AFCON 2019: Nigeria 1 vs 0 Burundi FT
Re: AFCON 2019: Nigeria 1 vs 0 Burundi FT
Facts not feelings.Robbynice wrote:Meanwhile congratulations to awon boys. First game, massive win...massive 3 points. On to the next. Anything else is tales by moonlight.
"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)
Rohr speaking French, think I've pissed him off with my criticism, must have pissed him off. lol ......Just joking
The bags under Rohr's eyes are getting bigger - Sleepless nights?
Last edited by DIMKA76 on Sat Jun 22, 2019 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Re: AFCON 2019: Nigeria 1 vs 0 Burundi 2H
okidoki wrote:danfo driver wrote:Man! I hate Iwobi! His laziness is truly disgusting!How old are you? You talk like a kindergarten toddler.
he thinks like one as well.
I don't know about struggle but the 1994 team didn't have it easy. The struggled against "minnows." It wasn't a cake walk for them. Now that 1996 -1998 SE team was ready to beat anybody in Africa but the chance was not there for them.maceo4 wrote:Bros, we were ranked 5th in 94, you telling me the 5th ranked team in the world now would have a single problem whooping Burundi? Burundi is clearly a useless team, we just aren’t very good at esp. at creating chances.Tobi17 wrote:Boss the standard of football in 94 is definitely not the same as 2019, even that 94 generation in their prime will struggle against the Kenya's and Uganda of today, facts not feelings.maceo4 wrote:Please, we are just not as good as we used to be, 94 eagles will make mince meat of these guys.charlie wrote:There are no minnows in football anymore.
The days of destroying smaller African teams are over. Iwobi was right. This CAN is going to be a war!
Baba honestly I wonder why you even bother. I mean you really shouldn't have bothered when he mentioned our 1994 rankings in the Lord's year of two thousand and nineteen. If that is not a shame, I don't know what is. In fact it is a damn shame if you ask me...smhTobi17 wrote:That was 94,this is 2019...surely the so called minnows would have evolved and gotten more competitive. Burundi is a low ranking team, but they qualified from their group unbeaten, yes we were very lethargic but you've got to give credit to the opponent sometimes, we are not particularly elite anymore, in 2013 we started very slow and ended up winning the trophy... so let's take the 3 points and stop the needless comparison with past glories.maceo4 wrote:Bros, we were ranked 5th in 94, you telling me the 5th ranked team in the world now would have a single problem whooping Burundi? Burundi is clearly a useless team, we just aren’t very good at esp. at creating chances.Tobi17 wrote:Boss the standard of football in 94 is definitely not the same as 2019, even that 94 generation in their prime will struggle against the Kenya's and Uganda of today, facts not feelings.maceo4 wrote:Please, we are just not as good as we used to be, 94 eagles will make mince meat of these guys.charlie wrote:There are no minnows in football anymore.
The days of destroying smaller African teams are over. Iwobi was right. This CAN is going to be a war!
Abeg who watched the coaches press conference after the game?
Did he say anything about Jamilu and Samuel?
Robbynice wrote:I am not one to criticize players but Akpeyi mehn...Bobo go dey shake even for back pass...I mean what da heck..m
THE PROBLEM NOW IS THAT...
…everyone has seen Akpeyi and his shortcomings. If Uzoho comes in the next match, he'll know that he's coming despite his alleged shortcomings, not his greatness. Now, both keepers know they lack the confidence of the team and could become jittery. I'm not making a case for the third keeper but he looks more than the other two and less susceptible to poor perceptions of him. But I don't get the lack of trust in Uzoho: he wasn't that bad in Russia and wasn't the reason the SE didn't advance.

The first game is always about getting 3 points and take it from there
WHILE HE WAS THERE AND DESPITE PRE-TOURNAMENT CRITICISM...
…I thought Shehu did well. Unless one wants to say, consider the opposition.

Re: AFCON 2019: Nigeria 0 vs 0 Burundi 2H
metalalloy wrote:icee wrote:Folks we need to bring back Uzouho
Hell nah. he is even worse.
No he is not.
