World's best (Spain) team called 'boring'
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
Re: World's best (Spain) team called 'boring'
Your opinion can be based on wrong assumptions. Everyone is entitled to be titillated by whatever. But when you provide spurious reasons for what you term entertaining, then expect them to be challenged. If you claim what you find entertaining are chances in a game, and say Spain are boring, even though they create the most chances, something is wrong with that argument.Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
Only on CE, you people like to manufacture arguments out of nothing. If someone finds Spain boring then that's their opinion, simple as that. Why are people getting their panties in a bunch?
mate wrote:Well, I guess it is somewhat objective. I have a good friend who actually finds teams like Chelsea and Greece exciting.Mr. Piffington wrote:Mate, that's very simple of you. I expect that from Yujam and co. but not from you because you're usually very spot on with you analysis. I find Spain's style very effective and impressive but I couldn't help but fall asleep for a good chunk of the match, for me it's boring! Why would I be jealous? Spain isn't taking away my pay.
I liked the 2008 team, I like Barcelona, I thought the 2010 team where ok to watch but this team is just...boring.
I think part of the problem is that Spain doesn't seem to capitalize on their chances, leading to a sense of frustration. Most of us like to see goals. But, we have to acknowledge that Spain doesn't have as much striking power right now. Torres is downright bad. Silva is injured. And for some reason, VDB won't play Llorente.
I might be wrong, but I also believe that Spain as WC and Euro champion inspires just a bit more tenacious opposition. Almost everybody plays ultra-defensive against Spain and brings their A+ game. Opposing teams do their best to reduce it to a game of few opportunities in order to have a chance to win.
I don't know how else Spain could play under the circumstances.
Cheers, Mate

That can't be right!
- tfco
- Eagle
The same CE match threads you avoid until after the final whistle before providing your ATF analysis??cic old boy wrote:tfco wrote:You don't get it.
Pirlo was making passes to create scoring opportunities. Spain were passing sideways. Read CE and tell me what people think of Naija's greatest sideways passer.
Other boring games: Por v CR, Ger v Greece
You want an exciting game: Portugal v Holland. BOTH teams gave it a go and chances were created.![]()
Pure comedy. This is what you get when you “watch” matches on the CE game threads. Read what Graham Taylor said. Pirlo is a poor man’s version of Xavi. He does exactly what the Spanish midfield usually does – keep the ball by exchanging it with team-mates until you see an opening. If you watch football, you would know that you don’t chalk up his great pass completion stats on the basis of creating scoring opportunities. In fact, most of the misplaced passes are from when you attempt to create a scoring opportunity, as opposed to a safe pass. If Spain only pass sideways, how come they are leading on shots on target?
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/footba ... games.html
Facts not feelings.
Portugal v Holland was a crap game. The Dutch had already lost their first 2 matches and had to throw the kitchen sink at Portugal, who could exploit the spaces created by shoddy defending.

(btw your input is required in this thread.. Oh but wait, you won't post until Portugal is knocked out. typical.)
cic, you don't get it AGAIN. I am not rating one man to justify the entertainment value of the game. I don't care how good or poor Pirlo is.
Por v Hol was a great game for the same reason you found it poor. All out attack by BOTH teams. No one was kitty cat-footing with sideways passes. BOTH teams went out to win.
SoT - how many against Ireland?
Naira Did We

- tfco
- Eagle
Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
Only on CE, you people like to manufacture arguments out of nothing. If someone finds Spain boring then that's their opinion, simple as that. Why are people getting their panties in a bunch?

abi o
Their games (for the most part) have been boring. Spa v Ita was an entertaining game, but when you say Spa v Fra was poor, people start talking about England this, Rooney that, shots-on-target etc.
Since when do people use stats to justify the entertainment value of a game?
Naira Did We

Portugal-Holland a great game?
Jeeze!

