NIGERIA 3 (I.Uche, Nsofor x 2) KENYA 0 FT

Re: NIGERIA 3 (I.Uche, Nsofor x 2) KENYA 0 FT

spastic wrote:All along the claim was we couldn't pull this crap with a good team, until we went ahead and beat France in France, and tied Ireland in their backyard. One would think at least those with a simple sense of dignity will limit their arguments to constructive criticisms of a team that has *** in large*** "Yet to lose a competitive match.
Please stop making sense...

I have always been bemused by folks who seem to ignore the 'competitive' preface when discussing my emphasis on the primacy of results. Fortunately, when someone actually professes to be more enamored with the Eagles "performance" in 2 friendlies than with their results in a competitive game, it makes it easier to ignore these folks and move on.

osa

Post by osa »

spastic wrote:All along the claim was we couldn't pull this crap with a good team, until we went ahead and beat France in France, and tied Ireland in their backyard. One would think at least those with a simple sense of dignity will limit their arguments to constructive criticisms of a team that has *** in large*** "Yet to lose a competitive match.

I have always been bemused by folks who seem to ignore the 'competitive' preface when discussing my emphasis on the primacy of results. Fortunately, when someone actually professes to be more enamored with the Eagles "performance" in 2 friendlies than with their results in a competitive game, it makes it easier to ignore these folks and move on.
I feel I should reiterate the fact that I agree with the idea that results (by any fair means) are the most important factor we are looking for. I do not want to be labelled as someone that thinks this is not the case. Maybe I have not been clear about what I do disagree with, which is that "performance" and "results" cannot be separated since one is the derivative of the other and as such cannot be compared to the extent where one can say "results are more important that results" or vice-versa.

I am sure you will all agree that since our long term goal is winning the world cup, people are more than within their individual rights to feel unhappy with the progress of the team despite successful results, if they feel that the team is not playing to its potential or developing fast enough.

It goes without saying that, at this stage in time, the super eagles could be getting satisfactory results without progressing fast enough on the road to becoming world champions. If that is the case then clearly the "we are getting results so everything is fine" sentiment that a lot of people on this board are supporting is flawed.

Improvements in performances (maybe a word that needs to be defined properly) can be used as a measure of progression of the team (especially in a team that is in a winning/losing streak). In my opinion we have have not demonstrated a sufficient improvement in probably the biggest measure of progress (performance) towards becoming the team that is going bring home the cup.

You can all argue that you think that our progression is fine, that is another matter, but since no one can deny that you can actually get desired results while actually regressing as a team **, then arguing that everything is ok because we are getting results at this early stage and that results are so much more important than anything else so no one should criticize, just doesn't make sense.

It also leads to further sophistry, such as "we don't need Obi because we have had good results without him". I am sure it is quite obvious why such a statement is almost certainly fallacious.

**NB I am not saying that this is what has happened but merely illustrating why I disagree with the premise

Code: Select all

>>run CunTracker....CunTrackerV1.101 initiated...scanning...detected...printing report:
timestamp:20100622 "Flex Swift"; timestamp:20100520 "blatter"; timestamp:20100518 "oboe"; timestamp:dawn of time "shakakaka"
.... warning ***SYSTEM ERROR*** .... "ROSSIKE" detected!... too much c.unt to compute... >> commencing shutdown! t-NOW!
kulu

Post by kulu »

Idika wrote:I was in a christian convention while the game was on. Please someone should tell me where I can watch a re-run of the match.
Verily I say unto you, pray and fast without ceasing, and the link to the download shall be revealed unto thee.
"How can someone qualify his country for the World Cup and then, because he lost a match, everyone is saying they should sack him. Please allow the man to do his work. Nobody is perfect, but if someone can qualify his country for the World Cup, then he deserves some respect. I even heard that it is the second time he has qualified Nigeria for the World Cup. That is huge". - French legend Alain Giresse on Nigeria's Shuaibu Amodu, 2010

It goes without saying that, at this stage in time, the super eagles could be getting satisfactory results without progressing fast enough on the road to becoming world champions. If that is the case then clearly the "we are getting results so everything is fine" sentiment that a lot of people on this board are supporting is flawed.
I find it hard to believe that anyone (and most def not Gotti) is making that argument. I think what people say is that if a coach is getting results, he does not deserve to be castigated and pilloried on a daily basis like he does on this site and the Nigerian media. No team is a finished product and lord knows Amodu's is far from that. He has acknowledged that.

