Please Let Obi Be!!!

naija4ever
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
Please Let Obi Be!!!

Post by naija4ever »

I wonder why nigerians have been criticising Obi just after one friendly! If he had not turn up for it now, maybe as a result of not being match fit, he would have still been crucified as well.Imagine, the level of hypocrisy on this CE forum!!!. Yes he played below par and expectations, but then every player has both ON and OFF days and this friendly happened to be one of Obi's.Now this was the same Obi that people have been lauding for 5 star performances for Chelsea, in most of the matches he featured for them.For crying out loud, Obi might have been rushed into the SE, as a result of the loophole we had with the sudden resignation of Okocha, he's been filling the hole outstandingly well.Maybe BV should try other MFs, but thats not enough reason to forget what Obi has done to the SE. At the end of the day, he was just one of the midfielders, accordingly, if the MF was non-existence, he shouldnt be blamed alone.Its high time we nigerian fans learn to accept both good and bad performances from our players in the spirit of sportsmanship, after all no player in this world has 100% ON days, ask the brazillian team to the WC2006 what contribution Ronaldinho made during their matches, he was a shadow of himself as most of you must have observed, nevertheless he was not unduly crucified :x :x .Imagine some even went as far as asking for his non inclusion from the SE!!!Just beause of one match!! :x :x :x . Please take it easy on your destructive criticism, bearing in mind that just one game doesnt make a player unworthy for his national team :wink: :wink:
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...

mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind.

The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606