Jeeze!
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
I agree with that. If you asked me why I find Spain boring I won't try to use stats because those things can easily be countered by a clever argument. The bottomline for me is that while I acknowledge Spain as a brilliant team I find their style (in this tournament) a bit boring. Endless passing that doesn't score many goals can be boring especially if the style of play isn't quick and direct. However I do understand why Spain does it, they're playing to their strength and it works for them.cic old boy wrote:Your opinion can be based on wrong assumptions. Everyone is entitled to be titillated by whatever. But when you provide spurious reasons for what you term entertaining, then expect them to be challenged. If you claim what you find entertaining are chances in a game, and say Spain are boring, even though they create the most chances, something is wrong with that argument.Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
- tfco
- Eagle
cic old boy wrote:tfco wrote:
England has NEVER entertained me.
THe creation of chances is what makes football entertaining not one team passing the ball 50 times in it's half. As I said, go watch Por v Holl which for me was the most entertaining game of these Euros.
4-6-0 lol
More cluelessness. You claimed the England v Italy game was "entertaining" b/c both teams had chances. That means you found England "entertaining", despite the fact that you called Spain "boring", ignoring the fact that Spain possibly created more chances in one game than England did in the entire tournament!

I give up.
You are hell bent on trying to get me say Eng is entertaining because I found the MATCH entertaining.
There are several cases of a MATCH being entertaining even when 1 team is POOR.
Naira Did We

Mr. Piffington wrote:I agree with that. If you asked me why I find Spain boring I won't try to use stats because those things can easily be countered by a clever argument. The bottomline for me is that while I acknowledge Spain as a brilliant team I find their style (in this tournament) a bit boring. Endless passing that doesn't score many goals can be boring especially if the style of play isn't quick and direct. However I do understand why Spain does it, they're playing to their strength and it works for them.cic old boy wrote:Your opinion can be based on wrong assumptions. Everyone is entitled to be titillated by whatever. But when you provide spurious reasons for what you term entertaining, then expect them to be challenged. If you claim what you find entertaining are chances in a game, and say Spain are boring, even though they create the most chances, something is wrong with that argument.Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
Agreed completely...
Facts; they are such stubborn things!!

The problem with TFCO personally is that he is so welded to the EPL that he finds it hard to accept that anything about Spanish football can be OK. So, it is exciting when Italy plays patient passing football but boring when Spain does the samecic old boy wrote:tfco wrote:
England has NEVER entertained me.
THe creation of chances is what makes football entertaining not one team passing the ball 50 times in it's half. As I said, go watch Por v Holl which for me was the most entertaining game of these Euros.
4-6-0 lol
More cluelessness. You claimed the England v Italy game was "entertaining" b/c both teams had chances. That means you found England "entertaining", despite the fact that you called Spain "boring", ignoring the fact that Spain possibly created more chances in one game than England did in the entire tournament!
Spain has the most shots on target of all quarterfinalists! You have no idea about the game. Every team defends deep against Spain. France played 2 rightbacks to counter the threat of Iniesta. So Spain keep the ball and try to drag defenders out of position with passing triangles. Your god Fergie called it (in reference to Barca) making Manure "dizzy with their passing carousel". You want an “exciting” game: ask the other team to stop parking the bus against Spain.

Last edited by Vincent. on Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.
“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
- tfco
- Eagle
same way you found Ger v Greece to be a great game.txj wrote:Portugal-Holland a great game?![]()
Jeeze!

Naira Did We

But Spain is the second highest-scoring team in the tournament (8 goals, compared with Germany's 9 goals). By any measure of productivity (attemps on goal, shots on target, corner kicks, goals scored), Spain is the best or second best in this tournament.Mr. Piffington wrote:I agree with that. If you asked me why I find Spain boring I won't try to use stats because those things can easily be countered by a clever argument. The bottomline for me is that while I acknowledge Spain as a brilliant team I find their style (in this tournament) a bit boring. Endless passing that doesn't score many goals can be boring especially if the style of play isn't quick and direct. However I do understand why Spain does it, they're playing to their strength and it works for them.cic old boy wrote:Your opinion can be based on wrong assumptions. Everyone is entitled to be titillated by whatever. But when you provide spurious reasons for what you term entertaining, then expect them to be challenged. If you claim what you find entertaining are chances in a game, and say Spain are boring, even though they create the most chances, something is wrong with that argument.Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.
No, I meant that with the possession they have every game they should have score more goals than they did.Vincent. wrote:But Spain is the second highest-scoring team in the tournament (8 goals, compared with Germany's 9 goals). By any measure of productivity (attemps on goal, shots on target, corner kicks, goals scored), Spain is the best or second best in this tournament.Mr. Piffington wrote:I agree with that. If you asked me why I find Spain boring I won't try to use stats because those things can easily be countered by a clever argument. The bottomline for me is that while I acknowledge Spain as a brilliant team I find their style (in this tournament) a bit boring. Endless passing that doesn't score many goals can be boring especially if the style of play isn't quick and direct. However I do understand why Spain does it, they're playing to their strength and it works for them.cic old boy wrote:Your opinion can be based on wrong assumptions. Everyone is entitled to be titillated by whatever. But when you provide spurious reasons for what you term entertaining, then expect them to be challenged. If you claim what you find entertaining are chances in a game, and say Spain are boring, even though they create the most chances, something is wrong with that argument.Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
I avoid match threads and indeed many other threads here b/c like you, many here don’t know much about the game. The guy that started this thread for e.g. is a case study in cluelessness. I also avoid match threads b/c I’m more interested in watching the game than talking about it.tfco wrote:The same CE match threads you avoid until after the final whistle before providing your ATF analysis??![]()
(btw your input is required in this thread.. Oh but wait, you won't post until Portugal is knocked out. typical.)
cic, you don't get it AGAIN. I am not rating one man to justify the entertainment value of the game. I don't care how good or poor Pirlo is.
Por v Hol was a great game for the same reason you found it poor. All out attack by BOTH teams. No one was kitty cat-footing with sideways passes. BOTH teams went out to win.
You are trying too hard to cover your backside. You gave Pirlo a thumbs up for doing exactly what the Spanish midfield do – retain possession. Go and watch Pirlo again and you will see the times he lost possession were mainly when trying to create a goal-scoring opportunity. The rest of the pass completion stats are made up of playing simple balls to keep possession. That’s exactly what even Busquets does. But you call it “boring”. This isn’t the first time your double standards have been exposed. I remember how you used to sing Messi’s praises until Barca beat Manure silly. You attitude towards Spain is rooted in the hurt Barca has caused you.
You know next to nothing about football. Perhaps you should spend less time on game threads and watch the game. There was no all out attack by Portugal. They were ultra defensive against Germany. Against Holland they played on the break, exploiting the gaps sloppy Dutch defending created.
Your comment about Ireland exposes your cluelessness once again. Croatia and Italy also played Ireland.
- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
tfco wrote:![]()
I give up.
You are hell bent on trying to get me say Eng is entertaining because I found the MATCH entertaining.
There are several cases of a MATCH being entertaining even when 1 team is POOR.

According to which rule is that? In fact, it is a miracle that they have managed to score so many goals when you consider the fact that their opponents always play 8-10 defenders in front of the penalty box...Mr. Piffington wrote:No, I meant that with the possession they have every game they should have score more goals than they did.Vincent. wrote:But Spain is the second highest-scoring team in the tournament (8 goals, compared with Germany's 9 goals). By any measure of productivity (attemps on goal, shots on target, corner kicks, goals scored), Spain is the best or second best in this tournament.Mr. Piffington wrote:I agree with that. If you asked me why I find Spain boring I won't try to use stats because those things can easily be countered by a clever argument. The bottomline for me is that while I acknowledge Spain as a brilliant team I find their style (in this tournament) a bit boring. Endless passing that doesn't score many goals can be boring especially if the style of play isn't quick and direct. However I do understand why Spain does it, they're playing to their strength and it works for them.cic old boy wrote:Your opinion can be based on wrong assumptions. Everyone is entitled to be titillated by whatever. But when you provide spurious reasons for what you term entertaining, then expect them to be challenged. If you claim what you find entertaining are chances in a game, and say Spain are boring, even though they create the most chances, something is wrong with that argument.Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
Kaii England... If they are not attacking FIFA, UEFA and others for something, they will find something to say about a country's style of play. The English are envious, jealous and wish they could play like Spain...
They want the world to adopt their own style of play and we have seen how far their style of play has gotten them in different tournaments
. Their last appearance in a semifinal was in Euro'96 and since then, it has been downhill from there. Quarterfinal seems to be their limitations, says a lot about the EPL..
Spain's type of play is fun to watch, their ball movement, passing and ball possession is something the English should learn to work on and not criticize. After every tournament, you can always count on the English to whine and cry about something. For a country that makes so much noise about their EPL, yet they only had 32% of possession in the game against Italy. What a crappy team.. So useless...
They want the world to adopt their own style of play and we have seen how far their style of play has gotten them in different tournaments

Spain's type of play is fun to watch, their ball movement, passing and ball possession is something the English should learn to work on and not criticize. After every tournament, you can always count on the English to whine and cry about something. For a country that makes so much noise about their EPL, yet they only had 32% of possession in the game against Italy. What a crappy team.. So useless...
No rule, just my opinion. Just leave it at that.Vincent. wrote:According to which rule is that? In fact, it is a miracle that they have managed to score so many goals when you consider the fact that their opponents always play 8-10 defenders in front of the penalty box...Mr. Piffington wrote:No, I meant that with the possession they have every game they should have score more goals than they did.Vincent. wrote:But Spain is the second highest-scoring team in the tournament (8 goals, compared with Germany's 9 goals). By any measure of productivity (attemps on goal, shots on target, corner kicks, goals scored), Spain is the best or second best in this tournament.Mr. Piffington wrote:I agree with that. If you asked me why I find Spain boring I won't try to use stats because those things can easily be countered by a clever argument. The bottomline for me is that while I acknowledge Spain as a brilliant team I find their style (in this tournament) a bit boring. Endless passing that doesn't score many goals can be boring especially if the style of play isn't quick and direct. However I do understand why Spain does it, they're playing to their strength and it works for them.cic old boy wrote:Your opinion can be based on wrong assumptions. Everyone is entitled to be titillated by whatever. But when you provide spurious reasons for what you term entertaining, then expect them to be challenged. If you claim what you find entertaining are chances in a game, and say Spain are boring, even though they create the most chances, something is wrong with that argument.Mr. Piffington wrote:So people have wrong opinions now?![]()
CIC o.. Kaii...

cic old boy wrote:I avoid match threads and indeed many other threads here b/c like you, many here don’t know much about the game. The guy that started this thread for e.g. is a case study in cluelessness. I also avoid match threads b/c I’m more interested in watching the game than talking about it.tfco wrote:The same CE match threads you avoid until after the final whistle before providing your ATF analysis??![]()
You are trying too hard to cover your backside. You gave Pirlo a thumbs up for doing exactly what the Spanish midfield do – retain possession. Go and watch Pirlo again and you will see the times he lost possession were mainly when trying to create a goal-scoring opportunity. The rest of the pass completion stats are made up of playing simple balls to keep possession. That’s exactly what even Busquets does. But you call it “boring”. This isn’t the first time your double standards have been exposed. I remember how you used to sing Messi’s praises until Barca beat Manure silly. You attitude towards Spain is rooted in the hurt Barca has caused you.
You know next to nothing about football. Perhaps you should spend less time on game threads and watch the game. There was no all out attack by Portugal. They were ultra defensive against Germany. Against Holland they played on the break, exploiting the gaps sloppy Dutch defending created.
Your comment about Ireland exposes your cluelessness once again. Croatia and Italy also played Ireland.

cic old boy wrote:tfco wrote:![]()
I give up.
There are several cases of a MATCH being entertaining even when 1 team is POOR.![]()
You need to give up b/c you are embarrassing. It takes both teams to make a match entertaining. Ireland were poor, Spain had a multitude of chances against them and scored 4 goals. But you call Spain “boring”. England were poor, clung on for pens against Italy, but you claim the match was “entertaining”.
- tfco
- Eagle
you are trying too hard. I gave Pirlo a thumbs up and suddenly you are going on and on about Spain's midfield.cic old boy wrote: You are trying too hard to cover your backside. You gave Pirlo a thumbs up for doing exactly what the Spanish midfield do – retain possession. Go and watch Pirlo again and you will see the times he lost possession were mainly when trying to create a goal-scoring opportunity. The rest of the pass completion stats are made up of playing simple balls to keep possession. That’s exactly what even Busquets does. But you call it “boring”. This isn’t the first time your double standards have been exposed. I remember how you used to sing Messi’s praises until Barca beat Manure silly. You attitude towards Spain is rooted in the hurt Barca has caused you. .
Pass pass pass sideways with no intent to score is boring. See the flak JMO has been taking on CE for doing that, although in his defence he is JUST one guy. Pirlo is also ONE guy
The entire team passing the ball (oops, possession as you say) is excitement for you. Arsenal and Swansea do it in the EPL with no end product. Do not compare Barca to Spain, the former does it with an end product.
I cannot begin to go on about your double standard from when you announced United's decline a year before we won the CL. I like how you "conveniently" avoid game threads, but you also go missing when your team does not do well. Didn't see your post-game comments in the aftermath of DD bundling out your teams (Barca/BAyern pick your poison). Thought you were with Killa.
Naira Did We

- tfco
- Eagle

I rest my case here.
Those who were absent when Chelsea won the CL have finally found a voice,,ad are desperate to equate 3 Lions to EPL
(cic, yujam, mi5)
Don't worry lads I also don't like England, strange as it may be.
Naira Did We

tfco wrote:![]()
I rest my case here.
Those who were absent when Chelsea won the CL have finally found a voice,,ad are desperate to equate 3 Lions to EPL
(cic, yujam, mi5)
Don't worry lads I also don't like England, strange as it may be.

- cic old boy
- Flying Eagle
tfco wrote:you are trying too hard. I gave Pirlo a thumbs up and suddenly you are going on and on about Spain's midfield.
Pass pass pass sideways with no intent to score is boring. See the flak JMO has been taking on CE for doing that, although in his defence he is JUST one guy. Pirlo is also ONE guy
The entire team passing the ball (oops, possession as you say) is excitement for you. Arsenal and Swansea do it in the EPL with no end product. Do not compare Barca to Spain, the former does it with an end product.
I cannot begin to go on about your double standard from when you announced United's decline a year before we won the CL. I like how you "conveniently" avoid game threads, but you also go missing when your team does not do well. Didn't see your post-game comments in the aftermath of DD bundling out your teams (Barca/BAyern pick your poison). Thought you were with Killa.

Pirlo plays like the Spanish midfield do – possession retention until you see an opening for a killer pass. See what Graham Taylor said. It is double standards to appreciate Pirlo and call Spain “boring”.
Mikelele is more of the type you find “entertaining” than the type you find “boring”. You were “entertained” by England and Chelski with their bus parking. Even Busquets gets forward and plays more forward balls in one game than Mikelele plays in an entire season. If you claim Spain has no intent of scoring, you need to explain the shots on target figures.
Unless, you spoke with the Spanish players b/4 each game and they told you they had no plans to score goals. Which would be a bit strange considering how one of their DMs got forward for the first goal against France and the fact that the final ball was by a fullback. But hey, it’s all about feelings not facts.
I see we shouldn’t compare Spain with Barca, even if about 6 Barca players start for Spain and they play the Barca system.

If you want to talk about the CL, we can examine whether you are “entertained” by Chelski and the basis of your “entertainment”. Chances created per game?