A career of disappointments & embarassment ..cites JJ & Kanu
‘Day Okocha denied me in France’By MADUABUCHI KALU
Sunday, April 5, 2009
Many Nigerian football fans may not be too familiar with the name, Moses Lucky Boy Amata. But Amata is well known by those who matter in the game in the country. As a matter of fact, he happens to be one of those who participated in the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with John Fashanu and won a brand new KIA Rio Car plus N1million.
However, the issue here is that the Isoko Delta State-born football juggler has been around Nigerian football circles for the past three decades. He was at the Sun Publishing Limited head office at Kirikiri Industrial Layout, Apapa, Lagos recently and revealed his bitter experiences in the game, which he described as his most embarrassing moment in the country’s football.
Amata said he had been in the game of football ever since he was a toddler, he has not known any other job except the round leather game. According to him, he had suffered several disappointments in his bid to make a living out of the game until the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with Fash.
I was dropped from Under-17 final list to Japan ’93
"I have followed Nigerian football for 30 years, and in this long period, I have suffered several embarrassing moments," Amata began. "The first embarrassing moment I suffered was in 1993 when I was dropped from the Under-17 World Cup in Japan after I had made the team. I was already dreaming about the championship and had gathered my things for the trip only for me to be dropped at the last minute.
"I was devastated by that experience for quite a long. I only watched my colleagues, who made the team, such as Nwankwo Kanu, Wilson Oruma etc. on television battling to bring glory to our fatherland. I felt bad for not being part of the team in Japan, but I consoled myself when the team made us proud by lifting the trophy for the second time for the country.
Flying Eagles dropped me in final list
"Again, in 1995, I made the Flying Eagles’ team that were to represent Nigeria then, but again, I was dropped at the last minute. At a time, I started wondering what the problem was, but I could not find an answer.
"However, for the fact that I am a never-say-die person, and for the love I have for the game, I did not give up. I continued in my struggle to making something out of football and to represent my fatherland. But every effort I made was thwarted until I attended the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with Fash, which was made possible by the ‘Mummy Ibru’ (as he called the CEO/MD of Oceanic Bank, Mrs Cecilia Ibru).
I was dropped from Dream Team 1
Lucky Boy also recalled how he was pencilled to join the 1996 Dream Team to Atlanta, USA for the Olympics as a football juggler, but he could not realise that dream also.
"In 1996, I was supposed to join the Dream Team to the football event of the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, USA, but along the line, when the team were about to leave for the Games, I was told that I would not join them. I was devastated because I thought that since I was not able to make other trips, I would be lucky this time. But on the contrary, I was dropped as usual.
"So, for me, it has been from one bad experience to another in Nigerian football. I know by now you would be thinking that I ought to have developed shock absolver for the series of disappointments I have had, but the truth of the matter is that what is bad is bad and one cannot get used to it.
"You would remember that history was made at the 1996 Olympics in the United States when Nigeria defiled all odds and won the gold medal of the football event for the first time in the history of the Games.
"It was also the first time an African country won gold in Olympic football and I was supposed to be with the team though not as a player, but as an entertainer, but that was not to be. And as usual, I ended up watching the Games on the television instead of being at the tick of the action."
I was humiliated at Kanu’s thanksgiving service
Amata also recalled how he was humiliated the time Nwankwo Kanu returned from a successful heart surgery from the United States of America after the Olympics, when it was discovered that he had a hole in his heart by his former team, Inter Milan.
"My embarrassing moments in Nigerian football are legion. I was thoroughly embarrassed and humiliated when Kanu had his thanksgiving service in Lagos after undergoing a successful heart surgery in the United States of America.
