FIFA U-17 World Cup: Eaglets Seek Joshua’s Help
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 7:29 pm
by naija4ever
In a desperate bid to ensure that the Golden Eaglets of Nigeria have a good outing at the FIFA Nigeria 2009 U-17 World Cup, beginning this weekend, Chief Coach of the team, John Obuh and his assistants took the entire team for spiritual healing at the Synagogue, Church of All Nations.
The church, located at Ikotun, in Lagos, was the first port of call by the team when they arrived Lagos on Friday from their camping in Qatar.
At the Synagogue, Coach Obuh and his team met with the General Overseer of the Church, Prophet T.B. Joshua, whom they urged to help them in their plans to win the U-17 World Cup.
The Eaglets’ visit to Joshua may not be unconnected with the spiritual help enjoyed by the Black Satellites of Ghana, who won the just concluded FIFA U-20 World Cup in Egypt.
P.M.Sports learnt that Obuh is used to seeking spiritual help from churches before going for football assignments, hence the visit of the Eaglets to the Synagogue.
Obuh believes that the accurate prediction of the cleric paved the way for Ghana to win the championship, and he thinks the man of God will help his team win the junior World Cup.
P.M.Sports exclusively gathered that two members of the Eaglets, Sani Shehu Emmanuel and Ogenyi Eddy Onazi, are also members of the Synagogue. Both players are Joshua’s aides in the church and play for My People Football Academy, an amateur club owned and sponsored by Prophet Joshua.
The duo facilitated the team’s smooth access to Joshua, who received and blessed them during their visit.
“It’s the right thing to do. Seeking God’s face, guidance and favour before the commencement of the World Cup is timely and I will join you in prayers to succeed in the World Cup.” The cleric told Obuh and the Eaglets.
Meanwhile, the Eaglets yesterday defeated Julius Berger of Lagos by a lone goal in their last tune up match at the main bowl of the National Stadium, Surulere.
The goal was scored by Heartland’s Stanley Okoro. They will today storm Abuja to continue their preparation for the defence of the cadet World Cup on Saturday.
Re: FIFA U-17 World Cup: Eaglets Seek Joshua’s Help
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:29 pm
by oloye
I hope you have your answers to my post on the owning clubs in Nigeria thread. This is the part where some of the cost of running football goes up. The part where tactical and PR is involved

It is part of our football culture.
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:12 pm
by Metho scorpion
...what a move by this bunch...O Lord forgive Eaglets for this move...
...Oloye and you think so? This will cost a well prepared team no jack...prepare your team and pepper your opponet...days of seeking such are gone... a mere hallucination...
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:16 pm
by oloye
Metho scorpion wrote:...what a move by this bunch...O Lord forgive Eaglets for this move...
...Oloye and you think so? This will cost a well prepared team no jack...prepare your team and pepper your opponet...days of seeking such are gone... a mere hallucination...
The question is not if it works, the fact of the matter is that we believe in things like that, it is part of the Nigerian culture, i mean african football culture. Egypt killed a cow in Egypt and they won the ANC, now tell the Egyptians it did not work? It is part of the psychological and emotional preparation that african players believe so much in. You dont dont want to see Cote d'voire or Senegalese players prepare for matches, you will be tempte to call in Priest for the rites of excorcism.
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 12:05 am
by SSTAR
This is the sort of CRAP that continues to keep our society from improving.
With coaches like these, why bother with team tactics?
BTW, what is supposed to happen when non-christian players refuse to participate in the visit to the bible totting preacher?
I don't believe that God has anything to do with the scores of any game, and the sooner we keep Him out of it the better.
I can't wait to hear Joshua's blasphemous excuse if Naija fails to win the trophy.
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:04 am
by dudu
naija4ever wrote:
In a desperate bid to ensure that the Golden Eaglets of Nigeria have a good outing at the FIFA Nigeria 2009 U-17 World Cup, beginning this weekend, Chief Coach of the team, John Obuh and his assistants took the entire team for spiritual healing at the Synagogue, Church of All Nations.
The church, located at Ikotun, in Lagos, was the first port of call by the team when they arrived Lagos on Friday from their camping in Qatar.
At the Synagogue, Coach Obuh and his team met with the General Overseer of the Church, Prophet T.B. Joshua, whom they urged to help them in their plans to win the U-17 World Cup.
The Eaglets’ visit to Joshua may not be unconnected with the spiritual help enjoyed by the Black Satellites of Ghana, who won the just concluded FIFA U-20 World Cup in Egypt.
P.M.Sports learnt that Obuh is used to seeking spiritual help from churches before going for football assignments, hence the visit of the Eaglets to the Synagogue.
Obuh believes that the accurate prediction of the cleric paved the way for Ghana to win the championship, and he thinks the man of God will help his team win the junior World Cup.
P.M.Sports exclusively gathered that two members of the Eaglets, Sani Shehu Emmanuel and Ogenyi Eddy Onazi, are also members of the Synagogue. Both players are Joshua’s aides in the church and play for My People Football Academy, an amateur club owned and sponsored by Prophet Joshua.
