onigbinde on shorunmu
- oluwaseye the 1st.
onigbinde on shorunmu
Ike wasn’t the best goalkeeper in Eagles at Korea/Japan World Cup-Onigbinde
By CAJETAN NKWOPARA
Former Super Eagles Manager at the Korea/Japan 2002 World Cup, Chief Adegboye Onigbinde, has refuted allegations that he was responsible for goalkeeper Ike Shorunmu’s inability to nick a contract with an English premiership side, Charlton Athletics two years ago.
Speaking on phone from his Ibadan base at the weekend, Onigbinde told Daily Sunsport that his primary assignment in the Eagles was not to search for job for jobless players.
"Well, I have not read Ike’s interview but all I can say is that the mandate given to me was to lead Eagles to the World Cup and if possible, win the trophy.
To do this, I had to use the best materials available to me. So, we had to use them, starting with the friendly matches which is our own way of preparing for the competitions," Onigbinde said.
"At that time, Ike was not the best material available to me and there was no way I could have started chasing his personal benefit over and above our collective interest.
"The way Nigerians view issues sometimes is really unfortunate. What I want people to examine is whether or not the person who took the No 1 shirt from Ike performed or not and I think that person justified his choice as the goalkeeper.
"Before people forget and as I said initially, my mandate was to prosecute the Korea/Japan World Cup but not to search for job for jobless players."
In an interview he granted to Daily Sunsport last week, Ike Shorunmu alleged that Onigbinde scuttled his attempted move to Charlton Athletic when he (the coach) failed to field him in a friendly match Eagles played in England two years ago.
According to him, he had begged the former Technical Director of Trinidad and Tobago national teams to field him in the match because Charlton officials wanted to observe his form through the match. But Onigbinde who had shown more interest in building his team around youthful players found the duo of Vincent Enyeama and Austin Ejide as better hands.
Shorunmu, who recently rejected an invitation to return to the Tunisia-bound squad, cited the incident as one of his reasons for quiting the national side.
However, Onigbinde would not be taken in by such an excuse as he maintained that Nigerians would not have forgiven him if he had gone ahead to field an unfit Ike in the match for the sole purpose of getting the goalkeeper a job.
Onigbinde, who, at a time, was locked in a press war with an Eagles defender, Taribo West, over the inclusion of the so-called ‘junk players’ in his Korea/Japan World Cup squad, also made a veiled reference to the existence of such players in the current squad about to be paraded by Coach Christian Chukwu.
"If you are talking of junk players, do you mean old or new ones who are now in the team? Well, I think the responsibility lies on Chukwu to ensure their effective management. It’s not easy, as he has got a lot of job to do," he concluded.
Back
By CAJETAN NKWOPARA
Former Super Eagles Manager at the Korea/Japan 2002 World Cup, Chief Adegboye Onigbinde, has refuted allegations that he was responsible for goalkeeper Ike Shorunmu’s inability to nick a contract with an English premiership side, Charlton Athletics two years ago.
Speaking on phone from his Ibadan base at the weekend, Onigbinde told Daily Sunsport that his primary assignment in the Eagles was not to search for job for jobless players.
"Well, I have not read Ike’s interview but all I can say is that the mandate given to me was to lead Eagles to the World Cup and if possible, win the trophy.
To do this, I had to use the best materials available to me. So, we had to use them, starting with the friendly matches which is our own way of preparing for the competitions," Onigbinde said.
"At that time, Ike was not the best material available to me and there was no way I could have started chasing his personal benefit over and above our collective interest.
"The way Nigerians view issues sometimes is really unfortunate. What I want people to examine is whether or not the person who took the No 1 shirt from Ike performed or not and I think that person justified his choice as the goalkeeper.
"Before people forget and as I said initially, my mandate was to prosecute the Korea/Japan World Cup but not to search for job for jobless players."
In an interview he granted to Daily Sunsport last week, Ike Shorunmu alleged that Onigbinde scuttled his attempted move to Charlton Athletic when he (the coach) failed to field him in a friendly match Eagles played in England two years ago.
According to him, he had begged the former Technical Director of Trinidad and Tobago national teams to field him in the match because Charlton officials wanted to observe his form through the match. But Onigbinde who had shown more interest in building his team around youthful players found the duo of Vincent Enyeama and Austin Ejide as better hands.
Shorunmu, who recently rejected an invitation to return to the Tunisia-bound squad, cited the incident as one of his reasons for quiting the national side.
However, Onigbinde would not be taken in by such an excuse as he maintained that Nigerians would not have forgiven him if he had gone ahead to field an unfit Ike in the match for the sole purpose of getting the goalkeeper a job.
Onigbinde, who, at a time, was locked in a press war with an Eagles defender, Taribo West, over the inclusion of the so-called ‘junk players’ in his Korea/Japan World Cup squad, also made a veiled reference to the existence of such players in the current squad about to be paraded by Coach Christian Chukwu.
"If you are talking of junk players, do you mean old or new ones who are now in the team? Well, I think the responsibility lies on Chukwu to ensure their effective management. It’s not easy, as he has got a lot of job to do," he concluded.
Back
- monkeypost
err ike was not the best material?? okay if that was the case why did uncle festus field ike in the key world cup games? AO spoke a great game. i was in his first press conference after the paraguay game where he talked of showing the world a new african style of football which concentrated on the strength of the nigerian game. it sounded great, he was beautifally eloquent, a real wise old uncle but come world cup time it was a different story. where was the attacking wingplay which was untill very recently synonymous with nigerian football? the most colourful thing about the team was those natty shirts uncle wore on the bench, the most nigerian thing his tribal marks
my times are in HIS hands
- Molue Conductor
- Jiggerman21
I was going along with AO's expalantions until he said Ike was not the best material. That's where he lost me because, like someone said, why play him in the most important games? At the time, Ike was clearly the best goalie on the team and AO should concede that and move on.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
- Its a Goal
Shussh, don't let the likes of Chief Gab and 1naija hear you say something good about Pa Oni[color=brown]monkeypost[/color] wrote:Any time this man opens his mouth i see wisdom, purity and dedication we should not have sacked this man he would have got it right at the end.

2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.
- monkeypost
Pasamu wrote,
Football is not 2+2=4 anything can happen on the pitch that doesn't make Oni a bad managererr ike was not the best material?? okay if that was the case why did uncle festus field ike in the key world cup games? AO spoke a great game. i was in his first press conference after the paraguay game where he talked of showing the world a new african style of football which concentrated on the strength of the nigerian game. it sounded great, he was beautifally eloquent, a real wise old uncle but come world cup time it was a different story. where was the attacking wingplay which was untill very recently synonymous with nigerian football? the most colourful thing about the team was those natty shirts uncle wore on the bench, the most nigerian thing his tribal marks
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga
- Its a Goal
Look at the situation from a different point of view:
AO had a responsibility to ensure Nigeria had a great WC therefore he needed to find a reliable GK to serve as a backup to Ike since that was the one area Nigeria was completely deficient in. What's wrong with leaving Ike out so that Nigeria could test the alternatives?
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.
1naija you forgot to add your unspoken but underlying words: "And besides he is yoruba and I am so anti Yoruba!"1naija wrote:This man is mean. I can't believe that this man one could be so indeferent to the needs of the players who sacrificed their sweat and blood to qualify us for the WC. This man has totally ruined Nigeria soccer!
- monkeypost
Waffiman Wrote,
By the time Chief came to the last game he has seen enough of him to know he wasn't the right man for nigeria and the England game, quess what we had a clean sheet, now important could be relative in this case i would argue the England game was the most important because we've moved on and were now building for the future and unfortunately Ike was not part of that future.Chief AO is full of contradictions here. Ike played in the most important games so I am left confused with his conclusions.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga
Perhaps, I should act more like a tribalist like yourself!RudeBoy wrote:1naija you forgot to add your unspoken but underlying words: "And besides he is yoruba and I am so anti Yoruba!"1naija wrote:This man is mean. I can't believe that this man one could be so indeferent to the needs of the players who sacrificed their sweat and blood to qualify us for the WC. This man has totally ruined Nigeria soccer!
