NIGERIA 1 V 1 EGYPT - FT

Re: NIGERIA 1 V 1 EGYPT - FT

If Egypt comes out to play at home they will leave themselves exposed at the back. My fear though is they may play again for a draw at home since that's really all they need to stay on top of the group.
Re: NIGERIA 1 V 0 EGYPT - GAME THREAD & LINKS

DIMKA76 wrote:Egypt has more to fear playing at home, There should be more spaces for us to operate. The only thing I am worried about is our lack of defensive discipline like the goal we conceded today.
Problem is they don't need to win. They can simply sit back and do what they did in the first half, and hit us on the break in Egypt. If we won today, then they would have had to actually come out and attack.

Watch the replay...
Amuzie stepped up before the pass to Salah was delivered. It was the other 2 players to his right (I believe Mikel and Oboabona) that kept Salah onside.
airwolex wrote:
Otitokoro wrote:Actually, the left back (#6) played him off side.
It was the inside guy (looked like Mikel) that kept him on side (was slow to step up.
oloye wrote:Another left back who had no idea what he is doing and how to keep an eye on his man. Oh well good game, we had our chance to kill the game.
But he could see down the line. I am not a footballer but somethings are common sense. Stick with your man.
oglex30
Re: NIGERIA 1 V 1 EGYPT - GAME THREAD & LINKS

Post by oglex30 »

Tbite wrote:Reminds me of the Guinea saga.

Siasia really knows how to give people heartattack, all the while entertaining.
:shock: :shock: :shock:

Siasia is the one who missed Vic Mo's open netter?
You they mind am. Siasia has nothing to do with the professional idiots not knowing how to keep someone offside. The RB is the one at fault here but again we have to go to Egypt to win now.

great positives from the match, well done to SSS, Iwobi has to start, Ighalo needs to be benched. Efe has no business in CD. play kelechi upfront and depend on runners. Onazi comes back for the return, Etebo/Moses/MUSA one has to take a seat

olu wrote:If Egypt comes out to play at home they will leave themselves exposed at the back. My fear though is they may play again for a draw at home since that's really all they need to stay on top of the group.

Idika

Post by Idika »

The return leg is ours. Siasia only need to make few changes at the back. For example, he should bring in some of the Under 23 players who defeated the Brazilian Under 23 team. Moreover, a player like Iwobi should start in the return leg.

Exactly. Moses scores there and it's a simple win. Egypt were disappointing but I'll grudgingly say they got exactly what they wanted. We made a couple silly errors and they finished one off. They'll be tough in Egypt but if we keep our heads, we'll beat them. Their style at home should lend to more chances for the Eagles.
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

airwolex wrote:Future is bright though.

Kelechi Iheanacho was a bit nervous but he has killer instinct

Oghene is a beast

Iwobi came in and supplied a sublime pass to VM

VM is still only 24 and he's looking good

That Umar guy looks promising! :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Em get ball sense pass Musa self.
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.
Sheikh

Post by Sheikh »

DIMKA76 wrote:Egypt has more to fear playing at home, There should be more spaces for us to operate. The only thing I am worried about is our lack of defensive discipline like the goal we conceded today.
Problem is they don't need to win. They can simply sit back and do what they did in the first half, and hit us on the break in Egypt. If we won today, then they would have had to actually come out and attack.
I think Ighalo was MIA in this match. Will prefer Iheanacho in the striker's role in Cairo with Iwobi in the midfield. Umar also had a good game.

olu wrote:So we pretty much need to beat Egypt in Egypt. Very possible. Our destiny is still in our own hands.
We don't have a choice but to beat them in their home, else it might be all over for us for the next AFCON

oglex30 wrote:

You they mind am. Siasia has nothing to do with the professional idiots not knowing how to keep someone offside. The RB is the one at fault here but again we have to go to Egypt to win now.
He didn't set up shop at 1-0, a win is all we need!

we played well, hopefully we get the Win in Egypt

My biggest fear is our defence giving the Egyptians free gifts in 4 days time

olu wrote:If Egypt comes out to play at home they will leave themselves exposed at the back. My fear though is they may play again for a draw at home since that's really all they need to stay on top of the group.
they defend again, we will score, they will come out again and it will be down to discipline. if leon and Omeruo were fit......

oloye wrote:Another left back who had no idea what he is doing and how to keep an eye on his man. Oh well good game, we had our chance to kill the game.
It feels like a defeat. I am flat and bothered.

Good point. Excellent point. I didnt consider that initially. Knowing those chaps, they will have no hesitation repeating what they did today. We will need to finish better.
oglex30

Post by oglex30 »

Egypt doesn't have to come out to play anything. Just defend for your life, which they did in the first half here. It will be tough for us again because we are the ones under pressure. We where under pressure to win which we almost did but we are now still n the same situation. MOST WIN

Well, Nigeria OBVIOUSLY needed the second goal for security.
In a 'must win' game, you don't play lackadaisical ball. Else, you could drop points - case in point, what happened today.
Otitokoro wrote:Mikel kept Salah onside - would have expected Mikel to be sharper than that.
If it wasn't for the lackadaisical play of Victor Moses, it could easily have been game over.

Siasia blew it again.
You want to blame Moses for the loss? WTF??? Scapegoating but always missing the point, we didn't need 2-0, we needed to lock up shop at 1-0, the coach was relying on a tired Mikel to do that and he kept Salah onside...

Very true and likely so

We have more than enough to really hurt the Egyptians on the road. The second half performance bar the goal conceded can be inspirational.
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

oglex30 wrote:

...yeh you right...they will sleep for us to beat them at Egypt...
...cheiii Naija team is a sickening bunch...oh o o o ...how did i know about this game to spend time watch...?
...makes me sick...

VM wasn't lackadaisical, he could have lashed it and it would have gone over...he tried to place it and it was cleared...not his fault. It was just one of those days...we played well but didn't get the breaks.