NIGERIA 3 (I.Uche, Nsofor x 2) KENYA 0 FT

noname
Re: NIGERIA 3 (I.Uche, Nsofor x 2) KENYA 0 FT

Post by noname »

WAKENYA wrote:Nigeria benefited from some horrible finishing by Oliech along with a gift penalty. The problem for Nigeria now is that they have to chase Tunisia who already came to Nairobi. We may have red eyes but we can play and hopefully we prepare for the next game, we are out of the world cup but we will win in Nairobi with all the players back.
In that case you can also say Tunisia has a problem since they have not been to Mozambique, anything is possible, any team can still go through. You can't be sure of the outcome of any match including the matches in Kenya that you are so sure of winning.

Its a Goal wrote:Obviously you make your own luck and we did that today. Nobody is saying the team is perfect, it is still a work in progress. The fact that we left out 3 key players and we were able to win comfortably demonstrates we are only going to get better as time goes on. The one thing I don't get is why people like you are clamouring for the team to be playing at peak form when this is hardly the time for them to be there. We have to keep building until we find the right fit. Nothing can prepare the players utilized today better than being in a competitive match against a weak opposition like Kenya and today they gave a good account of themselves.
Please don't mind our brother...

When Oliech 'rounded' (he was actually forced wide by) an onrushing Enyeama, was he alone or was he being pursued by a defender, which compelled him to hesitate and examine his options? Please compare that situation with (for example) the second Tunisian goal in the recent friendly against Sudan when the Sudanese GK stayed rooted on his goal line (upon a Tunisian punt upfield) while his defenders went awol. Anyway, it has been said that it is often better to be 'lucky' than good. Being good but unlucky is a quick ticket to nowhere!

odi

Post by odi »

smartbrother wrote: As for me, when a mediocre team like Kenya slices open my defence, sends its strikers clean through on goal on more than one occasion, rounds my goalie and som2ehow fails to score, i tend to think my clean sheets aren’t necessarily telling me the full story.... and i’m frank enough not to attribute my teams undefeated status to the robustness of our strategy.
Excellent point. Peeps seem to think that because we won or that our record still holds strong, it means there must be no criticism or questions asked.

One would have thot that Gotti, after having stuffed CCC's statistics and records down our throats all the way to crashing out of the last WC qualifiers, would have learnt by now that statistics and records don't tell the whole story.
The SUPER EAGLES shall rise again!
Idika

Post by Idika »

I was in a christian convention while the game was on. Please someone should tell me where I can watch a re-run of the match.
ikwerreman
Re: NIGERIA 1 KENYA 0

Post by ikwerreman »

Jiggerman21 wrote:Osaze still passing to the opposition

And that is a big issue o

ikwerreman
Re: NIGERIA 1 KENYA 0

Post by ikwerreman »

SUYA wrote:i just ran the dna on the kenyan 13 phg12t trg > ikwerre

SUYA!!!!!!

ikwerreman
Re: NIGERIA 1 KENYA 0 half time

Post by ikwerreman »

Robbynice wrote:Chei! I don watch football enter wahala. I don burn soup for house. Kai! I forget say I dey warm soup for fire... :( :( :(

Serves you right

ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

ferrari77 wrote:Did anyone see the photographer at the end of the match that went up to Osaze? The guy put down his own camera and had another photographer start to take a picture of him and Osaze.
I'm thinking shouldn't this guy be taking the pictures instead of posing for them?

Naija! :biggrin:

So what was wrong with that? Hadnt he been taking pictures the last 90 minutes?
So no European or American photo grapher shrines players?
Una dey look for every opportunity to bash Naija
ikwerreman

Post by ikwerreman »

1naija wrote:It'd be interesting to find out what really transpired behind the scenes to make Amodu select this team. If it was his decision all the way, then I would say he has let all the criticisms get to his confidence. If he succombed to pressure from politicians, then he should start putting out his resume because he won't last through the qualifiers. KOC, we are waiting for the inside scoop.

Naija,
There are some stories making the rounds in Abuja.
Who knows they may all be rumours.
KOC tried to reach some of the players last night but they were all at a reception with Amaechi.
I am sure by now he would come out with the facts about the match.

odi wrote:Excellent point. Peeps seem to think that because we won or that our record still holds strong, it means there must be no criticism or questions asked.

One would have thot that Gotti, after having stuffed CCC's statistics and records down our throats all the way to crashing out of the last WC qualifiers, would have learnt by now that statistics and records don't tell the whole story.
Dude, if the 2006 WCQ campaign provided a singularly overriding lesson it is PRECISELY that, stripped of all intellectual pretensions and the verbal diarrhea of self-anointed Internet coaches, results are the substantively the SOLE measure of competitive football! One realizes that folks like you may not yet have gotten around to grasping this basic concept, but FIFA awarded the 2005 WC finals berth to Angola PRECISELY because they got the necessary results -- and not because they had the cleanest white t-shirts or got the best massages.