"After his successful operation, Kanu decided to have a thanksgiving service and they contacted me to come and entertain the guests at the event. I accepted the role and was grateful to God for His mercies in seeing my friend and former teammate through a successful surgery. And not only that, but that he would still play the game because before that surgery, all of us were just praying for Kanu as the world was made to understand that he might not play football again because of the problem. So, you can imagine the joy, that I had on getting the invitation to entertain people during his the thanksgiving service.
"On the day of the thanksgiving, we started the procession at Ojuelegba. It was there that I was given an Inter Milan jersey, because Kanu was an Inter player then. I put on the jersey and started juggling the ball from Ojuelegba to SS Mulumba and David Catholic Church at Lawanson. I juggled the ball to the admiration of the crowd, who trooped out in their numbers to be part of the event.
"But I was shocked to my bone marrow when immediately we got to the church premises, a group of young men surrounded me and pulled the jersey from me. I was devastated. I felt like asking the earth to open so that it would swallow me up.
"The embarrassment was too much for me to bear. Kanu, like I said, happens to be a friend as a former teammate in the Under-17, even though I did not make the trip to Japan. I felt let down by what happened."
Okocha denied me in France
Amata, who has vowed not to have anything to do with Nigerian football, also recounted how former Super Eagles’ captain, Austin Jay Jay Okocha denied him in France. According to him, for all he did for Nigerian football, the late former minister of sports and former chairman of the Nigeria Football Association (NFA), Samson Emeka Omeruah included his name in the 1998 World Cup team as an entertainer. And that he was in France where mother luck smiled at him, as Adidas discovered him for a competition for football jugglers but his light was dimmed by Okocha.
His words: "Another embarrassing moment I had in Nigerian Football was in 1998 in France. I followed the Super Eagles to the World Cup ’98. I was included in the contingent by the late former minister of sports, Air Commodore Emeka Omeruah as an entertainer.
"As we got to France, mother luck smiled at me as I was recruited by Adidas to participate in the World Ball Jugglers Competition. At the end of the competition, I emerged champion and Adidas, highly impressed by my effort, wanted to extend my contract. They, however, demanded that the Nigerian Ambassador to France must endorse me as a Nigerian and as a footballer before they could go ahead to do business with me.
"But unfortunately for me, the Ambassador said that he did not know me. He was right, because we had never met before then. Because of that, I decided to look for the Eagles’ camp to meet with Okocha to identify me. That would have even made it easier for me. But when I got at the camp, then Camp Commandant, Kashimawo Laloko refused to allow anybody into the camp.
"However, as I was waiting around the area, the team came out for training and I thought that my problem had been solved when I saw Okocha coming out with the other players. But I was wrong with my assumption, because when Okocha saw me, he looked towards another direction and never bordered to look at my direction. When the training was over, he was among the first set of players to get back to the camp.
"The treatment Okocha meted out at me killed my spirit to the point that I could not recover from the shock for many months. Meanwhile, I lost the Adidas contract extension.
"What pained me most was that Okocha is somebody I took like a brother. It was because of my love and regard for him that I abandoned all that I had to do to run errands for him when he had his wedding. I did virtually everything for him during his wedding, but he denied me when I needed him most. It was really painful.
"However, all those bad experiences are now history, as I have a brand new KIA Rio Car plus N1million in my bank account courtesy of the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with John Fashanu. I thank God for His mercies."
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: A career of disappointments & embarassment ..cites JJ & Kanu
Damn!!! JJ /Kanu needs to seek atonement for this man..
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html
Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Tales by moonlight!
This was not only a poorly written article by a tales by moonlight fantasy 

