Chukwu lowest paid Eagles’ coach — NFA may review pay
Bora Milutinovic coached the Super Eagles for six months.
He earned 180,000 dollars (about N24m) for that. He visited Nigeria only once. His salary was paid up front.
Bonfrere Jo was to earn the same $30,000 a month when he bagged the job. He also collected $150,000 dollars as sign-on fee. After he was sacked for poor performance, Amodu Shuaibu took over in a rescue mission he executed with Stephen Keshi. Amodu who got better results than Bonfrere was paid N1.3m and later N1.5m when Keshi came on board and got N1m monthly.
Coach Adegboye Onigbinde was called in to take Nigeria to the Japan World Cup after a crisis situation just like it happened when Troussier was disengaged and Bora called in. Those who engaged Onigbinde did not make his pay an issue probably because he was a Nigerian and partly because Onigbinde would never discuss salary first but terms or conditions of service. His stay was short.
Christian Chukwu came on board and has served for almost two years now. He remains the lowest or poorest paid Nigerian coach in recent years. Chukwu takes home N450,000 as his salary which is N500,000. Tax gulps N50,000 and he takes home something not up to half of what his past Nigerian colleagues earned. And when the NFA meets this week to discuss renewal of his contract, one of the issues that will be tabled is the remuneration of the technical crew that includes Austin Eguavoen and Musa Adisa, the goalkeeper trainer. We gathered that other conditions of service may also be discussed as the NFA prepares to hire a foreign coach. Secretary-General of the FA, Taiwo Ogunjobi said last week that Chukwu and the rest of the crew will remain to assist the foreign technical adviser. NFA was broke and still owing Amodu and Keshi salaries when Chukwu took the job and was made to understand the situation on ground. He has remained on same salary till date.
“I think that his salary will be reviewed,” one NFA source said at the weekend adding that “Eguavoen and Adisa will also be affected.” Chukwu’s actual pay was not disclosed until last week.
http://www.vanguardngr.com/articles/200 ... 72004.html
He earned 180,000 dollars (about N24m) for that. He visited Nigeria only once. His salary was paid up front.
Bonfrere Jo was to earn the same $30,000 a month when he bagged the job. He also collected $150,000 dollars as sign-on fee. After he was sacked for poor performance, Amodu Shuaibu took over in a rescue mission he executed with Stephen Keshi. Amodu who got better results than Bonfrere was paid N1.3m and later N1.5m when Keshi came on board and got N1m monthly.
Coach Adegboye Onigbinde was called in to take Nigeria to the Japan World Cup after a crisis situation just like it happened when Troussier was disengaged and Bora called in. Those who engaged Onigbinde did not make his pay an issue probably because he was a Nigerian and partly because Onigbinde would never discuss salary first but terms or conditions of service. His stay was short.
Christian Chukwu came on board and has served for almost two years now. He remains the lowest or poorest paid Nigerian coach in recent years. Chukwu takes home N450,000 as his salary which is N500,000. Tax gulps N50,000 and he takes home something not up to half of what his past Nigerian colleagues earned. And when the NFA meets this week to discuss renewal of his contract, one of the issues that will be tabled is the remuneration of the technical crew that includes Austin Eguavoen and Musa Adisa, the goalkeeper trainer. We gathered that other conditions of service may also be discussed as the NFA prepares to hire a foreign coach. Secretary-General of the FA, Taiwo Ogunjobi said last week that Chukwu and the rest of the crew will remain to assist the foreign technical adviser. NFA was broke and still owing Amodu and Keshi salaries when Chukwu took the job and was made to understand the situation on ground. He has remained on same salary till date.
“I think that his salary will be reviewed,” one NFA source said at the weekend adding that “Eguavoen and Adisa will also be affected.” Chukwu’s actual pay was not disclosed until last week.
If I can't express my opinion, I have no reason to be part of this union."
Co Adriaanse - AZ Coach
We’re not rated on the Continent,” said Toshack. “British managers are not, coaches are not, players are not. It’s all 4-4-2, hit the front man, get on the second ball. It hasn’t changed. It frustrates me at times, it really does.”
- John Toshack (British Wales Coach viewtopic.php?t=111511 ).

Co Adriaanse - AZ Coach
We’re not rated on the Continent,” said Toshack. “British managers are not, coaches are not, players are not. It’s all 4-4-2, hit the front man, get on the second ball. It hasn’t changed. It frustrates me at times, it really does.”
- John Toshack (British Wales Coach viewtopic.php?t=111511 ).

- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
- Akure4Life
Last edited by Akure4Life on Tue Jul 13, 2004 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Akure4Life
Ojota is my hood.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
By the way, Chukwu does not have a beggarly income. He is by no stretch of the imagination poor. How many Nigerians earn that much?Elexus wrote:In spite of his beggarly income yet he is so much maligned and abused. The NFA really cannot believe its luck.
I hope you also realise how long he has been in the job for. With bonuses, camping and all the other free trappings, he has built up quite an eggs nest.
- ikwerreman
Re: Chukwu lowest paid Eagles’ coach — NFA may review pay
Bobo Dan wrote:Bora Milutinovic coached the Super Eagles for six months.
I thought Chukwu's salary was announced at the start of his tenure to be one million monthly?
I just thank the Lord for Noticing me...
http://www.naijafootball247.com, http://www.wezinareports.blogspot.com
But hmmm all the time caretaker CCC was there why didn't he speak out then? There was even talk a while back on this forum that CCC was working for free and doesn't need SE money hmm why the sudden change? From what his insurgents tell try to tell us they say their master is sacrificing and doing his best for Naija..Hmm those who work for Naija free well God help us all...
Ayo, on the basis of the reality and the market wage/salary for today's coaches, you know that CCC's salary is a mere pittance. I have always believed that your criticism of him is based on good faith. However, to suggest that his salary is compatible with his position as a head coach, you come across as really prejudiced against him.Ayo Akinfe wrote:By the way, Chukwu does not have a beggarly income. He is by no stretch of the imagination poor. How many Nigerians earn that much?Elexus wrote:In spite of his beggarly income yet he is so much maligned and abused. The NFA really cannot believe its luck.
I hope you also realise how long he has been in the job for. With bonuses, camping and all the other free trappings, he has built up quite an eggs nest.
You mean, "That is what you would love for him to do"!!Ayo Akinfe wrote:There is always of walking away if you think you are being taken for granted. That is what I would do!Elexus wrote:In spite of his beggarly income yet he is so much maligned and abused. The NFA really cannot believe its luck.
Isnt it proof enough to you IC haters that maybe the patriotism of a Nigerian coach is a positive aspect of hiring an Indigeanous coach?.
I hope he get reviewed upwards for the good job he has done so far in the last 2 years!
Hmm maybe if CCC is not well paid he can always seek endorsements with other companies....
What are the current rates for caretakers around the world right now?
Last edited by MI5 on Tue Jul 13, 2004 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Elexus, you have a fair point but I do not consider Christian Chukwu to be a qualified national team coach and as such, do not believe he is worthy of the going market rate. No offence or disregard to him, as I believe he has doine a good job uncovering young players but in my opinion, Chuckwu is no more than a chief scout.
I think his salary is OK for that of a chief scout and do not consider it right that he be paid the same amount as the Rahhagel's and Scholari's of this world.
- cchinukw
I suggest that his conditions are reviewed to include opportunities for self development ie. trips to matches around the world and research staff.
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Jeez, ....Ayo Akinfe wrote:Elexus, you have a fair point but I do not consider Christian Chukwu to be a qualified national team coach and as such, do not believe he is worthy of the going market rate. No offence or disregard to him, as I believe he has doine a good job uncovering young players but in my opinion, Chuckwu is no more than a chief scout.
- If it took a chief scout to take a team of players from >66 to <20 in the Fifa rankings,
- to closly loose out on the finals of the African Cup to the host nation on penalties to the hosts and eventuall winners, while beat the current African champions (Cameroon) in the same tournament along with their Foreign Gun!
- To humble a rampant Irish team in front of a top capacity croud, while seducing the media and the majority of Nigerian fans with a new a vibrant Eagles...
Then it seems that your so called "chief scout" in charge has proved to be more than just the sum of his parts and he deserves a lot more respect for what he has accomplished for his country, which is more than you can say for yourself AyoAkinfe!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Just my opinion. Do not make it personal now.charlie wrote:Jeez, ....Ayo Akinfe wrote:Elexus, you have a fair point but I do not consider Christian Chukwu to be a qualified national team coach and as such, do not believe he is worthy of the going market rate. No offence or disregard to him, as I believe he has doine a good job uncovering young players but in my opinion, Chuckwu is no more than a chief scout.
- If it took a chief scout to take a team of players from >66 to <20 in the Fifa rankings,
- to closly loose out on the finals of the African Cup to the host nation on penalties to the hosts and eventuall winners, while beat the current African champions (Cameroon) in the same tournament along with their Foreign Gun!
- To humble a rampant Irish team in front of a top capacity croud, while seducing the media and the majority of Nigerian fans with a new a vibrant Eagles...
Then it seems that your so called "chief scout" in charge has proved to be more than just the sum of his parts and he deserves a lot more respect for what he has accomplished for his country, which is more than you can say for yourself AyoAkinfe!
I think Chukwu should be rewarded for what he has done. He has brought through a lot of good young players like Abbey, Olajengbesi, Enakarhire, Olofinjana, Osaze and is on the verge of getting the likes of Taye, Adamu, Baita and Obiefule up there too.
Howeverm even you must agree that all those wins you list have more to do with the players' talent than the coaches contributions.
In fact, I havent finished with you yet!!!
CCC has given his all for Nigeria since he took the reigns, and people like you Ayo have done nothing but pull him down since day one...
Honestly sir, dont you know any shame??? After everything you have said against the man, he has survived and thrived!
We blame our country for falling to work, but you dont even see that your actions are part of the cancer ruining us as a nation?
We are so quick to tear each other down, when we should be picking each other up.
You owe CCC a huge apology Ayoakinfe, and others that have done nothing more than tear him apart since day one. Shame on you so called "Nigerians" that are so quick to destroy and yet so slow to rebuild!
As God is my witness, I pray the day comes one day when you will learn that no one has the right to judge others, lest they themselves be judged!
Nothing religious about my prayer brother,...Just hoping that you learn this very important lesson and teach it to others once you have.
CCC has given his all for Nigeria since he took the reigns, and people like you Ayo have done nothing but pull him down since day one...
Honestly sir, dont you know any shame??? After everything you have said against the man, he has survived and thrived!
We blame our country for falling to work, but you dont even see that your actions are part of the cancer ruining us as a nation?
We are so quick to tear each other down, when we should be picking each other up.
You owe CCC a huge apology Ayoakinfe, and others that have done nothing more than tear him apart since day one. Shame on you so called "Nigerians" that are so quick to destroy and yet so slow to rebuild!
As God is my witness, I pray the day comes one day when you will learn that no one has the right to judge others, lest they themselves be judged!
Nothing religious about my prayer brother,...Just hoping that you learn this very important lesson and teach it to others once you have.
So you reward him by demoting him to Chief Scout! Nice work!!! I wonder if you are paying his salary too?Ayo Akinfe wrote:Just my opinion. Do not make it personal now.charlie wrote:Jeez, ....Ayo Akinfe wrote:Elexus, you have a fair point but I do not consider Christian Chukwu to be a qualified national team coach and as such, do not believe he is worthy of the going market rate. No offence or disregard to him, as I believe he has doine a good job uncovering young players but in my opinion, Chuckwu is no more than a chief scout.
I think Chukwu should be rewarded for what he has done. He has brought through a lot of good young players like Abbey, Olajengbesi, Enakarhire, Olofinjana, Osaze and is on the verge of getting the likes of Taye, Adamu, Baita and Obiefule up there too.
Howeverm even you must agree that all those wins you list have more to do with the players' talent than the coaches contributions.
Spare me your right to free speech brother. You and I know where you are coming from and where you are going with this.
It is just plain wrong brother,....and I hope you stop before you actually hurt someone!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
AS you well know, the job of head coach in a football crazy nation is a poisoned chalace, It brings with it ruthless criticism and Chukwu knew what he was letting himself in for.charlie wrote:In fact, I havent finished with you yet!!!
Our criticism is far less than that which Brazilian, Argentine, Italian, Dutch, French and German fans hurl at their head coaches. Even when they win trophies, the media criticise them for not doing it in style.
I make nmo apologies for criticising Chukwu and al other Nigerian coaches. Even if a top class coach like Luis Scholari, Carlos Alberto Perreira, Fabio Capello, Gus Hiddink, Zdnek Zeman or Marcelo Lippi takes over tomorrow, we will subject him to the same type of scrutiny, criticism and harassment.
It come with the territory. I do not see my criticism as negative as I am prepared to offer help and advice where I can.
At the recent Unity Cup in London for instance, I pointed out to Chukwu that there is this chap Stefano Layeni playing for Como and it might be an idea to cap him before the Italiand do because he has dual nationality. Being the gentleman he is, Chukwu said it is a good idea and said he will chase up the matter.