Now we need to play on a Saturday and get a result with Tunisia playing on a Sunday. It will be interesting to see how they handle the pressure.

odi wrote:Excellent point. Peeps seem to think that because we won or that our record still holds strong, it means there must be no criticism or questions asked.

Dude, if the 2006 WCQ campaign provided a singularly overriding lesson it is PRECISELY that, stripped of all intellectual pretensions and the verbal diarrhea of self-anointed Internet coaches, results are the substantively the SOLE measure of competitive football! One realizes that folks like you may not yet have gotten around to grasping this basic concept, but FIFA awarded the 2005 WC finals berth to Angola PRECISELY because they got the necessary results -- and not because they had the cleanest white t-shirts or got the best massages.
Err Gotti but CCC was not getting the right results from the start of that campaign but y'all kept bamboozling us with the stats. He was dropping points left and right away and our fate in the whole qualification series was reduced to just ONE match at Kano that we had to win at all costs, rain, sunshine, thunder, clouds, lightning, hailstorms, earthquakes etc etc. Out of 10 games or so we let our WC fate hang on just ONE game on ONE day when ANYTHING could happen.

We really should not be relying on these must win home games. Just as we intend to go to Tunis and get a draw so they'll come to Abuja and play for a draw and may well pull if off and I'll not hold Amodu responsible if that happens as it'll not be so out of place. I know we're called the super eagles but we're not super humans also.

ikwerreman wrote:
1naija wrote:It'd be interesting to find out what really transpired behind the scenes to make Amodu select this team. If it was his decision all the way, then I would say he has let all the criticisms get to his confidence. If he succombed to pressure from politicians, then he should start putting out his resume because he won't last through the qualifiers. KOC, we are waiting for the inside scoop.

Naija,
KOC tried to reach some of the players last night but they were all at a reception with Amaechi.

I spoke to my House of Rep member and he said that Amodu was forced to play the team that beat France because of a percieved lack of committment by the established players. i.e. Taiye Taiwo came straight to Nigeria after his last game for Marseille despite the SE playing in his backyard. Yobo and Mikel gave excuses about SCHENGEN visas and Odiah and Uttaka claimed to have a full passports. If these players were serious they would have sorted out these problems and not use them as excuses. He asked if we have ever had other African players give those sort of excuses and that it was a similar lack of committment that caused the SE to miss the 2006 WC. The agenda according to him is to build a new national team and if we miss the WC so be it. He concluded that there is the possibility of the likes of Yobo, Mikel and Taiwo being recalled for the away game to Tunisia and that yesterday's selection was a wake-up call for them.

ikwerreman wrote:

Naija,

I spoke to my House of Rep member and he said that Amodu was forced to play the team that beat France because of a percieved lack of committment by the established players. i.e. Taiye Taiwo came straight to Nigeria after his last game for Marseille despite the SE playing in his backyard. Yobo and Mikel gave excuses about SCHENGEN visas and Odiah and Uttaka claimed to have a full passports. If these players were serious they would have sorted out these problems and not use them as excuses. He asked if we have ever had other African players give those sort of excuses and that it was a similar lack of committment that caused the SE to miss the 2006 WC. The agenda according to him is to build a new national team and if we miss the WC so be it. He concluded that there is the possibility of the likes of Yobo, Mikel and Taiwo being recalled for the away game to Tunisia and that yesterday's selection was a wake-up call for them.

ohenhen1 wrote:Abeg enough of this madness.

We need

Taiwo
Odiah
YObo
Ayila

back in the lineup against Tunisia.
Sorry, but not the way that Odiah's been (under-) performing lately...

One has to believe that Yobo is probably not back to 100% fitness (and probably even Shittu as well) to have been held out of this game, but I personally would peg Adefemi Olubayo ahead of Yusuf Muhammed at the RB position on the strength of the last two friendlies --although Yusuf's experience and Adefemi sometimes "enthusiatic" tackling may have just won the former the nod on this occasion. For me, one of the best things to have come out of this series of recent games have been witnessing the growth in Dele Adeleye's confidence with each passing game, added to the fact that it appears that the Eagles now have genuine depth at both FB positions. The building PROCESS (not event) continues satisfactorily.
It's not impossible, in view of the feelers from FCT, that Amodu may have been forced by unseen hands to use the St Ettiene team. Even on newspapers reported that the St Ettiene team player were threatening to go berserk (my own word) if Yobo, Mikel & TT were fielded.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Idika wrote:I was in a christian convention while the game was on. Please someone should tell me where I can watch a re-run of the match.
There's a re-run in Ekiti but it's a nudist colony.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

ikwerreman wrote:

Naija,

If true then I won't be surprised they avoided the game thinking Naija would take a pasting. We need out backline back but we can do without Mikel and Martins.

Orion wrote:
ikwerreman wrote:

Naija,

If true then I won't be surprised they avoided the game thinking Naija would take a pasting. We need out backline back but we can do without Mikel and Martins.
KPOM!
kdk4christ

Post by kdk4christ »

Waffiman wrote:Now we need to play on a Saturday and get a result with Tunisia playing on a Sunday. It will be interesting to see how they handle the pressure.
According to NFF all Nigeria home matches will be playing on Sunday which is very bad
*JESUS LOVES YOU* More Than You Know

"When we die we leave behind us all that we have, and take with us all that we are."

kdk4christ wrote:
Waffiman wrote:Now we need to play on a Saturday and get a result with Tunisia playing on a Sunday. It will be interesting to see how they handle the pressure.
According to NFF all Nigeria home matches will be playing on Sunday which is very bad
Saturday Sunday what difference does it make...just confuse with waffi's statement above...who are we playing on Saturday and who are Tunisians playing on Sunday :???:

[color=brown]Gotti[/color] wrote:
[color=brown]odi[/color] wrote: Excellent point. Peeps seem to think that because we won or that our record still holds strong, it means there must be no criticism or questions asked.

Damn Gotti, do you have to keep reminding us of the whiter than white T-shirts and massages our boys enjoyed under sisi Beatrice :rotf:?

I don't understand the criticisms going round about the team's performance. I'd rather we get the necessary result while not playing to our full potential right now than play beautifully and struggle to get the right result or even get the right result not struggling. I want this team to continue to fine tune itself and build up to peak performance come January. This team's performance is completely different from that of 2006 under CCC, which I criticized heavily. There are a lot more hungry players on parade now than in 2006; the boys know how to win matches better than that set; and more importantly, they are being managed by a coach with a better predigree.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

If this is true I hope those forcing these decisions on the coach will be man enough to accept responsibility if anything goes wrong...

Orion wrote:
ikwerreman wrote:

Naija,

KPOM!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
osa

Post by osa »

Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]Gotti[/color] wrote:
[color=brown]odi[/color] wrote: Excellent point. Peeps seem to think that because we won or that our record still holds strong, it means there must be no criticism or questions asked.

Damn Gotti, do you have to keep reminding us of the whiter than white T-shirts and massages our boys enjoyed under sisi Beatrice :rotf:?

I don't understand the criticisms going round about the team's performance. I'd rather we get the necessary result while not playing to our full potential right now than play beautifully and struggle to get the right result or even get the right result not struggling. I want this team to continue to fine tune itself and build up to peak performance come January. This team's performance is completely different from that of 2006 under CCC, which I criticized heavily. There are a lot more hungry players on parade now than in 2006; the boys know how to win matches better than that set; and more importantly, they are being managed by a coach with a better predigree.
I don't understand why we keep coming back to this point. It is clear that results are indeed THE measure for any sport and almost any facet of life. However results are just that; a measure of underlying factors. We all know that results ride primarily on performance and luck (and maybe some other things such as politics). So, over any given period, since it is unlikely that a team will be lucky forever, a teams ability to perform is what overrides .
It seems to me that since performance is one of the things that results measure, then it is some sort of fallacy to say that results are all that matter, and that is further compounded by the fact that we know that results over time (ie a path to WC victory) depend upon the ability to perform.

imagine some other field, Lets say a student who does not turn up to lectures, or who does not practice certain basics but has mastered a system for passing exams (even by cheating self). To an outsider, everything would look great because all you see is passes. An insider would understand that it will eventually end badly.

IAG ... i feel you bro ... i too want us to win (almost at any cost) but, I just know that we cannot ride our "luck" like this all the way to the end. The problem I have is that we seem to have moments of incompetence that teams that end up winning it all dont seem to have and we need that stuff ironed out pronto! Accepting poor performance now is ok as long as we keep looking like we are improving it seems like people only want us to get thrashed first before the accept that we need to sort a lot of things out.

Code: Select all

>>run CunTracker....CunTrackerV1.101 initiated...scanning...detected...printing report:
timestamp:20100622 "Flex Swift"; timestamp:20100520 "blatter"; timestamp:20100518 "oboe"; timestamp:dawn of time "shakakaka"
.... warning ***SYSTEM ERROR*** .... "ROSSIKE" detected!... too much c.unt to compute... >> commencing shutdown! t-NOW!