Thanks, my brother...
Osa and I will just have to amicably agree to disagree.

osa wrote:Improvements in performances (maybe a word that needs to be defined properly) can be used as a measure of progression of the team (especially in a team that is in a winning/losing streak). In my opinion we have have not demonstrated a sufficient improvement in probably the biggest measure of progress (performance) towards becoming the team that is going bring home the cup.
My brother, try reading ten different reviews on this page...
To understand why "performance" is such a nebulous concept.

d2dbo

Post by d2dbo »

My brother everyone is not KingLoku....

Criticism is not the same as castigation and pillory......

I guess the thought then, "in the defence of Amodu" is that it's best to fight fire with fire....I can't blame those who think this way because, I agree, CE is polluted with people who hold extreme opinions....

You can't help but wonder though if it would be possible to sometimes drop the fire for fire attitude whenever people realise that a substantive point with no ulterior motives is actually being proposed.....

God Dey
facebook.com/levelzdey
Idika

Post by Idika »

kulu wrote:
Idika wrote:I was in a christian convention while the game was on. Please someone should tell me where I can watch a re-run of the match.
Verily I say unto you, pray and fast without ceasing, and the link to the download shall be revealed unto thee.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
nakson

Post by nakson »

Amodu must remain as coach of the National Team. As a Nation we are at a point where the populace is beginning to believe in the Abilities of Nigerians. From the private sector to the Public sector, the biggest difference makers have been Nigerians. For the first time in the History of Football in Abuja, the stadium was filled to capacity because the NFF agreed to ceed the ticketing rights to Afribank. There were sufficient outlets to get tickets b4 the match. The fans were mobilized adequately. I see no reason why we should castigate Amodu. I have met many of these So called Journos who cry foul all the time. They hate Amodu because he does not know how to offer bribes to journos. He just goes about his business. He was criticised for not having the guts to drop certain players. He proved them wrong. Now the decision is being attributed to the presidency. Please leave Amodu alone. I rather have amodu not qualify us to the world cup than to have a white man not qualify us.
If a monkey is amongst dogs, why won't it start barking?

Nobody mourns an unnoticed death.

If a donkey kicks you and you kick back, you are both donkeys.

He who eats well speaks well or it is a question of insanity.

A tiger does not have to proclaim its tigri-tude.

When man pikin dey piss, him dey hold something for hand. Woman wey try-am, go piss for her hand.
lagos777

Post by lagos777 »

nakson wrote:Amodu must remain as coach of the National Team. As a Nation we are at a point where the populace is beginning to believe in the Abilities of Nigerians. From the private sector to the Public sector, the biggest difference makers have been Nigerians. For the first time in the History of Football in Abuja, the stadium was filled to capacity because the NFF agreed to ceed the ticketing rights to Afribank. There were sufficient outlets to get tickets b4 the match. The fans were mobilized adequately. I see no reason why we should castigate Amodu. I have met many of these So called Journos who cry foul all the time. They hate Amodu because he does not know how to offer bribes to journos. He just goes about his business. He was criticised for not having the guts to drop certain players. He proved them wrong. Now the decision is being attributed to the presidency. Please leave Amodu alone. I rather have amodu not qualify us to the world cup than to have a white man not qualify us.
And house of Reps/ NFF members. You can feel the badbellus.
Mike Ditka quote :
"I didn't say it in those general terms but I said it like that".
tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

osa wrote:Improvements in performances (maybe a word that needs to be defined properly) can be used as a measure of progression of the team (especially in a team that is in a winning/losing streak). In my opinion we have have not demonstrated a sufficient improvement in probably the biggest measure of progress (performance) towards becoming the team that is going bring home the cup.
My brother, try reading ten different reviews on this page...
To understand why "performance" is such a nebulous concept.
My brother, "nebulous" is an understatement....let's just qualify
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