Even he does not take these criticisms personal. Why you do beats me!
Most of you do not understand where Ayo is coming from . Ayo belongs to that school of thought that believes if you are from certain part of the country you are a second class citizen therefore should not be paid commensurately to the job performed or to this same school of thought that believed that starvation was an effective weapon for a war. Ayo hopefully you fully understand law of redistributive justice one of these day it will be applied to you. Ayo to tell you the truth your profound hatred for Chukwu is becoming neurotic please watch yourself closely before it exacerbates to psychotic condition. Please call off this your endless stupid baseless and unconstructive criticism of one of Nigerian greatest hero in every walk of life. Ayo one more thing a professional advice seek help with
a shrink before it is too late.
I don't think the comments of Ayo above has anything to do with where people come from or the issue of second class or fifth class citizens - he presented his views and it doesn't make much sense to present OUR OWN interpretation of his views as the main issue here. I see such arguments as lame attempts to divert attention from the real issues involved.bobbye wrote:Most of you do not understand where Ayo is coming from . Ayo belongs to that school of thought that believes if you are from certain part of the country you are a second class citizen therefore should not be paid commensurately to the job performed or to this same school of thought that believed that starvation was an effective weapon for a war. Ayo hopefully you fully understand law of redistributive justice one of these day it will be applied to you. Ayo to tell you the truth your profound hatred for Chukwu is becoming neurotic please watch yourself closely before it exacerbates to psychotic condition. Please call off this your endless stupid baseless and unconstructive criticism of one of Nigerian greatest hero in every walk of life. Ayo one more thing a professional advice seek help with
Personally, I think Chukwu's salary is too small for someone appointed as the Coach of Nigeria. And also from the points raised here, I also think that Chukwu has every right to ask for what he believes he deserves. If Chukwu sees himself as a coach that is not worth more than what they are giving him then it is not our business to start fighting for him. Our people should learn to stand for what they believe and stop appealing to pity. Sincerely, I have not heard Chukwu complaining and I know of some Local Coaches in the Nigerian league that will not accept what they believe is below their standard EVEN IN THE NIGERIAN LOCAL LEAGUE!
But instead of going out of the pitch Odinga seized the card from referee Sabitu and flashed it back at the referee. It took the intervention of Sharks' assistant coach, Nduka Ndubuisi before the card was retrieved from the player and handed back to the referee.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Do not think I will let you get away with these vile, profane, disgusting, primordial, evil, divisive, corrosive, despicable, contemptible, depraved, based, degraded, low, wicked, abominable, loathsome, foul, unpleasnt, horrid, disgusting, repellent, premeval, pre-historic, primal, primitive, discordant, acidic and caustic comments.bobbye wrote:Most of you do not understand where Ayo is coming from . Ayo belongs to that school of thought that believes if you are from certain part of the country you are a second class citizen therefore should not be paid commensurately to the job performed or to this same school of thought that believed that starvation was an effective weapon for a war. Ayo hopefully you fully understand law of redistributive justice one of these day it will be applied to you. Ayo to tell you the truth your profound hatred for Chukwu is becoming neurotic please watch yourself closely before it exacerbates to psychotic condition. Please call off this your endless stupid baseless and unconstructive criticism of one of Nigerian greatest hero in every walk of life. Ayo one more thing a professional advice seek help with
oouucchh !!! This is definitely a degeneration of the situation,can we have some peace pls.Ayo Akinfe wrote:Do not think I will let you get away with these vile, profane, disgusting, primordial, evil, divisive, corrosive, despicable, contemptible, depraved, based, degraded, low, wicked, abominable, loathsome, foul, unpleasnt, horrid, disgusting, repellent, premeval, pre-historic, primal, primitive, discordant, acidic and caustic comments.bobbye wrote:Most of you do not understand where Ayo is coming from . Ayo belongs to that school of thought that believes if you are from certain part of the country you are a second class citizen therefore should not be paid commensurately to the job performed or to this same school of thought that believed that starvation was an effective weapon for a war. Ayo hopefully you fully understand law of redistributive justice one of these day it will be applied to you. Ayo to tell you the truth your profound hatred for Chukwu is becoming neurotic please watch yourself closely before it exacerbates to psychotic condition. Please call off this your endless stupid baseless and unconstructive criticism of one of Nigerian greatest hero in every walk of life. Ayo one more thing a professional advice seek help with
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.
Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.