- Toxicarrow
Re: onigbinde on shorunmu
Maybe if you all stepped out of the box and read the direct quote from AO in the right context, you will have seen that the headline was a wrong interpretation of the quote. Read the following part and you will see what the old man was saying.
When you read Nigerian newspapers, you need to read with your critical sense and open mind.....if not, you might just end up accepting "an editorialized report" as a real "news report"
Was Ike available at the start of those friendly matches ? If he was not available at that time, how would one adjudge him the best material in camp then? At that time (of the friendlies), Ejide and Rotimi (and later Vincent) were the materials available for the friendlies. When he (Ike) came, he took his shirt and kept at the world cup.oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:
Back
When you read Nigerian newspapers, you need to read with your critical sense and open mind.....if not, you might just end up accepting "an editorialized report" as a real "news report"
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/
Yaaaawn.....didn't some one call you a broken record?1naija wrote:Perhaps, I should act more like a tribalist like yourself!RudeBoy wrote:1naija you forgot to add your unspoken but underlying words: "And besides he is yoruba and I am so anti Yoruba!"1naija wrote:This man is mean. I can't believe that this man one could be so indeferent to the needs of the players who sacrificed their sweat and blood to qualify us for the WC. This man has totally ruined Nigeria soccer!
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
I really don't understand this piece... the journalist sensationalized the headline... from what I gather from the piece Ike was not the best going into the WC not during the WC...
How does that translate to "Ike wasn’t the best goalkeeper in Eagles at Korea/Japan World Cup"?
You see how dem dey carry misrepresent pesin... pesin go read di headline and think say Pa Onigbinde day yab nonsense and only to read the actual piece and wonder what exactly has the headline got to do with piece...
Ps. Without Ike Shorunmu, Argentina for spell Nigeria!
Kpom!
How does that translate to "Ike wasn’t the best goalkeeper in Eagles at Korea/Japan World Cup"?
You see how dem dey carry misrepresent pesin... pesin go read di headline and think say Pa Onigbinde day yab nonsense and only to read the actual piece and wonder what exactly has the headline got to do with piece...
Ps. Without Ike Shorunmu, Argentina for spell Nigeria!
Kpom!
- Toxicarrow
While often it is easier to say that a game is lost because of a coach's tactical approach, it is always forgotten that a player's silly mistake could ruin the game for everybody (coaches, players and the fans as well). Ike had a solid game against Argentina...but miskick against Sweden resulted in the sad loss to Sweden.
If the English club was actually interested in him, I don't think his absence from England-Nigeria could have stopped him from getting the offer.
Quite funny, the same set of people who are calling for AO's head after Ike's interview would have been the first ones to target AO agent if he featured Ike in that game for the sole purpose of contract.
CCC is still living with the scar of fielding Orjinta and Ekong in the game against Brazil, which club agents/scouts watched.
Amodu has been crucified for fielding Yakubu for business purpose.
While those local coaches have painted with dirty brush, Westerhof, Bonfrere Jo and et.al are being hailed as heroes for the same activities.
If the English club was actually interested in him, I don't think his absence from England-Nigeria could have stopped him from getting the offer.
Quite funny, the same set of people who are calling for AO's head after Ike's interview would have been the first ones to target AO agent if he featured Ike in that game for the sole purpose of contract.
CCC is still living with the scar of fielding Orjinta and Ekong in the game against Brazil, which club agents/scouts watched.
Amodu has been crucified for fielding Yakubu for business purpose.
While those local coaches have painted with dirty brush, Westerhof, Bonfrere Jo and et.al are being hailed as heroes for the same activities.
Check out Sooting's website: