YOMI PETERS
Re: YOMI PETERS
Yes.....Agbo....omo-eko wrote:DID ANYONE REMEBER YOMI PETERS OF STATIONARY STORE
Yes I remember Yomi Peters, he was a very stubborn person and he was suspended on several occassions by NFA.
Can you tell me one of the reasons why he was suspended?
Last edited by Sir V on Thu May 13, 2004 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: YOMI PETERS
r u Bigshawn in disguise?omo-eko wrote:DID ANYONE REMEBER YOMI PETERS OF STATIONARY STORE
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Omo Eko, I do not know why you have brought Yomi Peters up. He is no role model for any young Nigerian player.
Yomi Peters is probably the most indisciplined player to play professional football in Nigeria. He got more red cards than Viera, Keane and Viduka pout together, was always suspended and generally cost his team dearly.
Do you remember the 1981 African Cup Winners Cup final when he got sent off against Union Douala in Lagos. His senseless and thuggish behavious cost Stores that cup when for no apparent reason whatsoever, he decided to charge the Douala goalkeeper.
Please, let us keep this site free of thugs, hooligans and indisciplned players. If you want to sing Stores' virtues, talk about the likes of Joe Appiah, James Tombiri, Tarila Okorowanta, Yisa Alabi, Audu Ibrahim (before selling a game to Abiola Babes), Peter Rufai, Kaka Osubu, Alhaji Babakuta, David Thompson, Wakilu Oyenuga, Olumide Banjo, Seun Asagidingbi etc.
Yomi Peters is probably the most indisciplined player to play professional football in Nigeria. He got more red cards than Viera, Keane and Viduka pout together, was always suspended and generally cost his team dearly.
Do you remember the 1981 African Cup Winners Cup final when he got sent off against Union Douala in Lagos. His senseless and thuggish behavious cost Stores that cup when for no apparent reason whatsoever, he decided to charge the Douala goalkeeper.
Please, let us keep this site free of thugs, hooligans and indisciplned players. If you want to sing Stores' virtues, talk about the likes of Joe Appiah, James Tombiri, Tarila Okorowanta, Yisa Alabi, Audu Ibrahim (before selling a game to Abiola Babes), Peter Rufai, Kaka Osubu, Alhaji Babakuta, David Thompson, Wakilu Oyenuga, Olumide Banjo, Seun Asagidingbi etc.
If Ayoakinfe was really interested in vanquishing the discussion of Yomi Peters, do you think he would have written 4 paragraphs on him. The man just wanted to show his knowledge and sugar coat it by saying "Please, let us keep this site free of thugs, hooligans and indisciplned players"
Mumu
Mumu
I remeber a particular match this guy headbutted someone, i think it was against an army team, wo na the bobo just collapse for ground that time. Yeah the guy was known more for his thugish antics than football. But funny how he turned out, he later became coach with Stores especially during the 90's, where as a matured man you will never belive this was the same Yomi Peters.
I heard a lot of him when he was playing, but i met him when i started playing, by then he had become a coach, i must say one thing i always wanted to ask him was ; "Are you the same Yomi Peters i have heard so much about as a kid".
Time does change all of us.
I heard a lot of him when he was playing, but i met him when i started playing, by then he had become a coach, i must say one thing i always wanted to ask him was ; "Are you the same Yomi Peters i have heard so much about as a kid".
Time does change all of us.
deanotito wrote:If Ayoakinfe was really interested in vanquishing the discussion of Yomi Peters, do you think he would have written 4 paragraphs on him. The man just wanted to show his knowledge and sugar coat it by saying "Please, let us keep this site free of thugs, hooligans and indisciplned players"
Mumu

They used to say Muhammad Ali could float like a butterfly and sting like a bee. Arsenal swim with the grace of a dolphin — and bite like a shark. The GREAT Brian Clough. viewtopic.php?t=18273
If you're having girl problems i feel sorry for u son,i gat 99 problems but da *Nice Lady* aint one !
http://www.brazzil.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7162 BLACK BEAUTIES !
http://www.ypforum.org/nigeria2002
If you're having girl problems i feel sorry for u son,i gat 99 problems but da *Nice Lady* aint one !
omo-eko na proper old skool sha oh! 

They used to say Muhammad Ali could float like a butterfly and sting like a bee. Arsenal swim with the grace of a dolphin — and bite like a shark. The GREAT Brian Clough. viewtopic.php?t=18273
Ayo Akinfe,
On the 1981 Cup Winners Final, I won't say that Yomi Peters cost us the championship. Rather I would say that Ekoule Ekoule's positioning in our box and of course Rufai's off day cost us that championship.
If you recall, before Yomi started his antics, we were already 2-0 down and we knew there was no way we could win that game.
On the 1981 Cup Winners Final, I won't say that Yomi Peters cost us the championship. Rather I would say that Ekoule Ekoule's positioning in our box and of course Rufai's off day cost us that championship.
If you recall, before Yomi started his antics, we were already 2-0 down and we knew there was no way we could win that game.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Rufai was not to blame for any of the two goals. Besides, Yomi Peters was sent off after only five minutes.Bomaye wrote:Ayo Akinfe,
The story about the Winners cup final goes thus. The Stores tactical was on the person of Yomi Peters, and when he was sent out, Rufai realised it was all over. Rufai who was well known for his antics of dogdging out of testy matches simply feigned an injury so as to be replaced.
They brought in a clown of a goalkeppers Amosa or what was his name again, but to everyone's suprise the guy held the fort admirable well.
ha ha i actually remember going for that match. i got in late and yomi peters had already been sent off. i cannot forget my introduction to the passing game. union duoala strung 14 passes together and scored. from that point peter rufai came down with an "injury" which forced his substitution. a young substitute came on and did extremely well. the injured rufai was seen running up and down the touchline yelling and encouraging his replacement. stores pulled one goal back and fought hard but still lost 2-1 on the day and 2-1 on aggregate. i remember stores being very kick and rush and union very pass and move. that day yomi was roundly condemned by stores fans as was peter for his "strange injury". many felt he lost his nerve. but yomi peters stayed in my mind because i did not realise he had already been sent off before i took my seat and all the stores fans couldnt understand what madness had entered his head.
my times are in HIS hands