He was our best option for the World Cup, & since we have failed to bring in Nwolokor & even the likes of the young Okonkwo from Arsenal, he is the best for this team.
Absolutely no excuse for the inept Rohr not to have been at the Super 6, where the level of play was actually pretty high.
It was a small pool of GK to consider with Bonsu being Ghanaian & Olorunleke having a bit of Akpeyi in him, but I can confidently say that the Lobi keeper is definitely better than Akpeyi & Ezenwa, even if he needs to lose some weight.
Don't think Afelokhai & Ayeleso are exceptional, but they are better than Akpeyi. Did not catch any of the FCIU games (as they were out of it from the start), so I can't comment on Anozie.
We can still win this tournament, but we will be relying on 14-15 players & Uzoho has to be in goal. He did not cost us in Russia & showed poise.
Akpeyi & Ezenwa must have a cockup or two in just about every game.
Kpom Kwem!marko wrote:The first game is always about getting 3 points and take it from there
Thank you. Only Naija people think others don’t progress. These teams qualified! Our boys have been sick and still they won!Tobi17 wrote:That was 94,this is 2019...surely the so called minnows would have evolved and gotten more competitive. Burundi is a low ranking team, but they qualified from their group unbeaten, yes we were very lethargic but you've got to give credit to the opponent sometimes, we are not particularly elite anymore, in 2013 we started very slow and ended up winning the trophy... so let's take the 3 points and stop the needless comparison with past glories.maceo4 wrote:Bros, we were ranked 5th in 94, you telling me the 5th ranked team in the world now would have a single problem whooping Burundi? Burundi is clearly a useless team, we just aren’t very good at esp. at creating chances.Tobi17 wrote:Boss the standard of football in 94 is definitely not the same as 2019, even that 94 generation in their prime will struggle against the Kenya's and Uganda of today, facts not feelings.maceo4 wrote:Please, we are just not as good as we used to be, 94 eagles will make mince meat of these guys.charlie wrote:There are no minnows in football anymore.
Odas wrote:Considering all the bad news in camp about sicknesses, we did very well
Agree.
We have a goalkeeper problem.
- theYemster
I think I'll still bring on Ighalo from the bench. He seems more effective that way. Mikel also on the bench and a possible late sub. I have a problem starting players who can't go the distance, throws off plans in the event of an early injury (like today) or if the team falls behind. It automatically robs you of one possible sub option knowing you're going to have to sub him cos he can't play 90 minutes. Westerhof benched Keshi for all but one game at USA94, and most of Tunisia 94 despite him being the captain.olu wrote:Burundi is an ok team. We gave them to much space and didn't press enough. Guinea will beat them easier than we did. Akpeyi is such an erratic keeper. Hope he doesn't cost us in this tournament.
With a few changes our play in the final third will improve:
Iwobi as the AM
Mikel on the bench or as a CM
Start Ighalo
Start Musa or Onyekeru on the left
I could start Musa upfront and play Onyekuru out wide.
© ɹ ǝ ʇ s ɯ é ʎ ǝ ɥ ʇ" ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Only because we have a daft lazy mercenary of a coach.ohenhen1 wrote:We have a goalkeeper problem.
- theYemster
1. We're not ranked 5th today.maceo4 wrote:Bros, we were ranked 5th in 94, you telling me the 5th ranked team in the world now would have a single problem whooping Burundi? Burundi is clearly a useless team, we just aren’t very good at esp. at creating chances.Tobi17 wrote:Boss the standard of football in 94 is definitely not the same as 2019, even that 94 generation in their prime will struggle against the Kenya's and Uganda of today, facts not feelings.maceo4 wrote:Please, we are just not as good as we used to be, 94 eagles will make mince meat of these guys.charlie wrote:There are no minnows in football anymore.
2. 94 team had more seasoned and physically imposing players, all but two players had AFCON experience.
3. This team allegedly is just getting over an illness.
Re: AFCON 2019: Nigeria 0 vs 0 Burundi 2H

1naija wrote:This Akpeyi is not a good goalkeeper at all at all
- maceo4
Are y’all missing my point, you guys are saying what I’m saying, we are not as good as we used to be, not that there are no more minnows, of course Burundi has improved but we’ve done the opposite and gotten worse since our golden age. So I see no point in praising our useless performance or acting like minnows suddenly no longer exist. Put Burundi in front of France and they will take a huge beating. We are just not a good team.theYemster wrote:1. We're not ranked 5th today.maceo4 wrote:Bros, we were ranked 5th in 94, you telling me the 5th ranked team in the world now would have a single problem whooping Burundi? Burundi is clearly a useless team, we just aren’t very good at esp. at creating chances.Tobi17 wrote:Boss the standard of football in 94 is definitely not the same as 2019, even that 94 generation in their prime will struggle against the Kenya's and Uganda of today, facts not feelings.maceo4 wrote:Please, we are just not as good as we used to be, 94 eagles will make mince meat of these guys.charlie wrote:There are no minnows in football anymore.
2. 94 team had more seasoned and physically imposing players, all but two players had AFCON experience.
Just get out of the group and if possible, win the group
- Siddonlook11
My 1kobo.
Game showed we can now play to instructions consistently and follow a format aka tactics and stick to it, gone are the days of showmanship and one superstar carrying the team or killing the team.
Aina is a GEM .. no flashiness just pure gem.
Chukwueze is awesome but needs end product be it his passing ( especially his long range ) and decision making , but he is work in progress and man . he will come good , may he be saved from injuries Amen.
Mikel should not play 10 ( and we should have brought Nwakali...)
Iwobi should not play 10 , he loses possession too much in the middle and it always puts us under pressure.
Musa starts over Iwobi for me at the wing - we need to figure out who will play that middle attacking role , I am thinking move Etebo there and play Mikel Behind him alongside Ndidi. ..
THe keeper issue has been flogged but I would suggest we see Ezenwa
Game showed we can now play to instructions consistently and follow a format aka tactics and stick to it, gone are the days of showmanship and one superstar carrying the team or killing the team.
Aina is a GEM .. no flashiness just pure gem.
Chukwueze is awesome but needs end product be it his passing ( especially his long range ) and decision making , but he is work in progress and man . he will come good , may he be saved from injuries Amen.
Mikel should not play 10 ( and we should have brought Nwakali...)
Iwobi should not play 10 , he loses possession too much in the middle and it always puts us under pressure.
Musa starts over Iwobi for me at the wing - we need to figure out who will play that middle attacking role , I am thinking move Etebo there and play Mikel Behind him alongside Ndidi. ..
THe keeper issue has been flogged but I would suggest we see Ezenwa
- theYemster
If everyone's missing your point then it's probably on you.maceo4 wrote:Are y’all missing my point, you guys are saying what I’m saying, we are not as good as we used to be, not that there are no more minnows, of course Burundi has improved but we’ve done the opposite and gotten worse since our golden age. So I see no point in praising our useless performance or acting like minnows suddenly no longer exist. Put Burundi in front of France and they will take a huge beating. We are just not a good team.theYemster wrote:1. We're not ranked 5th today.maceo4 wrote:Bros, we were ranked 5th in 94, you telling me the 5th ranked team in the world now would have a single problem whooping Burundi? Burundi is clearly a useless team, we just aren’t very good at esp. at creating chances.Tobi17 wrote:Boss the standard of football in 94 is definitely not the same as 2019, even that 94 generation in their prime will struggle against the Kenya's and Uganda of today, facts not feelings.maceo4 wrote:Please, we are just not as good as we used to be, 94 eagles will make mince meat of these guys.charlie wrote:There are no minnows in football anymore.
Point is the 94 team didn't appear out of a vacuum. It developed over time and was the final result of years of development. It was the end product, while this is a work in progress. Only Oliseh and Okocha didn't have prior AFCON experience of all the main players/starters. It's more apt comparing to the Algiers 90 team, Westerhof's first appearance which ironically got hammered in their AFCON opener and struggled to barely beat Egypt's "B" team. Only Mikel, Omeuro and Musa have prior AFCON experience on this team, and Mikel is running on fumes.
- Comrade Machel
Congrats Naija
The much maligned Igalo comes through on the day when a deadlock seemed imminent