- 2drama
- Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P
anikulapo wrote:This was not only a poorly written article by a tales by moonlight fantasy

http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team
Y?CMS wrote:Damn!!! JJ /Kanu needs to seek atonement for this man..

Available on all major streaming platforms

Proof that Kanu was being exploited at Inter with low wages. After giving the jersey to Amata, Kanu realized that he didn't have enough money to buy a replacement, so he got his thugs to wrestle it back from Amata. Poor Amata, he got "shocked to his bone marrow" 

Kanu and JJ don't owe this guy anything.
True. But if the story is true their behaviour is quite disappointing to say the least.MI5 wrote:Kanu and JJ don't owe this guy anything.
I have followed Nigerian football for 30 years, and in this long period
dude started pretty early early at the age of 2.
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
- omo naija
megapro wrote:I have followed Nigerian football for 30 years, and in this long period

Namaste Baiyas
"Who kill dele? nah baba, If you put gida, nah you sabi."- Fela Anikulapo Kuti
Enugu II wrote:‘Day Okocha denied me in France’By MADUABUCHI KALU
Sunday, April 5, 2009
Many Nigerian football fans may not be too familiar with the name, Moses Lucky Boy Amata. But Amata is well known by those who matter in the game in the country. As a matter of fact, he happens to be one of those who participated in the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with John Fashanu and won a brand new KIA Rio Car plus N1million.
However, the issue here is that the Isoko Delta State-born football juggler has been around Nigerian football circles for the past three decades. He was at the Sun Publishing Limited head office at Kirikiri Industrial Layout, Apapa, Lagos recently and revealed his bitter experiences in the game, which he described as his most embarrassing moment in the country’s football.
Amata said he had been in the game of football ever since he was a toddler, he has not known any other job except the round leather game. According to him, he had suffered several disappointments in his bid to make a living out of the game until the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with Fash.
"I have followed Nigerian football for 30 years, and in this long period, I have suffered several embarrassing moments," Amata began. "The first embarrassing moment I suffered was in 1993 when I was dropped from the Under-17 World Cup in Japan after I had made the team. I was already dreaming about the championship and had gathered my things for the trip only for me to be dropped at the last minute.
"I was devastated by that experience for quite a long. I only watched my colleagues, who made the team, such as Nwankwo Kanu, Wilson Oruma etc. on television battling to bring glory to our fatherland. I felt bad for not being part of the team in Japan, but I consoled myself when the team made us proud by lifting the trophy for the second time for the country.
"Again, in 1995, I made the Flying Eagles’ team that were to represent Nigeria then, but again, I was dropped at the last minute. At a time, I started wondering what the problem was, but I could not find an answer.
"However, for the fact that I am a never-say-die person, and for the love I have for the game, I did not give up. I continued in my struggle to making something out of football and to represent my fatherland. But every effort I made was thwarted until I attended the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with Fash, which was made possible by the ‘Mummy Ibru’ (as he called the CEO/MD of Oceanic Bank, Mrs Cecilia Ibru).
Lucky Boy also recalled how he was pencilled to join the 1996 Dream Team to Atlanta, USA for the Olympics as a football juggler, but he could not realise that dream also.
"In 1996, I was supposed to join the Dream Team to the football event of the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta, USA, but along the line, when the team were about to leave for the Games, I was told that I would not join them. I was devastated because I thought that since I was not able to make other trips, I would be lucky this time. But on the contrary, I was dropped as usual.
"So, for me, it has been from one bad experience to another in Nigerian football. I know by now you would be thinking that I ought to have developed shock absolver for the series of disappointments I have had, but the truth of the matter is that what is bad is bad and one cannot get used to it.
"You would remember that history was made at the 1996 Olympics in the United States when Nigeria defiled all odds and won the gold medal of the football event for the first time in the history of the Games.
"It was also the first time an African country won gold in Olympic football and I was supposed to be with the team though not as a player, but as an entertainer, but that was not to be. And as usual, I ended up watching the Games on the television instead of being at the tick of the action."
Amata also recalled how he was humiliated the time Nwankwo Kanu returned from a successful heart surgery from the United States of America after the Olympics, when it was discovered that he had a hole in his heart by his former team, Inter Milan.