The duo facilitated the team’s smooth access to Joshua, who received and blessed them during their visit.
“It’s the right thing to do. Seeking God’s face, guidance and favour before the commencement of the World Cup is timely and I will join you in prayers to succeed in the World Cup.” The cleric told Obuh and the Eaglets.
Meanwhile, the Eaglets yesterday defeated Julius Berger of Lagos by a lone goal in their last tune up match at the main bowl of the National Stadium, Surulere.
The goal was scored by Heartland’s Stanley Okoro. They will today storm Abuja to continue their preparation for the defence of the cadet World Cup on Saturday.
Okay, We shall see. See as the pastor take style dey silent on issues of predictions. So it becomes a win-win situation for him, if their performance turns out to be woeful you go hear, "I told them to do .... otherwise they will lose..." if the team turns out a good performance then you will hear Pastor T.B joshua did it ... It is like a lot of you have forgotten that Amokachi and I think Amuneke went to T.B Joshua; what was the result??? Even Kanu that eventually got healed can not attribute it to T.B joshua but to technology and skill of the doctors and of course GOD the Almighty.
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 7:07 am
by AreaDaddy
See how the hand of Tuberculosis Joshua is spreading...The man na real TB, parasite of the highest order...
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 3:54 pm
by chendosplastic
oloye wrote:Metho scorpion wrote:...what a move by this bunch...O Lord forgive Eaglets for this move...
The question is not if it works, the fact of the matter is that we believe in things like that, it is part of the Nigerian culture, i mean african football culture. Egypt killed a cow in Egypt and they won the ANC, now tell the Egyptians it did not work? It is part of the psychological and emotional preparation that african players believe so much in. You dont dont want to see Cote d'voire or Senegalese players prepare for matches, you will be tempte to call in Priest for the rites of excorcism.
I am sure they would have killed more than one cow in Egypt to enable them win the U-20 world cup on their own soil, now that it did not happen, what explanation can they give?
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:41 pm
by OTIZI
chendosplastic wrote:oloye wrote:Metho scorpion wrote:...what a move by this bunch...O Lord forgive Eaglets for this move...
I am sure they would have killed more than one cow in Egypt to enable them win the U-20 world cup on their own soil, now that it did not happen, what explanation can they give?
Oloye will soon feed you a two-paged essay on how Egypt failed cos the israeli god suddenly turn into a black star and refused to accept the cow. Ask him which sacrifice helped his mentor (Amodu) win the African Cup winners trophy and why he could not do it to beat Tunisia over two legs.
Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 5:03 pm
by kash n' karry
This thread ain't factual !!
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:21 am
by Vindave
Well, I support the move to seek the face of God before commencing on any journey. I support people going to the house of God to pray for His Guidance and Help. But the result or outcome will be determine by the Church such individuals or Group visits.
God is a prayer answering God and looks into the hearts of the Prayer requestors. May God guide our Golden Eaglets to the Trophy in Jesus Name. A M E N!!! That is my prayer for them.
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:33 am
by EagleGunner
Vindave wrote:Well, I support the move to seek the face of God before commencing on any journey. I support people going to the house of God to pray for His Guidance and Help. But the result or outcome will be determine by the Church such individuals or Group visits.
God is a prayer answering God and looks into the hearts of the Prayer requestors. May God guide our Golden Eaglets to the Trophy in Jesus Name. A M E N!!! That is my prayer for them.
Then why dont we all start praying for our country first, because even the Heavenly Lord knows he has his work cut out for him....he will need to make us as a people really have the fear of God in us again.
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 8:36 am
by EagleGunner
SSTAR wrote:This is the sort of CRAP that continues to keep our society from improving.
BTW, what is supposed to happen when non-christian players refuse to participate in the visit to the bible totting preacher?
I don't believe that God has anything to do with the scores of any game, and the sooner we keep Him out of it the better.
I can't wait to hear Joshua's blasphemous excuse if Naija fails to win the trophy.
I agree... why do we not like to do proper homework before an assignment rather than seeking prayers to solve everything, from winning football matches, qualifying for tournaments to removing an incumbent from office....na wah
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:14 am
by Vindave
EagleGunner wrote:SSTAR wrote:This is the sort of CRAP that continues to keep our society from improving.
I agree... why do we not like to do proper homework before an assignment rather than seeking prayers to solve everything, from winning football matches, qualifying for tournaments to removing an incumbent from office....na wah
People are praying endlessly on daily, hour and minute or second by second for this country, if not she would have long crumbled.
Is also part of my prayer every morning. I long to see Nigeria competing with other developed countries of the world in terms of technology, manufacturing things, providing all social amenities for her citizens - Stable power supply, good water, good roads, train stations and services, Affordable Airline services, good and quality education, good governance etc etc.
Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:50 am
by akamoke
chendosplastic wrote:oloye wrote:Metho scorpion wrote:...what a move by this bunch...O Lord forgive Eaglets for this move...
They realized (after the fact) that they had sacrificed one with Mad cows disease