Moyes warns Yakubu: You must work harder
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Moyes warns Yakubu: You must work harder
Aneg, any of you UK CE's that get hold of Today's Daily Express, check out page 66. David Moyes warns Yakubu Aiyegbeni that if he does not work harder, he will find his arse rooted to the bench.
I cannot find the story on their website so cannot paste it. Anyway, the piece does not surprise me. Are any of our strikers world class?
- naija4ever
- Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
Everton coach warns Yakubu against laziness
EVERON manager David Moyes has warned Eagles striker Ayegbeni Yakubu not to rest on his laurels following his dream debut at the weekend.
Yakubu started to repay the club-record �11.25million splashed out on him last week by scoring the opening goal after just 10 minutes of the 2-1 victory over Bolton at the Reebok Stadium.
If that was a sign of things to come from a �20 million strike force which saw Andy Johnson's industry and endeavour pave the way for the 24-year-old Nigerian to slot home, then Everton will be delighted.
However, Moyes will not be afraid to shake things up if the need arises, although not to the degree of Liverpool counterpart Rafael Benitez.
"We're delighted for Yakubu. When you sign any striker you want him to get that first goal quickly," Moyes said.
"But it would be difficult to praise Yakubu without praising Andy Johnson. The work Andy put in was terrific. He really laid it on a plate for Yakubu.
"If ever there was a strike partnership goal then that was it.
"But I've said to the players that, despite a bigger squad, I won't rotate. I will make changes at the right time.
"I've James Vaughan, Victor Anichebe and James McFadden waiting in the wings, and I'm more than comfortable using any of them."
After Nicolas Anelka deservedly volleyed Bolton level in the 55th minute with his fourth goal of the season, it took a centre-back to steal the points at the death.
Joleon Lescott headed home a corner from Thomas Gravesen, whose 61st-minute introduction for his second debut with the club put the brakes on Bolton's dominance.
However, it required a few stern words at half-time from Moyes for Lescott to finally come good.
"He is improving, although I thought he had a tough time at different periods in the game," added Moyes.
"In the first half he should have won a couple of headers more than he did, and I gave him a bit of stick at half-time.
"In the second half I thought he dominated things a lot more, and he got a goal, his second of the season.
"I said to him at the end, 'That's the way to make your manager shut up."'
Moyes should know a thing or two about defending from his own career, and he scored a few goals too.
"I've told him that I think in my best season I scored 10. I don't know if he'll score that many - I don't know if he's that good!" joked Moyes.
"There will probably be a bet between us now, and if does beat me then I would be more than happy to pay out whatever it would be."
http://www.guardiannewsngr.com/sports/article11/030907
EVERON manager David Moyes has warned Eagles striker Ayegbeni Yakubu not to rest on his laurels following his dream debut at the weekend.
Yakubu started to repay the club-record �11.25million splashed out on him last week by scoring the opening goal after just 10 minutes of the 2-1 victory over Bolton at the Reebok Stadium.
If that was a sign of things to come from a �20 million strike force which saw Andy Johnson's industry and endeavour pave the way for the 24-year-old Nigerian to slot home, then Everton will be delighted.
However, Moyes will not be afraid to shake things up if the need arises, although not to the degree of Liverpool counterpart Rafael Benitez.
"We're delighted for Yakubu. When you sign any striker you want him to get that first goal quickly," Moyes said.
"But it would be difficult to praise Yakubu without praising Andy Johnson. The work Andy put in was terrific. He really laid it on a plate for Yakubu.
"If ever there was a strike partnership goal then that was it.
"But I've said to the players that, despite a bigger squad, I won't rotate. I will make changes at the right time.
"I've James Vaughan, Victor Anichebe and James McFadden waiting in the wings, and I'm more than comfortable using any of them."
After Nicolas Anelka deservedly volleyed Bolton level in the 55th minute with his fourth goal of the season, it took a centre-back to steal the points at the death.
Joleon Lescott headed home a corner from Thomas Gravesen, whose 61st-minute introduction for his second debut with the club put the brakes on Bolton's dominance.
However, it required a few stern words at half-time from Moyes for Lescott to finally come good.
"He is improving, although I thought he had a tough time at different periods in the game," added Moyes.
"In the first half he should have won a couple of headers more than he did, and I gave him a bit of stick at half-time.
"In the second half I thought he dominated things a lot more, and he got a goal, his second of the season.
"I said to him at the end, 'That's the way to make your manager shut up."'
Moyes should know a thing or two about defending from his own career, and he scored a few goals too.
"I've told him that I think in my best season I scored 10. I don't know if he'll score that many - I don't know if he's that good!" joked Moyes.
"There will probably be a bet between us now, and if does beat me then I would be more than happy to pay out whatever it would be."
http://www.guardiannewsngr.com/sports/article11/030907
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...
mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind..
The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
Yak can be really lazy at times. I remember the Naija game against Angola in Kano. That guy was literally moving in slow motion. He wasnt chasing any ball, not hustling, etc. It was really sad to watch. That was the game that made me hate the dude so bad until i saw him play in the EPL and realised that he is a different kind of player. I think he needs someone to put him under pressure before he performs.
Support our boys regardless of coach, ethnicity of players and pure jealousy.
Moyes is not kidding. Anichebe and Vaughn are phenoms waiting to explode. Johnson and Yak are just warming the spot for those two kids, just like Radsinski was for Rooney. Its only a matter of time.naija4ever wrote: "But I've said to the players that, despite a bigger squad, I won't rotate. I will make changes at the right time. "I've James Vaughan, Victor Anichebe and James McFadden waiting in the wings, and I'm more than comfortable using any of them."
Whatever man.All that crap u posted is pure garbageZiontrain wrote:Moyes is not kidding. Anichebe and Vaughn are phenoms waiting to explode. Johnson and Yak are just warming the spot for those two kids, just like Radsinski was for Rooney. Its only a matter of time.naija4ever wrote: "But I've said to the players that, despite a bigger squad, I won't rotate. I will make changes at the right time. "I've James Vaughan, Victor Anichebe and James McFadden waiting in the wings, and I'm more than comfortable using any of them."
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle