Nigeria Squad for Algeria

Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

This is ridiculous
How can you guys here ok the inclusion of a Man Utd school boy player?
If u are going to include the young ones, why not invite Eliakwu from Juve?
This would make much more sense.
Goes to show that this site ain't what it used to be. :roll:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

Gooner1 wrote:U guys here just talk rubbish.
Look at the squad:

Martins - Still injured
Barto - Still injured
Okocha - Hasn't played competitively since EPL finished
Udeze - Injured due to a serious car crash. Do u know how long it takes to fully recover? Is he getting physio treatment?Aghahowa - Injured
Mikeal John Obi - I mean WTF?
Are you the team doctor? I am not sure if this list is genuine, but if it is, it represents the strongest quad that Nigeria can assemble.

airwolex wrote:Do we have Naija team doctors that examine this so called injured guys or do they just call up and say: "I'm injured". How is it possible that half the damn team is injured gaddemit.
We do. Injuries are a sad fact of sporting life I am afraid.

My point exactly.
The kid isn't even a proven commodity, even at the youth level.
Yet there are the likes of Benjamin (Juve), Eliakwu and Adeshokan (Inter Milan) and Stephen Makinwa (Modena) who have have been playing consistently.
Its obvious its all about names with Chukwu
Gooner1 wrote:This is ridiculous
How can you guys here ok the inclusion of a Man Utd school boy player?
If u are going to include the young ones, why not invite Eliakwu from Juve?
This would make much more sense.
Goes to show that this site ain't what it used to be. :roll:
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Are you the team doctor? I am not sure if this list is genuine, but if it is, it represents the strongest quad that Nigeria can assemble.
So if this is our best squad (as u say) we should carry them onto the pitch with crutches?
If u would divert 95% of your brain from a particular player, then u would realise that we need capable backups
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

1Naija there are issues here. This guy's call up is one reason why our football is suffering.

This is what really sickens me about our SE and this current management. :x :x :x :x

Things are not straignt. The problem is this is not CCC's doing as I am privy to knowledge that his spiv is an NFA big wig.

Now, how can we blame players if they do not take this swines seriously. This is nonsense and it reeks of nepotism and corruption. Someone is looking to give him caps so he qualifies to play in a senior team in England.

These guys can all go to hell. :x :x :x :x :evil: :evil: :evil: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Good Squad. If Okoronkwo comes in for Mike Obi, this MAY very well be our top competition 22. Obi inclusion is not bad. Sometimes that's just the best way to assimilate the kids.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Nkume wrote:Good Squad. If Okoronkwo comes in for Mike Obi, this MAY very well be our top competition 22. Obi inclusion is not bad. Sometimes that's just the best way to assimilate the kids.
So on what basis is this kid being called up. BTW! Have you ever seen him play? Do you even know what position he plays? Also, have you looked at his stats in the youth team he plays in?

We have other young players like Eliakwu and Makinwa, they are more deserving of a call up if it is right to call up kids into the senior team. (I know you call up exceptional talent like the Maradonnas and Peles of this world) I tell you why Makinwa and Eliakwu are not being called up. An NFA big wig is not their spiv. This NFA big wig has nothing to gain personally if Makinwa and Eliakwu are called. He needs his boy fast tracked into because he stands to profit financially.

Surely this is not a case of the blind leading the blind. Some of una for here just tire me. :shock: :roll: :roll:
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Waffi,

I commend you guys who are still very interested in the Eagles despite all the shenanigans. People wonder why I have lost interest entirely in the Eagles.

The eagles is doomed for failure as long as CCC is still there.
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)

Nkume wrote:Good Squad. If Okoronkwo comes in for Mike Obi, this MAY very well be our top competition 22. Obi inclusion is not bad. Sometimes that's just the best way to assimilate the kids.
So on what basis is this kid being called up. BTW! Have you ever seen him play? Do you even know what position he plays? Also, have you looked at his stats in the youth team he plays in?

We have other young players like Eliakwu and Makinwa, they are more deserving of a call up if it is right to call up kids into the senior team. (I know you call up exceptional talent like the Maradonnas and Peles of this world) I tell you why Makinwa and Eliakwu are not being called up. An NFA big wig is not their spiv. This NFA big wig has nothing to gain personally if Makinwa and Eliakwu are called. He needs his boy fast tracked into because he stands to profit financially.

Surely this is not a case of the blind leading the blind. Some of una for here just tire me. :shock: :roll: :roll:
Omo,

I understand your anger..but as long as this guy is just in the squad and not actually playing, I don't think it's a big problem especially if it helps him land a first team position in the EPL.
Makinwa and Eliakwu will get their turn, esp if they are as good as u guys report.

Waffiman wrote:1Naija there are issues here. This guy's call up is one reason why our football is suffering.

This is what really sickens me about our SE and this current management. :x :x :x :x

Things are not straignt. The problem is this is not CCC's doing as I am privy to knowledge that his spiv is an NFA big wig.

Now, how can we blame players if they do not take this swines seriously. This is nonsense and it reeks of nepotism and corruption. Someone is looking to give him caps so he qualifies to play in a senior team in England.

These guys can all go to hell. :x :x :x :x :evil: :evil: :evil: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Waffiman, I know nothing about this Obi Kid, but his invitation alone does not negate the fact that this list is a solid list IF it is genuine, and IF everyone on it is healthy.
cegieu

Post by cegieu »

I don't think it's a big problem especially if it helps him land a first team position in the EPL.
Good point. It's SE intrest.

we are lacking in defence but WTF is Mikel Obi doing here, last month Wahab this month Obi next month Isaac Promise?
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Waffiman wrote:1Naija there are issues here. This guy's call up is one reason why our football is suffering.

Waffiman, I know nothing about this Obi Kid, but his invitation alone does not negate the fact that this list is a solid list IF it is genuine, and IF everyone on it is healthy.
1naija, that's alot of "IFs". Gooner1 rightly pointed out about 6 players in the squad who arent fit including Okocha. The game is in less than 2 wks...the withdrawals will start coming in a cpl of days. Personally, I dont believe this list...however, if this is an authentic list, I can guarantee u that at list 6 players wont show up in PH (ijury or non-injury related). As for the " school boy" case, all i can say is "oh well...".
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942
KoC

Post by KoC »

Waffi, check your PM and get back to me
. . . all about the players. Total posts: 725 and counting. . .

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
---Polly waxes lyrical after Burnley nyansh the ARSE

PEOPLE ARE HARD TO BELIEVE

C3 puts a list that's probably as good as Nigerian can and people are complaining just because they feel one player is not due and another was left out.

I've never seen Obi play but everybody was talking about him not long ago when he was with the U17 or U19 team and was supposed to have played well. Is one name enough to destroy a squad? This fellow is already on M.Utd's radar so why would he need an SE call up to legitimize himself?

As for Okoronkwo everybody knew he was injured during the Unity Cup. Do these complainers know if he has recovered? So they want C3 to invite a player who may be injured to give them more ammo to attack him, eh?
sarkin doya

Post by sarkin doya »

I think some of us on this site are a bit unbalanced in our judgement. There are certainly questions as to which of
these players are not injured and will actually respond
to the invitation. However, in general, how many of us
can credibly argue against the names invited????

There is only one new name and that is Obi from our
Finland U17 team. His call-up may be questionable but let them
invite him. No issue there. Let us see what he can do.

Carleton Cole was invited just a few games ago and declined.
Others like Makinwa, Eliakwu etc will be invited in due time.

The one good point made by ayo is that we may be
thin on defence. It is surprising that someone like
Adamu or Okoronkwo were not invited unless the latter
is still injured?

Also, It would be interesting if Martins, Ogbeche, Aiyegbeni,
Osaze and Aghahowa all show up. How will
the coach decide which one to play? Some will be
on the bench and not feature even as subs.

Riche007 wrote:

1naija, that's alot of "IFs". Gooner1 rightly pointed out about 6 players in the squad who arent fit including Okocha. The game is in less than 2 wks...the withdrawals will start coming in a cpl of days. Personally, I dont believe this list...however, if this is an authentic list, I can guarantee u that at list 6 players wont show up in PH (ijury or non-injury related). As for the " school boy" case, all i can say is "oh well...".
Richie, I think our team handlers know the status of our players better than most of us here. Any player that is injured can decline the invitation when he recieves it, so I don't see the big deal. ANyone who thinks he has a better list should present it and let's review it.
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Riche007 wrote:

Richie, I think our team handlers know the status of our players better than most of us here. Any player that is injured can decline the invitation when he recieves it, so I don't see the big deal. ANyone who thinks he has a better list should present it and let's review it.

1naija, you must be a mind reader b'cos you just picked my out :lol: If I close my eyes and read that, I'd swear that I wrote what I just read.
Anywayz, you know the saying now, talk is CHEAP
Re: Nigeria Squad for Algeria

Very doubtful if Martins and Osaze will be fit in time for the game. Ogbeche is 50-50, so are Oruma and Udeze. It would have been good to have a list of players put on standby. Somewhat good list if everyone is healthy. Seems to me we have stopped looking for options in left midfield and left back, as well as right back. There are other players out there who can compete in these positions.
As for Mikel Obi, his invitation continues the Ogunjobi-CCC-Agent alliance's practice of using the NT to promote private business interest over and above the national interest.

Otitokoro wrote:Nigeria recall Okocha

Squad:

Goalkeepers:
Vincent Enyeama (Enyimba), Sunday Rotimi (Dolphin), Greg Etafia (Moroka Swallows/South Africa)

Defenders:
George Abbey (no club), Joseph Enakahire (Standard Liege/Belgium), Joseph Yobo (Everton/England), Seyi Olajengbesi (Freigburg/Germany), Ifeanyi Udeze (PAOK Salonika/Greece)

Midfielders:
Garba Lawal (Eflsborg/Sweden), Seyi Olofinjana (SK Brann/Norway), Christian Obodo (Perugia/Italy), Ifeanyi Ekwueme (Wisla Plock/Poland), Paul Obiefule (Nationale), Wilson Oruma (Sochaux/France), 'Jay Jay' Okocha (Bolton/England)

Strikers:
Obafemi Martins (Inter Milan/Italy), Bartholomew Ogbeche (Bastia/France), Julius Aghahowa (Shaktar Donetsk/Ukraine), Osaze Odemwengie (La Louviere/Belgium), Mikeal John Obi (Manchester United/England), John Utaka (Lens/France), Yakubu Aiyegbeni (Portsmouth/England)

Source: BBC African Football
Last edited by txj on Thu Jun 24, 2004 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
mister dolly

Post by mister dolly »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:The squad is a bit light in defence. I would like to have seen Yakubu Adamu or Bob Usim invited too.
Ol boy, as long as Adamu is not playing left back it's all good..after all the hype on this guy, I was disappointed with his performance against Jamaica. He couldn't make a decent pass and kept getting the timing of his tackles wrong.

mister dolly wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:The squad is a bit light in defence. I would like to have seen Yakubu Adamu or Bob Usim invited too.
Ol boy, as long as Adamu is not playing left back it's all good..after all the hype on this guy, I was disappointed with his performance against Jamaica. He couldn't make a decent pass and kept getting the timing of his tackles wrong.
That was to start off with. I thibnk it was more to do with stage fright. In the second half, he did settle down and big and played some good football.

Remember he is a centreback who was played out of position at right back too. He is not there yet but I can see him blossoming into a good player.
junior

Post by junior »

Ol boy, as long as Adamu is not playing left back it's all good..after all the hype on this guy, I was disappointed with his performance against Jamaica. He couldn't make a decent pass and kept getting the timing of his tackles wrong.[/quote]

Mr. Dolly, How now? Are you back home now? Pray all is well. On Adamu, did we watch the same game. I actually think that he is better than Abbey.