Iheanacho starts for City vs. AS Roma - follow live
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
Re: Iheanacho starts for City vs. AS Roma - follow live
mystic wrote:Yujam,
I think that it is quite clear that Ihenacho is an elite level talent. Whether he is ready to break into the Man City first team or the Nigerian national team, that is a matter of opinion. But the fact that he is a major talent should not be in doubt.
That this is even debatable is a travesty. But again, as was said earlier in this thread, this is CE

Smh @ yujam....
We should be lucky this guy is on our side.....all these bickering is nonsense
Tbite wrote:I think Nigerian Coaches do not know how to manage talent nowadays when they see it. They would rather dumb the team down to a level that they can understand. That is essentially what Keshi did. It worked for him, for a while...to his credit.oscar52 wrote:Only Manu knows what happened at that U20 tourney when the likes of Iheanacho, Yahaha, and Simon where warming the bench for Sokari, Bulwa and co. Maybe too much of a good thing is not so good afterall. Its not that the players Manu played where bad (many of them were with him initially at the U17 but dropped for various reasons) but how overclassed they looked in that tourney when they thoroughly brushed aside oppositions on the African continent on their way to the cup. That was probably the most disappointing Nigerian team I can ever recall in an international tourney when so much was expected.
But you need a technical coach to manage technical players..when the players abilities are at a level that far surpasses that of the coach, then there is incompatibility. Keshi knew this, which is one of the reasons why he opted for average players.
With the likes of Yahaya, Iheanacho, Simon, Success at his disposal..Garba was probably overwhelmed. It was essentially compounded by the fact that some of those players like Nacho and Simon didn't come early enough to Camp. Yes they made it to New Zealand early..but the preparation began long before New Zealand. When you have talent and you don't know how to utilize it, it is of no use.
Of what use is a premium vehicle, if the driver does not know how to handle it? Nigerian fans then try to make sense of the whole situation by concluding that "Surely the players must be overrated". The reality is that Nacho has demolished players that are 5 times better than those Age Grade players in the FIFA Competitions. He has also shone among players that are already World renowned. Yet, some would argue that he couldn't "breakout" in the Nigerian team, so how could he be ready?
A player can only thrive in an environment that is coherent. You put Iheanacho in a Spare Parts market and you expect him to be at his best? Evidently the likes of Sokari will do better in such an environment...but the problem is that Nigeria will ultimately be found out, once they face real tests. It happened to Keshi and it happened to Garba.
Of what use is assembling the World's greatest gra gra team? No matter how much you polish it, no matter how well drilled they are, no matter how high the tempo is...a gra gra team can NEVER compete at the highest level. NEVER!
If you cannot understand the intricacies of the talent that is in front of you, then perhaps you are operating at level that is beyond your comprehension and capabilities.

"I first saw David Rocastle play in 1983 for the youth team. I remember coming home excitedly from the match and telling my family, "I've just watched the nearest thing to a Brazilian footballer you are ever likely to see - and he comes from Lewisham." - David Dein on Rocky Rocastle
Full match:
My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
I think that it is quite clear that Ihenacho is an elite level talent. Whether he is ready to break into the Man City first team or the Nigerian national team, that is a matter of opinion. But the fact that he is a major talent should not be in doubt.
I agree that given his play in the past we can still point to his potential as a major talent but the question I have given recent developments us whether he can hack it at the highest level?
My brother Yujam,YUJAM wrote:My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
I agree that given his play in the past we can still point to his potential as a major talent but the question I have given recent developments us whether he can hack it at the highest level?
This is a joke right? You watched ONE game and said he could not hack it. A game where regardless of the useless imbalance in the side he was in, he still managed to shine through in limited touches throughout the course of the game....striking the post with a sweet left foot curler too!
Seriously?
Why do you enjoy denigrating Nigerian players? Iheanacho was never "physically superior" to other players at U17 level. He was not faster,or bigger. Dude you really do not know what you are talking about if you think Iheanacho was "physically superior" to his peers at U17 level.YUJAM wrote:My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST
Yujam knows what his issues are. Numerous times the same person stated that we shouldn't judge a player fone performance in a game. I remember when Drogba first arrived in Chelsea. Maybe it was nerves or something else, but the first few matches he couldn't even trap the ball right. I remember what Yujam said.Ugbowo wrote:My brother Yujam,YUJAM wrote:My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
This is a joke right? You watched ONE game and said he could not hack it. A game where regardless of the useless imbalance in the side he was in, he still managed to shine through in limited touches throughout the course of the game....striking the post with a sweet left foot curler too!
Seriously?
The same applies with Ramirez, when we christened him Kenyan,because he wasn't hacking it at that point, he preached about not judging players off one match.
I wonder what happened to that Yujam, why the change. Only Yujam knows.

Last edited by okidoki on Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
^^^
My dear Ugbowo,
Don't waste time with Yujam. He is a hopeless case. A lost cause. The f00l rambles nonsensically about things he know absolutely nothing about. How ANYONE in his right mind can say he based his assessment of Kelechi on an UNDERAGE football game is asinine. We have seen Kelechi share the pitch with MEN, and he has not looked out of place. Last pre-season, it was generally agreed among everyone (even oyinbo Man City fans) that he looked heads and shoulders better than Jovetic. This year, he has continued. He shared the pitch with Sterling, Navas, Silva, and he looked every bit their equal! But we are reminded of his performance in an U-20 game?
This is the same dunce who comes to CE praising Awoniyi as the second coming of Christ! Other players are progressing, and playing top football in top leagues surrounded by the best players in the world, but to Yunjam, they take a back seat to a clubless player who only relies on age-grade national team assignments to see action!
There is no objectivity in the man. He is blind to the truth.
My dear Ugbowo,
Don't waste time with Yujam. He is a hopeless case. A lost cause. The f00l rambles nonsensically about things he know absolutely nothing about. How ANYONE in his right mind can say he based his assessment of Kelechi on an UNDERAGE football game is asinine. We have seen Kelechi share the pitch with MEN, and he has not looked out of place. Last pre-season, it was generally agreed among everyone (even oyinbo Man City fans) that he looked heads and shoulders better than Jovetic. This year, he has continued. He shared the pitch with Sterling, Navas, Silva, and he looked every bit their equal! But we are reminded of his performance in an U-20 game?
This is the same dunce who comes to CE praising Awoniyi as the second coming of Christ! Other players are progressing, and playing top football in top leagues surrounded by the best players in the world, but to Yunjam, they take a back seat to a clubless player who only relies on age-grade national team assignments to see action!
Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
Bro.
We've only seen him in that one competitive game and he was OK in that one. All I am saying is that the hype on this thread is not justified. He still has to prove himself in snr football. That said I'd like to see him succeed
Ugbowo wrote:My brother Yujam,YUJAM wrote:My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
Seriously?
Yeah! I believe you.YUJAM wrote:Bro.
Ugbowo wrote:My brother Yujam,YUJAM wrote:My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
Seriously?

Last edited by okidoki on Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Why do you insist on acting like a spurned woman?
Why does a simple discussion about a football player have to turn into an irrational and emotional affair?
ogasir wrote:Why do you enjoy denigrating Nigerian players? Iheanacho was never "physically superior" to other players at U17 level. He was not faster,or bigger. Dude you really do not know what you are talking about if you think Iheanacho was "physically superior" to his peers at U17 level.YUJAM wrote:My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
I think his just reacting to your covert inference, that it was probably "age related advantages" that stood him out in the u17 cadre. When we have seen literature and video of him reppin Nigeria in an u13 tournament in Manchester. Just admit you have something against the young man or something he stands for.YUJAM wrote:Why do you insist on acting like a spurned woman?
ogasir wrote:Why do you enjoy denigrating Nigerian players? Iheanacho was never "physically superior" to other players at U17 level. He was not faster,or bigger. Dude you really do not know what you are talking about if you think Iheanacho was "physically superior" to his peers at U17 level.YUJAM wrote:My brother: I am not convinced given his recent performances. Until the U20 WC, I thought he was going to be a world beater. But the opening game against Brazil gave me a different perspective of his abilities. He wasn't physically superior to players like he'd been in the U17 tourney. I tried to look for things in his play that separated him from others his age but found it difficult to point outlmystic wrote:Yujam,
I am simply pointing out what I saw at that tourney.
And yoir accusations are simply out there my brother. You are much better than that
okidoki wrote:I think his just reacting to your covert inference, that it was probably "age related advantages" that stood him out in the u17 cadre. When we have seen literature and video of him reppin Nigeria in an u13 tournament in Manchester. Just admit you have something against the young man or something he stands for.YUJAM wrote:Why do you insist on acting like a spurned woman?
YUJAM wrote:I am simply pointing out what I saw at that tourney.
okidoki wrote:I think his just reacting to your covert inference, that it was probably "age related advantages" that stood him out in the u17 cadre. When we have seen literature and video of him reppin Nigeria in an u13 tournament in Manchester. Just admit you have something against the young man or something he stands for.YUJAM wrote:Why do you insist on acting like a spurned woman?
The thing is that you have told us in the past not to judge players, off of one game, but yet you do so now. Anyway sorry if you feel I made some accusations that weren't true. Just confused on your take. Im done with this issue. Kelechi isnt a finished product, his hold up play and positional play needs a lot of work. He needs to be calmer and not in a rush to have the ball all the time, however what he does, he does very well. I think his upside is unbelievably high. That is my opinion.
Once more I apologize if I went too far. Your an okay guy, in my book.
No worries bro. I also realize that the U-20 WC debacle may be clouding my views here. I was a big fan but was rather disappointed by his performance in that tourney. Plus, right or wrong, I believed that Manu Garba benched him for footballing reasons and nothing else.
okidoki wrote:YUJAM wrote:I am simply pointing out what I saw at that tourney.
The thing is that you have told us in the past not to judge players, off of one game, but yet you do so now. Anyway sorry if you feel I made some accusations that weren't true. Just confused on your take. Im done with this issue. Kelechi isnt a finished product, his hold up play and positional play needs a lot of work. He needs to be calmer and not in a rush to have the ball all the time, however what he does, he does very well. I think his upside is unbelievably high. That is my opinion.
Once more I apologize if I went too far. Your an okay guy, in my book.
Chei! see love between Okidoki and Yujam
That is the type of spirit needed on CE.

I like your logic.Tbite wrote:Ready for what?YUJAM wrote:Just a friendly. Some of you need to calm down
Nacho scored last year too but he simply wasn't ready. Will he start this yr? No. Will he be in the squad. Perhaps but not certain
The guy is clearly SE material. He has already shown 10000 times more technical ability than some of the junk that Keshi was calling up. At least 15% of the players that Keshi called up are not fit to kiss Nacho's boots.
I'm so glad that Motor Park tout is gone. Nacho's place in the SE is guaranteed.
and if it isn't....thunda fire my Yansh.![]()
Look at the way that this guy releases the ball. How many players that Keshi called up have even heard of such through balls, talk less of executing such? Look at his composure..how many players that Keshi called up have even dreamed of such calm composure, talk less of executing such? Look at his confidence, how many players that Keshi called up have even borrowed such confidence, talk less of even owning it?
This guy is in a different league. Keshi likes gra gra players like Babatunde....dis kain player,,,,na im oyibo dey call "finesse" ..make una no confuse am with Guinness stout.
So if Nacho could not cut it at U20, then he it means he is already in a star in SE?
PS. He was invited to the SE camp. He turned it down. Also With Oliseh's philosophy of where you play, unless Nacho gets first team position he will not qualify.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Correction, City will not be buying a striker. Contrary to popular opinion, we don't judt buy every player. Dzeko is on the block. Should be sold by next weekokidoki wrote:I'm beginning to think, his best scenario is going out, on loan. I would rate the strike force of the Man City team according 1)Aguero, 2)Bony (Just based on his experience and strength level), 3) Dzeko(One good game in three, clearing disillusioned) and Kelechi tied. Would clearly be the third striker, but City will buy if Dzeko leaves, once more limiting him to scraps.
I hope he gets loaned out. Those saying he's not ready, when will he be ready. Football is a young mans game. 50% of playing good football s confidence, the rest is ability and experience, and the young man is pushing the charts on all those fronts.
Hatred is like cancer. God bless Taiwo Awoniyi.bushboy wrote:^^^
My dear Ugbowo,
"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)
I am hearing rumours that Nacho will be shipped to Watford or Lille