nakson wrote:Amodu must remain as coach of the National Team. As a Nation we are at a point where the populace is beginning to believe in the Abilities of Nigerians. From the private sector to the Public sector, the biggest difference makers have been Nigerians. For the first time in the History of Football in Abuja, the stadium was filled to capacity because the NFF agreed to ceed the ticketing rights to Afribank. There were sufficient outlets to get tickets b4 the match. The fans were mobilized adequately. I see no reason why we should castigate Amodu. I have met many of these So called Journos who cry foul all the time. They hate Amodu because he does not know how to offer bribes to journos. He just goes about his business. He was criticised for not having the guts to drop certain players. He proved them wrong. Now the decision is being attributed to the presidency. Please leave Amodu alone. I rather have amodu not qualify us to the world cup than to have a white man not qualify us.
well said.
may your nacking never fail.
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Racism should be banned from Cybereagles. Totally unacceptable. :evil:
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
nakson

Post by nakson »

Jiggerman21 wrote:
Racism should be banned from Cybereagles. Totally unacceptable. :evil:
dude you can call it racism, i could care less. When Betty Vogts said he couldn't reside in Nigeria, no one called him a racist. As a tax payer i am advocating for my taxes being invested in an Edo born indigene rather than some expatriate. I dont think that's racism. The world is at point where societies are beginning to reinvent themselves. We need to reinvent ourselves by investing in Nigerians. Amodu for all his short coming is a man who is snot intimidated by wealth or status. Leave him alone.
If a monkey is amongst dogs, why won't it start barking?

Nobody mourns an unnoticed death.

If a donkey kicks you and you kick back, you are both donkeys.

He who eats well speaks well or it is a question of insanity.

A tiger does not have to proclaim its tigri-tude.

When man pikin dey piss, him dey hold something for hand. Woman wey try-am, go piss for her hand.
obote

Post by obote »

legend. some people dey make parable for here . this guy must be ancient man. i "digwo" for you . you too much
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

They said the same with CCC until the SE lost to Angola and drew in Abuja. Amodu may be winning but the performance of the current SE is poor.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Idika wrote:
kulu wrote:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
PapaK

Post by PapaK »

Yet another extreme notion that Amodu and CCC are facing exactly the same situation. Why is it so hard for some of you to admit that our failure to play in 2006 WC was more down to players attitude rather than the coaches ability. This time, we have a completely different situation with players now having to fight for shirts, a better run FA, etc. Why cant we just drop the negative sentiments for a moment and support the team and help them qualify? These Nigeriana!! Wetin :evil:
realtrouble wrote:

They said the same with CCC until the SE lost to Angola and drew in Abuja. Amodu may be winning but the performance of the current SE is poor.
Never enter into a quarrel with an id!ot, lest he drag you down to his level and then beat you up with experience.

Una go break persin head with grammar for the forum one day, please which one be 'nebulous' agsin , i have heard of fabulous, ridiculous, atrocious so nebulous dey too eh. Chei some of us are just simple football fans oh :D :D :D :D

oyek

Post by oyek »

oloye wrote:Una go break persin head with grammar for the forum one day, please which one be 'nebulous' agsin , i have heard of fabulous, ridiculous, atrocious so nebulous dey too eh. Chei some of us are just simple football fans oh :D :D :D :D
You sef fit break pesin head, which one be agsin? :D
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

oyek wrote:
oloye wrote:Una go break persin head with grammar for the forum one day, please which one be 'nebulous' agsin , i have heard of fabulous, ridiculous, atrocious so nebulous dey too eh. Chei some of us are just simple football fans oh :D :D :D :D
You sef fit break pesin head, which one be agsin? :D
Which one now you don turn to tfco, that one na typho you see you don make me nak grammar too. You be yeye persin commot for road :D :D :D

Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Anything less that 3-0 today will be considered regression - unacceptable.

3-0 is par.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

Catalyst wrote:Anything less that 3-0 today will be considered regression - unacceptable.

3-0 is par.

Even at their peak Nigeria has never scored 3 goals against Kenya.
They can never imagine themselves strong enough to do it.
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela