly, so you can time your lay over from the US to be 3 hours or 2 hours layover. I used to do like 2 hours.

New England played their last game in NYC on Saturday night. Game ended around 10pm. A hotel in NYC should have been booked for him to sleep. Then on Sunday, he heads to Amsterdam and Monday morning 10am, he leaves to Kigali and gets to Kigali on Monday at 7:15pm

Or like you said, if Rwandair goes from DC, same thing. Fly to DC on Sunday morning- If there is a Rwandair flight leaving on Sunday.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 2:54 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 2:39 pm Looks like Alhassan is the only player yet to report to camp. E no easy to reach Kigali from the US, his only direct option is Rwandair from DC. I suspect the guy Dey Dubai or Addis waiting to connect flights.

Its "not too bad" to get to Rwanda from US and I smiled when Moses Simon joked that "the flight too long - close to 9 hours from Amsterdam." Thats the same flight I used to take.

Fly from US (Boston, DC, NYC) to Amsterdam (7 hours) and then 8 hours 15 minutes from Amsterdam directly to Kigali.

I believe that KLM flight leaves at 10am local time, if I remember correctly, so you can time your lay over from the US to be 3 hours or 2 hours layover. I used to do like 2 hours.

New England played their last game in NYC on Saturday night. Game ended around 10pm. A hotel in NYC should have been booked for him to sleep. Then on Sunday, he heads to Amsterdam and Monday morning 10am, he leaves to Kigali and gets to Kigali on Monday at 7:15pm

Or like you said, if Rwandair goes from DC, same thing. Fly to DC on Sunday morning- If there is a Rwandair flight leaving on Sunday.
Chelle has supposedly said that if a player misses the first training they player will not play. I think it’s a little harsh on Alhassan to expect him to mark the first training after a day of traveling. As I type , I just arrived from Niaja last night Via BA , I’m out for the next 24 hrs and I’m not a footballer. I don’t see him practicing until weds at the earliest.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 3:02 pm

Chelle has supposedly said that if a player misses the first training they player will not play. I think it’s a little harsh on Alhassan to expect him to mark the first training after a day of traveling. As I type , I just arrived from Niaja last night Via BA , I’m out for the next 24 hrs and I’m not a footballer. I don’t see him practicing until weds at the earliest.
Hehe... I understand what you are saying, but dont forget that Al Hassan is 24. And you are 57. That is a huge factor. while I am more than 20 years your junior, I remember when I was 24. I could go to the club on Thursday night, Friday night, Saturday night and still wake up for 7am mass and be in church before everybody. The body is stronger as a young chap.

That said, Chelle is not an outsider. He is very well involved in the planning stage and I guarantee you that he and the administrative people discussed all these. If Chelle is saying you must be in first training or you are out, then he knows the ticket they bought for you should get you in before first training -- and you should be fit enough to do some lightwork, at least.

For me, looking at the possible Al Hassan's itinerary which I drew out NYC (match on Saturday) -> Sleep in NYC -> board flight to Amsterdam -> Board flight to Kigali -> arrive Monday night with them Moses Simon on that same flight. There is simply no reason why he shouldnt have done that route. Going back with his team to Boston first would have been just silly.

Anyway,. we chose to invite a player from a retirement league, so we deal with the consequences.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 3:11 pm

Hehe... I understand what you are saying, but dont forget that Al Hassan is 24. And you are 57. That is a huge factor. while I am more than 20 years your junior, I remember when I was 24. I could go to the club on Thursday night, Friday night, Saturday night and still wake up for 7am mass and be in church before everybody. The body is stronger as a young chap.

That said, Chelle is not an outsider. He is very well involved in the planning stage and I guarantee you that he and the administrative people discussed all these. If Chelle is saying you must be in first training or you are out, then he knows the ticket they bought for you should get you in before first training -- and you should be fit enough to do some lightwork, at least.

For me, looking at the possible Al Hassan's itinerary which I drew out NYC (match on Saturday) -> Sleep in NYC -> board flight to Amsterdam -> Board flight to Kigali -> arrive Monday night with them Moses Simon on that same flight. There is simply no reason why he shouldnt have done that route. Going back with his team to Boston first would have been just silly.

Anyway,. we chose to invite a player from a retirement league, so we deal with the consequences.
I see you’re a master of what you don’t know. :rotf:

Rwanda started training on Sunday! We are yet to have any training :) Some are meeting the coach for the first time. Hope we have an interpreter should the coach not be able to communicate well in English.

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 3:25 pm Rwanda started training on Sunday! We are yet to have any training :) Some are meeting the coach for the first time. Hope we have an interpreter should the coach not be able to communicate well in English.
The good thing is that the core of the team is the same as the Afcon team and players know each other well. The game will be more about execution and composure, both teams know each other well. Rwanda can afford a draw but we cannot, I expect Chelle to actually not go all out for a goal initially but to try to force Rwanda in making errors. The 1st 20mins will be critical, if we’re dominating but still tied, wahala go dey.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 3:32 pm
wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 3:25 pm Rwanda started training on Sunday! We are yet to have any training :) Some are meeting the coach for the first time. Hope we have an interpreter should the coach not be able to communicate well in English.
The good thing is that the core of the team is the same as the Afcon team and players know each other well. The game will be more about execution and composure, both teams know each other well. Rwanda can afford a draw but we cannot, I expect Chelle to actually not go all out for a goal initially but to try to force Rwanda in making errors. The 1st 20mins will be critical, if we’re dominating but still tied, wahala go dey.
Then why split hairs about call ups when you know that the core is the same?

We have a new coach! No excuse for not starting training on Monday with the people in camp. We need to show seriousness

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 3:41 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 3:32 pm
Then why split hairs about call ups when you know that the core is the same?

We have a new coach! No excuse for not starting training on Monday with the people in camp. We need to show seriousness
Because you still can’t afford weak links.

Chief, most of our players have played under various coaches in their club careers. Most of the world’s top coaches are NOT English, and speak it as a second language at best, just like Chelle.
Moreover, many of the players have moved countries with different languages!
Language and communication are the least of our worries.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025

mcal wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 9:05 am ...so disorderly, some carrying their wife or gf handbag :shock:
You jos like drinking bitter leaf juice.

Emir,

Are you truly comparing your fitness with that of a professional footballer? :rotf: :rotf:

Seriously, though, I am with the manager though. It is incumbent on the player and the travel scheduler to ensure that the player gets to camp with the quickest schedule possible. As for practice he should join the training but his condition will have him work individually away from the rest. The coaching crew surely know how to handle that sand to do what is best for the individual and the team.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 4:30 pm

Emir,

Are you truly comparing your fitness with that of a professional footballer? :rotf: :rotf:

Seriously, though, I am with the manager though. It is incumbent on the player and the travel scheduler to ensure that the player gets to camp with the quickest schedule possible. As for practice he should join the training but his condition will have him work individually away from the rest. The coaching crew surely know how to handle that sand to do what is best for the individual and the team.
He should’ve invited Onyeaka who’s one of the fittest and strongest players instead of Alhassan who obviously wouldn’t be in camp on time due to his schedule and Baba Daniel who hasn’t played in 6 weeks.