"My embarrassing moments in Nigerian football are legion. I was thoroughly embarrassed and humiliated when Kanu had his thanksgiving service in Lagos after undergoing a successful heart surgery in the United States of America.
"After his successful operation, Kanu decided to have a thanksgiving service and they contacted me to come and entertain the guests at the event. I accepted the role and was grateful to God for His mercies in seeing my friend and former teammate through a successful surgery. And not only that, but that he would still play the game because before that surgery, all of us were just praying for Kanu as the world was made to understand that he might not play football again because of the problem. So, you can imagine the joy, that I had on getting the invitation to entertain people during his the thanksgiving service.
"On the day of the thanksgiving, we started the procession at Ojuelegba. It was there that I was given an Inter Milan jersey, because Kanu was an Inter player then. I put on the jersey and started juggling the ball from Ojuelegba to SS Mulumba and David Catholic Church at Lawanson. I juggled the ball to the admiration of the crowd, who trooped out in their numbers to be part of the event.
"But I was shocked to my bone marrow when immediately we got to the church premises, a group of young men surrounded me and pulled the jersey from me. I was devastated. I felt like asking the earth to open so that it would swallow me up.
"The embarrassment was too much for me to bear. Kanu, like I said, happens to be a friend as a former teammate in the Under-17, even though I did not make the trip to Japan. I felt let down by what happened."
Amata, who has vowed not to have anything to do with Nigerian football, also recounted how former Super Eagles’ captain, Austin Jay Jay Okocha denied him in France. According to him, for all he did for Nigerian football, the late former minister of sports and former chairman of the Nigeria Football Association (NFA), Samson Emeka Omeruah included his name in the 1998 World Cup team as an entertainer. And that he was in France where mother luck smiled at him, as Adidas discovered him for a competition for football jugglers but his light was dimmed by Okocha.
His words: "Another embarrassing moment I had in Nigerian Football was in 1998 in France. I followed the Super Eagles to the World Cup ’98. I was included in the contingent by the late former minister of sports, Air Commodore Emeka Omeruah as an entertainer.
"As we got to France, mother luck smiled at me as I was recruited by Adidas to participate in the World Ball Jugglers Competition. At the end of the competition, I emerged champion and Adidas, highly impressed by my effort, wanted to extend my contract. They, however, demanded that the Nigerian Ambassador to France must endorse me as a Nigerian and as a footballer before they could go ahead to do business with me.
"But unfortunately for me, the Ambassador said that he did not know me. He was right, because we had never met before then. Because of that, I decided to look for the Eagles’ camp to meet with Okocha to identify me. That would have even made it easier for me. But when I got at the camp, then Camp Commandant, Kashimawo Laloko refused to allow anybody into the camp.
"However, as I was waiting around the area, the team came out for training and I thought that my problem had been solved when I saw Okocha coming out with the other players. But I was wrong with my assumption, because when Okocha saw me, he looked towards another direction and never bordered to look at my direction. When the training was over, he was among the first set of players to get back to the camp.
"The treatment Okocha meted out at me killed my spirit to the point that I could not recover from the shock for many months. Meanwhile, I lost the Adidas contract extension.
"What pained me most was that Okocha is somebody I took like a brother. It was because of my love and regard for him that I abandoned all that I had to do to run errands for him when he had his wedding. I did virtually everything for him during his wedding, but he denied me when I needed him most. It was really painful.
"However, all those bad experiences are now history, as I have a brand new KIA Rio Car plus N1million in my bank account courtesy of the Oceanic Bank Football Reality Show with John Fashanu. I thank God for His mercies."

wow
Dropped from Japan 93 - end result Gold for Naija
Dropped from Atlanta 96 - end result Gold for Naija
I hereby move that we invite and subsequently drop this fellow from any finals naija makes

Lefak wrote:Dropped from Japan 93 - end result Gold for Naija

Bushboy's bushmen : 1.Isaac Success 2. Terem Moffi 3. Victor Boniface 4. Samuel Omorodion. 5. Samson Tijani. 6. Rafiu Durosinmi. 7. George Ilenikhena.
Wicked!Lefak wrote:Dropped from Japan 93 - end result Gold for Naija

omo naija wrote:megapro wrote:I have followed Nigerian football for 30 years, and in this long period
dude started pretty early early at the age of 2.![]()

Enugu II wrote:‘Day Okocha denied me in France’By MADUABUCHI KALU
Sunday, April 5, 2009
it recall it was a weak aorta valve. hole ke?
Tbite wrote: Yes we have deadweights in our team like Babatunde, Agbim and Rueben, but they are OUR deadweights! Our wastepipes! We must love them...respect them! If we do not love our junks....who will? Who?